Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on December 10, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10 and 17 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0258726 to Kessels et al. (hereinafter “Kessels”).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kessels.
With respect to independent claim 1, , Kessels discloses providing, by a controller, a power supply to the EV battery (see paragraph [0004]: The battery pack monitor includes a battery pack connector comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a battery pack management system of a high voltage battery pack.);
transmitting, by the controller, a discrete signal to the EV battery (see paragraph [0042]: the ECU 120 controls operation of the various status and communication capabilities of the battery pack monitor 100, including the flashlight 114, status indicator 116 (shown as status LEDs), program buttons 118, and siren 108. In some examples, one or more such indicators may be used in response to receipt of state information from a connected high voltage battery pack 50 indicating an alert condition. Alert conditions are generally determined at the battery management system 60 and logged therein for communication with external systems, and may include a voltage or current outside an expected threshold (e.g., too high or too low)).;
receiving, by the controller, a signal from the EV battery in response to the providing a power supply (see abstract: the battery pack monitor further includes a power source positioned within the housing and operatively connected to the controller. The battery pack monitor includes a battery pack connector comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a battery pack management system of a high voltage battery pack.); and
transmitting, by the controller, the communication signal to the EV battery (see paragraph [0040]: The signal lines included within the battery pack connector 106 between the battery management system 60 and the battery pack monitor 100 allow for communication of all of this gathered information (e.g., voltage, current, temperature, etc.) to the battery pack monitor 100).
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 11, Kessels discloses wherein the communication interface is further configured to receive communication signals from the EV battery (see paragraph [0033] and [0054]: the battery pack monitor 100 may further include an antenna 130. In example implementations in which the battery pack monitor includes a wireless communication interface for communicating via Wi-Fi or cellular communication methods, the antenna 130 may be included, and used for purposes of assisting with sending and/or receiving such communications. For example, in some instances a battery pack monitor 100 may be configured to periodically transmit received state information from the battery management system that is logged within a memory of the battery pack monitor to a remote system such as a cloud storage system (e.g., virtual server 40). Receiving battery state information from the battery management system (at step 402) and based on the battery management system identifying particular state information as being outside of predetermined thresholds, alerts may be communicated to the battery pack monitor.).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 15, Kessels discloses determining, by the controller, a power output of the EV battery (see paragraphs [0048] and [0054]: receiving battery state information from the battery management system (step 304). Receiving battery state information may include receiving information generated by the battery management system and output on an electrical cable connected between the high voltage battery pack 50 and the battery pack monitor 100. A determination that a voltage is outside of threshold (at operation 404) may generate an output voltage alarm in the form of illumination of the flashlights 114 and/or sounding of the siren 108.).
With respect to dependent claim 4, Kessels discloses receiving, by the controller, a status of the EV battery (see paragraph [0042]: the ECU 120 controls operation of the various status and communication capabilities of the battery pack monitor 100, including the flashlight 114, status indicator 116 (shown as status LEDs), program buttons 118, and siren 108. In some examples, one or more such indicators may be used in response to receipt of state information from a connected high voltage battery pack 50 indicating an alert condition. Alert conditions are generally determined at the battery management system 60 and logged therein for communication with external systems, and may include a voltage or current outside an expected threshold (e.g., too high or too low)).
With respect to dependent claims 5 and 12, Kessels discloses controlling, by the controller, the EV battery (see paragraphs [0024] and [0028]: For reference purposes, when a battery pack, such as a high voltage battery pack 50, is included within an electric vehicle, a vehicle control unit may be communicatively connected to a battery management system of the battery pack and may receive state information, for example representing operational status of the battery pack, as well as issues or alerts that may arise associated with that battery pack that may implicate potential safety issues. A battery pack connector 106 provides a wired interface that is connectable between the battery pack monitor 100 and a corresponding connector of a high voltage battery pack 50.).
With respect to dependent claim 6, Kessels discloses wherein the transmitting, by the controller, the discrete signal to the EV battery comprises sending two or more discrete signals to the EV battery (see paragraph [0042]: the ECU 120 controls operation of the various status and communication capabilities of the battery pack monitor 100, including the flashlight 114, status indicator 116 (shown as status LEDs), program buttons 118, and siren 108. In some examples, one or more such indicators may be used in response to receipt of state information from a connected high voltage battery pack 50 indicating an alert condition. Alert conditions are generally determined at the battery management system 60 and logged therein for communication with external systems, and may include a voltage or current outside an expected threshold (e.g., too high or too low)).
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 19, Kessels discloses receiving, by the controller, data from the EV battery in response the transmitting the communications signal to the EV battery (see paragraph [0048]: The battery state information may include information transmitted in accordance with an SAE J1939-compliant connection via the battery pack connector 106, and may include various temperature, voltage, current, alerting, and other parameters indicative of state of charge (SOC) and/or state of health (SOH) of the battery pack. In conjunction with receiving battery state information, the battery pack monitor will also store that information in a memory 122, for example in the form of operational logs 124.).
With respect to dependent claim 8, Kessels discloses wherein the communications signal is a CAN bus signal (see paragraph [0064]: the computing device 600 includes at least one processor 602 and a system memory 604 connected by a communication bus 606.).
With respect to dependent claims 9 and 13, Kessels discloses wherein the providing the signal to the EV battery comprises sending power from an enabler battery electrical connected to the controller to the EV battery (see paragraphs [0001], [005] and [0030]: Such battery packs typically include a large number of lithium ion (Li-ion) battery cells which are assembled and electrically connected in series to achieve high voltage levels. The battery pack dongle includes a portable housing, a wired battery pack connector, a controller, and a memory operatively connected to the controller and storing a high voltage battery pack status log. The power supply connection 112 may receive a wired connection from a low voltage power supply, such as a 12 V or 24 V power supply, usable to recharge a battery retained within the housing. Such a battery is illustrated below in conjunction with FIG. 5 . The power supply connection 112 may be used to recharge the battery pack monitor 100, such that the battery pack monitor does not, when in use, require receipt of a separate power connection, either by being connected to a power source in proximity to the high-voltage battery pack to which it is connected, or by receiving electrical power from the battery pack itself.).
With respect to independent claims 10 and 17, Kessels discloses a controller in electrical connection with the EV battery (see paragraph [0004]: The battery pack monitor includes a battery pack connector comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a battery pack management system of a high voltage battery pack.);
a discrete signal interface for sending a discrete signal to the EV battery (see paragraph [0042]: the ECU 120 controls operation of the various status and communication capabilities of the battery pack monitor 100, including the flashlight 114, status indicator 116 (shown as status LEDs), program buttons 118, and siren 108. In some examples, one or more such indicators may be used in response to receipt of state information from a connected high voltage battery pack 50 indicating an alert condition. Alert conditions are generally determined at the battery management system 60 and logged therein for communication with external systems, and may include a voltage or current outside an expected threshold (e.g., too high or too low));
a communication interface for sending a communication signal from the controller to the EV battery (see paragraph [0040]: The signal lines included within the battery pack connector 106 between the battery management system 60 and the battery pack monitor 100 allow for communication of all of this gathered information (e.g., voltage, current, temperature, etc.) to the battery pack monitor 100); and
a power interface electrically connected to the controller and configured to provide a power supply to the EV battery (see abstract: the battery pack monitor further includes a power source positioned within the housing and operatively connected to the controller. The battery pack monitor includes a battery pack connector comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a battery pack management system of a high voltage battery pack.).
With respect to dependent claim 14, Kessels discloses wherein the controller is connected to the main power connector of the EV battery by a high voltage interface, wherein the high voltage interface converts the power from a high voltage to a lower voltage (see paragraphs [0030] and [0041]: The power supply connection 112 may receive a wired connection from a low voltage power supply, such as a 12 V or 24 V power supply, usable to recharge a battery retained within the housing. The rechargeable battery 150 may be recharged via a charger 220 (e.g., a direct current 12 V or 24 V charger) that may be connected, during charging, at power supply connection 112. In other embodiments, the rechargeable battery 150 may be charged using electrical charge of the battery pack itself, e.g., from a connection to high voltage connectors of the battery pack 50.).
With respect to dependent claim 16, Kessels discloses wherein the controller is further configured receive a status of the EV battery (see paragraph [0018]: The battery pack monitor receives battery state information from the battery management system. Battery state information can include battery status information, such as a state of charge (SOC) or state of health (SOH) of the battery.).
With respect to dependent claim 18, Kessels discloses wherein the first discrete signal is configured to power a battery management of the EV battery and the second discrete signal is configured to power one or more contactors of the EV battery (see paragraph [0042]: the ECU 120 controls operation of the various status and communication capabilities of the battery pack monitor 100, including the flashlight 114, status indicator 116 (shown as status LEDs), program buttons 118, and siren 108. In some examples, one or more such indicators may be used in response to receipt of state information from a connected high voltage battery pack 50 indicating an alert condition. Alert conditions are generally determined at the battery management system 60 and logged therein for communication with external systems, and may include a voltage or current outside an expected threshold (e.g., too high or too low)).
With respect to dependent claim 20, Kessels discloses receiving, by the controller, a power output from the EV battery in response to the communication signal (the controller includes executable instructions which, when executed, cause the controller to receive, via the wired battery interface, status information from the high voltage battery pack, store the status information in the memory, and based on the status information, generate one or more battery status alerts. In examples, the battery pack monitor includes a wireless interface for communication with a remote system for logging status information.)
Conclusion
/DEMETRA R SMITH-STEWART/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661