DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/24, 12/17/24, 3/18/25 and 5/19/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. 101 requires that a claimed invention must fall within one of the four eligible categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and must not be directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception as interpreted by the courts. The four eligible categories of invention include: (1) process which is an act, or a series of acts or steps, (2) machine which is an concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices, (3) manufacture which is an article produced from raw or prepared materials by giving to these materials new forms, qualities, properties, or combinations, whether by hand labor or by machinery, and (4) composition of matter which is all compositions of two or more substances and all composite articles, whether they be the results of chemical union, or of mechanical mixture, or whether they be gases, fluids, powders or solids.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as not falling within one of the four statutory categories of invention because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claims in light of the specification encompasses transitory signals. But, transitory signals are not within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. non-statutory subject matter). However, claims directed toward a non-transitory computer readable storage medium may qualify as a manufacture and make the claim patent-eligible subject matter. Therefore, amending the claims to recite a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” would resolve this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2016/0040981) in view of Everhart (US 2018/0075301).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a method (paragraph [14], Kang discloses a method of measuring an object), comprising:
at an electronic device with a touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone), wherein smart phone has touch screen) and one or more cameras (paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b):
displaying, on the touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user), a first user interface of an application (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user, paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user for interfacing with the mobile terminal, and paragraph [55], Kang discloses that application programs, of the mobile terminal, are stored in memory to be executed by the controller 180 to perform a function for the mobile terminal, and paragraph [80], Kang discloses controller 180 executes the controls of the application program based on input from touch screen of mobile terminal 100), wherein:
the first user interface (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user) includes a representation of a field of view of at least one of the one or more cameras (paragraph [192], fig.18, Kang discloses measuring the real size of subject or object, and also, paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses the user for continuously capturing the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, wherein paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject, and paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user for interfacing with the mobile terminal);
the representation of the field of view is updated over time based on changes to current visual data (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses permitting the user to continuously capture the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, and paragraph [200], Kang discloses the user can select to activate “continuous capture” function on the view screen for continuously capturing the subject/object after a lapse of predetermined time for providing a field of view of the captured subject/object that is continuously updated over time during the “continuous capture” of the subject/object based on visual data obtained by camera(s) of mobile terminal) detected by at least one of the one or more cameras (paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject);
the field of view includes a physical object (paragraph [147], Kang discloses the subject/object can be a person or a physical object, and paragraph [197], Kang discloses that a specific product (object) or subject can be measured to judge a size of the product (object) or subject at hand, and paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses the user can activate the function to continuously capture the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, and paragraph [200], Kang discloses the user can select to activate “continuous capture” function on the view screen for continuously capturing the subject/object after a lapse of predetermined time for providing a field of view of the captured subject/object that is continuously updated over time during the “continuous capture” of the subject/object based on visual data obtained by camera(s) of mobile terminal) in a three-dimensional space (paragraph [113], Kang discloses the image can be displayed on a 3-dimensional (3D) display for displaying subject/objects captured by camera(s), wherein paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject); and
a representation of a measurement of the physical object is superimposed on an image of the physical object in the representation of the field of view (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object);
while displaying the first user interface (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user, paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user), detecting a first touch input in the first user interface displayed on the touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user, and paragraph [205], Kang discloses that a user can touch the touch-sensitive display of the mobile terminal on the representation of the measurement with the user’s fingers, wherein the user’s fingers can move along the guidelines 71 or 73, and paragraph [198], Kang discloses the guide lines 71 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object, and paragraph [199], Kang discloses guide lines 73 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object).
Kang does not disclose in response to detecting the first touch input in the first user interface displayed on the touch-sensitive display, initiating a process for sharing information about the measurement. However, Everhart teaches in response to detecting the first touch input in the first user interface displayed on the touch-sensitive display (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a), initiating a process for sharing information about the measurement (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Everhart together as a whole for accurately capture measurement data and delivering to another device or location in order to safely store the measurement data in multiple places so as to ensure the measurement data can be recalled for easily access the information as needed.
Regarding claim 2, Kang does not disclose wherein initiating the process for sharing information about the measurement includes copying the information about the measurement, and the method includes: after copying the information about the measurement, detecting one or more user inputs to paste the information about the measurement to a destination on the electronic device; and in response to detecting the one or more user inputs to paste the information about the measurement to the destination on the electronic device, displaying the information about the measurement at the destination on the electronic device.
However, Everhart teaches wherein initiating the process for sharing information about the measurement includes copying the information about the measurement (paragraph [36], Everhart discloses that a copy of the measurement information is delivered and sent to the database for storage), and the method includes: after copying the information about the measurement (paragraph [36], Everhart discloses that a copy of the measurement information is delivered and sent to the database for storage), detecting one or more user inputs to paste the information about the measurement to a destination on the electronic device (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement by copying and pasting the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a); and in response to detecting the one or more user inputs to paste the information about the measurement to the destination on the electronic device (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement by copying and pasting the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a), displaying the information about the measurement at the destination on the electronic device (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement by copying and pasting the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Everhart together as a whole for accurately capture measurement data and delivering to another device or location in order to safely store the measurement data in multiple places so as to ensure the measurement data can be recalled for easily access the information as needed.
Regarding claim 3, Kang does not disclose wherein: initiating the process for sharing the information about the measurement includes displaying a second user interface that includes one or more activatable user interface elements, wherein a respective activatable user interface element in the one or more activatable user interface elements corresponds to a respective destination for the information about the measurement; and the method includes: detecting a second touch input on the touch-sensitive display on a respective activatable user interface element in the second user interface; and in response to detecting the second touch input, transmitting the information about the measurement to the respective destination corresponding to the respective activatable user interface element.
However, Everhart teaches wherein: initiating the process for sharing the information about the measurement includes displaying a second user interface that includes one or more activatable user interface elements (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a), wherein a respective activatable user interface element in the one or more activatable user interface elements corresponds to a respective destination for the information about the measurement (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a); and the method includes: detecting a second touch input on the touch-sensitive display on a respective activatable user interface element in the second user interface (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, and that the second smartphone 1a can be activated to receive a second touch input); and in response to detecting the second touch input (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, and that the second smartphone 1a can be activated to receive a second touch input), transmitting the information about the measurement to the respective destination corresponding to the respective activatable user interface element (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Everhart together as a whole for accurately capture measurement data and delivering to another device or location in order to safely store the measurement data in multiple places so as to ensure the measurement data can be recalled for easily access the information as needed.
Regarding claim 6, Kang discloses including: in response to detecting the first touch input in the first user interface displayed on the touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user, paragraph [192], fig.18, Kang discloses measuring the real size of subject or object, and also, paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses the user for continuously capturing the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, wherein paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject, and paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user for interfacing with the mobile terminal), displaying the information about the measurement (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user, and paragraph [205], Kang discloses that a user can touch the touch-sensitive display of the mobile terminal on the representation of the measurement with the user’s fingers, wherein the user’s fingers can move along the guidelines 71 or 73, and paragraph [198], Kang discloses the guide lines 71 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object, and paragraph [199], Kang discloses guide lines 73 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object).
Regarding claim 8, Kang discloses wherein the displayed information about the measurement is displayed over a portion of the first user interface (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object, and the measurement values are displayed over the user interface for emphasizing the measurement of the subject/object, also, paragraph [204], Kang discloses the measurements are illustrated and displayed over the portion over the user interface, wherein paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user).
Regarding claim 12, Kang discloses an electronic device (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone), wherein the mobile terminal is an electronic device), comprising:
a touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone), wherein smart phone has touch screen);
one or more cameras (paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b);
one or more processors (paragraph [55], Kang discloses application programs are stored in memory 170 to be executed by processor or controller 180); and
memory storing one or more programs (paragraph [216], Kang discloses computer readable storage medium for storing application programs, and paragraph [55], Kang discloses application programs are stored in memory 170 to be executed by processor or controller 180), wherein the one or more programs are configured to be executed by the one or more processors (paragraph [216], Kang discloses computer readable storage medium for storing application programs, and paragraph [55], Kang discloses application programs are stored in memory 170 to be executed by processor or controller 180), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, on the touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user), a first user interface of an application (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user, paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user for interfacing with the mobile terminal, and paragraph [55], Kang discloses that application programs, of the mobile terminal, are stored in memory to be executed by the controller 180 to perform a function for the mobile terminal, and paragraph [80], Kang discloses controller 180 executes the controls of the application program based on input from touch screen of mobile terminal 100), wherein:
the first user interface (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user) includes a representation of a field of view of at least one of the one or more cameras (paragraph [192], fig.18, Kang discloses measuring the real size of subject or object, and also, paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses the user for continuously capturing the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, wherein paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject, and paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user for interfacing with the mobile terminal);
the representation of the field of view is updated over time based on changes to current visual data (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses permitting the user to continuously capture the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, and paragraph [200], Kang discloses the user can select to activate “continuous capture” function on the view screen for continuously capturing the subject/object after a lapse of predetermined time for providing a field of view of the captured subject/object that is continuously updated over time during the “continuous capture” of the subject/object based on visual data obtained by camera(s) of mobile terminal) detected by at least one of the one or more cameras (paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject);
the field of view includes a physical object (paragraph [147], Kang discloses the subject/object can be a person or a physical object, and paragraph [197], Kang discloses that a specific product (object) or subject can be measured to judge a size of the product (object) or subject at hand, and paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses the user can activate the function to continuously capture the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, and paragraph [200], Kang discloses the user can select to activate “continuous capture” function on the view screen for continuously capturing the subject/object after a lapse of predetermined time for providing a field of view of the captured subject/object that is continuously updated over time during the “continuous capture” of the subject/object based on visual data obtained by camera(s) of mobile terminal) in a three-dimensional space (paragraph [113], Kang discloses the image can be displayed on a 3-dimensional (3D) display for displaying subject/objects captured by camera(s), wherein paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject); and
a representation of a measurement of the physical object is superimposed on an image of the physical object in the representation of the field of view (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object);
while displaying the first user interface (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user, paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user), detecting a first touch input on the touch-sensitive display on the representation of the measurement (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user, and paragraph [205], Kang discloses that a user can touch the touch-sensitive display of the mobile terminal on the representation of the measurement with the user’s fingers, wherein the user’s fingers can move along the guidelines 71 or 73, and paragraph [198], Kang discloses the guide lines 71 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object, and paragraph [199], Kang discloses guide lines 73 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object).
Kang does not disclose in response to detecting the first touch input on the touch-sensitive display on the representation of the measurement, initiating a process for sharing information about the measurement. However, Everhart teaches in response to detecting the first touch input on the touch-sensitive display on the representation of the measurement (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a), initiating a process for sharing information about the measurement (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Everhart together as a whole for accurately capture measurement data and delivering to another device or location in order to safely store the measurement data in multiple places so as to ensure the measurement data can be recalled for easily access the information as needed.
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses a computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs (paragraph [216], Kang discloses computer readable storage medium for storing application programs, and paragraph [55], Kang discloses application programs are stored in memory 170 to be executed by processor or controller 180), the one or more programs comprising instructions (paragraph [55], Kang discloses application programs are stored in memory 170 to be executed by processor or controller 180) which, when executed by an electronic device that includes a touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone), wherein smart phone has touch screen) and one or more cameras (paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b), cause the electronic device to:
display, on the touch-sensitive display (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user), a first user interface of an application (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user, paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user for interfacing with the mobile terminal, and paragraph [55], Kang discloses that application programs, of the mobile terminal, are stored in memory to be executed by the controller 180 to perform a function for the mobile terminal, and paragraph [80], Kang discloses controller 180 executes the controls of the application program based on input from touch screen of mobile terminal 100), wherein:
the first user interface (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user) includes a representation of a field of view of at least one of the one or more cameras (paragraph [192], fig.18, Kang discloses measuring the real size of subject or object, and also, paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses the user for continuously capturing the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, wherein paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject, and paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user for interfacing with the mobile terminal);
the representation of the field of view is updated over time based on changes to current visual data (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses permitting the user to continuously capture the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, and paragraph [200], Kang discloses the user can select to activate “continuous capture” function on the view screen for continuously capturing the subject/object after a lapse of predetermined time for providing a field of view of the captured subject/object that is continuously updated over time during the “continuous capture” of the subject/object based on visual data obtained by camera(s) of mobile terminal) detected by at least one of the one or more cameras (paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject);
the field of view includes a physical object (paragraph [147], Kang discloses the subject/object can be a person or a physical object, and paragraph [197], Kang discloses that a specific product (object) or subject can be measured to judge a size of the product (object) or subject at hand, and paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses the user can activate the function to continuously capture the subject/object utilizing a ruler function for providing a representation of a field of view of the subject/object, and paragraph [200], Kang discloses the user can select to activate “continuous capture” function on the view screen for continuously capturing the subject/object after a lapse of predetermined time for providing a field of view of the captured subject/object that is continuously updated over time during the “continuous capture” of the subject/object based on visual data obtained by camera(s) of mobile terminal) in a three-dimensional space (paragraph [113], Kang discloses the image can be displayed on a 3-dimensional (3D) display for displaying subject/objects captured by camera(s), wherein paragraph [109], Kang discloses mobile terminal has first and second cameras 121a and 121b for capturing the field of view of the object or subject); and
a representation of a measurement of the physical object is superimposed on an image of the physical object in the representation of the field of view (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object);
while displaying the first user interface (paragraph [53], Kang discloses the touch screen provides an output interface between the mobile terminal and a user, and as well as function as the user input unit 123 for providing an input interface between the mobile terminal 100 and the user, paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user), detect a first touch input on the touch-sensitive display on the representation of the measurement (paragraph [73], Kang discloses touch-sensitive input for use with a mobile terminal (ie. smart phone) with touch screen, wherein paragraph [78], Kang discloses smart phone has touch sensor on touch screen for sensing touch input from a user, and paragraph [205], Kang discloses that a user can touch the touch-sensitive display of the mobile terminal on the representation of the measurement with the user’s fingers, wherein the user’s fingers can move along the guidelines 71 or 73, and paragraph [198], Kang discloses the guide lines 71 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object, and paragraph [199], Kang discloses guide lines 73 are used for activating a ruler to measure the subject/object).
Kang does not disclose in response to detecting the first touch input on the touch-sensitive display on the representation of the measurement, initiate a process for sharing information about the measurement. However, Everhart teaches in response to detecting the first touch input on the touch-sensitive display on the representation of the measurement (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a), initiate a process for sharing information about the measurement (paragraph [35], fig.1, Everhart discloses that at smartphone 1, the user utilizes the camera for capturing the image of the object (ie tree), and the GUI (graphical user interface) screen one 1 is shown, wherein the user can press the app button 4 on the touchscreen of smartphone 1 to initiate the process to take the measurement, and then by wireless transmission between smartphones 1 and 1a, at smartphone 1a, the GUI screen two shows the measurement 7 to be 25.6 feet, thus, Everhart discloses sharing information about the measurement from smartphone 1 to smartphone 1a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Everhart together as a whole for accurately capture measurement data and delivering to another device or location in order to safely store the measurement data in multiple places so as to ensure the measurement data can be recalled for easily access the information as needed.
Claims 4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2016/0040981) and Everhart (US 2018/0075301) in view of Kim (US 2014/0362111).
Regarding claim 4, Kang discloses the information about the measurement of the physical object (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object).
Kang and Everhart do not disclose determining a classification of the physical object; wherein the information about the measurement includes a label indicating the classification of the physical object.
However, Kim teaches determining a classification of the physical object (paragraph [64], Kim discloses that each object displayed has a classification labeled for detailing what the object is classified is about); wherein the information includes a label indicating the classification of the physical object (paragraph [64], Kim discloses that each object displayed has a classification labeled for detailing what the object is classified is about, and paragraph [111], fig.5-6, Kim discloses bubble windows 300 are labels for labeling the classification of the objects within fig.5-6).
Since Kang discloses information about the measurement of the physical object, and Kim discloses “wherein the information includes a label indicating the classification of the physical object”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, Everhart and Kim together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…wherein the information about the measurement includes a label indicating the classification of the physical object” for providing detailed explanation of objects within a scene so as to clearly notify the viewers of vital information about the scene in the case of recording or reporting incidents or providing presentations for a meeting.
Regarding claim 9, Kang discloses wherein the information about the measurement corresponds to a physical feature (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object), and the displayed information is about the measurement corresponds to the physical feature (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object).
Kang and Everhart do not disclose the displayed information about the measurement includes a text label associated with the physical feature. However, Kim teaches the displayed information includes a text label associated with the physical feature (paragraph [64], Kim discloses that each physical object displayed has a classification labeled for detailing what the physical object is classified is about, and paragraph [111], fig.5-6, Kim discloses bubble windows 300 are labels for labeling the classification of the physical objects within fig.5-6).
Since Kang discloses “the displayed information is about the measurement corresponds to the physical feature”, and Kim discloses “the displayed information includes a text label associated with the physical feature”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, Everhart and Kim together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…the displayed information about the measurement includes a text label associated with the physical feature” for providing detailed explanation of objects within a scene so as to clearly notify the viewers of vital information about the scene in the case of recording or reporting incidents or providing presentations for a meeting.
Regarding claim 10, Kang discloses wherein the physical feature is a physical object (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the physical subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein each screen shown in fig.21 illustrates the measurement of the object, which in this case, the physical subject/object appears to be a plant).
Kang and Everhart do not disclose the text label associated with the physical feature classifies the physical object as a respective type of object. However, Kim teaches the text label associated with the physical feature classifies the physical object as a respective type of object (paragraph [91], Kim discloses that the label of the physical object can be an object type, wherein paragraph [64], Kim discloses that each object displayed has a classification labeled for detailing what the object is classified is about, and paragraph [111], fig.5-6, Kim discloses bubble windows 300 are labels for labeling the classification of the objects within fig.5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, Everhart and Kim together as a whole for providing detailed explanation of objects within a scene so as to clearly notify the viewers of vital information about the scene in the case of recording or reporting incidents or providing presentations for a meeting.
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses wherein the information about the measurement corresponds to a measurement of the physical feature (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object), and the displayed information about the measurement includes a numeric value of the measurement (paragraph [199], fig.21, Kang discloses that a representation of a measurement with numerical values of the subject/object is displayed and superimposed on the screen, wherein on the top of fig.21, note that “22mm” is superimposed on the “VIEW SCREEN FOR CAPTURED IMAGE” and “PREVIEW SCREEN”, and also note that on the bottom of fig.21, there are two screens that illustrate specific measurement values “42 mm”, “30 mm” and “22mm” for the subject/object that is being measured in the lower left side of fig.21, and “30 mm” and “22 mm” is shown in the lower right side of fig.21 for providing a representations of measurement of a physical subject/object on an image being displayed on the screen of the mobile terminal for capturing the subject/object, thus Kang discloses numerical values are displayed for the physical subject/object).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488