DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gadzalinska et al. (US 2022/0388211 A1) in view of Witczak et al. (US 2022/0040743 A1) and King (US 2022/0266342 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gadzalinska meets the claimed method of additive manufacturing, (a method of filling a microcavity with layers of a polymer material [0003]) the method comprising: disposing a nozzle of a print head of an additive manufacturing system proximal to a microcavity defined in a substrate, (FIG. 1 is a flow diagram of a method 10 of filling a microcavity with layers of a polymer material , see [0030]) and dispensing the ink composition from the nozzle into the microcavity, (step 20, Fig. 1, dispense polymer composition).
Gadzalinska teaches the vertical position to be raised to position such that a meniscus of the polymer composition contacts the bottom 202 [0048].
Gadzalinska does not explicitly teach such that a first distance between the nozzle and a sidewall of the substrate defining the microcavity is no greater than a droplet size of an ink composition.
Witczak teaches such that a first distance between the nozzle and a sidewall of the substrate defining the microcavity is no greater than a droplet size of an ink composition. Lukasz teaches that the capillary tube second position 252 and the third position 254 should be sufficiently close to the sidewall 244 such that the extruded composition contacts the sidewall 244, see [0052]. Lukasz further teaches that the capillary tube 120 can contact the sidewall 244 during step 20, see [0052]. Examiner notes this indirectly teaches the distance of the nozzle from the sidewall to be no greater than a droplet size of the ink composition because the ink contacts the sidewall when extruded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the step of Witczak where the capillary tube is sufficiently close to the sidewall with the method of filling microcavities of Witczak because it ensures the ink composition is delivered to the desired location.
Gadzalinska as modified does not teach wherein the nozzle moves at least in a horizontal path while dispensing and the horizontal path includes a directional change of at least 15 degrees.
King meets the claimed wherein the nozzle moves at least in a horizontal path while dispensing and the horizontal path includes a directional change of at least 15 degrees. (King teaches tool paths for additive manufacturing printing nozzles including viscous fluid 3D printing, 3D printing of polymers, [0083]. King teaches Fig. 11, second tool path section that entirely fills a second layer region is determined based on a second predefined infill strategy, [0130]. Examiner notes Fig. 11 depicts a nozzle path with directional changes of 45 degrees and 135 degrees approximately.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the tool path including 45 degrees and 135 degree directional changes of King with the additive manufacturing method of Gadzalinska as modified because King teaches optimizing the tool path to minimize an amount of printing material used and to optimize a number and degree of printing tool turns along the tool path, see [0042].
Regarding claim 2, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein disposing the nozzle of the print head proximal to the microcavity defined in the substrate comprises contacting a surface of the substrate defining a floor of the microcavity with the nozzle of the print head, (FIG. 7 shows the capillary tube 120 being lowered into the microcavity 200. When the capillary tube outlet 132 contacts the bottom 202, the capillary tube 120 bends, see [0045] The capillary tube outlet should be sufficiently close to the current vertical position of the bottom 202 such that a meniscus of the polymer composition contacts the bottom 202 [0048])
Gadzalinska does not explicitly teach wherein the nozzle moves vertically away from the surface of the substrate while dispensing the ink composition.
However, Gadzalinska teaches the nozzle to contact the bottom 202, [0045], and vertical position to be raised to position such that a meniscus of the polymer composition contacts the bottom 202 [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to move the nozzle vertically away from the bottom during dispensing in order to achieve a meniscus of the polymer composition contacts the bottom 202 [0048] without bending tube 120 [0045].
Regarding claim 3, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the ink composition is continuously dispensed during movement of the nozzle in the horizontal path. (Examiner notes the combination meets the claim. Gadzalinska teaches applied pressure is sufficiently high that the polymer composition continues to flow out from the capillary tube outlet 132, [0047]. King teaches tool paths for dispensing viscous fluid, [0083]).
Regarding claim 4, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the first distance is no greater than 70 μm. (Lukasz further teaches that the capillary tube 120 can contact the sidewall 244 during step 20, see [0052]. Thus the distance is zero).
Regarding claim 5, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the first distance is no greater than 50 μm. (Lukasz further teaches that the capillary tube 120 can contact the sidewall 244 during step 20, see [0052]. Thus the distance is zero).
Regarding claim 6, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the directional change is at least 80 degrees. King teaches Fig. 11, second tool path section that entirely fills a second layer region is determined based on a second predefined infill strategy, [0130]. Examiner notes Fig. 11 depicts a nozzle path with directional changes of 45 degrees and 135 degrees approximately.)
Regarding claim 7, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the horizontal path includes at least two directional changes of at least 15 degrees. King teaches Fig. 11, second tool path section that entirely fills a second layer region is determined based on a second predefined infill strategy, [0130]. Examiner notes Fig. 11 depicts a nozzle path with multiple directional changes of 45 degrees and 135 degrees approximately.)
Regarding claim 8, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the horizontal path comprises at least one shape selected from the group consisting of a triangular shape, a rectangular shape, a V-shape, a Z-shape, and a S-shape.( King teaches Fig. 11, second tool path section that entirely fills a second layer region is determined based on a second predefined infill strategy, [0130]. Examiner notes Fig. 11 depicts a nozzle path with rectangular shape.)
Regarding claim 9, Gadzalinska is silent on the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the horizontal path is created based on at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of a wettability of the substrate, a viscosity of the ink composition, a geometry of the microcavity, a surface tension of the ink composition, a contact angle between the ink composition and the substrate, and a component of the ink composition.
King meets the claimed wherein the horizontal path is created based on at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of a wettability of the substrate, a viscosity of the ink composition, a geometry of the microcavity, (King teaches tool paths for additive manufacturing printing nozzles including viscous fluid 3D printing, 3D printing of polymers, [0083]. King teaches determining tool path when the three dimensional structure is more complex and includes a number of different shaped components, see [0110], Fig. 4a, Fig 12a-c) a surface tension of the ink composition, a contact angle between the ink composition and the substrate, and a component of the ink composition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the tool path based on structure geometry of King with the additive manufacturing method of Gadzalinska as modified because King teaches optimizing the tool path to minimize an amount of printing material used and to optimize a number and degree of printing tool turns along the tool path, see [0042].
Regarding claim 10, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, further comprising curing the ink composition. (Step 26 includes a final cure of the work piece. Typically, step 26 includes heating the work piece to a temperature in a range of 150 to 230° C, [0054])
Regarding claim 11, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 10, wherein curing the ink composition comprises applying at least one stimulus selected from the group consisting of ultraviolet radiation and heat. (Step 26 includes a final cure of the work piece. Typically, step 26 includes heating the work piece to a temperature in a range of 150 to 230° C, [0054])
Regarding claim 12, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 11, wherein curing the ink composition comprises heating the ink composition in the microcavity to a temperature in a range of 150 degrees Celsius to 230 degrees Celsius. (Step 26 includes a final cure of the work piece. Typically, step 26 includes heating the work piece to a temperature in a range of 150 to 230° C, [0054])
Regarding claim 13, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein dispensing the ink composition comprises applying a pressure in a range of 50 mbar to 10,000 mbar to the ink composition in the nozzle to extrude the ink composition through the nozzle and into the microcavity. ( dispensing applied pressure 1500-5000 mbar, [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the microcavity has a vertical depth in a range of 1 μm to 100 μm and a horizontal span in a range of 10 μm to 200 μm. (The microcavity had a depth 204 of approximately 8 μm and a diameter 206 of approximately 25 μm, [0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the ink composition comprises a viscosity in a range of 50 cP to 4000 cP. (polymer compositions having a viscosity in a range of 200 cP to 1000 cP can be used herein [0043]).
Regarding claim 16, Gadzalinska as modified meets the claim method of claim 1, wherein the nozzle comprises a capillary tube having an outer diameter equal to or less than 8 μm. ( Glass capillary tubes in which the tube outlet has an outer diameter in a range of 0.7 μm to 8 μm are preferred [0035]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mantell et al. (US 2020/0086562 A1) teaches [0031] These three constraints are necessary for a nozzle arrangement that does not form only separated lines in a swath at particular angular orientations from the 0°-180° axis or the 90°-270° axis directions. Applying these constraints and some of the other constraints discussed below yields the nozzle arrangements for a nine nozzle faceplate shown in FIG. 2A to FIG. 2C, the nozzle arrangements for a eleven nozzle faceplate shown in FIG. 3A to FIG. 3C, and the nozzle arrangements for a thirteen nozzle faceplate shown in FIG. 4A to FIG. 4C.
Yamazaki (US 2022/0126522 A1) teaches (Abstract). A three-dimensional shaped article production method includes a first step of dividing a gap region that is a gap region sandwiched by multiple partial paths and includes one or multiple concave shapes at an outer circumference based on first data having path data representing a path in which an ejection section moves while ejecting a shaping material by multiple partial paths, and having ejection control data including at least either of ejection amount information representing an ejection amount of the shaping material in each of the partial paths.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744