DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ROTOR INCLUDING SIDE WALL COMPRISING A PLURALITY OF GROOVES”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 19 recites “a rotor assembly for an electric motor, the rotor assembly comprising: the rotor of claim 1; and the one or more magnets disposed proximate the inner surface of the side wall”. The claim limitation fails to specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed-specifically no further structural limitations of the rotor are provided. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gotovac et al. (WO20230138783, “Gotovac”).
Re claim 1, Gotovac discloses a rotor for an electric motor, the rotor comprising:
a side wall rotatable about an axis of rotation R of a shaft of the electric motor (figs 8 & below, pg 12, 3rd para, side wall includes 27 & back yoke 1; discloses bearing 31 in fig 8 implying shaft connected to rotor), the side wall having an inner surface 7, the side wall to support one or more magnets 3 disposed proximate the inner surface 7, the side wall defining a space to at least partially receive a stator 21 of the electric motor (fig 8, pg 12, 3rd para), the side wall comprising a plurality of grooves 11 in the inner surface 7 (figs 4-6, pg 11, 2nd-3rd & 5th para, grooves of figs 4-5 or fig 6), the grooves 11 being oriented about circumferentially relative to the axis of rotation R (figs 4-5, pg 7, 5th-6th para).
Re claim 2, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses one or more of the grooves 11 each define a corresponding plane about perpendicular to the axis of rotation (figs 5-6 & below).
Re claim 3, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses one or more of the grooves 11 each define a closed loop (figs 4-5, pg 7, 5th-6th para, says 11 can be parallel or spiral).
Re claim 4, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses the grooves 11 are about equally spaced from one another along the axis of rotation R (figs 5-6).
Re claim 5, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses the grooves 11 are about evenly distributed along a height of the side wall measured along the axis of rotation R (figs 5-6).
Re claims 7-10, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses the side wall has a thickness h2 measured radially relative to the axis of rotation (figs 5-6), and one or more of the grooves 11 each have a corresponding depth h1 being at most:
about 40% of the thickness of the side wall;
about 30% of the thickness of the side wall;
about 20% of the thickness of the side wall; and
about 10% of the thickness of the side wall (figs 5-6, pg 8, 3rd para, states depth h1 is 1-40% of h2).
Re claim 14, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses one or more of the grooves 11 each have a shape being one of about rectangular, about V-shaped, and about U-shaped (figs 5-6).
Re claim 15, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses the inner surface 7 of the side wall defines a cylinder (figs 1-3).
Re claim 16, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses the side wall comprises a backiron of the electric motor (fig 8, pg 8, 4th para).
Re claim 17, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses the side wall is to support the one or more magnets being permanent magnets 3 (figs 1-6 & 8, claim 1).
Re claim 18, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses one or more of the grooves 11 are at least partially filled with a material having a magnetic permeability being lower than a corresponding magnetic permeability of the side wall (figs 5-6, pg 6, 4th para & pg 8, 4th para, air or adhesive has mag. permeability lower than ferromagnetic material of 1).
Re claim 19, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses a rotor assembly for an electric motor (fig 8), the rotor assembly comprising: the rotor of claim 1; and the one or more magnets 3 disposed proximate the inner surface 7 of the side wall (figs 4-6 & 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Read et al. (WO2025022117, “Read”).
Re claim 6, Gotovac discloses claim 1 and further discloses the grooves 11 take up a fraction of a height of the side wall, the height measured along the axis of rotation (figs 5-6, 8 & below, 11 only on 1 so grooves make of approximately less than 50% of side wall height).
Gotovac discloses claim 1 but is silent with respect to the fraction being less than or equal to about 10%.
Read discloses reducing the number of grooves 30 increases strength of shaft 10 (figs 1 & 3, pg 9, 5th para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the number of grooves in the side wall of Gotovac, as disclosed by Read, so that the fraction being less than or equal to about 10%, in order to increase the strength of the side wall while providing some reduction to eddy currents, as taught by Read (figs 1 & 3, pg 9, 5th para).
Additionally applicant provides no criticality with respect to the fraction being less than or equal to about 10%. Since the number of grooves is a result effective variable (increasing number decreases eddy currents& decreasing number increases strength of side wall, as taught by Read), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fraction to be less than or equal to about 10%, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knorre et al. (EP2658095, “Knorre”, using machine translation).
Re claim 11, Gotovac discloses claim 1 but is silent with respect to:
one or more the grooves have a corresponding aspect ratio being less than or equal to about 1:1, the aspect ratio being a ratio of a corresponding width of a given groove measured along the axis of rotation to a corresponding depth of the given groove measured radially relative to the axis of rotation;
the one or more of the grooves have the corresponding aspect ratio being less than or equal to about 1:3; and
the one or more of the grooves have the corresponding aspect ratio being less than or equal to about 1:10.
Knorre discloses one or more the grooves 8 have a corresponding aspect ratio being less than or equal to about 1:1, the aspect ratio being a ratio of a corresponding width b of a given groove measured along the axis of rotation 5 to a corresponding depth t of the given groove measured radially relative to the axis of rotation;
the one or more of the grooves have the corresponding aspect ratio being less than or equal to about 1:3; and
the one or more of the grooves have the corresponding aspect ratio being less than or equal to about 1:10 (figs 1-2 & 4, [0021], says 0.3≤ b ≤3mm & 0.5≤ t ≤ 5mm, satisfies above limitations when b=0.5 mm & t=5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a groove size to reduce eddy currents, as taught by Knorre ([0021-0022]).
Conclusion
Takahashi et al. (US20070090708) discloses at least claim 1.
Kori (CN111555489) has U-shaped grooves.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834