Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10-12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Penke et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2018/0098151, hereinafter “Penke”).
In regard to claim 1, Penke discloses a primary playback device (Fig. 2, 200) comprising:
a wireless network interface (WiFi driver 211, paragraph [0042]);
an audio input interface (inbound audio 101, paragraph [0041]);
at least one processor (paragraph [0058]);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (paragraph [0058]); and
program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to, after receipt of encoded audio content via the audio input interface (see Fig. 11, source audio is received, paragraph [0045]),
decode a chunk of the encoded audio content, thereby resulting in decoded audio content (incoming audio is decoded, paragraph [0039]);
store the decoded audio in a buffer (a packet concentrator includes a buffer, paragraphs [0047-0048]);
perform audio processing on the decoded audio content, thereby resulting in processed audio content (upmixing is performed on the audio, paragraph [0045]);
determine a composition of a group of satellite playback devices that are bonded to the primary playback device (any connected wireless external audio hardware is detected, paragraph [0049]);
determine capabilities of the satellite playback devices (the number of channels supported by each external audio hardware device is determined, paragraph [0049]);
select a packet size based on the determined capabilities and based on reference to a data structure configured to map packet size to the capabilities of the satellite playback devices (based on the determined hardware capabilities, packet size may be increased or decreased, paragraphs [0047-0048]); and
play back audio content in synchrony with the satellite playback devices at least in part by communicating a portion of the processed audio content, in packets of the selected packet size, to the satellite playback devices using the wireless network interface (audio is played back synchronously on the device’s native audio outputs and on the external audio hardware by transmitting the audio using the selected packet size, thus providing for example 5.1 surround sound audio, paragraphs [0048-0050]).
In regard to claim 7, Penke discloses audio processing includes sample rate conversion, up-mixing, and/or down-mixing (upmixing, paragraph [0045]).
In regard to claim 10, Penke discloses the primary playback device is a soundbar or a smart television (see Fig. 10, smart TV 1001, paragraph [0053]).
In regard to claim 11, Penke discloses at least one of the satellite playback devices is a speaker (wirelessly connected speakers, paragraph [0049]).
In regard to claim 12, Penke discloses a method of operating a primary playback device (Fig. 2, 200), the method comprising:
receiving, at the primary playback device, encoded audio content (see Fig. 11, source audio is received, paragraph [0045]);
decoding a chunk of the encoded audio content, thereby resulting in decoded audio content (incoming audio is decoded, paragraph [0039]);
storing the decoded audio in a buffer (a packet concentrator includes a buffer, paragraphs [0047-0048]);
performing audio processing on the decoded audio content, thereby resulting in processed audio content (upmixing is performed on the audio, paragraph [0045]);
determining a composition of a group of satellite playback devices that are bonded to the primary playback device (any connected wireless external audio hardware is detected, paragraph [0049]);
determining capabilities of the satellite playback devices (the number of channels supported by each external audio hardware device is determined, paragraph [0049]);
selecting a packet size based on the determined capabilities and based on reference to a data structure configured to map packet size to the capabilities of the satellite playback devices (based on the determined hardware capabilities, packet size may be increased or decreased, paragraphs [0047-0048]); and
communicating a portion of the processed audio content, in packets of the selected packet size, to the satellite playback (audio is played back synchronously on the device’s native audio outputs and on the external audio hardware by transmitting the audio using the selected packet size, thus providing for example 5.1 surround sound audio, paragraphs [0048-0050]).
In regard to claim 20, Penke discloses a media playback system (see Fig. 2) comprising:
a primary playback device (200, paragraph [0041]);
a group of satellite playback devices that are bonded to the primary playback device (external speakers 220a-220n, paragraph [0041]), wherein the primary playback device comprises:
a wireless network interface (WiFi driver 211, paragraph [0042]);
an audio input interface (inbound audio 101, paragraph [0041]);
at least one processor (paragraph [0058]);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (paragraph [0058]); and
program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to, after receipt of encoded audio content via the audio input interface (see Fig. 11, source audio is received, paragraph [0045]),
decode a chunk of the encoded audio content, thereby resulting in decoded audio content (incoming audio is decoded, paragraph [0039]);
store the decoded audio in a buffer (a packet concentrator includes a buffer, paragraphs [0047-0048]);
perform audio processing on the decoded audio content, thereby resulting in processed audio content (upmixing is performed on the audio, paragraph [0045]);
determine a composition of the group of satellite playback devices (any connected wireless external audio hardware is detected, paragraph [0049]);
determine capabilities of the satellite playback devices (the number of channels supported by each external audio hardware device is determined, paragraph [0049]);
select a packet size based on the determined capabilities and based on reference to a data structure configured to map packet size to the capabilities of the satellite playback devices (based on the determined hardware capabilities, packet size may be increased or decreased, paragraphs [0047-0048]); and
play back audio content in synchrony with the satellite playback devices at least in part by communicating a portion of the processed audio content, in packets of the selected packet size, to the satellite playback devices using the wireless network interface (audio is played back synchronously on the device’s native audio outputs and on the external audio hardware by transmitting the audio using the selected packet size, thus providing for example 5.1 surround sound audio, paragraphs [0048-0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penke, in view of Butterworth et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2018/0350375, hereinafter “Butterworth”).
In regard to claim 2, Penke discloses capabilities of a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices include a number of audio channels that the satellite playback device is configured to render (the number of channels supported by the detected hardware, paragraph [0049]).
Penke does not expressly disclose the data structure is configured to indicate a number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel.
Butterworth discloses a system for transmitting multichannel wireless audio comprising a data structure configured to indicate a number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel (a data packet structure comprises the number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel, paragraphs [0029-0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel, because it would allow the use of a sparse stream format where only packets for channels that have active audio need to be transmitted, as taught by Butterworth (paragraph [0023]).
In regard to claim 3, Penke discloses the number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel is selected to minimize a total number of packets to be transmitted for a given duration of the processed audio content, and such that the decoded audio content does not overflow the buffer (the packet size and buffer size are adjusted to ensure no loss of data (as would occur during a buffer overflow) and minimizing the number of packets transmitted, paragraph [0048]).
In regard to claim 4, Penke does not expressly disclose the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to communicate the packets of the selected packet size to the satellite playback devices in a Round Robin order.
Butterworth discloses the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to communicate the packets of the selected packet size to the satellite playback devices in a Round Robin order (packets are transmitted per channel in a Round Robin order until a group of samples are transmitted for each channel, paragraphs [0029-0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to communicate the packets of the selected packet size to the satellite playback devices in a Round Robin order, because it would allow the use of a sparse stream format where only packets for channels that have active audio need to be transmitted, as taught by Butterworth (paragraph [0023]).
In regard to claim 5, Penke does not disclose the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to initiate performance of the audio processing after a selected threshold number of samples of the decoded audio content have been provided, the selected threshold number of samples allowing a packet to be filled for a satellite playback device, of the group of satellite playback devices, configured to render a fewest number of channels.
Butterworth discloses a system for transmitting multichannel wireless audio comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to initiate performance of the audio processing after a selected threshold number of samples of the decoded audio content have been provided, the selected threshold number of samples allowing a packet to be filled for a satellite playback device, of the group of satellite playback devices, configured to render a fewest number of channels (multichannel audio data is divided into individual channels, then, when a number of samples of data for each channel are decoded, each channel is packaged with the number of samples per packet per channel, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to initiate performance of audio processing after a selected threshold number of samples of the decoded audio content have been provided, because it would allow the use of a sparse stream format where only packets for channels that have active audio need to be transmitted, as taught by Butterworth (paragraph [0023]).
In regard to claim 13, Penke discloses determining capabilities of a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices include determining a number of audio channels that the satellite playback device is configured to render (the number of channels supported by the detected hardware, paragraph [0049]).
Penke does not expressly disclose the data structure is configured to indicate a number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel.
Butterworth discloses a system for transmitting multichannel wireless audio comprising a data structure configured to indicate a number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel (a data packet structure comprises the number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel, paragraphs [0029-0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel, because it would allow the use of a sparse stream format where only packets for channels that have active audio need to be transmitted, as taught by Butterworth (paragraph [0023]).
In regard to claim 14, Penke discloses the number of samples to be transmitted per packet per audio channel is selected to minimize a total number of packets to be transmitted for a given duration of the processed audio content, and such that the decoded audio content does not overflow the buffer (the packet size and buffer size are adjusted to ensure no loss of data (as would occur during a buffer overflow) and minimizing the number of packets transmitted, paragraph [0048]).
In regard to claim 15, Penke does not expressly disclose communicating the packets of the selected packet size to the satellite playback devices in a Round Robin order.
Butterworth discloses communicating the packets of the selected packet size to the satellite playback devices in a Round Robin order (packets are transmitted per channel in a Round Robin order until a group of samples are transmitted for each channel, paragraphs [0029-0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to communicate the packets of the selected packet size to the satellite playback devices in a Round Robin order, because it would allow the use of a sparse stream format where only packets for channels that have active audio need to be transmitted, as taught by Butterworth (paragraph [0023]).
In regard to claim 16, Penke does not disclose initiating performance of the audio processing after a selected threshold number of samples of the decoded audio content have been provided, the selected threshold number of samples allowing a packet to be filled for a satellite playback device, of the group of satellite playback devices, configured to render a fewest number of channels.
Butterworth discloses initiating performance of the audio processing after a selected threshold number of samples of the decoded audio content have been provided, the selected threshold number of samples allowing a packet to be filled for a satellite playback device, of the group of satellite playback devices, configured to render a fewest number of channels (multichannel audio data is divided into individual channels, then, when a number of samples of data for each channel are decoded, each channel is packaged with the number of samples per packet per channel, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to initiate performance of audio processing after a selected threshold number of samples of the decoded audio content have been provided, because it would allow the use of a sparse stream format where only packets for channels that have active audio need to be transmitted, as taught by Butterworth (paragraph [0023]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penke, in view of Tatsuta et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2009/0290600, hereinafter “Tatsuta”).
In regard to claim 8, Penke does not disclose the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to re-communicate the portion of the processed audio content in response to a failure to receive an acknowledgement of receipt from a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices within a retry timeout period.
Tatsuta discloses a system for transmitting audio signals wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the primary playback device is configured to re-communicate the portion of the processed audio content in response to a failure to receive an acknowledgement of receipt from a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices within a retry timeout period (if a source device fails to receive an acknowledge signal from a sink device, the source device retransmits the portion of the audio signal that was not received, paragraph [0164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to re-communicate the portion of the processed audio content in response to a failure to receive an acknowledgement of receipt from a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices within a retry timeout period, because it would compensate for packets lost due to noise in the transmission channel, as suggested by Tatsuta (paragraph [0164]).
In regard to claim 9, Penke does not disclose the retry timeout period is based on one or more of the composition of the group of satellite playback devices, the determined capabilities, or monitored performance, wherein the monitored performance includes a rate of dropped packets.
Tatsuta discloses the retry timeout period is based on one or more of the composition of the group of satellite playback devices, the determined capabilities, or monitored performance, wherein the monitored performance includes a rate of dropped packets (the number of dropped packets is monitored to determine whether to retransmit a packet, paragraph [0129]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to base the retry timeout period on one or more of the composition of the group of satellite playback devices, the determined capabilities, or monitored performance, wherein the monitored performance includes a rate of dropped packets, because it would compensate for packets lost due to noise in the transmission channel, as suggested by Tatsuta (paragraph [0164]).
In regard to claim 18, Penke does not disclose re-communicating the portion of the processed audio content in response to a failure to receive an acknowledgement of receipt from a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices within a retry timeout period.
Tatsuta discloses a method for transmitting audio signals comprising re-communicating the portion of the processed audio content in response to a failure to receive an acknowledgement of receipt from a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices within a retry timeout period (if a source device fails to receive an acknowledge signal from a sink device, the source device retransmits the portion of the audio signal that was not received, paragraph [0164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to re-communicate the portion of the processed audio content in response to a failure to receive an acknowledgement of receipt from a satellite playback device of the group of satellite playback devices within a retry timeout period, because it would compensate for packets lost due to noise in the transmission channel, as suggested by Tatsuta (paragraph [0164]).
In regard to claim 19, Penke does not disclose adjusting the retry timeout period based on one or more of the composition of the group of satellite playback devices, the determined capabilities, or monitored performance, wherein the monitored performance includes a rate of dropped packets.
Tatsuta discloses adjusting the retry timeout period based on one or more of the composition of the group of satellite playback devices, the determined capabilities, or monitored performance, wherein the monitored performance includes a rate of dropped packets (the number of dropped packets is monitored to determine whether to retransmit a packet, paragraph [0129]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to base the retry timeout period on one or more of the composition of the group of satellite playback devices, the determined capabilities, or monitored performance, wherein the monitored performance includes a rate of dropped packets, because it would compensate for packets lost due to noise in the transmission channel, as suggested by Tatsuta (paragraph [0164]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6 and 17 each require selecting a threshold number of samples that is less than a number of samples of the chunk of encoded audio content. Penke expressly discloses combining packages into fewer large ones to reduce the number of transmissions needed and reduce overall network traffic without loss of data (paragraph [0048]). Thus, Penke teaches the number of samples in a packet should be greater than a number of samples in a chunk of encoded audio content. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore not be motivated to select a threshold number of samples that is less than a number of samples of the chunk of encoded audio content, because Penke teaches away from such an embodiment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mamidwar et al., Fruchter et al., Iguchi et al., Yang et al., Kumar et al., Slick, Boehlke, Rajapakse et al., Jung et al., Bowra et al., Kokkos et al., Tatlas et al., and Floros et al. disclose additional wireless multichannel audio systems.
BLA 5/30/26
/BRIAN L ALBERTALLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656