DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/10/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230106925 A1 (“Chisu”).
Regarding claim 1, Chisu teaches a display (see at least [0047]);
a geolocation device (see at least [0049]);
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions (see at least [0011]); and
a processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions (see at least [0011]);
provide, for presentation on the display, a first set of directions for moving towards a first geolocation associated with a destination location using a first navigation method (see at least [0054] as well as Fig. 4B item 452); and
responsive to detecting a transition trigger associated with a second geolocation, transition from the first set of directions to a second set of directions by at least providing, for presentation at the display, the second set of directions for moving from the second geolocation towards the destination location using a second navigation method (see at least [0055] as well as Fig. 4B item 454)
Regarding claim 2, Chisu teaches the transition trigger is associated with at least one of an intersection, a region of interest, a point of interest, or an administrative region (see at least [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Chisu teaches detecting the transition trigger comprises using a current location of the electronic device by performing at least one of (i) detecting that the current location is within a threshold distance from the first geolocation, (ii), detecting that the current location is within a predefined polygon, or (iii) detecting that a path of the electronic device intersected a map feature (see at least [0058] as well as Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 4, Chisu teaches the first navigation method comprises one of a turn-by-turn navigation method or a wayfinding navigation method, and the second navigation method comprises one of the wayfinding navigation method or the turn-by-turn navigation method (see at least Fig. 4A items 422 and 424).
Regarding claim 5, Chisu teaches prior to providing the first set of directions, provide, for presentation at the display, a contextual message indicating that navigation to the destination location will include graduated directions (see at least Fig. 4A as well as [0053]).
Regarding claim 6, Chisu teaches providing, for presentation at an electronic device, a first set of directions for moving towards a first geolocation associated with a destination address using a first navigation method (see at least [0054]); and
responsive to detecting a transition trigger associated with a second geolocation, transitioning from the first set of directions to a second set of directions by at least providing, for presentation at the electronic device, the second set of directions for moving from the second geolocation towards the destination address using a second navigation method (see at least [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Chisu teaches the first geolocation comprises an approximation of the destination address (see at least Fig4A item 424).
Regarding claim 8, Chisu teaches registering a service of an item at the destination address represented by a third geolocation; and providing, to a remote server, an indication of the third geolocation to enable the remote server to associate the third geolocation with the destination address (see at least [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Chisu teaches detecting the transition trigger using a current location of the electronic device (see at least [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, Chisu teaches the transition trigger is associated with at least one of an intersection, a region of interest, a point of interest, or an administrative region (see at least [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, Chisu teaches receiving the first set of directions and the second set of directions from a remote server (see at least [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Chisu teaches the first navigation method is distinct from the second navigation method (see at least Fig. 4B items 452 454).
Regarding claim 13, Chisu teaches the electronic device comprises at least one of a handheld user device or an electronic device onboard a service vehicle (see at least [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Chisu teaches the transition trigger is associated with a first set of trigger rules, wherein detecting the transition trigger comprises detecting in accordance with the first set of trigger rules, and wherein other transitions are associated with other sets of trigger rules (see at least [0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Chisu teaches the first navigation method comprises a wayfinding navigation method, and the second navigation method comprises a turn-by-turn navigation method (see at least Fig. 4B items 452 454).
Regarding claim 17, Chisu teaches receiving an indication that navigation to the destination address will include graduated directions (see at least [0058]).
Regarding claim 18, Chisu teaches providing, for presentation at the electronic device, a first set of directions for moving towards a first geolocation associated with a destination address using a first navigation method (see at least [0054] as well as Fig. 4B item 452); and
responsive to detecting a transition trigger associated with a second geolocation, transitioning from the first set of directions to a second set of directions by at least providing, for presentation at the electronic device, the second set of directions for moving from the second geolocation towards the destination address using a second navigation method (see at least [0055] as well as Fig. 4B item 454).
Regarding claim 19, Chisu teaches the second geolocation is associated with a polygon that defines an area that includes the first geolocation, and wherein detecting the transition trigger comprises detecting an intersection of a boundary of the polygon (see at least [0058] as well as Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Chisu teaches the first set of directions comprise a greater level of navigational detail than the second set of directions (see at least Fig. 4B items 452 454).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230106925 A1 (“Chisu”) in view of US 20200150849 A1 (“Arena”).
Regarding claim 16, Chisu is not explicit on outputting an audible message in connection with transitioning from the first set of directions to the second set of directions, the audible message describing the transitioning, however,
Arena discloses outputting an audible message in connection with transitioning from the first set of directions to the second set of directions, the audible message describing the transitioning (see at least [0127]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Chisu with the digital user interfaces, for example, for mobile devices disclosed by Arena in order to allow for streaming service providers to deliver any desired amount or type of video accompanying digital content so as to maximize the user experience and/or revenue associated with providing the streaming service (Arena, [0008]).
Conclusion
/MATHEW FRANKLIN GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665