DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 received on 12/10/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 7 and 11 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 recite “the RFID communication” and “the DRX configuration”, which are preceded by two recitations of “RFID communication” and “DRX configuration”. It is unclear which recitation is further limited. The claims further recite “the DRX OFF period duration”, which has lack of antecedent basis in the claim. The dependent claims are rejected for same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honkanen et al. (US 20080309490)
Regarding claim 1, Honkanen teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (abstract: a method for scheduling communications over a wireless communication subsystem and a radio frequency identification (RFID) communication subsystem; fig 4c, 5a, 6a), the method comprising:
determining that radio frequency identification (RFID) communication is needed (fig 4c; para 120: the radio frequency identification (RFID) enabled cellular terminal is switched on or the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader functionality of a cellular terminal is enabled; para 125: in operation S340, the operation of the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader subsystem may be initiated, the initiation may be caused upon reception of a user input to the terminal or upon an initiation signal generated by an application executable on the terminal);
configuring the UE for a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode (para 113: in Discontinuous Transmission (DTX) mode, the activity of the cellular communication subsystem of the terminal is only 50% of the nominal on the reverse link (i.e. uplink direction), similarly, there is also discontinuous transmission available for the forward link (i.e. downlink direction), these gaps in transmission and reception in uplink and downlink could be used to enable radio frequency identification (RFID) operation); and
performing RFID communication during a DRX OFF period (para 126: in operation S350, the scheduler aligns the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader operation timing in such a way that the operation is performed during periods of non-activity of the cellular communication subsystem; para 91-91: DRX non-activity period in WCDMA, where RFID communication can be carried out in non-activity period; fig 5a, 6a).
Regarding claim 7, Honkanen teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (abstract: a method for scheduling communications over a wireless communication subsystem and a radio frequency identification (RFID) communication subsystem; fig 4c, 5a, 6a), the method comprising:
determining that radio frequency identification (RFID) communication is needed (fig 4c; para 120: the radio frequency identification (RFID) enabled cellular terminal is switched on or the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader functionality of a cellular terminal is enabled; para 125: in operation S340, the operation of the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader subsystem may be initiated, the initiation may be caused upon reception of a user input to the terminal or upon an initiation signal generated by an application executable on the terminal);
determining that a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode is not available or DRX duration is not sufficient for RFID operation (para 75-77: it is checked in operation S160 whether time-aligned operation of the cellular communication subsystem 180 or the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader subsystem 190 is allowable, it is derived whether be time-aligned radio frequency identification (RFID) operation in coordination with the cellular communication operation (either in idle/standby operation state or in active operation state) is allowable, in operation S170, according to the result of the checking operation S160 the time-aligned operation may be refused or allowed); and
periodically alternating between a wireless wide area network (WWAN) communication mode and an RFID communication mode and performing RFID communication during the RFID communication mode (para 126: in operation S350, the scheduler aligns the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader operation timing in such a way that the operation is performed during periods of non-activity of the cellular communication subsystem; fig 5a and 6a shows periodically (repeatedly) alternating between the cellular activity and RFID reader activity, where the active period for cellular and RFID are considered being in corresponding communication mode).
Regarding claim 11, Honkanen teaches a user equipment (UE) (fig 2a, portable cellular terminal enabled for radio frequency identification (RFID) communication), comprising:
one or more memories (a data and application storage 120, fig 2a, para 37);
one or more transceivers (cellular subsystem and RFID subsystem with antenna 181, 194, fig 2a, para 37); and
one or more processors (a central processing unit (CPU) and a mobile processing unit (MPU) 110, fig 2a, para 37) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (fig 2a), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, being configured (para 38: the operation of the portable electronic terminal 100 is controlled by the central processing unit (CPU)/mobile processing unit (MPU) 110 typically on the basis of an operating system or basic controlling application) to:
determine that radio frequency identification (RFID) communication is needed (fig 4c; para 120: the radio frequency identification (RFID) enabled cellular terminal is switched on or the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader functionality of a cellular terminal is enabled; para 125: in operation S340, the operation of the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader subsystem may be initiated, the initiation may be caused upon reception of a user input to the terminal or upon an initiation signal generated by an application executable on the terminal);
configure the UE for a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode (para 113: in Discontinuous Transmission (DTX) mode, the activity of the cellular communication subsystem of the terminal is only 50% of the nominal on the reverse link (i.e. uplink direction), similarly, there is also discontinuous transmission available for the forward link (i.e. downlink direction), these gaps in transmission and reception in uplink and downlink could be used to enable radio frequency identification (RFID) operation); and
perform RFID communication during a DRX OFF period (para 126: in operation S350, the scheduler aligns the radio frequency identification (RFID) reader operation timing in such a way that the operation is performed during periods of non-activity of the cellular communication subsystem; para 91-91: DRX non-activity period in WCDMA, where RFID communication can be carried out in non-activity period; fig 5a, 6a).
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Honkanen further teaches
pausing RFID communication before expiry of the DRX OFF period (fig 6a, lower time diagram, fourth slot from left shows that the RFID reader RF activity window and ramp up/down is stopped before the activity period of cellular);
waiting for a next DRX OFF period (fig 6a, no RFID reader activity during the cellular activity period); and
resuming RFID communication during the next DRX OFF period (fig 6a, lower time diagram, sixth slot from left shows that the RFID communication is resumed during next cellular non-activity period, fig 5a, 6a).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Honkanen further teaches wherein configuring the UE for the DRX mode comprises: determining that the UE has a DRX configuration having a DRX OFF period of a length sufficient to perform the RFID communication (para 104: in order to enable radio frequency identification (RFID) reader operation one, some or, all of the measurements supposed to be performed by the terminal (and the subsystem thereof, respectively) are skipped to leave sufficient time of non-activity applicable for operation of the radio frequency identification (RFID) subsystem).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Honkanen further teaches wherein triggering a change in the DRX configuration or DRX operation to increase the DRX OFF period duration (para 104-105: in order to enable radio frequency identification (RFID) reader operation one, some or, all of the measurements supposed to be performed by the terminal (and the subsystem thereof, respectively) are skipped to leave sufficient time of non-activity applicable for operation of the radio frequency identification (RFID) subsystem, the compressed mode operation can be achieved in different methods; fig 5b(1)-(3)) comprises:
sending, to a network within which the UE is operating, a request to change the DRX configuration to increase the DRX OFF mode duration (para 109: compressed mode communication may be requested by the terminal to obtain periods of non-activity which enables time-aligned operation of the both subsystems; para 115: if necessary, Discontinuous Transmission (DTX) mode may be requested by the cdma2000 enabled terminal); and
receiving, from the network, a change in the DRX configuration that increases the DRX OFF mode duration (para 102-106: the cellular communication subsystem may use compressed mode to enable seemingly concurrent radio frequency identification (RFID) reader operation, the Transmission Gap Length (TGL) and their timing are determined by the cellular Radio Access Network (RAN), the frames to be compressed are indicated by the network. Principally in compressed mode, compressed frames can occur periodically, or requested on demand).
Regarding claim 8, Honkanen further teaches wherein determining that a DRX mode is not available or DRX duration is not sufficient for RFID operation () comprises:
sending, to a network within which the UE is operating, a request for a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration (para 109: compressed mode communication may be requested by the terminal to obtain periods of non-activity which enables time-aligned operation of the both subsystems); and
determining that the network did not provide a DRX mode configuration (para 110: as a result, depending on the communication mode time-aligned operation of the both subsystems may be allowed or rejected, in the latter case of rejection, the operational sequence continues with operation S290, in operation S290, the time-aligned operation is refused).
Regarding claim 9, Honkanen further teaches wherein determining that a DRX mode is not available or DRX duration is not sufficient for RFID operation comprises determining that the UE or a network within which the UE is operating does not support DRX (para 115-116: Discontinuous Transmission (DTX) mode may be requested by the cdma2000 enabled terminal, as a result, depending whether Discontinuous Transmission (DTX) mode is available and applicable, time-aligned operation of the both subsystems may be allowed or rejected, in case of rejection, the operational sequence continues with operation S290. In operation S290, the time-aligned operation is refused).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honkanen et al. (US 20080309490) in view of Chakroborty et al. (US 20130343252)
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Honkanen teaches the limitations of the parent claim including triggering a change in DRX configuration or DRX operation to increase the DRX OFF period duration. The reference does not specify the information sent in the request. Chakraborty is directed to power saving in mobile terminals.
Chakraborty further teaches sending, to a network within which the UE is operating, information indicating at least one of a low power headroom report (PHR) value (fig 8; para 49: in step 802, which includes receiving an indication of a low power supply state from the UE (considered as UE transmitting the low power report)), which induces a change in the DRX operation that increases the DRX OFF mode duration (fig 8; para 52: in step 806, increasing a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) interval for the UE, the UE can thus enter into a DRX inactive state, if desired, during which the UE stops monitoring the downlink control channel, the UE can also enter a sleep/low power mode by placing one or more components (e.g., modem) in a low power mode during the DRX interval). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine scheduling of cellular communication subsystem and RFID communication subsystem as taught by Honkanen with increasing DRX interval based on low power status as taught by Chakraborty for the benefit of improving the power supply lifetime at the UE as taught by Chakraborty in para 31.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honkanen et al. (US 20080309490) in view of Li et al. (US 20250096822)
Regarding claim 10, Honkanen teaches the limitations of the parent claim including periodically alternating between WWAN and RFID communications. The reference does not teach setting priority of the communications for portions of a period. Li is directed to combined wireless system of cellular communication chain integrated with RFID wireless communication (abstract).
Li further teaches setting a WWAN communication priority higher than an RFID communication priority for a first portion of a period, setting the RFID communication priority higher than the WWAN communication priority for a second portion of the period, and repeating the period (para 87: processing circuit 560 can control the switch circuit 530 to route or prioritize cellular signals over RFID signals, processing circuit 560 can control the switch circuit 530 to route the signals from the cellular transceiver 502 whenever they are available, and routing signals from RFID circuits 550 only when signals from the transceiver 502 are not being generated; para 121, fig 5, 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine scheduling of cellular communication subsystem and RFID communication subsystem as taught by Honkanen with prioritizing cellular and RFID communications as taught by Li for the benefit of optimizing the performance of the communication system as taught by Li in para 80.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 8/28/2026