DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in priorApplication No. 18/121,954, filed on 03/15/2023, and name an inventor or inventors named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or division. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120 and 37 CFR 1.78.
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 12/10/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 12/10/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oba, US Pub 2010/0053673.
As to claim 1 [independent], Oba teaches a method for performing printing operations, the method comprising:
receiving an estimation job at a front end of a raster image processor (RIP) system [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085 Oba teaches that the management system receives print job for estimating printing output to be used for a consumable, and stored in memory within the management system];
storing the estimation job at the front end [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085 Oba teaches that the management system receives print job for estimating printing output to be used for a consumable, and stored in memory within the management system];
assigning the estimation job to at least one RIP within the RIP system [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085 Oba teaches that the management system receives print job for estimating printing output to be used for a consumable, and stored in memory within the management system which includes at least raster image processor (RIP) calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like];
determining an estimation RIP from the at least one RIP, wherein the estimation RIP is configured to generate an estimate output to be used for a consumable estimate for the print job system [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085 Oba teaches that the management system receives print job for estimating printing output to be used for a consumable, and stored in memory within the management system which includes at least raster image processor (RIP) calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like]; and
processing at least one segment of the estimation job at the estimation RIP system [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085 Oba teaches that the management system receives print job for estimating printing output to be used for a consumable, and stored in memory within the management system which includes at least raster image processor (RIP) calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like].
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Oba teaches wherein the consumable estimate includes an ink use estimate or a toner use estimate [fig. 6; 0083 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like].
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Oba teaches providing the estimate output for the at least one segment of the print job from the estimation RIP to a controller of a printing device [figs. 6, 14-15; 0083, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like].
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 3], Oba teaches determining the consumable estimate at the controller [figs. 6, 14-15; 0083, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value].
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Oba teaches processing another segment of the print job at a standard RIP from the at least one RIP within the RIP system [figs. 6, 14-15; 0083, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value].
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Oba teaches configuring the estimation RIP to generate the estimate output of the print job [figs. 6, 14-15; 0083, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value].
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 7], Oba teaches wherein configuring includes configuring a standard RIP to become the estimation RIP [figs. 6, 14-15; 0083, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value].
As to claim 15 [independent], Oba teaches a method for estimating consumable use for a job in a printing system, the method comprising:
assigning an estimation job to a plurality of RIPs within a RIP system corresponding to a printing device having a controller [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like];
activating an estimation RIP from the plurality of RIPs by the RIP system [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like],
wherein the estimation RIP is configured from a first standard RIP of the plurality of RIPs by the RIP system [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like];
processing at least one segment of the estimation job at the estimation RIP [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like]; and
generating an estimate output of a consumable for the at least one segment [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like].
As to claim 16 [dependent from claim 15], Oba teaches wherein the consumable is ink or toner [fig. 6; 0083 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like].
As to claim 17 [dependent from claim 15], Oba teaches providing the estimate output for the at least one segment from the estimation RIP to the controller [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like].
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 17], Oba teaches determining a consumable use estimate at the controller using the estimate output [figs. 1, 4, element 105 or 404 ‘RIP’ & fig. 6, steps 614-615 and figs. 14-15; 0065, 0070, 0081-0085, 0119-0124 Oba teaches that the at least raster image processor (RIP) of the management system perform RIP processing and calculates an estimate value based on the predicted values of the amounts of consumption of the consumables required for printing and sends/output the client PC 204 or printer (fig. 15) an estimated value. The estimated value includes a fee based on a predicted value of the amount of toner consumption, a cost for sheets to be consumed, a fee for performing a selected optional function, a labor cost, and the like].
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 10-14 are allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
7. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The independent claim 10 is allowable over the prior arts of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “an estimation RIP configured to process at least one segment of the estimation job to generate an estimate output to be used for a consumable estimate for the print job, wherein the estimation RIP is configured to release resources faster than a standard RIP within the RIP system, wherein the front end assigns the at least one segment of the estimation job to the estimation RIP”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed in independent claim 10.
8. Claims 6, 9, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The dependent claims 6, 19 are allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the estimation RIP releases resources faster as compared to the standard RIP”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 9 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “a different number of renderers for the estimation RIP compared to the standard RIP”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 20 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “configuring the estimation RIP from a standard RIP from the plurality of RIPs”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682