DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the remarks filed November 28, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parlman (US 4322304-appears on the PTO-1449).
Parlman teaches lubricating compositions or fuel compositions comprising a lubricating stock or hydrocarbon fuel and bis(disubstituted aminomethyl)phenol (see abstract; col. 1, lines 7-16, col. 3, lines 1-3). The phenol compounds have the following formulae:
The compounds render obvious those of the present invention when in Parlman R is H and R1 and R2 are alkyl radicals having 1 to 6 carbon atoms. R1 and R2 also may be taken together to be part of a cyclic group containing oxygen (see col. 2, lines 10-57). In the present invention m and p are each 0, n is 2, R1 and R2 are H and R3 and R4 are hydrocarbyl or part of a cyclic group. Parlman meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Parlman does not specifically teach the method for preventing or reducing low speed pre-ignition events in a spark-ignited internal combustion engine. However, it would be reasonable to expect that Parlman would meet this limitation because he uses the lubricant or fuel or in the same environment as the present invention, i.e., lubricating oil additive for a combustion engine or fuel additive for a combustion engine. Therefore, if the present additive performs the claimed functions of preventing and reducing low speed pre-ignition events in engines then the skilled artisan would expect that Parlman also performs these functions.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fareri (US 2,755,175-appears on the PTO-892).
Fareri teaches gasoline containing 2,4,6-tri-(dimethylaminomethyl)phenol. The compound prevents or suppresses discoloration and the formation of gummy substances during storage or use (see col. 1, lines 15-19 and Table 1). The phenol may be combined with other additives that are normally added to gasolines without adversely affecting the desirable properties of the phenol (see col. 4, lines 5-10).
Fareri does not specifically teach the method for preventing or reducing low speed pre-ignition events in a spark-ignited internal combustion engine. However, it would be reasonable to expect that Fareri would meet this limitation because he teaches using the fuel, which would suggest a spark-ignited engine. Hence, the additive is used in the same environment as the present invention, i.e., fuel additive for a combustion engine. Therefore, if the present additive performs the claimed functions of preventing and reducing low speed pre-ignition events in engines then the skilled artisan would expect that Fareri would also performs these functions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Parlman is missing R5 which may be C1-C100 hydrocarbyl group, carboxyl group, ether or hydroxyl group.
It should be noted that in the structure of the present claims that p may be 0 and therefore there would be no R5. Thus, Parlman meets this limitation and also meets the limitation that p+n+m is less than 6. In the instant claim the examiner’s position is that n=2, m=0 and p=0.
Applicant argues that Fareri also lacks R5. The 2,4,6-tri(dimethylaminomethyl)phenol taught by Fareri has the following formula
In the instant claims, when n is 3, p is 0, m is 0, R1, R2, R3 and R4 are C1 (CH3), the compound is rendered obvious by Fareri.
Claims 2, 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest a carboxyl group and the secondary additive is an acid, phenol, 1,3-dicarbonyl, hydroxyamide, antioxidant, salicylate or amidine in combination with the primary additive (phenolic amine).
Claims 11-18 are allowed. The prior art fails to teach or suggest the method as set forth in the claims wherein the phenolic amine and the secondary additive are supplied to a spark-ignited engine via the fuel composition.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18975959/20260312