DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
ALLOWABLE SUBJECT MATTER
Claims 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 8-12 are objected to because the cited references do not disclose “while displaying, on the display, a settings interface provided for setting how the property of the stylus operations is affected in response to obtaining the finger manipulation data from the stylus: detecting, on the touch-sensitive surface of the electronic device, a settings input corresponding to the settings interface, wherein the settings input specifies how a particular property of the stylus operations is affected in response to a particular finger manipulation input received by the stylus; and in response to detecting the settings input, setting how the particular property of the stylus operations is affected in response to determining that the finger manipulation data from the stylus is indicative of the particular finger manipulation input received by the stylus“.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statements filed 12/10/2024, 12/18/2024, and 06/10/2025 have been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of the PTO-1449 forms are included in this correspondence.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In claim 17, the “computer readable storage medium storing on or more programs” in accordance with Applicant’s specification, may be an electromagnetic signal because the specification does not limit the storage medium to non-transitory storage mediums ([0006][0061] [0146] throughout the specification).
Thus, the specification can include transitory and non-transitory propagation signals. However, a transitory (i.e., propagating) signal, is not within the following four categories: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter. Therefore, the Examiner suggests amending the claim 30 to embody "non-transitory computer-readable medium" or equivalent that excludes computer-readable medium as a "signal", "carrier wave", or "transmission medium" which are deemed non-statutory.
Any amendment to the claim should be commensurate with its corresponding disclosure.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-5, 7, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicks US 20140253463 in view of Song et al. US 20140210744
Consider claim 1. Hicks discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device with one or more processors see fig. 1a and fig. 2a electronic computing device has processor, a non-transitory memory fig. 2a electronic computing device memory with UI and OS, a touch-sensitive surface see fig. 1a and fig. 2a [0017] [0047] touch screen display, a display fig. 2a [0024] display content to user, and a communication interface provided to communicate with a stylus see fig. 2a-c where electronic computing device communicates with stylus over a communication link via their respective communication modules;
detecting movement of the stylus across the touch-sensitive surface [0033] discusses how stylus movement is detected with respect to the display e.g. “track the stylus movements” [0069] stylus detect stylus location and speed of movement;
in response to detecting the movement of the stylus [0033] track the stylus movements [0035] stylus is moved to volume control or if stylus is touching or pointing at UI font control, or color if stylus is touching or pointing at UI color control see fig. 4a, performing a stylus operation in a user interface displayed on the display in accordance with the location of the stylus fig. 4a-b fig. 6 when the stylus moves to a specific icon or menu, that icon or menu becomes available to be engaged with via the touch sensitive input area on the stylus. Thus, the stylus operation is selecting a particular icon or menu. [0057] graphical animations or other indicators (e.g., differing chimes or vibrations as the menu is parsed) can be used to inform the user as to what icon or menu item the stylus is currently engaging to assist in the user selection process.
after performing the stylus operation in the user interface, obtaining finger manipulation data fig. 3a-3c shows finger manipulation gestures, via the communication interface, indicative of a finger manipulation input received at the stylus fig. 4a-b fig. 6 [0035] volume, or font size, or color control via ;
in response to obtaining the finger manipulation data from the stylus: changing a property of stylus operations in the user interface based on the finger manipulation input fig. 4a-b fig. 6 [0035] volume, font size, or color control via touch gesture on the stylus fig. 3a-3c shows finger manipulation gestures. Also see table 1; and
displaying a visual indication of the change in the property of the stylus operations on the display on the electronic device table 1 change color of tool, launch browser/messaging/music search app, select line width. [0035] swiping for zoom control, change color or width of line. also navigating menus. [0020] a volume increase animation might show a speaker with an increasing number of sound waves coming from it if the stylus action is being used to increase volume.[0043] animations is response to stylus actions to provide clarity to the function being performed. animations they can also be user configurable
Hicks does not explicitly state performing a stylus operation in a user interface displayed on the display in accordance with the movement of the stylus.
Song however discloses performing a stylus operation in a user interface displayed on the display in accordance with the movement of the stylus see fig. 5a the stylus is writing on the display of a touch screen device 151 [0187-0188].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic computing device of Hicks to include performing a stylus operation in a user interface displayed on the display in accordance with the movement of the stylus, as taught by Song, to enable improved writing and drawing when using a stylus on a touch screen display [0003][0008].
Consider claim 2. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting a finger manipulation change in the finger manipulation input received at the stylus; and in response to detecting the finger manipulation change, changing the visual indication based on the finger manipulation change. Song fig. 5b fig. 5c. if the button is pressed once while the line is drawn the pen is changed to a second type from a first type. if the button is touched twice in sequence the pen is changed to a third type [0190-0191]. Hicks fig. 3a-3c shows finger manipulation gestures that can be made see [00350 and table 1 for corresponding outputs.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 3. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the finger manipulation input received at the stylus includes finger movement along a barrel of the stylus Hicks fig. 3a-3c shows finger manipulation gestures along the barrel.
Consider claim 4. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the stylus operation includes a drawing operation in a drawing application Song fig. 5a-5c. Also see Hicks fig. 4b pencil paint brush [0035] painting/drawing tool.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 5. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the property of the stylus operation corresponds to line width Also see Hicks fig. 4b pencil paint brush [0035] painting/drawing tool. Song fig. 5a-c.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 7. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the property of the stylus operation corresponds to an editing tool having focus see Hicks fig. 4b focus of pencil paintbrush eraser etc. also see table 1 use pencil tool use highlighter tool eraser tool.
Consider claim 13. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to determining that a time threshold is satisfied, ceasing display of the visual indication Hicks [0020] a volume increase animation might show a speaker with an increasing number of sound waves coming from it if the stylus action is being used to increase volume.[0043] animations is response to stylus actions to provide clarity to the function being performed. animations they can also be user configurable. Note: this indicates that the visual indication has a finite response and does not remain on the display forever. furthermore, a custom animation can be made which satisfies a specific duration.
Consider claim 14. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, wherein changing the property of the stylus operations is in response to determining that the finger manipulation input satisfies a gesture criterion Hicks fig. 3a-3c shows finger manipulation gestures that can be made see [00350 and table 1 for corresponding outputs. Also see Song fig. 5a-5c [0187-0188] and [0190-0191].
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 15. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, after changing the property of the stylus operations:
detecting a subsequent movement of the stylus across the touch-sensitive surface; and performing a subsequent stylus operation in the user interface in accordance with the subsequent movement and the property of the stylus operation see Song fig. 5a-5c [0187-0188] and [0190-0191].
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1 [0045]. the functional modules can be implemented in hardware, software, firmware, or a combination thereof.
2. Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicks US 20140253463 in view of Song et al. US 20140210744 and further in view US 20150363034.
Consider claim 6. Hicks as modified by Song discloses the method of claim 1, but do not disclose wherein the property of the stylus operation corresponds to line opacity.
Hinckley however discloses wherein the property of the stylus operation corresponds to line opacity [0141] the user may adjust the transparency of the spray by sliding the finger in contact with the pen barrel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic computing device of Hicks as modified by Song to include performing a stylus operation in a user interface displayed on the display in accordance with wherein the property of the stylus operation corresponds to line opacity, as taught by Hinckley, to enable improved pen and computing device sensor correlation [0074-0077].
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160364091 Bernstein discloses a stylus that can be used to change the opacity of a mark .
IBRAHIM A. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2621
/IBRAHIM A KHAN/ 12/27/2025Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621