DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0001] recites “This application is related to U.S. Patent Application No. ______________”.
It is unclear as to what U.S. Patent application is being referenced. Examiner notes that no domestic or foreign priority has been claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 3) “having; ” should recite –having: --.
In claim 15 (line 12) “the cavity” should recite –a cavity--.
In claim 20 (line 1) “of claim 5” should recite –of claim 15--.
Claim 15 (line 2) recites “An assembly for indicating a locking condition of a strong arm on a car seat base”; thus initially reciting the car seat base as an intended use functional limitations.
Claim 15 (lines 3,5-6,10) subsequently recites “a viewing window on the base… a strong arm having a first end… pivotally coupled to the base… a cam movably coupled within the base”; thus positively defining the claimed invention relative to the bar seat base. Accordingly, it is unclear as to whether the car seat base has been positively claimed as an element of the claimed invention, or whether the base has only been recited as intended use functional limitations.
Examiner notes that claim 15 (line 2) should be amended to recite --An assembly indicating a locking condition of a strong arm on a car seat base—in order to avoid rejection under 35 USC 112.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehman et al. (US 9,315,124).
As to claim 1, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly for securing a car seat within an automobile, the assembly comprising:
a base 1, the base having:
a front, a back and a top extending between the front and the back; the top defining a cavity and having a viewing window 61 disposed in the top, the viewing window providing viewing access below the top;
an arm 4,5 having a first end 4 and a second end 5 distal from the first end, the first end pivotally coupled to the base, the arm pivotal between an open position with the distal end of the arm pivoted away from the top of the base, and a locked position with the distal end of the arm pivoted to abut the base;
a cam 6 slidingly held within the base adjacent the cavity, the cam having a first end A and a second end B (Figure 3 reprinted below with annotations), the cam moveable between a first position with the first end extending into the cavity in the base, when the arm is in the open position, and a second position wherein the second end is moved farther into the base when the arm is in the locked position; and
locking indicia 631 on the cam, the locking indicia viewable through the viewing window only when the cam slides into the second position (Figures 1-9).
[AltContent: textbox (D)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 2, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the distal end 5 of the arm 4,5 contacts the first end A of the cam 6 when the arm is in the locking position, sliding the cam into the second position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 3, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the cam 6 is biased 64 to the first position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 4, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly comprising open indicia 621 on the cam 6, the open indicia viewable through the viewing window 61 when the cam is in the first position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 5, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the cam 6 moves into the first position when the arm 4,5 is in the open position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 6, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the viewing window 61 is located on the top of the base 1 nearer the front of the base than the back of the base (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 7, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the viewing window 61 is visible with the arm 4,5 in either the open position or the locked position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 8, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the first end A of the cam 6 is bifurcated, with two spaced apart buttons C extending into the cavity with the cam in the first position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 9, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the first end A of the cam 6 has an angled surface D extending from a top of the first end to a bottom of the first end, and wherein contact of the distal end 5 of the arm 4,5 with the angled surface moves the cam linearly toward the front end of the base 1 (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 10, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly for indicating a locked condition of a strong arm on a car seat base, the assembly comprising:
a base 1 having a front, a back and a top extending between the front and the back; the top defining a cavity and having a viewing window 61 disposed in the top, the viewing window providing viewing access below the top;
an arm 4,5 having a first end 4 and a second end 5 distal from the first end, the first end pivotally coupled to the base, the arm pivotal between an open position with the distal end of the arm pivoted away from the top of the base, and a locked position with the distal end of the arm pivoted to abut the base;
a cam 6 within the base adjacent the cavity, the cam moveable from a first position with a portion extending into the cavity to a second position where said portion is moved away from the cavity and into the base; and
a locking indicia 631 on the cam, the locking indicia viewable through the viewing window only when the cam slides into the second position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 11, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the base 1 defines a channel within which the cam 6 slides between the first position and the second position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 12, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the cam 6 is biased 64 to the first position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 13, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the distal end 5 of the arm 4,5 moves the cam 6 to the second position when the arm is moved to the locked position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 14, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly comprising an open indicia 621 on the cam 6 indicating the arm is not in the locked position, the open indicia visible through the viewing window 61 when the cam is not in the second position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 15, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly indicating a locked condition of a strong arm on a car seat base, the assembly comprising:
a viewing window 61 on the base 1 providing viewing access through the base;
a strong arm 4,5 having a first end 4 and a second end 5 distal from the first end, the first end pivotally coupled to the base, the strong arm pivotal between an open position with the distal end of the arm pivoted away from the top of the base, and a locked position with the distal end of the arm pivoted to abut the base;
a cam 6 movably coupled within the base adjacent the viewing window, the cam having a first end A and a second end B, the cam moveable between a first position with the first end extending into a cavity in the base, when the arm is in the open position, and a second position wherein the second end is moved farther into the base when the arm is in the locked position; and
locking indicia 631 on the second end of the cam, the locking indicia viewable through the viewing window only when the cam slides into the second position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 16, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the distal end 5 of the arm 4,5 contacts the first end A of the cam 6 when the arm is in the locking position, translating the cam into the second position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 17, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the cam 6 is spring-biased 64 to the first position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 18, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly comprising open indicia 621 on the cam 6 adjacent the locking indicia 631, the open indicia viewable through the viewing window 61 when the cam is in the first position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 19, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the spring 64 moves the cam 6 into the first position when the arm 4,5 is in the open position (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 20, Lehman et al. disclose an assembly wherein the viewing window 61 is visible with the strong arm 4,5 in either the open position or the locked position (Figures 1-9).
Conclusion
07/10/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619