DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 12, 15, 17-19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926).
Regarding claim 1, Suwa et al teaches: An image processing method comprising: a determination step of determining image processing to be applied, based on information of at least one region of a first region and a second region of a first image [col 9: lines 32-47 (image processing such as determining correction conditions as highlight and shadow points)]; and a generation step of generating second image data of a second image for outputting the second image having a third region corresponding to the first region by performing the image processing on first image data of the first image [col 9: lines 48-61]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled in the art to generate output image based on photographic portion and surrounding frame for preserving frame appearance.
Regarding claim 4, Suwa et al further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the first region and the third region are photographic image portions of the first image and the second image, respectively, and the second region is a frame image portion of the first image [col 2: lines 15-17, col 9: lines 57-61 (Reproducing white edge without modification and correcting image surrounded by the edge.)].
Regarding claim 8, Suwa et al further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the information acquired from the at least one region includes a result of the image processing on the first image data of the first image in the at least one region [col 9: lines 33-47].
Regarding claim 9, Suwa et al further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the second image has a fourth region corresponding to the second region [col 9: lines 53-61 (The fourth region: white surrounding edge reproduced)].
Regarding claim 12, Suwa et al further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 9, wherein the first region and the third region are photographic image portions of the first image and the second image, respectively, and the second region and the fourth region are frame image portions of the first image and the second image, respectively [col 2: 15-17, col 9: 57-61].
Regarding claim 15, Suwa et al further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 1, further comprising an acquisition step of acquiring the first image data of the first image from the first image having the first region and the second region [col 8: lines 45-50 (scan original image)].
Regarding claim 17, Suwa et al further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the first image is an image of a first print, the second image is an image of a second print, the first image data of the first image is first print image data of the first print, and the second image data of the second image is second print image data of the second print [col 2: lines 15-17, col 8: lines 30-36, col 9: lines 53-61].
Regarding claim 18, Suwa et al further teaches: A printing method comprising: outputting, based on the second print image data generated by the image processing method according to claim 17, the second print in which an image for the second print is recorded on a recording medium of the second print [fig. 1, col 8: lines 30-36].
Claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
Claim 22 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 17.
Claim 23 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 18 and in accordance with a printer [fig. 1: 105].
4. Claims 2, 3, 10, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926) and in further view of Kimbell et al (US Patent: 6,456,732).
Regarding claim 2, Suwa further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 1, wherein first region image data of the first region of the first image and second region image data of the second region of the first image are detected [col 8: lines 62-67], in the determination step, different types of image processing are respectively determined for the first region image data and the second region image data, which are detected [col 9: lines 48-52], and in the generation step, third region image data of the third region is generated based on the first region image data and the second region image data, and is generated as the second image data of the second image [col 9: lines 10-14].
Suwa does not expressly delete the frame image data when generating the output image. In the same field of endeavor, Kimbell teaches identifying unnecessary white space margins and cropping the margins by deleting the corresponding image data [col 3: lines 35-50, claim 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to apply color and contrast correction to image data and cropping to surrounding frame image data to generate output image with correct portion without unnecessary margin.
Regarding claim 3, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Claim 3 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 11.
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 2. It would have been obvious to a skilled in the art to modify Suwa’s image processing method with Kimbell to crop unwanted portions of surrounding frame while retaining desire portion and combining with corrected photographic portion for improving utilization while preserving the photograph.
Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 2.
Claim 21 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 10 and 16.
5. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926) and Kimbell et al (US Patent: 6,456,732); and in further view of Kido (EP Pub: 2131566).
Regarding claim 5, Suwa et al does not recognize handwritten text or apply process to recognition result. In the same field of endeavor, Kido teaches: The image processing method according to claim 4, wherein, in the generation step, the second image data of the second image is generated by recognizing a pattern and a handwritten text of the frame image portion of the first image, and applying image processing according to a recognition result to the first image data of the photographic image portion of the first image [fig. 4: S107-S112]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to recognize handwritten image and illustration image data, combine them with a background and resizing the composite image.
Regarding claim 6, Suwa et al does not specify a pattern for processing. In the same field of endeavor, Kido teaches: The image processing method according to claim 4, wherein, in the generation step, the second image data of the second image is generated by applying image processing according to a pattern of the frame image portion of the first image to the first image data of the photographic image portion of the first image [p0076, figs. 4 and 11]. Therefore, Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to process an illustration pattern and combine it with a background to generate a composite image.
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926) and Kimbell et al (US Patent: 6,456,732); and in further view of Jackson et al (US Pub: 2006/0177132).
Regarding claim 7, Suwa does not specify cropping. In the dame field of endeavor, Jackson et al teaches: The image processing method according to claim 4, wherein, in the generation step, as a cropping region of the second image, information on a new cropping region for generating the second image is generated based on a first image corresponding to the photographic image portion of the first image, cropping region information for the first image, and recording medium size information of the second image [p0023-p0025, p0031]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suwa et al’s image processing in view of Jackson to generate a new cropping region based on the original image cropping info, and print size to accommodate various formats while preserving content.
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926) and Kimbell et al (US Patent: 6,456,732); and in further view of Hanechak (US Pub: 2007/0024908) and Musselman et al (US Patent: 8,411,115).
Regarding claim 11, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein. Kimbell et al further teaches: The image processing method according to claim 10, wherein, in a case in which a recording paper size of the first image and a recording medium size of the second image are different from each other [Kimbell: abstract], in the generation step, the fourth region image data of the second image is generated by performing, on the second region image data of the first image, image processing for supplementing or cropping a video without resizing the second region of the first image [Kimbell: fig. 3: S302; col 3: lines 45-48].
Suwa et al in view of Kimbell et al does not specify resizing. In the same field of endeavor, Hanechak and Musselman teach: the third region image data of the second image is generated by performing, on the first region image data of the first image, image processing for resizing the first region of the first image based on information on a size of the fourth region of the second image [Hanechak: p0051, fig. 21; Musselman: col 4; lines 52-54], and the second image data of the second image is generated by combining the fourth region image data of the second image and the third region image data of the second image [Suwa: col 9: lines 57-60; Hanechak: p0051, fig. 21].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to accommodate different pager sizes by cropping a surrounding frame while preserving its original pattern scale and resizing the photographic portion to maintain the frame while fitting to the output sheet.
9. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926) and in further view of Hanechak (US Pub: 2007/0024908) and Kido (EP Pub: 2131566).
Regarding claim 13, Suwa et al does not specify image processing based on combination of pattern. Hanechak teaches: The image processing method according to claim 12, wherein, in the generation step, the second image data of the second image is generated by applying image processing according to a combination of a pattern of the frame image portion of the first image and a pattern of the frame image portion of a recording medium used in the second image to the first image data of the photographic image portion of the first image [p0049, p0051, p0054, p0056]. And Kido combines decorative illustration patterns with a photographic background in [fig. 4: S107-S110]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to incorporate decorative frame patterns and resize and position the photographic image to generate customized prints.
10. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926) and in further view of Kido (EP Pub: 2131566).
Regarding claim 14, Suwa et al preserves the original edge when producing the output. In the same field of endeavor, Kido teaches: The image processing method according to claim 12, wherein the frame image portion of the second image is different from the frame image portion of the first image [p0045, p0046, p075]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of the two to provide a different decorative frame in the output image as suggested by Kido to allow customized photographic prints.
11. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al (US Patent: 6,608,926) and in further view of Wada et al (US Pub: 2013/0050754).
Claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 15 and in accordance with Wada et al’s teaching on a smart device [p0049]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to apply a camera equipped portable telephone for image capturing.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682