DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the structure" in the claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 states “sides contacts”. Examiner believes this to be a grammatical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11178776. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and the US Patent claim a sensor assembly : a first end; a second end; and a body portion extending between the first end and the second end; the first end comprising a connector; the second end comprising: a flap, a component comprising a detector, a neck portion, and a hooked portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Ali (US 20060020185).
Regarding claim 1, Al-Ali discloses an optical sensor assembly 300 comprising:
a first end 349 (Fig. 3A-B);
a second end 320 (Fig. 3A-B); and
a body portion 310 extending between the first end and the second end (Fig. 3A);
the first end 349 comprising a connector 348 (Fig. 3B);
the second end 320 comprising:
a flap (area of label 364 in the base and area next to label 351 in fig. 3B), a component comprising a detector 342, a neck portion (area where label arrow 320 is pointing), and a hooked portion (area between elements 362 and 364 in Fig. 3B) forming an emitter window 364, the hooked portion being adapted for attachment of an emitter 344 (Fig. 3B, section 0019).
Regarding claim 2, Al-Ali discloses the sensor assembly of claim 1, further comprising
the emitter 344 attached to the hooked portion (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 3, Al-Ali discloses the sensor assembly of claim 1,
wherein the flap is configured to fold over the component (Fig. 3B, section 0019).
Regarding claim 4, Al-Ali discloses The sensor assembly of claim 1, further comprising
a plurality of windows 362, 364 configured to allow light from the emitter 342 to transmit through the plurality of windows to the component, wherein the component is configured to attach to the plurality of windows (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 12, Al-Ali discloses the sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein
the hooked portion is formed from the neck portion (area between elements 362 and 364 in Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 13, Al-Ali discloses the sensor assembly of claim 12, wherein
a curved portion is attached to the neck portion (area between elements 362 and 364 in Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 14, Al-Ali discloses the sensor assembly of claim 12, wherein
the neck portion is curved (area between elements 362 and 364 in Fig. 3B).
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796