DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 12/10/2024 has/have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are “means to be remotely controlled so as to approach a geographical position of a second node of the network”, and “means to analyze and filter at least part of the traffic” in claim 1,”.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: para 201, “ capacity (memory, processing means (processor, working memory, etc.), bandwidth, or others) of the suspicious network node (denoted “R2” in the figures where it is represented)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “means to be remotely controlled so as to approach a geographical position of a second node of the network”, and “means to analyze and filter at least part of the traffic” in claim 1.
Claim 2-6 do not cure the deficiency of claim 1 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph, for their dependency upon claim 1.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,704.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is substantially similar in nature of US Patent No. 12,206,704. See the table below:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,206,704
1. A mobile object configured to provide assistance to a communication network capable of routing traffic characteristic of a computer attack and needing thereby assistance, a managing of the assistance comprising, upon detecting a computer attack, identifying at least a first node of the network, requiring mitigation intervention, and identifying a traffic routing policy in the network, wherein the mobile object comprises: means to be remotely controlled so as to approach a geographical position of a second node of the network, the second node being determined relative to the first node according to the traffic routing policy; at least one communication interface to connect to at least the second node; and means to analyze and filter at least part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object via at least the second node in accordance with the traffic routing policy.
2. The mobile object according to claim 1, being equipped with a processing circuit comprising computing resources providing computing capabilities for processing at least the part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object.
3. The mobile object according to claim 1, configured to establish communication by radiofrequency link in order to connect to at least the second node.
4. The mobile object of claim 1, configured to: upon reception of a graft message, move to a location of the second node and establish a connection of the mobile object to the second node, the second node being designated in the graft message.
5. The mobile object of claim 1, configured to: upon reception of a routing policy message, routing at least one traffic according to the routing rule.
6. The mobile object of claim 5, wherein the routing is performed through the second node.
1. A method for managing assistance to a communication network capable of routing traffic characteristic of a computer attack of a denial-of-service type, the method comprising: upon detecting a computer attack, identifying at least a first node of the network, requiring mitigation intervention, and identifying a traffic routing policy in the network; providing at least one mobile object comprising at least one communication interface for connecting to at least one node of the network; controlling a movement of the mobile object so as to connect the mobile object to at least a second node of the network determined relative to the first node according to the traffic routing policy; and controlling at least part of the traffic routed by the network, so as to redirect the part of the traffic to the mobile object via at least the second node of the network, wherein the mobile object is configured to analyze and filter at least the part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object, and wherein the movement of the mobile object is remotely controlled to approach a geographical position of the second node.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the second node corresponds to the first node.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of mobile objects is provided, each comprising at least one communication interface for communicating at least between mobile objects, and a first mobile object among the plurality of mobile objects is controlled so as to connect to at least the second node of the network.
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the identification of the first node of the network and of the traffic routing policy in the network is carried out by a mitigation server embedded in one of the mobile objects.
5. The method according to claim 3, wherein the computer attack is detected by a second mobile object, connected to the network.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the computer attack is detected by the mobile object, controlled to connect to at least the second node.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the computer attack is detected by a third node of the network.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the mobile object is equipped with a processing circuit comprising computing resources providing computing capabilities for processing at least the part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the mobile object is configured to establish communication by radiofrequency link in order to connect to at least the second node.
10. The method according to claim 1, comprising: sending a graft message to the mobile object, in order to command a movement of the mobile object and establish a connection of the mobile object to the second node, designated in the graft message; sending a routing policy message to the mobile object, in order to command at least one traffic routing rule for routing by the mobile object; and sending a routing policy message to at least the second node, in order to command at least one traffic routing rule for routing by the second node.
11. The method according to claim 10, wherein the sending of the messages is performed by at least one mitigation server linked with the mobile object.
12. A non-transitory computer storage medium, storing instructions of a computer program, causing implementing the method according to claim 1, when the instructions are executed by a processor.
13. A system for managing assistance to a communication network capable of routing traffic characteristic of a computer attack of a denial-of-service type, the system comprising at least: a mobile object comprising at least one communication interface for connecting to at least one node of the network; a mitigation server configured for, in response to detection of a computer attack: identifying at least a first node of the network, requiring mitigation intervention, identifying a traffic routing policy in the network, controlling a movement of the mobile object so as to connect the mobile object to at least a second node of the network, determined relative to the first node according to the traffic routing policy, and controlling at least part of the traffic routed by the network, so as to redirect the part of the traffic to the mobile object via at least the second node of the network, wherein the mobile object is configured to analyze and filter at least the part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object, and wherein the mobile object is configured to establish communication by radiofrequency link in order to connect to at least the second node, and the movement of the mobile object is remotely controlled to approach a geographical position of the second node.
14. A mitigation server for assisting a communication network capable of routing traffic characteristic of a computer attack of a denial-of-service type, the mitigation server being configured for, in response to detection of a computer attack: identifying at least a first node of the network, requiring mitigation intervention, identifying a traffic routing policy in the network, controlling a movement of at least one mobile object, the mobile object comprising at least one communication interface for connecting to at least one node of the network, the movement controlling being performed so as to connect the mobile object to at least a second node of the network, determined relative to the first node according to the traffic routing policy, and controlling at least part of the traffic routed by the network, so as to redirect the part of the traffic to the mobile object via at least the second node of the network, wherein the mobile object is configured to analyze and filter at least the part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object, and wherein the mobile object is configured to establish communication by radiofrequency link in order to connect to at least the second node, and the movement of the mobile object is remotely controlled to approach a geographical position of the second node.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konda et al. (US Patent Application No. 20200067974) (Hereinafter Konda) in view of Correnti et al. (US Patent Application No. 20190199756) (Hereinafter Correnti).
As per claim 1, Correnti discloses a mobile object configured to provide assistance to a communication network capable of routing traffic characteristic of a computer attack and needing thereby assistance, a managing of the assistance comprising, upon detecting a computer attack, identifying at least a first node of the network, requiring mitigation intervention, and identifying a traffic routing policy in the network, wherein the mobile object comprises:
means to be remotely controlled so as to approach a geographical position of a second node of the network (fig 1, para 13, 33, monitoring system that can detect a hacking drone), the second node being determined relative to the first node according to the traffic routing policy (fig 2, para 60 electing one or more network adjustment policies);
at least one communication interface to connect to at least the second node (100, fig 1-3, para 73, drone communicating with network ).
Correnti does not explicitly disclose means to analyze and filter at least part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object via at least the second node in accordance with the traffic routing policy. However, Konda discloses Correnti means to analyze and filter at least part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object via at least the second node in accordance with the traffic routing policy (fig 1, element 165, para 64, the cloud service forwards the authorization and any mitigation policy to the DDoS mitigator, the traffic associated with the DDoS attack). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konda and Correnti. The motivation would have been to build the network that provide the monitoring and detecting system, that the unauthorized drone is communicating or attempting to communicate with a network.
The Examiner notes that this motivation applies to all dependent and/or otherwise subsequently addressed claims.
As per claim 2, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivation as claim 1, above. In addition, Konda discloses being equipped with a processing circuit comprising computing resources providing computing capabilities for processing at least the part of the traffic redirected to the mobile object (para 64, the cloud service forwards the authorization and any mitigation policy to the DDoS mitigator).
As per claim 3, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivation as claim 1, above. In addition, Correnti discloses configured to establish communication by radiofrequency link in order to connect to at least the second node (fig 1, para 117, the system leverages GPS information from the one or more user devices to determine whether the one or more user devices are close enough to the sensors the module 322, the camera 330, and the one or more drone detecting sensors).
As per claim 4, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivation as claim 1, above. In addition, Correnti discloses configured to: upon reception of a graft message, move to a location of the second node and establish a connection of the mobile object to the second node, the second node being designated in the graft message (fig 2, para 54, monitoring system components communicating using encrypted messages).
As per claim 5, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivation as claim 1, above. In addition, Correnti discloses configured to: upon reception of a routing policy message, routing at least one traffic according to the routing rule (fig 2, para 60, selecting one or more network adjustment policies; para 68, transmit instruction)..
As per claim 6, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivation as claim 1, above. In addition, Correnti discloses wherein the routing is performed through the second node (fig 1,2, para 44, drone communications and features of network data may be indirect ).
Conclusion
Please see the attached PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MOHAMMAD A SIDDIQI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493