DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 02/04/2026 and 02/10/2026 has/have been taken into account.
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 04/08/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 9, and 16 have been amended; Claim 18 has been canceled; No claims have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments in regards to the width of the grooves, see pg. 8-9, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16-17 and 19-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Martin (US 2016/0020529).
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 recites “a distal end of the second protrusion that extends away from the first groove with; and”; and “a distal end of the third protrusion that extends away from the second groove with; and”. These should read “a distal end of the second protrusion that extends away from the first groove; and”; and “a distal end of the third protrusion that extends away from the second groove; and”. (remove “with” at end; emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-11, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin (US 2016/0020529).
In regards to Claim 1, Martin discloses a clamp assembly for securing a conductor, the clamp assembly comprising: a clamp including: a first plate (Martin: Fig. 1; 26) having a first engagement surface that includes a first groove (Martin: Fig. 12-15; 46A) defining a first groove axis; a second plate (Martin: Fig. 1; 28) having a second engagement surface that includes a second groove (Martin: Fig. 12-15; 46B) defining a second groove axis; and a fastener (Martin: Fig. 1; 32) extending through the first plate and the second plate to adjustably reduce a spacing between the second plate and the first plate, to clamp a conductor between the first engagement surface and the second engagement surface with the conductor extending along the first groove and the second groove; a first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A) extending from the first groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the first protrusion that protrudes outside of the first groove with an elongated width extending out of the first groove transverse to the first groove axis; a second protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 50A) extending from the first groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the second protrusion that protrudes outside of the first groove with an elongated width transverse to the first groove axis; and a third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) extending from the second groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the third protrusion that protrudes outside of the second groove with an elongated width transverse to the second groove axis; and the distal end of one or more of the first, second, or third protrusions define a recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) oriented to receive the conductor.
In regards to Claim 2, Martin discloses the clamp assembly of claim 1, wherein the third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) is arranged between the first protrusion and the second protrusion relative to a direction along the first or second groove axis (Martin: Fig. 5; shows third protrusion positioned between others).
In regards to Claim 3, Martin discloses the clamp assembly of claim 2, wherein, in an installed configuration, the first protrusion and the second protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A, 50A) protrude to deform the conductor around the third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B). [Note: The force of the protrusions on one plate causes the conductor to be deformed on the opposing protrusions.]
In regards to Claim 4, Martin discloses the clamp assembly of claim 1, wherein the distal end of each of the second protrusion and the third protrusion, respectively, includes angled surfaces defining a V-shape of the recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C), oriented to contact the conductor.
In regards to Claim 5, Martin discloses the clamp assembly of claim 1, wherein the distal end of each of the first protrusion, the second protrusion, and the third protrusion, respectively, includes angled surfaces defining a V-shaped channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) oriented to contact the conductor.
In regards to Claim 6, Martin discloses the clamp assembly of claim 5, wherein angled surfaces of the V-shaped channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) at least partially surround an exterior of the conductor.
In regards to Claim 9, Martin discloses a method of installing a clamp assembly, the method comprising: aligning a conductor between a first groove (Martin: Fig. 12-15; 46A) of a first engagement surface of a first plate (Martin: Fig. 1; 26) of the clamp, and a second groove (Martin: Fig. 12-15; 46B) of a second engagement surface of a second plate (Martin: Fig. 1; 28) of the clamp, with a first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A) and a second protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 50A) extending from the first groove toward the conductor and a third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) extending from the second groove toward the conductor; adjusting a fastener (Martin: Fig. 1; 32) extending through the first plate and the second plate to reduce a spacing between the second plate and the first plate, to clamp the conductor between the first engagement surface and the second engagement surface with the conductor extending along the first groove and the second groove, and with the conductor engaged by: a distal end of the first protrusion that extends away from the first groove, the first protrusion defining a width that is wider than a width of the first groove so that the first protrusion extends out of the first groove in a direction transverse to a first groove axis of the first groove; a distal end of the second protrusion that extends away from the first groove with; and a distal end of the third protrusion that extends away from the second groove with; the distal end of one or more of the first, second, or third protrusions defining a recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) oriented to contact the conductor.
In regards to Claim 10, Martin discloses the method of claim 9, wherein adjusting the fastener (Martin: Fig. 1; 32) deforms the conductor with the third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) between the first protrusion and the second protrusion.
In regards to Claim 11, Martin discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the conductor is deformed by a respective recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) on each of the first, second, and third protrusions (Martin: Fig. 6, 8; 48A, 50A, 48B).
In regards to Claim 16, Martin discloses a clamp assembly for securing a conductor, the clamp assembly comprising: a first plate (Martin: Fig. 1; 28), including: a first groove (Martin: Fig. 12-15; 46B) having a first width transverse to a first groove axis; and a first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) extending away from the first groove, the first protrusion defining a width that is wider than a width of the first groove and forming a recessed channel disposed outside of the first groove; and a second plate (Martin: Fig. 1; 26), including: a second groove (Martin: Fig. 12-15; 46A) having a second width transverse to a second groove axis; and a pair of second protrusions (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A, 50A) extending away from the second groove, each second protrusion of the pair forming, respectively, a recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) disposed outside of the second groove; with the clamp assembly in an installed configuration that clamps a conductor having a least the first width or the second width, the first protrusion being arranged between the pair of second protrusions relative to an elongate direction of the first and second grooves to deform the conductor around the first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5; shows first protrusion positioned between others).
In regards to Claim 17, Martin discloses the clamp of claim 16, wherein one or more of the recessed channels (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) include angled surfaces that define a V-shaped channel that extends to opposite sides of the corresponding first or second groove axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morby (GB 2 157 508) in view of Martin (US 2016/0020529).
In regards to Claim 1, Morby discloses a clamp assembly for securing a conductor, the clamp assembly comprising: a clamp including: a first plate (Morby: Fig. 4; 11) having a first engagement surface that includes a first groove (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; G1) defining a first groove axis; a second plate (Morby: Fig. 4; 140) having a second engagement surface that includes a second groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) defining a second groove axis; and a fastener (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; F) extending through the first plate and the second plate to adjustably reduce a spacing between the second plate and the first plate, to clamp a conductor between the first engagement surface and the second engagement surface with the conductor extending along the first groove and the second groove.
Morby fails to disclose a first protrusion extending from the first groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the first protrusion that protrudes outside of the first groove with an elongated width extending out of the first groove transverse to the first groove axis transverse to the first groove axis; a second protrusion extending from the first groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the second protrusion that protrudes outside of the first groove with an elongated width transverse to the first groove axis; and a third protrusion extending from the second groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the third protrusion that protrudes outside of the second groove with an elongated width transverse to the second groove axis; and the distal end of one or more of the first, second, or third protrusions define a recessed channel oriented to receive the conductor. However, Martin teaches a first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A) extending from the first groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the first protrusion that protrudes outside of the first groove with an elongated width extending out of the first groove transverse to the first groove axis; a second protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 50A) extending from the first groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the second protrusion that protrudes outside of the first groove with an elongated width transverse to the first groove axis; and a third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) extending from the second groove to engage the conductor at a distal end of the third protrusion that protrudes outside of the second groove with an elongated width transverse to the second groove axis; and the distal end of one or more of the first, second, or third protrusions define a recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) oriented to receive the conductor.
Morby and Martin are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. clamp assemblies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the grooves in Morby with the protrusions taught by Martin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of gripping and retaining a conductor, thereby improving the holding ability of the clamp (Martin: [0032]).
In regards to Claim 2, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 1, wherein the third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) is arranged between the first protrusion and the second protrusion relative to a direction along the first or second groove axis.
In regards to Claim 3, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 2, wherein, in an installed configuration, the first protrusion and the second protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A, 50A) protrude to deform the conductor around the third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B).
In regards to Claim 4, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 1, wherein the distal end of each of the second protrusion and the third protrusion, respectively, includes angled surfaces defining a V-shape of the recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C), oriented to contact the conductor.
In regards to Claim 5, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 1, wherein the distal end of each of the first protrusion, the second protrusion, and the third protrusion, respectively, includes angled surfaces defining a V-shaped channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) oriented to contact the conductor.
In regards to Claim 6, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 5, wherein angled surfaces of the V-shaped channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) at least partially surround an exterior of the conductor.
In regards to Claim 7, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 1, wherein the second groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) is included in a plurality of grooves (Morby: Fig. 4; 141, 142) on the second plate to selectively receive the conductor in cooperation with the first groove, the plurality of grooves further including: a third groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) substantially parallel to the second groove; a fourth groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 142) substantially perpendicular to the first and third grooves; and a fifth groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 142) substantially parallel to the fourth groove.
In regards to Claim 8, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 7, wherein a protrusion (Turner: Fig. 3-4, 8; 32) extends, respectively, from each of the third, fourth, and fifth grooves (Morby: Fig. 4; 141, 142), to a distal end that protrudes outside of the corresponding third, fourth, or fifth groove to engage the conductor.
In regards to Claim 9, Morby discloses a method of installing a clamp assembly, the method comprising: aligning a conductor between a first groove (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; G1) of a first engagement surface of a first plate (Morby: Fig. 4; 11) of the clamp, and a second groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) of a second engagement surface of a second plate (Morby: Fig. 4; 140) of the clamp; adjusting a fastener (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; F) extending through the first plate and the second plate to reduce a spacing between the second plate and the first plate, to clamp the conductor between the first engagement surface and the second engagement surface with the conductor extending along the first groove and the second groove (Morby: Pg. 2, Ln. 11-20).
Morby fails to disclose a first protrusion and a second protrusion extending from the first groove toward the conductor and a third protrusion extending from the second groove toward the conductor; adjusting a fastener extending through the first plate and the second plate to reduce a spacing between the second plate and the first plate, to clamp the conductor between the first engagement surface and the second engagement surface with the conductor extending along the first groove and the second groove, and with the conductor engaged by: a distal end of the first protrusion that extends away from the first groove, the first protrusion defining a width that is wider than a width of the first groove so that the first protrusion extends out of the first groove in a direction transverse to a first groove axis of the first groove; a distal end of the second protrusion that extends away from the first groove with; and a distal end of the third protrusion that extends away from the second groove with; the distal end of one or more of the first, second, or third protrusions defining a recessed channel oriented to contact the conductor. However, Martin teaches a first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A) and a second protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 50A) extending from the first groove toward the conductor and a third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) extending from the second groove toward the conductor; adjusting a fastener (Martin: Fig. 1; 32) extending through the first plate and the second plate to reduce a spacing between the second plate and the first plate, to clamp the conductor between the first engagement surface and the second engagement surface with the conductor extending along the first groove and the second groove, and with the conductor engaged by: a distal end of the first protrusion that extends away from the first groove, the first protrusion defining a width that is wider than a width of the first groove so that the first protrusion extends out of the first groove in a direction transverse to a first groove axis of the first groove; a distal end of the second protrusion that extends away from the first groove with; and a distal end of the third protrusion that extends away from the second groove with; the distal end of one or more of the first, second, or third protrusions defining a recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) oriented to contact the conductor. [Note: See the rejection of claim 1 for motivation and/or rationale.]
In regards to Claim 10, Morby, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein adjusting the fastener (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; F) deforms the conductor with the third protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A, 50A).
In regards to Claim 11, Morby, as modified, teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the conductor is deformed by a respective recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) on each of the first, second, and third protrusions.
In regards to Claim 14, Morby, as modified, teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: selectively aligning the conductor between the first groove of the first plate and one of a plurality of grooves on the second plate, the plurality of grooves including: the second groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141); a third groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) substantially parallel to the second groove; a fourth groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 142) substantially perpendicular to the first and third grooves; and a fifth groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 142) substantially parallel to the fourth groove; and engaging the conductor via at least one protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6, 8; 48A, 50A, 48B) that extends, respectively, from each of the third, fourth, and fifth grooves, to a distal end that protrudes outside of the corresponding third, fourth, or fifth groove to engage the conductor.
In regards to Claim 15, Morby, as modified, teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: selectively securing a pair of conductors within the clamp, with a first conductor arranged between the first groove (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; G1) of the first plate and the second groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) of the second plate, and a second conductor arranged between a sixth groove (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; G6) of the first plate and the third groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) of the second plate so that the conductors are arranged in parallel, on opposing sides of the fastener (Morby: Pg. 2, Ln. 11-20).
In regards to Claim 16, Morby discloses a clamp assembly for securing a conductor, the clamp assembly comprising: a first plate (Morby: Fig. 4; 11), including: a first groove (Morby: Annotated Fig. 4; G1) having a first width transverse to a first groove axis; and a second plate (Morby: Fig. 4; 140), including: a second groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) having a second width transverse to a second groove axis; with the clamp assembly in an installed configuration that clamps a conductor having a least the first width or the second width.
Morby fails to disclose a first protrusion extending away from the first groove, the first protrusion defining a width that is wider than a width of the first groove and forming a recessed channel disposed outside of the first groove; and a second plate, including: a second groove having a second width transverse to a second groove axis; and a pair of second protrusions extending away from the second groove, each second protrusion of the pair forming, respectively, a recessed channel disposed outside of the second groove; with the clamp assembly in an installed configuration that clamps a conductor having a least the first width or the second width, the first protrusion being arranged between the pair of second protrusions relative to an elongate direction of the first and second grooves to deform the conductor around the first protrusion. However, Martin teaches a first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5, 8; 48B) extending away from the first groove, the first protrusion defining a width that is wider than a width of the first groove and forming a recessed channel disposed outside of the first groove; and a second plate (Martin: Fig. 1; 26), including: a second groove (Martin: Fig. 12-15; 46A) having a second width transverse to a second groove axis; and a pair of second protrusions (Martin: Fig. 6; 48A, 50A) extending away from the second groove, each second protrusion of the pair forming, respectively, a recessed channel (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) disposed outside of the second groove; with the clamp assembly in an installed configuration that clamps a conductor having a least the first width or the second width, the first protrusion being arranged between the pair of second protrusions relative to an elongate direction of the first and second grooves to deform the conductor around the first protrusion (Martin: Fig. 5; shows first protrusion positioned between others). [Note: See the rejection of claim 1 for motivation and/or rationale.]
In regards to Claim 17, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp of claim 16, wherein one or more of the recessed channels (Martin: Annotated Fig. 5; C) include angled surfaces that define a V-shaped channel that extends to opposite sides of the corresponding first or second groove axis.
In regards to Claim 19, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 16, wherein the second groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) is included in a plurality of grooves (Morby: Fig. 4; 141, 142) on the second plate to selectively receive the conductor in cooperation with the first groove, the plurality of grooves further including: a third groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 141) substantially parallel to the second groove; a fourth groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 142) substantially perpendicular to the first and third grooves; and a fifth groove (Morby: Fig. 4; 142) substantially parallel to the fourth groove.
In regards to Claim 20, Morby, as modified, teaches the clamp assembly of claim 19, wherein a protrusion (Martin: Fig. 6, 8; 48A, 50A, 48B) extends, respectively, from each of the third, fourth, and fifth grooves (Morby: Fig. 4; 141, 142), to a distal end that protrudes outside of the corresponding third, fourth, or fifth groove to engage the conductor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Annotated Figures
I: Martin; Fig. 5
II: Morby; Fig. 4
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631