DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2025 and 05/12/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 12/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 25-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US 2022/0248115 A1) in view of Wang (CN 205647984 U).
Regarding claim 21, Tanaka et al disclose a display device comprising: a display panel (Tanaka et al; Para [0048]; Fig 10; display 10); a frame positioned behind the display panel and to which the display panel is coupled (Tanaka et al; Para [0049]; Fig 10; frame 20); a speaker positioned behind the frame, the speaker including a speaker box (Tanaka et al; Para [0048]; Fig 10; speaker unit 200 interpreted as speaker box) and a coupling part formed on a side surface of the speaker box (Tanaka et al; Para [0052]; Figs 10-11; fixing portions 212 interpreted as coupling part); but do not expressly disclose a first holding part positioned on a first surface of the coupling part; and a second holding part positioned on a second surface of the coupling part opposite the first surface, wherein the first holding part comprises: a body positioned on the first surface of the coupling part; a neck protruding from the body; and a head protruding from the neck, wherein the neck of the first holding part is formed between the body and the head, wherein a width of the neck of the first holding part is smaller than a width of the body and a width of the head, wherein the second holding part comprises: a body positioned on the second surface of the coupling part; a neck protruding from the body; and a head protruding from the neck, wherein the neck of the second holding part is formed between the body and the head, wherein a width of the neck of the second holding part is smaller than a width of the body and a width of the head, and wherein any one of the first and second holding parts couples the coupling part of the speaker to the frame. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein a first holding part positioned on a first surface of the coupling part; and a second holding part positioned on a second surface of the coupling part opposite the first surface, wherein the first holding part comprises: a body positioned on the first surface of the coupling part; a neck protruding from the body; and a head protruding from the neck, wherein the neck of the first holding part is formed between the body and the head, wherein a width of the neck of the first holding part is smaller than a width of the body and a width of the head
(Wang; Fig 6a), wherein the second holding part comprises: a body positioned on the second surface of the coupling part; a neck protruding from the body; and a head protruding from the neck, wherein the neck of the second holding part is formed between the body and the head, wherein a width of the neck of the second holding part is smaller than a width of the body and a width of the head, and wherein any one of the first and second holding parts couples the coupling part of the speaker to the frame
(Wang; Fig 6a). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 25, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the speaker further comprises: a first groove recessed toward the coupling part from one surface forming either a front surface or a rear surface of the speaker box; and a second groove recessed toward the coupling part from the other surface of the speaker box opposite the one surface. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein the speaker further comprises: a first groove recessed toward the coupling part from one surface forming either a front surface or a rear surface of the speaker box
(Wang; Fig 6a), and a second groove recessed toward the coupling part from the other surface of the speaker box opposite the one surface
(Wang; Fig 6a). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 26, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 25, but do not expressly disclose wherein one of the first and second holding parts is positioned in the first groove, and the other one of the first and second holding parts is positioned in the second groove. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein the speaker further comprises: a first groove recessed toward the coupling part from one surface forming either a front surface or a rear surface of the speaker box
(Wang; Fig 6a), and a second groove recessed toward the coupling part from the other surface of the speaker box opposite the one surface
(Wang; Fig 6a). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 27, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first and second holding parts are symmetrical to each other with respect to the coupling part. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein the first and second holding parts are symmetrical to each other with respect to the coupling part (Wang; Fig 6a; left holding part 101 interpreted as first holding part and right holding part 101 interpreted as second holding part are symmetrical to the middle part). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 28, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the width of the body of the first holding part is larger than the width of the head of the first holding part. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein the width of the body of the first holding part is larger than the width of the head of the first holding part
(Wang; Fig 6a; width of the body of the first holding part is larger than the width of the head of the first holding part). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 29, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 28, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first holding part has elasticity, wherein the frame comprises a fixing part including a fixing hole into which the neck of the first holding part is inserted, wherein the width of the head of the first holding part is larger than a width of the fixing hole, and wherein the head of the first holding part is engaged with the fixing part. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein the width of the body of the first holding part is larger than the width of the head of the first holding part (Wang; Fig 6a; wherein the first holding part has elasticity (Wang; Page 5; lines 10-20), wherein the frame comprises a fixing part including a fixing hole into which the neck of the first holding part is inserted (Wang; Page 5; lines 10-45; frame comprises a fixing part-mounting portion 101-including a fixing hole into which the neck of the first holding part is inserted), wherein the width of the head of the first holding part is larger than a width of the fixing hole (Wang; Page 5; lines 10-20), and wherein the head of the first holding part is engaged with the fixing part (Wang; Page 5; lines 10-20). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 30, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the coupling part of the speaker comprises: a first coupling part forming the first and second surfaces; and a second coupling part spaced apart from the first coupling part, wherein the display device further comprises: a third holding part positioned on a third surface of the second coupling part; and a fourth holding part positioned on a fourth surface of the second coupling part opposite the third surface, and wherein any one of the third and fourth holding parts couples the second coupling part of the speaker to the frame. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein the coupling part of the speaker comprises: a first coupling part forming the first and second surfaces (Wang; Fig 4 speaker box coupling part 101 left and right); and a second coupling part spaced apart from the first coupling part (Wang; Fig 5; second coupling part 201 spaced apart from first coupling part 101), wherein the display device further comprises: a third holding part positioned on a third surface of the second coupling part (Wang; Fig 5; left side 201 interpreted as third holding part); and a fourth holding part positioned on a fourth surface of the second coupling part opposite the third surface (Wang; Fig 5; right side 201 interpreted as fourth holding part), and wherein any one of the third and fourth holding parts couples the second coupling part of the speaker to the frame (Wang; Fig 5; third and fourth holding parts-left and right 201- couple the second coupling part of the speaker to the frame). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 31, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the speaker is coupled to the frame in a first orientation or in a second orientation rotated 180 degrees from the first orientation, and wherein one of the first and second holding parts faces the frame and is coupled to the frame. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device wherein the speaker is coupled to the frame in a first orientation or in a second orientation rotated 180 degrees from the first orientation (Wang; Figs 4; 5; speaker box coupled to the frame 20), and wherein one of the first and second holding parts faces the frame and is coupled to the frame (Wang; Fig 4; Fig 5; speaker box 10 holding part 102 coupled to frame through hole 2011). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Wang as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound effect, save the cost, optimize productivity (Wang; Page 1; lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 32, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, wherein the speaker comprises: a first speaker coupled to the frame (Tanaka et al; Fig 10; left speaker 400); and a second speaker spaced apart from the first speaker and coupled to the frame (Tanaka et al; Fig 10; right speaker 400).
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US 2022/0248115 A1) in view of Wang (CN 205647984 U) and further in view of Yamanaka (US 2013/0070956 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the coupling part comprises: a base positioned between the first and second holding parts; a hole formed in the base; and a protruding portion protruding from the base toward the hole, and wherein the body of the first holding part covers the hole and is positioned on the protruding portion. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamanaka discloses a device wherein the coupling part comprises: a base positioned between the first and second holding parts (Yamanaka; Fig 2a; Para [0037]; base 32 positioned between upper and lower part of holding part 60); a hole formed in the base (Yamanaka; Fig 2a; Para [0037]; hole 30o); and a protruding portion protruding from the base toward the hole, and wherein the body of the first holding part covers the hole and is positioned on the protruding portion (Yamanaka; Fig 2a; protruding portion 31). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Yamanaka as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to significantly reduce a space required for attachment to an apparatus body (Yamanaka; Para [0010]).
Regarding claim 23, Tanaka et al in view of Wang and further in view of Yamanaka disclose the display device of claim 22, but do not expressly disclose further comprising a leg protruding from the body of the first holding part toward the hole. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamanaka discloses a device further comprising a leg protruding from the body of the first holding part toward the hole (Yamanaka; Fig 2a; leg 31 protruding from body 60 toward the hole 30o). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Yamanaka as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to significantly reduce a space required for attachment to an apparatus body (Yamanaka; Para [0010]).
Regarding claim 24, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 21, but do not expressly disclose wherein the coupling part is disposed at a center of the side surface of the speaker box in a thickness direction of the speaker box. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamanaka discloses a device wherein the coupling part is disposed at a center of the side surface of the speaker box in a thickness direction of the speaker box (Yamanaka; Fig 2a; leg 31 protruding from body 60). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the coupling part taught by Yamanaka as coupling part in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to significantly reduce a space required for attachment to an apparatus body (Yamanaka; Para [0010]).
Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US 2022/0248115 A1) in view of Wang (CN 205647984 U) and further in view of Held (US 2024/0163594 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 32, wherein the first and second speakers are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction (Tanaka et al; Fig 3; speaker 201 and 202 are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction), wherein each of the first and second speakers comprises: a first speaker unit spaced apart from a vertical line between the first and second speakers by a first distance (Tanaka et al; Fig 3; speaker 201 spaced apart from a vertical line L between the first 201 and second speakers 202 by a first distance); and a second speaker unit adjacent to the first speaker unit and spaced apart from the vertical line by a second distance (Tanaka et al; Fig 3; speaker 202 adjacent to the first speaker unit 201 and spaced apart from the vertical line L by a second distance), wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (Tanaka et al; Fig 3; the first distance between speaker 202 to line L is greater than the second distance between speaker 201 to line L), but do not expressly disclose and wherein a frequency range of a sound from the first speaker unit is higher than a frequency range of a sound from the second speaker unit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Held discloses a device wherein a frequency range of a sound from the first speaker unit is higher than a frequency range of a sound from the second speaker unit (Held; Para [0013]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the speakers taught by Held as speaker in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality of such television sets or, more generally, picture display arrangements (Held; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 34, Tanaka et al in view of Wang disclose the display device of claim 32, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: an amplifier mounted on the frame; a first cable electrically connecting the first speaker to the amplifier; and a second cable electrically connecting the second speaker to the amplifier. However, in the same field of endeavor, Held discloses a device further comprising: an amplifier mounted on the frame (Held; Para [0006]); a first cable electrically connecting the first speaker to the amplifier (Held; Para [0016]); and a second cable electrically connecting the second speaker to the amplifier (Held; Para [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the speakers taught by Held as speaker in the device taught by Tanaka. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality of such television sets or, more generally, picture display arrangements (Held; Para [0003]).
Conclusion
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692