Response to Amendment/Arguments
This action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed on 11/25/2025.
The Applicant’s amendments/arguments are fully considered regarding rejection under 35 USC 103 however they are not persuasive with respect to 35 USC 103 rejection. Please see the analysis of claims rejection under 35 USC 103 and the remarks section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Espedal (US 20120293987) in view of Delgado (US 20210303003).
Regarding claim 31 Espedal disclose A system (Espedal paragraph 0001, disclose system for landing site and paragraphs 0012-0013), comprising:
a landing surface for an aerial vehicle (Espendal paragraph 0040 FIG. 1 shows in perspective a landing site for a helicopter provided with a light source system according to the invention where a pattern of light lines is projected on the landing site by means of a set of light sources. This obviously corresponds to a landing surface for an aerial vehicle); and
a plurality of light sources arranged in a predetermined pattern, the arrangement of the light sources defining a set of intersecting virtual lines (Espedal, Fig. 4 and paragraph 0047, Figs.3a-3b, paragraph 0024 disclose The light lines source may comprise an optical system provided with several light line generating means where each, independent of each other, are arranged to be able to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired, horizontal direction on the landing site to thereby be able to project intersecting light lines and claim 5 Espedal recites the line light source comprises an optical system provided with several light line generating means that each, independently of each other, are arranged to be able to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired, horizontal direction on the landing site to thereby be able to project intersecting light lines and paragraph 0032 Espedal disclose form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction), wherein:
a distance between adjacent light sources on each virtual line is non-uniform (Espedal Fig. 4, paragraph 0012 disclose “The system comprises a set of light sources where a selection of light sources or all in unison form the desired pattern of lighted lines on the landing site” , paragraph 0015, lines 6-10, Espedal disclose “the system may comprise several point light sources individually "drawing" a whole or a part of a line, as all the point light sources by synchronized control provides the desired pattern of light lines”. As shown in Fig. 4 set of point lights drawing a partial lines on the landing site and it would be obvious in the system of Espedal to set adjacent light distances to be non-uniform based on the desired pattern. Espedal paragraph 0047 disclose “In FIG. 4 the line 22 is formed by several points of light 24, indicated here by the points of light 24 being marked off in turn in the direction R at so high frequency and so small intervals that the human eye perceives the collection of marked off light points as a continuous line 22. In FIG. 4 varying density in the hachure indicates the gradual weakening of the light intensity in the light points 24. Also broken line patterns (not shown) may be formed in this manner”. As stated above and disclose by Espedal for the “desired pattern” and “varying density of lights” it would obvious in the system of Espedal to set the distance between adjacent lights varying and non-uniform),
a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time (Espedal paragraph 0032 disclose form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction. In the system of Espedal this obviously corresponds to a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time and paragraph 0034 Espedal disclose to manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site), and
the modulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode information (Espedal paragraph 0032 disclose form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction and paragraph 0034 Espedal disclose to manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site. All this obviously would corresponds to the modulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode information).
In the same field of endeavor Delgado disclose landing surface of aerial vehicle, plurality of light virtual light lines (Delgado Figs 5A-5B paragraph 0008 states the invention disclosed herein includes a system and a method for precision guidance of multiple autonomous vehicles in a safe and collision-free manner. The invention comprises a plurality of light sources emitting light signals with an angular dependent intensity profile, detecting the emitted light signals with an on-board light detector, processing the light signals and using the processed light signals to find the orientation of the autonomous vehicle relative to the light sources. In fact, in the case of UAVs, the emitted light signals can define light paths in space that serve as virtual runways or airways that can be followed precisely by the autonomous vehicles in maneuvers such as cruising, parking, approaching, takeoff and landing, paragraphs 0030-0031 and .paragraph 0029 Delgado disclose FIG. 4 shows an embodiment wherein multiple pairs of light sources 401 (light sources not shown, only their radiation pattern) are used to guide multiple autonomous vehicles simultaneously. The light signals emitted from each pair of light sources provide guide paths 403 that can be used to guide the vehicles in straight line from their current position towards a ground station, for example. In some embodiments, a transition from satellite-based navigation to light-based guidance allows collision-free precision guidance of multiple vehicles from a region 2 with a sparse vehicle density 404 to a region 1 with a high vehicle density 402 as they approach a ground station),
a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time and the modulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode information (Delgado paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, CDMA codes, a data stream, an encrypted data stream, an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform or a spread spectrum signal. paragraph 0035 the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation, decryption, CDMA decoding, polarization multiplexing, wavelength division multiplexing and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. In the system of Delgado amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform corresponds to a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time and the modulation/demodulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode/decode information because it is well known in the art that Amplitude Modulation is a fundamental encoding technique where information (like data) is embedded by varying the amplitude (strength/height) of a carrier wave, allowing signals to be transmitted. Therefore it would be obvious in combination Espedal and Delgado to encode/decode the information).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modulate characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources modulated with respect to time and the modulation of the characteristic of light is to encode information as shown in combination of Espedal and Delgado because such a system provides landing site for ariel vehicle in GPS denied environment (Degado paragraph 0009) .
Regarding claim 32, Espedal disclose equal number of light sources are arranged on each virtual line.(Espedal paragraph 0042 disclose FIGS. 3a and 3b shows in perspective a landing site for a helicopter provided with a light source system according to the invention where a pattern of light lines is projected on the landing site by means of a set of light sources comprising one line light source; as FIG. 3a indicates the projection of a first line, and FIG. 3b indicates the projection of a second line and Fig. 4, paragraphs 0012, 0015 and 0047 set of point light sources on the line. In the system of Espedal it would be obvious to arrange equal number of light sources on each line for the desired pattern).
Regarding claim 33 Espedal disclose plurality of light sources includes linear, and point light sources (Espedal paragraphs 0022, 0025-0026, claim 3 and claim 6. Espedal discloses plurality of light sources includes linear, and point light sources and it would be obvious in the system of Espedal to use combination of point light sources and linear).
Regarding claim 34 Espedal disclose the predetermined pattern includes a rectangle (Espedal disclose the system comprises a set of light sources where a selection of light sources or all in unison form the desired pattern of lighted lines on the landing site and paragraph 0015 disclose one or more point light sources are employed, which by rapid flashing and controlled rotation about two axes, such as a horizontal axis and a vertical axis, are arranged to be able to "draw" lines on the landing site. In one version one point light source may draw several lines together forming a pattern, or the system may comprise several point light sources individually "drawing" a whole or a part of a line, as all the point light sources by synchronised control provides the desired pattern of light lines. It would be obvious in the system of Espedal the predetermined pattern includes a rectangle).
Regarding claim 35 Espedal disclose the predetermined pattern comprises one or more line segments, and each line segment is configured to represent a single bit of information based on an activation state of the light source in the line segment ( Espedal para 0046, In the FIGS. 3a and 3b the lines 21, 22 are formed by several light line segments 23 as a light beam collection 231 comprises several distinct portions 231a each forming a light line segment 23, paras 0034-0036 to manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site and o form the luminous pattern of several light points by pulsing a point light source [MODULATION] coordinated with a projection of a light point in an alternating position. In the control system of Espedal control system can program to represent light source pulsing light status using single-bit).
Furthermore Delgado disclose Delgado paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, CDMA codes, a data stream, an encrypted data stream, an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform or a spread spectrum signal. paragraph 0035 the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation, decryption, CDMA decoding, polarization multiplexing, wavelength division multiplexing and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. The control signal generated to guide the vehicle orientation can obvious programmed to be one-bit based on board control system).
Regarding claim 36 Espedal disclose a shape of the predetermined pattern includes at least one of a triangle, a circle, an ellipsis, or a polygon (Espedal Figs. 3a-3b, paragraph 011 disclose the invention provides a system of several light projecting devices together drawing lines on a landing site, such as a landing platform, as the lines form a suitable pattern indicating a preferred landing direction and the centre of the landing site. In one embodiment the pattern is cruciform where the longitudinal axis indicates the recommended approach direction, and the lateral axis marking line, perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, lies close to a periphery of a per se known marking circle preferably to windward, i.e. upwind of relative wind direction. The lateral line will thus form a reference line useful for positioning the helicopter in the longitudinal direction during the latter part of the approach to the landing site and paragraph 0015 one or more point light sources are employed, which by rapid flashing and controlled rotation about two axes, such as a horizontal axis and a vertical axis, are arranged to be able to "draw" lines on the landing site. In one version one point light source may draw several lines together forming a pattern, or the system may comprise several point light sources individually "drawing" a whole or a part of a line, as all the point light sources by synchronised control provides the desired pattern of light lines and paragraph 0037 disclose As used herein, in addition to having its ordinary meaning, an “optical marker” refers to a visual-based cue that may be used as a point of reference to determine a relative position, location, orientation, and/or measurement. Optical markers may be rectilinear and/or may have other shapes such as circle and/or curves Therefore it is obvious in the system of Espedal a shape of the predetermined pattern includes at least one of a triangle, a circle, an ellipsis, or a polygon).
Regarding claim 37 Espedal disclose the predetermined pattern of the light sources is associated with the landing surface (Espedal Figs. 1-2 and 3a-3b, note: claim 1 of Espedal and paragraph 0040-0042 lights and landing site).
Regarding claim 38 Espedal disclose the light sources is uniquely identifiable in the predetermined pattern based on an arrangement of the light sources (Espedal para 0045 disclose In the FIGS. 1 and 2 is shown a light pattern 2, shown here as a landing cross, formed by several lines, shown here as a first and a second line 21, 22 respectively as a longitudinal axis marking and a lateral axis marking in an assembled landing positioning reference. This would obviously provides in the system of Espedal the light sources is uniquely identifiable in the predetermined pattern based on an arrangement of the light sources).
Regarding claim 39 Espedal disclose the encoded information identifies the landing surface (Espedal paragraph 000031-0032 The method may further comprise: to form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction The pulsing of the lights corresponds to modulation/encoding of lights positioning. Therefore it is obvious in the system of Espedal encoded information identifies the landing surface).
Furthermore Delgado in Fig. 6 and 5A-5B paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, CDMA codes, a data stream, an encrypted data stream, an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform or a spread spectrum signal. paragraph 0035 the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation, decryption, CDMA decoding, polarization multiplexing, wavelength division multiplexing and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. . In the system of Delgado amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform corresponds to a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time and the modulation/demodulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode/decode information and it would be obvious to encode/decode of the identification of landing surface using modulation/demodulation of amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform because it is well known in the art that Amplitude Modulation is a fundamental encoding technique where information (like sound or data) is embedded by varying the amplitude (strength/height) of a carrier wave, allowing signals to be transmitted. Therefore it would be obvious in combination Espedal and Delgado to encode/decode the identification of landing site or any other information).).
Regarding claim 40 Espedal disclose the encoded information identifies one of the light sources (Delgado in Fig. 6 and 5A-5B paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, CDMA codes, a data stream, an encrypted data stream, an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform or a spread spectrum signal. paragraph 0035 the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation, decryption, CDMA decoding, polarization multiplexing, wavelength division multiplexing and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. This obviously corresponds to the encoded information identifies one of the light sources).
Regarding claim 41 Espedal disclose the encoded information identifies a location of one of the light sources (Delgado in Fig. 6 and 5A-5B paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, CDMA codes, a data stream, an encrypted data stream, an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform or a spread spectrum signal. paragraph 0035 the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation, decryption, CDMA decoding, polarization multiplexing, wavelength division multiplexing and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. This obviously corresponds to the encoded information identifies one of the light sources. This obviously corresponds to the encoded information identifies a location of one of the light sources ).
Regarding claim 42 Espedal disclose encoded information identifies a status of the landing surface (Delgado Fig. 6, 0032-0036 and note: claim 1 of Delgado page 3, guidance system for autonomous vehicles comprising: A plurality of light sources, each emitting a light signal with an angular dependent intensity profile. A light detector, configured to detect the plurality of light signals emitted from each one of the light sources Processing logic configured to receive a plurality of detected light signals generated by the light detector, the processing logic configured to: Receive the detected light signals detected by the light detector while the emitted light signals are incident on the light detector Distinguish each one of the detected light signals detected by the light detector Compare the distinguished detected light signals Use the distinguished detected light signals to encounter the orientation of the light detector relative to the light sources Generate a control signal from the distinguished detected light signals Use the control signal to provide navigation guidance to the autonomous vehicle. In the system of Delgado if no distinguished light it would obviously identifies a status of the landing surface i.e. landing is not available).
Regarding claim 43 Espedal disclose the encoded information authenticates the landing surface (Delgado Fig. 6, 0032-0036 and note: claim 1 of Delgado page 3, guidance system for autonomous vehicles comprising: A plurality of light sources, each emitting a light signal with an angular dependent intensity profile. A light detector, configured to detect the plurality of light signals emitted from each one of the light sources Processing logic configured to receive a plurality of detected light signals generated by the light detector, the processing logic configured to: Receive the detected light signals detected by the light detector while the emitted light signals are incident on the light detector Distinguish each one of the detected light signals detected by the light detector Compare the distinguished detected light signals Use the distinguished detected light signals to encounter the orientation of the light detector relative to the light sources Generate a control signal from the distinguished detected light signals Use the control signal to provide navigation guidance to the autonomous vehicle. In the system of Delgado if no distinguished light it would obviously identifies a status of the landing surface i.e. landing is not available. In the system of Delgado if distinguished signal of the source is available or not available that would authenticate the landing surface)
Regarding claim 44 Espedal disclose the modulation of the characteristic of the emitted light comprises modulation of at least one of: an intensity, a frequency, an amplitude, a wavelength, a phase, a bandwidth, or a duty cycle of the emitted light (Delgado in Fig. 6 and 5A-5B paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, CDMA codes, a data stream, an encrypted data stream, an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform or a spread spectrum signal. paragraph 0035 the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation, decryption, CDMA decoding, polarization multiplexing, wavelength division multiplexing and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. This obviously corresponds to the modulation of the characteristic of the emitted light comprises modulation of at least one of: an intensity, a frequency, an amplitude, a wavelength, a phase, a bandwidth, or a duty cycle of the emitted light).
Regarding claim 45 Espedal disclose the landing surface is a portable landing surface comprising a deployable landing surface, a re-deployable landing surface, a rollable mat, a fabric, a tarp, a netting, or a mesh (Espedal in paragraph 0005 disclose solutions tied to landing of a helicopter on a permanent landing site are discussed, the solutions may also be employed for a temporary landing site, such as a landing site for an ambulance helicopter at a parking lot for an ambulance vehicle, and also for marking of a landing area for a load suspended from a helicopter. This obviously corresponding to deployable land surface).
Furthermore in the prior art Fleishman disclose deployable/folding landing platform aerial vehicle in paragraph 0027 and 0058. Therefore it obvious in the system of Espedal landing surface is a portable landing surface comprising a deployable landing surface, a re-deployable landing surface, a rollable mat, a fabric, a tarp, a netting, or a mesh.
Regarding claim 46 Espedal disclose a controller circuit configured to operate the light sources (Espedal disclose 0038 actuator and controller circuit to operate the light sources ).
Regarding claim 47 Espedal disclose each of the light sources is recessed with respect to the landing surface (Espedal Figs. 3a-3b paragraph 0042 disclose light sources on landing surface. It would be obvious in the system of Espedal recessing light sources with respect to landing surface).
Regarding claim 48 Espedal disclose the light sources comprises an optical sensor configured to detect a portion of the light emitted from at least one other light source of the light sources (Espedal in the FIGS. 3a and 3b the lines 21, 22 are formed by several light line segments 23 as a light beam collection 231 comprises several distinct portions 231a each forming a light line segment 23, paragraph 0034 and claim 11 of Espedal states manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site. In the system of Espedal it would be obvious to connect optical sensor with controller in each light sources to detect the status of other light sources ).
Regarding claim 49 Espedal disclose at least one additional landing surface, wherein: the at least one additional landing surface comprises a plurality of additional light sources arranged in a predetermined pattern (Espedal disclose in system of landing site in Figs 1-2 and 4, paragraph 001, 0012-0015, 0045-0047, set up of landing site for aerial vehicle with plurality of light sources (see the analysis of claim 1). It would be obvious to set-up one additional landing surface site with plurality of light sources as the landing site set up shown by Espedal.
Furthermore it would be obvious in combination of Espedal and Delgado characteristic of light emitted from each of additional light sources of additional landing site to be modulated with respect time (Delgado paragraph 0034-0035 (see analysis of claim above) i.e. characteristic of light emitted from each of additional light sources to be modulated with respect time).
Regarding claim 50 Espedal disclose at least one additional landing surface is horizontally displaced from another landing surface ( In the system of Esepdal it would be obvious to set up additional landing site system as discussed in analysis of claim 1 and claim 49 above and it would obvious to set up addition landing site to be horizontally displaced from another landing site).
Regarding 51 at least one additional landing surface is vertically displaced from another landing surface (In the system of Esepdal it would be obvious to set up additional landing site system as discussed in analysis of claim 1 and claim 49 above and it would obvious to set up addition landing site to be vertically displaced from another landing site).
Regarding claim 52 Espedal disclose at least one additional landing surface is horizontally and vertically displaced from another landing surface (In the system of Esepdal it would be obvious to set up additional landing site system as discussed in analysis of claim 1 and claim 49 above and it would obvious to set up addition landing site to be horizontally and vertically displaced from another landing site)
Regarding claim 53 Espedal disclose the landing surface is configured to conform to a contour of a landing site (Espedal in Figs. 3a-3b paragraph 0042 and 0046 disclose landing site based lights and lines segments and . Espedal Figs. 3a-3b, paragraph 011 disclose the invention provides a system of several light projecting devices together drawing lines on a landing site, such as a landing platform, as the lines form a suitable pattern indicating a preferred landing direction and the centre of the landing site. In one embodiment the pattern is cruciform where the longitudinal axis indicates the recommended approach direction, and the lateral axis marking line, perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, lies close to a periphery of a per se known marking circle preferably to windward, i.e. upwind of relative wind direction. The lateral line will thus form a reference line useful for positioning the helicopter in the longitudinal direction during the latter part of the approach to the landing site and paragraph 0015 one or more point light sources are employed, which by rapid flashing and controlled rotation about two axes, such as a horizontal axis and a vertical axis, are arranged to be able to "draw" lines on the landing site. In one version one point light source may draw several lines together forming a pattern, or the system may comprise several point light sources individually "drawing" a whole or a part of a line, as all the point light sources by synchronizeded control provides the desired pattern of light lines and paragraph 0037 disclose As used herein, in addition to having its ordinary meaning, an “optical marker” refers to a visual-based cue that may be used as a point of reference to determine a relative position, location, orientation, and/or measurement. Optical markers may be rectilinear and/or may have other shapes such as circles and/or curves and paragraph 0035 pulsing light to form the luminous pattern (modulation). In the system of Espedal the pattern od line, curves and circle would obviously provide contour or boundary of landing site) .
Regarding claim 54 Espedal disclose the plurality of light sources comprises battery- powered light sources configured to be operated remotely (Espedal paragraphs 0022, 0025-0026, claim 3 and claim 6. Espedal disclose plurality of light sources includes linear, and point light sources. In the system of Espedal it would obvious to power these lights using battery).
Regarding claim 55 Espedal disclose A system (Espedal paragraph 0001, disclose system for landing site and paragraphs 0012-0013), comprising:
a landing surface for an aerial vehicle (Espendal paragraph 0040 FIG. 1 shows in perspective a landing site for a helicopter provided with a light source system according to the invention where a pattern of light lines is projected on the landing site by means of a set of light sources.. This obviously corresponds to a landing surface for an aerial vehicle), the landing surface comprising:
a predetermined pattern of light sources on the landing surface for the aerial vehicle (Espedal, Figs.3a-3b, paragraph 0024 The light lines source may comprise an optical system provided with several light line generating means where each, independent of each other, are arranged to be able to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired, horizontal direction on the landing site to thereby be able to project intersecting light lines and claim 5 Espedal recites the line light source comprises an optical system provided with several light line generating means that each, independently of each other, are arranged to be able to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired, horizontal direction on the landing site to thereby be able to project intersecting light lines and paragraph 0032 Espedal disclose form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction. This obviously corresponds to a predetermined pattern of light sources on the landing surface for the aerial vehicle), wherein:
a characteristic of light emitted from the light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time (Espedal paragraph 0032 disclose form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction. In the system of Espedal obviously corresponds to a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time and paragraph 0034 Espedal disclose to manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site), and
the modulation is configured to encode an identity of the landing surface (Espedal paragraph 0032 disclose form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction and paragraph 0034 Espedal disclose to manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site. All this obviously would corresponds to the modulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode information).
In the same field of endeavor Delgado disclose landing surface of aerial vehicle, plurality of light virtual light lines (Delgado Figs 5A-5B paragraph 0008 states the invention disclosed herein includes a system and a method for precision guidance of multiple autonomous vehicles in a safe and collision-free manner. The invention comprises a plurality of light sources emitting light signals with an angular dependent intensity profile, detecting the emitted light signals with an on-board light detector, processing the light signals and using the processed light signals to find the orientation of the autonomous vehicle relative to the light sources. In fact, in the case of UAVs, the emitted light signals can define light paths in space that serve as virtual runways or airways that can be followed precisely by the autonomous vehicles in maneuvers such as cruising, parking, approaching, takeoff and landing, paragraphs 0030-0031 and .paragraph 0029 Delgado disclose FIG. 4 shows an embodiment wherein multiple pairs of light sources 401 (light sources not shown, only their radiation pattern) are used to guide multiple autonomous vehicles simultaneously. The light signals emitted from each pair of light sources provide guide paths 403 that can be used to guide the vehicles in straight line from their current position towards a ground station, for example. In some embodiments, a transition from satellite-based navigation to light-based guidance allows collision-free precision guidance of multiple vehicles from a region 2 with a sparse vehicle density 404 to a region 1 with a high vehicle density 402 as they approach a ground station),
a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time and the modulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode information (Delgado in Fig. 6 and 5A-5B paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, CDMA codes, a data stream, an encrypted data stream, an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform or a spread spectrum signal. paragraph 0035 the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation, decryption, CDMA decoding, polarization multiplexing, wavelength division multiplexing and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. . In the system of Delgado amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform corresponds to a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time and the modulation/demodulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode/decode information and it would be obvious to encode/decode of the identification of landing surface using modulation/demodulation of amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform because it is well known in the art that Amplitude Modulation is a fundamental encoding technique where information (like data) is embedded by varying the amplitude (strength/height) of a carrier wave, allowing signals to be transmitted. Therefore it would be obvious in combination Espedal and Delgado to encode/decode the identification of landing site or any other information).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modulate characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources modulated with respect to time and the modulation of the characteristic of light is to encode identity of landing site as shown in combination of Espedal and Delgado because such a system provides landing site for ariel vehicle in GPS denied environment (Degado paragraph 0009) .
Regarding claim 56 the light sources comprise a plurality of linear light sources and a plurality of point light sources arranged in the predetermined pattern on the landing surface for the aerial vehicle, and a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of linear light sources and the plurality of point light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time (Espedal paragraphs 0022, 0025-0026, claim 3 and claim 6. Espedal discloses plurality of light sources includes linear, and point light sources, Espedal para 0046, In the FIGS. 3a and 3b the lines 21, 22 are formed by several light line segments 23 as a light beam collection 231 comprises several distinct portions 231a each forming a light line segment 23, paras 0034-0036 to manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site and o form the luminous pattern of several light points by pulsing a point light source [MODULATION] coordinated with a projection of a light point in an alternating position. This obviously corresponds to the light sources comprise a plurality of linear light sources and a plurality of point light sources arranged in the predetermined pattern on the landing surface for the aerial vehicle, and a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of linear light sources and the plurality of point light sources is configured to be modulated with respect to time).
Regarding claim 57 Espedal disclose the predetermined pattern includes a rectangle (Espedal disclose the system comprises a set of light sources where a selection of light sources or all in unison form the desired pattern of lighted lines on the landing site and paragraph 0015 disclose one or more point light sources are employed, which by rapid flashing and controlled rotation about two axes, such as a horizontal axis and a vertical axis, are arranged to be able to "draw" lines on the landing site. In one version one point light source may draw several lines together forming a pattern, or the system may comprise several point light sources individually "drawing" a whole or a part of a line, as all the point light sources by synchronised control provides the desired pattern of light lines. It would be obvious in the system of Espedal the predetermined pattern includes a rectangle).
Regarding claim 58 Espedal disclose the predetermined pattern comprises one or more line segments, and each line segment is configured to represent a single bit of information based on an activation state of the light source in the line segment (Espedal para 0046, In the FIGS. 3a and 3b the lines 21, 22 are formed by several light line segments 23 as a light beam collection 231 comprises several distinct portions 231a each forming a light line segment 23, paras 0034-0036 to manipulate by means of an actuator system connected to a light source control unit an optical system connected to the line light source to thereby direct a portion of a light beam collection toward any area of the landing site and to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired horizontal direction on the landing site and o form the luminous pattern of several light points by pulsing a point light source [MODULATION] coordinated with a projection of a light point in an alternating position. In the control system of Espedal control system can program to represent light source pulsing light status using single-bit).
Claims 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Espedal (US 20120293987)
Regarding claim Espedal disclose a system (Espedal paragraph 0001, disclose system for landing site and paragraphs 0012-0013), comprising:
a plurality of light sources arranged in a predetermined pattern, the arrangement of the light sources defining a set of intersecting virtual lines ( Espendal Fig. 4 and paragraph 0047, paragraph 0040 FIG. 1 shows in perspective a landing site for a helicopter provided with a light source system according to the invention where a pattern of light lines is projected on the landing site by means of a set of light sources. This obviously corresponds to a landing surface for an aerial vehicle and Espedal, Figs.3a-3b, paragraph 0024 The light lines source may comprise an optical system provided with several light line generating means where each, independent of each other, are arranged to be able to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired, horizontal direction on the landing site to thereby be able to project intersecting light lines and claim 5 Espedal recites the line light source comprises an optical system provided with several light line generating means that each, independently of each other, are arranged to be able to orientate a projected light line segment in a desired, horizontal direction on the landing site to thereby be able to project intersecting light lines and paragraph 0032 Espedal disclose form the luminous pattern of several light line segments by pulsing a light line source coordinated with a projection of a light line segment in alternating position and direction. This corresponds to a plurality of light sources arranged at a landing surface for an aerial vehicle, the arrangement of the light sources defining a set of intersecting virtual lines, the light sources arranged on each virtual line ),
wherein a distance between adjacent light sources arranged on each virtual line is non- uniform (Espedal Fig. 4, paragraph 0012 disclose “The system comprises a set of light sources where a selection of light sources or all in unison form the desired pattern of lighted lines on the landing site” , paragraph 0015, lines 6-10, Espedal disclose “the system may comprise several point light sources individually "drawing" a whole or a part of a line, as all the point light sources by synchronized control provides the desired pattern of light lines”. As shown in Fig. 4 set of point lights drawing a partial lines on the landing site and it would be obvious in the system of Espedal to set adjacent light distances to be non-uniform based on the desired pattern. Espedal paragraph 0047 disclose “In FIG. 4 the line 22 is formed by several points of light 24, indicated here by the points of light 24 being marked off in turn in the direction R at so high frequency and so small intervals that the human eye perceives the collection of marked off light points as a continuous line 22. In FIG. 4 varying density in the hachure indicates the gradual weakening of the light intensity in the light points 24. Also broken line patterns (not shown) may be formed in this manner”. As stated above and disclose by Espedal for the “desired pattern” and “varying density of lights” it would obvious in the system of Espedal to set the distance between adjacent lights varying and non-uniform).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use plurality of light sources arranged at a landing surface for an aerial vehicle, the arrangement of the light sources defining a set of intersecting virtual lines, the light sources arranged on each virtual line and to set distance between adjacent light sources arranged on each virtual line is non- uniform as shown by Easpedal because such a system provide landing system in an area without GPS and satellite access.
Regarding claim 60 Espedal equal number of light sources are arranged on each virtual line.(Espedal paragraph 0042 disclose FIGS. 3a and 3b shows in perspective a landing site for a helicopter provided with a light source system according to the invention where a pattern of light lines is projected on the landing site by means of a set of light sources comprising one line light source; as FIG. 3a indicates the projection of a first line, and FIG. 3b indicates the projection of a second line. In the system of Espedal it would be obvious to arrange equal number of light sources on each line).
Remarks
The Applicant’s made the following arguments filed on 11/25/2025 with respect to art rejection.
Regarding claims 31 and 59, the Applicant argued that Espedal's embodiments disclose a single light source and therefore cannot disclose "a distance between adjacent light sources on each virtual line is non-uniform", as recited in claim 31, since it does not even disclose "adjacent light sources on virtual line." again, there is no suggestion in Espedal for modifying its Embodiment and for this reason Espedal fourth embodiment cannot disclose or suggest claims 31 and 59.
The Examiner disagree with Applicant’s interpretation of Espedal reference. It is clear that the reference to Espedal is not disclosing one or single light source but disclose plurality of light sources. Espedal Fig. 4, paragraph 0012 discloses “The system comprises a set of light sources where a selection of light sources or all in unison form the desired pattern of lighted lines on the landing site” , paragraph 0015, lines 6-10, Espedal discloses “the system may comprise several point light sources individually "drawing" a whole or a part of a line, as all the point light sources by synchronized control provides the desired pattern of light lines”. As shown in Fig. 4 set of point lights drawing a partial lines on the landing site and it would be obvious in the system of Espedal to set adjacent light distances to be non-uniform based on the desired pattern. Espedal paragraph 0047 disclose “In FIG. 4 the line 22 is formed by several points of lights 24, indicated here by the points of light 24 being marked off in turn in the direction R at so high frequency and so small intervals that the human eye perceives the collection of marked off light points as a continuous line 22. In FIG. 4 varying density in the hachure indicates the gradual weakening of the light intensity in the light points 24. Also broken line patterns (not shown) may be formed in this manner”. As stated above and disclose by Espedal for the “desired pattern” and “varying density of lights” it would obvious in the system of Espedal to set the distance between adjacent lights varying and non-uniform for the desired design all stated above. It is clear that the reference to Espedal is not one or single light source.
Regarding claim 33 Espedal only discloses line light sources and point light sources. Espedal fails to disclose or suggest claim 33.
Espedal paragraphs 0022, 0025-0026, claim 3 and claim 6 discloses plurality of light sources includes linear, and point light sources. The system of Espedal discloses plurality of line light sources and point light sources. It would be obvious in the system of Espedal and for the person of ordinary skill in the art to try and use combination of line light sources and point light sources.
Regarding claims 49-52 which includes “at least one additional landing surface” the Examiner alleges it would be obvious to obvious to deploy additional landing surface site beside the landing site.
Espedal discloses system of landing site in Figs 1-2 and 4, paragraph 001, 0012-0015, 0045-0047, set up of landing site for aerial vehicle with plurality of light sources (see the analysis of claim 1). It would be obvious to set-up one additional landing surface site with plurality of light sources as the landing site set up shown by Espedal. Furthermore as stated above in the analysis of the independent claims 31 and 55 it would be obvious in combination of Espedal and Delgado modulating characteristic of light emitted from each of additional light sources of additional landing site to be modulated with respect time (Delgado paragraph 0034-0035 (see analysis of claims 31 and 55 above) i.e. characteristic of light emitted from each of additional light sources to be modulated with respect time).
Furthermore the Applicant ha not stated or provided the evidence that why it would not be obvious to set-up one additional landing surface. The Examiner point of view it would be obvious to set-up one additional landing surface in combination of teaching of Espedal and Delgado as stated above under 35 USC 103 the rejection of independent claims 31 and 55.
Regarding claim 55 the Examiner has ignored the modulation is configured to encode an identity of the surface.
The Examiner disagree with Applicant’s interpretation of references to Espedal and Delgado. Claim 55 recites the “modulation is configured to encode an identity of landing surface”. As stated above and discussed in the rejection of claim 55 under 35 USC 103 that Delgado in Fig. 6 and 5A-5B paragraph 0034 states in an exemplary embodiment, the light signals are any of the following: amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier signals, or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform and paragraph 0035 discloses the light signals are detected via one or a combination of the following: demodulation and paragraph 0036 Delgado states the orientation of the autonomous vehicles is determined by the on-board processing logic with an a-priori knowledge of the relative orientation between the light sources in the ground station and the unique light signal each light source emits. By comparing the relative strength between the detected signals, a control signal is generated to guide with precision the autonomous vehicles towards the ground station. . In the system of Delgado amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform corresponds to a characteristic of light emitted from the plurality of light sources is configured to modulated with respect to time and the modulation/demodulation of the characteristic of light is configured to encode/decode information and it would be obvious to encode/decode of the identification of landing surface using modulation/demodulation of amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform because it is well known in the art that Amplitude Modulation is a fundamental encoding technique where information like data is embedded by varying the amplitude (strength/height) of a carrier wave, allowing signals to be transmitted. Therefore it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to encode/decode the identification of landing site or any other information. The Applicant has not provided and evidence or suggestion why it would not be obvious to encode the identification of landing site. However the Examiner position is that it would be obvious to identification of the landing site based on the amplitude modulated sinusoidal carrier or an amplitude modulated signal of any other periodic waveform of the light sources disclosed by Espedal and Delgado.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
ISHRAT I. SHERALI
Examiner
Art Unit 2667
/ISHRAT I SHERALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667