DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection discussed below. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection.
With respect to Applicant’s amendments, the prior art of record (PPAR or CORDRAY et al (2007/0157247), discloses the amended claims limitations (Please note the underlined Remarks within the office action): PPAR discloses, storing a plurality of representative image files for a content item; stores, where each respective image file of the plurality of representative image files is based at least in part on the respective still image of the content item; for each respective representative image file of the plurality of representative image files, respective properties associated with the respective representative image file (see figs.14-22, [0055-0060], [0062-0069], [0099-0102], [0131-0135] and [0182-0185]); respective media asset includes clips: video, audio, text and other visual images; based at least in part on the history of user activity stored in the user profile, identifying at least one attribute of the plurality of content items as a user-preferred attribute, as discussed below. Hence the amended claims, do not overcome the PARs. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection. Furthermore, based on Applicant’s remarks, the double patenting rejection is proper and hereby maintained. This office action is non-final.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent 12,206,952. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The current application (18/975,850) ...equates to...U.S. Pat. (12,206,952).
As to claim 1, the claimed “A method...” equates to “A method...” of Pat ‘952 (col.34, lines 24-54);
the claimed “storing, in a profile, a history….” "based at least in part on the history....”; “based at least in part of the user preference...”; and “generating for display a user interface…” equates to "automatically retrieving …viewing history....”; “determining...”; “in response to determining...” and “generating for simultaneous display ...” “first user interface…” “second user interface…where the first list is different from the second list of Pat ‘952 (col.34, lines 24-54; the current claim limitations are broader without “automatically retrieving …viewing history.” and other claim limitations, however the claim limitations are similar in scope, i.e., controlling user viewing history to generate a user profile based on previous access media asset or viewing history and generating for simultaneous display, a list of media asset that includes previously accessed media asset
Claims 2-9 are met in claims 2-8 of Pat’952 (col.34, line 55-col.35, line 27).
As to claim 10, the claimed “A system...” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claims 11-18 are met as previously discussed in claims 2-8.
As to claim 19, the claimed “A non-transitory...” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claims 20 are met as previously discussed in claim 2-8.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other; i.e., the current claims are broader in scope than the parent allowed claims. Allowance of claims 1-20 of the instant application would result in an unjustified timewise extension of the monopoly defined by patent claim Patent 12,206,952.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CORDRAY et al (2007/0157247) in view of LEGALL et al (6,005,565)
As to claims 1-3, CORDRAY discloses systems and methods for managing content and further discloses a method comprising:
storing, in a user profile, a history of user activity of accessing a plurality of content items via at least one user device associated with the user profile (figs; 7-15, [0007-0009]; [0062-0063] [0131-0135]-viewing history, [0145-0149]-viewing history [0169-0171]); comparing the viewing history of media assets or previously accessed media assets by the user (figs.14-22, [0062-0069], [0099-0102], [0131-0135]-viewing history, [0145-0149]-viewing history [0169-0171] and [0181-0191]),
storing a plurality of representative image files for a content item; storing, where each respective image file of the plurality of representative image files is based at least in part on the respective still image of the content item; for each respective representative image file of the plurality of representative image files, respective properties associated with the respective representative image file (see figs.14-22, [0055-0060], [0062-0069], [0099-0102], [0131-0135] and [0182-0185]); respective media asset includes clips: video, audio, text and other visual images; based at least in part on the history of user activity stored in the user profile, identifying at least one attribute of the plurality of content items as a user-preferred attribute;
selecting a particular representative image file (monitoring interactions) for the content item from the stored plurality of representative image files for representing the content item based at least in part on the user-preferred attribute and the respective properties associated with the particular representative image file; and generating for display a user interface for interacting at least with a user interface element representative of the content item, wherein the user interface element comprises both a representative image stored by the particular representative image file for the content item and a title of the content item, the user interface element being distinct from the content item; wherein the user-preferred attribute indicates at least one of: (a) a genre common to each content item of the plurality of content items, or (b) an actor common to each content item of the plurality of content items; wherein the user-preferred attribute indicates at least one of: (a) a rating common; each content item of the plurality of content items, or (b) a keyword common to each content item of the plurality of content items.; based at least in part on the user-preferred attribute, selecting a representative image for a content item from a plurality of representative images for representing the content item; and generating for display a user interface for interacting at least with a user interface element representative of the content item, wherein the user interface element comprises both the selected representative image for the content item and a title of the content item, the user interface element being distinct from the content item (figs; 7-15, [0007-0009]; [0062-0063] [0131-0135]-viewing history, [0145-0149]-viewing history [0169-0171]); comparing the viewing history of media assets previously accessed by the user with a plurality of media assets (figs.14-22, [0062-0069], [0099-0102], [0131-0135]-viewing history, [0145-0149]-viewing history [0169-0171] and [0181-0191]), the interactive media guidance App (IMG-APP) monitors watched shows, series, episodes, etc. and interactions with respective visual objects and stored at the user device or server and new content or other shows, series, episodes, etc., to generate specific profile(s): Mom, Family, Mary, Guest, etc. comprising the visual indicators for listing of viewed or unviewed content and New to Me “NW” shows, series, particular episode that has been airing for a time period; the claimed “first region…” and “second region…” are functional descriptive and can be directed to any region within the display interface; various terms that includes viewing history, option to Browser User Profile; various displays options: viewing history listings, listing of programs, ads viewed and not viewed, related info schedules, listings of descriptions, actors, schedule info, etc., on screens);
based at least in part on the user-preferred attribute (series, episode, serial ads, etc.) is included in the viewing history of media assets previously accessed by the user and that a second media asset (New to Me “NW”) included in the viewing history of the user profile ([0007-0009], [0131-0144] and [0181-0191]) selecting a representative image for a content item from a plurality of representative images for representing the content item; and generating for display a user interface for interacting at least with a user interface element representative of the content item, wherein the user interface element comprises both the selected representative image for the content item and a title of the content item, the user interface element being distinct from the content item ([0062-0063] and [0139-0141]), title, actor, name, description, rating, channel, etc., associated with the series, episode, serial ads, etc.; ((icons, indicators, alerts, etc.; figs.14-22, [0062-0069], [0099-0102], [0131-0145] and [0181-0191], various terms that includes viewing history, option to Browser User Profile; various displays options: viewing history listings, listing of programs, ads viewed and not viewed, related info schedules, listings of descriptions, actors, schedule info, etc., on screens) associated with the second media asset in a first list of media assets previously accessed by the user, and generating for display, using control circuitry, a second user interface element (content managed at individual levels of specificity or at device level) associated with the second media asset in a second list of media assets, wherein the first list is different from the second list (figs.14-22, [0131-0144] and [0181-0191]), the interactive media guidance App (IMG-APP) monitors watched shows, series, episodes, etc. and new content or other shows, series, episodes, etc., to generate specific profile(s): Mom, Family, Mary, Guest, etc. comprising the visual indicators for listing of viewed or unviewed content and New to Me “NW” shows, series, particular episode that has been airing for a time period; the claimed “first region…” and “second region…” are functional descriptive and can be directed to any region within the display interface; IPG-APP automatically, updating the various listing from one display device to another display device including omitting, suppressing other listings as desired based on a set condition(s) or predetermined criteria
CORDRAY displays lists of media access of interest; generating for display a second user interface element associated with the second media asset in a second list of media assets further determining that the first user interface element was generated for display in the first list and in response to the determining, excluding the first user interface element from the second list (figs.12-22, [0005-0009], [0062-0069], [0099-0102] and [0132-0145]), IPG-APP automatically, updating the various listing from one display device to another display device including omitting, suppressing other listings as desired based on a set condition(s) or predetermined criteria; BUT appears silent as to where the UI element includes both the selected representative image for the content item and a title of the content item and a title of the content item, the UI element being distinct from the content item and simultaneously generating for display the user interface element and a selectable option to trigger play of the content item
However, in the same field of endeavor, LEGALL disclose an integrated search of EPG Internet and UI element includes both the selected representative image for the content item and a title of the content item and a title of the content item, the UI element being distinct from the content item and simultaneously generating for display the user interface element and a selectable option to trigger play of the content item (figs.2-4, Col.2, line 38-Col.4, line 1+), displays search result via the Information resources and other media asset simultaneously.
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the reaching of LEGALL into the system of CORDRAY to provide additional enhancement to the display interface including generating search results from other resources
As to claim 4-8, CORDRAY further discloses wherein the storing the history of user activity of accessing the plurality of content items comprises storing an identified type of the at least one user device used to access the plurality of content items; storing identified rating information pertaining to at least one content item of the plurality of content items that have been accessed via the at least one user device associated with the user profile; storing identified social media recommendations of at least one content item from the plurality of content items that have been accessed via the at least one user device associated with the user profile and storing an identified length of at least one content item from the plurality of content items that have been accessed via the at least one user device associated with the user profile and wherein the selected representative image is a frame identified from the content item ([0062-0069], [0099-0102], [0132-0145], (0152-0157] and [0161-0170] ), note remarks in claims 1-3, ranks listings according to a predetermined criteria, ranks determined based on weighted combinations of criteria to auto searching to generate listings and other related listings, displayed on PIG or different areas of the display including displaying indicators at different areas of the display listings
As to claims 10-13 “A system…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-3.
Claim 14 is met as previously discussed in claim 5.
Claims 15-18 are met as previously discussed in claims 6-9.
As to claims 10-13 “A system…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-3.
As to claims 19-21, the claimed “A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-3.
Claim 21 is met as previously discussed in claims 1-3; icons, images, etc., maybe application specific generated image, icon, etc.
Conclusion.
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN Q. SHANG