DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “heat transferred media” is a typo of –heat transfer media—.
Claim 2: “the cooling passages” (plural, two recitations) should be –the cooling passage— (singular).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 12-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the tube bundle" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 6 should depend from claim 5 instead of claim 4.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the reactant" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the reactor effluent" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the outlet for the reactant" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the cooling media" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the outlet for the reactant" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear what the relationship is between “the outlet for the reactant” and the outlet previously introduced in the claim. Is Applicant intending to introduce a new element or refer to the element previously introduced? The office believes the latter is intended and has interpreted the claim accordingly.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the outlet for the reactant" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesterenko et al (WO 2019/162392) in view of Lehr et al (US 2008/0023175).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6 and 18, Nesterenko discloses a process for converting naphtha comprising (see Abstract; Fig. 1):
contacting a naphtha stream 1 and a hydrogen stream 9 with a catalyst in a reactant passage of a reactor 3 to produce a light paraffinic stream 5 (see p. 4, lines 4-13; p. 10, lines 14-23); and
separating 7 the light paraffin stream into an ethane stream 13 and a propane stream 15 (see p. 10, line 26 – p. 11, line 1).
Nesterenko does not disclose carrying out the reaction in a reactor which cools the reactant passage by indirect heat exchange with a heat transfer media in a cooling passage adjacent to the reactant passage.
Lehr is directed to a tube bundle reactor for exothermic and endothermic reactions (see Abstract; [0002]-[0003]). The reactor comprises a bundle of vertically disposed reactor tubes and a reactor shell which encloses the tube bundle. Catalyst is located within the tubes. Heat transfer medium flows around the outer surfaces of the reactor tubes and is circulated in at least one circuit through the reactor portion (see [0003]; [0028]; [0051]). Lehr discloses that this reactor configuration allows for uniform reaction conditions to be obtained along the flow path of the reactor tubes, allowing for isothermal operation and preventing inadmissibly high thermal stresses as a consequence of excessive different temperature-induced expansions (see [0004]; [0007]; [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Nesterenko by carrying out the hydrocracking reaction in a reactor design as disclosed in Lehr, entailing a shell and tube heat exchanger wherein reactant flows through catalyst filled tubes and heat exchange medium flows through the shell around the tubes, in order to provide temperature control for the reaction.
Regarding claim 2, Lehr discloses the reactor configuration comprising a first zone in the cooling passage comprising a first heat exchange inlet (downstream of valve 31 connecting to 30) and a first heat exchange outlet 26 and a second zone in the cooling passage comprising a second heat exchange inlet 25 and a second heat exchange outlet 29 (see Fig 1; [0219]-[0223]).
Regarding claim 3, the first zone is located in a top quarter of the reactor height (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lehr discloses wherein the first zone is at a lower temperature than the second zone (see [0257], which discloses temperature increase from the inlet to the exit of the reactor, i.e., top to bottom).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Lehr discloses the reactor comprising an inlet 147 for reactant and an outlet 16 for reactor effluent (see Fig. 1; [0220]).
However, Nesterenko in view of Lehr does not explicitly disclose wherein maximum temperature in the reactor is within 10°C of a temperature at the outlet for reactor effluent.
In this regard, the office notes that Lehr discloses the reactor configuration being suitable for isothermal operation (see [0007]). Thus, considering the teachings of Lehr, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to minimize temperature differences within the reactor consistent with the objective of isothermal operation. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, the claimed temperature difference between the reactor effluent outlet and that within the reactor is not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Lehr discloses wherein the heat transfer medium is in a molten state (see [0060]; [0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Lehr discloses (see [0060]-[0063]; [0219]-[0223]):
heating the heat transfer medium to provide a molten heat transfer medium;
passing the molten heat transfer medium to the cooling passage through a medium inlet to contact and cool the reactant passage;
taking a contacted molten heat transfer medium from the cooling passage through a medium outlet; and
cooling the contacted molten heat transfer medium in a medium cooler to provide a cooled molten heat transfer medium.
Regarding claim 10, Lehr discloses wherein the heat transfer medium comprises one or more salts selected from sodium nitrite, sodium nitrate, and potassium nitrate (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Lehr discloses wherein the heat transfer medium has a melting temperature in the range 100 to 450°C (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Lehr discloses wherein the reactant (naphtha as in Nesterenko) is passed to a top of the reactant passage and the heat transfer medium is passed to a side of the reactant passage (see Fig. 1; [0219]-[0223]).
Regarding claim 13, Nesterenko discloses a process for converting naphtha comprising (see Abstract; Fig. 1):
contacting a naphtha stream 1 and a hydrogen stream 9 with a catalyst in a reactant passage of a reactor 3 having an inlet and an outlet to produce a light paraffinic stream 5 (see p. 4, lines 4-13; p. 10, lines 14-23); and
separating 7 the light paraffin stream into an ethane stream 13 and a propane stream 15 (see p. 10, line 26 – p. 11, line 1).
Nesterenko does not disclose: (1) carrying out the reaction in a reactor which cools the reactant passage by indirect heat exchange with a heat transfer media in a cooling passage adjacent to the reactant passage; and (2) wherein maximum temperature in the reactor is within 10°C of a temperature at the outlet for reaction effluent.
Regarding (1), Lehr is directed to a tube bundle reactor for exothermic and endothermic reactions (see Abstract; [0002]-[0003]). The reactor comprises a bundle of vertically disposed reactor tubes and a reactor shell which encloses the tube bundle. Catalyst is located within the tubes. Heat transfer medium flows around the outer surfaces of the reactor tubes and is circulated in at least one circuit through the reactor portion (see [0003]; [0028]; [0051]). Lehr discloses that this reactor configuration allows for uniform reaction conditions to be obtained along the flow path of the reactor tubes, allowing for isothermal operation and preventing inadmissibly high thermal stresses as a consequence of excessive different temperature-induced expansions (see [0004]; [0007]; [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Nesterenko by carrying out the hydrocracking reaction in a reactor design as disclosed in Lehr, entailing a shell and tube heat exchanger wherein reactant flows through catalyst filled tubes and heat exchange medium flows through the shell around the tubes, in order to provide temperature control for the reaction.
Regarding (2), the office notes that Lehr discloses the reactor configuration being suitable for isothermal operation (see [0007]). Thus, considering the teachings of Lehr, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to minimize temperature differences within the reactor consistent with the objective of isothermal operation. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, the claimed temperature difference between the reactor effluent outlet and that within the reactor is not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Lehr discloses (see [0060]-[0063]; [0219]-[0223]):
heating the heat transfer medium to provide a molten heat transfer medium;
passing the molten heat transfer medium to the cooling passage through a medium inlet to contact and cool the reactant passage;
taking a contacted molten heat transfer medium from the cooling passage through a medium outlet; and
cooling the contacted molten heat transfer medium in a medium cooler to provide a cooled molten heat transfer medium.
Regarding claim 16, Lehr discloses wherein the heat transfer medium comprises one or more salts selected from sodium nitrite, sodium nitrate, and potassium nitrate (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 17, Lehr discloses wherein the reactant (naphtha as in Nesterenko) is passed to a top of the reactant passage and the heat transfer medium is passed to a side of the reactant passage (see Fig. 1; [0219]-[0223]).
Conclusion
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772