Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by VanDyken (US 2019/0142520).
Claim 1, VanDyken discloses a computer-implemented method (abstract) comprising: obtaining intraoperative patient data (paragraphs [0052]-[0054]); performing one or more simulations based on a surgical plan to generate at least one robotic surgical action for an intraoperative surgical plan (paragraphs [0052]-[0054] and [0080]-[0085]); and causing a robotic surgical apparatus to perform the at least one robotic surgical action according to the intraoperative surgical plan (paragraphs [0032], [0064], and [0125]).
Claim 2, VanDyken discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the at least one robotic surgical action is generated using a trained machine model, wherein the trained machine model includes at least one of a neural network model, a machine learning model, or both (paragraph [0086]).
Claim 3, VanDyken discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining additional intraoperative patient data; performing one or more additional simulations based on the additional intraoperative patient data; and in response to a failure to identify a robotic surgical step based on the additional intraoperative patient data, receiving user input for causing the robotic surgical apparatus to perform a subsequent surgical action (paragraph [0120]).
Claim 4, VanDyken discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more simulations are performed using a virtual model generated based on the intraoperative patient data and the surgical plan (paragraphs [0019]-[0026]).
Claim 5, VanDyken discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a score for each of the one or more simulations based on one or more predicted events for a respective one of the one or more simulations; and selecting one of the one or more simulations based on the score to generate the at least one robotic surgical action (paragraph [0086]).
Claim 6, VanDyken discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising designing at least one of the one or more simulations based on the surgical plan to be completed within a time period, wherein designing the at least one simulation includes (i) generating a three-dimensional model of an anatomy of a patient, (ii) generating a three-dimensional model of an implant, and/or (iii) moving the three-dimensional models of the anatomy and the implant according to the surgical plan (paragraphs [0024], [0029], and [0052]).
Claim 7, VanDyken discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more simulations are performed while one or more instruments of the robotic surgical apparatus are at least partially positioned within a patient (paragraphs [0029] and [00123]).
Claim 8, VanDyken discloses a surgical system (abstract) comprising: one or more computer processors (abstract); and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions (abstract), which when executed by the one or more computer processors, cause the surgical system to: obtain intraoperative patient data (paragraphs [0052]-[0054]); perform one or more simulations based on a surgical plan to generate at least one robotic surgical action for an intraoperative surgical plan (paragraphs [0052]-[0054] and [0080]-[0085]); and cause a robotic surgical apparatus to perform the at least one robotic surgical action according to the intraoperative surgical plan (paragraphs [0032], [0064], and [0125]).
Claim 9, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 8, wherein the at least one robotic surgical action is generated using a trained machine model, wherein the trained machine model includes at least one of a neural network model, a machine learning model, or both (paragraph [0086]).
Claim 10, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 8, wherein the computer instructions further cause the surgical system to: obtain additional intraoperative patient data; perform one or more additional simulations based on the additional intraoperative patient data; and in response to a failure to identify a robotic surgical step based on the additional intraoperative patient data, receive user input for causing the robotic surgical apparatus to perform a subsequent surgical action (paragraph [0120]).
Claim 11, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 10, wherein the one or more simulations are performed using a virtual model generated based on the intraoperative patient data and the surgical plan (paragraphs [0019]-[0026]).
Claim 12, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 8, wherein the computer instructions further cause the surgical system to: determine a score for each of the one or more simulations based on one or more predicted events for a respective one of the one or more simulations; and select one of the one or more simulations based on the score to generate the at least one robotic surgical action (paragraph [0086]).
Claim 13, VanDyken the surgical system of claim 8, wherein the computer instructions further cause the surgical system to design at least one of the one or more simulations based on the surgical plan to be completed within a time period, wherein designing the at least one simulation includes (i) generating a three-dimensional model of an anatomy of a patient, (ii) generating a three-dimensional model of an implant, and/or (iii) moving the three-dimensional models of the anatomy and the implant according to the surgical plan (paragraphs [0024], [0029], and [0052]).
Claim 14, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 8, wherein the one or more simulations are performed while one or more instruments of the robotic surgical apparatus are at least partially positioned within a patient (paragraphs [0029] and [00123]).
Claim 15, VanDyken a surgical system (abstract) comprising: a computer system (abstract) configured to: discloses obtain intraoperative patient data (paragraphs [0052]-[0054]); perform one or more simulations based on a surgical plan to generate at least one robotic surgical action for an intraoperative surgical plan (paragraphs [0052]-[0054] and [0080]-[0085]); and cause a robotic surgical apparatus to perform the at least one robotic surgical action according to the intraoperative surgical plan (paragraphs [0032], [0064], and [0125]).
Claim 16, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 15, wherein the at least one robotic surgical action is generated using a trained machine model, wherein the trained machine model includes at least one of a neural network model, a machine learning model, or both (paragraph [0086]).
Claim 17, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 15, wherein the computer system is further configured to: obtain additional intraoperative patient data; perform one or more additional simulations based on the additional intraoperative patient data; and in response to a failure to identify a robotic surgical step based on the additional intraoperative patient data, receive user input for causing the robotic surgical apparatus to perform a subsequent surgical action (paragraph [0120]).
Claim 18, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 15, wherein the one or more simulations are performed using a virtual model generated based on the intraoperative patient data and the surgical plan (paragraphs [0019]-[0026]).
Claim 19, VanDyken discloses the surgical system of claim 15, wherein the computer system is further configured to: determine a score for each of the one or more simulations based on one or more predicted events for a respective one of the one or more simulations; and select one of the one or more simulations based on the score to generate the at least one robotic surgical action (paragraph [0086]).
Claim 20, VanDyken the surgical system of claim 15, wherein the computer system is further configured to design at least one of the one or more simulations based on the surgical plan to be completed within a time period, wherein designing the at least one simulation includes (i) generating a three-dimensional model of an anatomy of a patient, (ii) generating a three-dimensional model of an implant, and/or (iii) moving the three-dimensional models of the anatomy and the implant according to the surgical plan (paragraphs [0024], [0029], and [0052]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12193752.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all the limitations of the current claim, though slightly reworded.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775