DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20210294019).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses (Figs. 1-3) an electronic device, comprising: a panel (30); an optical element (200) disposed on the panel and comprising a first surface (surface facing towards 40) away from the panel, wherein in a top view, the first surface has a polygonal microstructure (210); and a film (100) disposed between the optical element (200) and the panel (30) and comprising a second surface (surface facing 200) adjacent to the optical element (200), wherein the second surface has a dot structure (111).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses (Figs. 1-3) the film (100) comprises a light guide plate (section 0017).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isshiki et al. (US 20200363571).
Regarding claim 3, Chen does not necessarily disclose the microstructure is irregular in shape.
Isshiki discloses (Figs. 1-8) the microstructure (14) is irregular in shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Isshiki to increase an antiglare property as internal reflection scattering increases.
Regarding claim 6, Chen does not necessarily disclose the microstructure has an arithmetical mean deviation of the profile (Ra), the optical element has a thickness, and the arithmetical mean deviation of the profile and the thickness conform to the following formula: 0.00001≤arithmetical mean deviation of the profile/thickness≤0.0104.
Isshiki discloses (sections 0042, 0090, 0104) various arithmetical mean deviations of the profile (Ra) and various thicknesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular formula, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the particular formula to obtain high antiglare property and high visibility.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 20200033525).
Regarding claim 4, Chen does not necessarily disclose a protective layer disposed on the film.
Sugiyama discloses (Fig. 3) a protective layer (107) disposed on the film (101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sugiyama to prevent an adhesion of dirt and scratches on the film.
Regarding claim 5, Chen does not necessarily an adhesive layer disposed between the protective layer and the film.
Sugiyama discloses (Fig. 3) an adhesive layer disposed between the protective layer (107) and the film (101) (sections 0048, 0051, 0066, 0165). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sugiyama to attach layers and to prevent an adhesion of dirt and scratches on the film.
Claim is 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hsu et al. (US 20240027811).
Regarding claim 7, Chen does not necessarily disclose the panel comprises cholesteric liquid-crystal layers that reflect light of different colors.
Hsu discloses (Figs. 1A-9B) the panel comprises cholesteric liquid-crystal layers that reflect light of different colors (sections 0043-0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hsu to obtain a display panel for an environment specific application.
Conclusion
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871