CTNF 18/976,215 CTNF 89139 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 10 December 2024 for application number 18/976,215. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 7/18/25. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2023/0419557) . Regarding claim 1 , Yoon discloses an apparatus comprising: a communication interface configured to receive a compressed bitstream comprising a coded volumetric frame and first image information for a first two-dimensional image corresponding to the coded volumetric frame (figs. 4, 16; pars. 52, 119); and a processor operably coupled to the communication interface (figs. 4, 16); the processor configured to: decode the first image information to generate a first two-dimensional image; and present the first two-dimensional image (figs. 16, 17). Regarding claim 2 , see teachings of claim 1. Yoon further discloses wherein the first image information is followed by the coded volumetric frame in the compressed bitstream (par. 418). Regarding claim 3 , see teachings of claim 1. Yoon further discloses wherein the first image information is provided by a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message in the compressed bitstream (pars. 50-52). Regarding claim 4 , see teachings of claim 1. Yoon further discloses wherein the first image information includes a flag indicating whether the first image information comprises camera information about a camera used to generate the first two-dimensional image (par. 465). Regarding claim 5 , see teachings of claims 1, 4. Yoon further discloses wherein, when the flag indicates that the first image information comprises the camera information, the first image information further comprises the camera information containing for a three-dimensional position and a directional vector of a camera used to generate the first two-dimensional image (pars. 392, 465). Regarding claim 6 , see teachings of claim 1. Yoon further discloses wherein the compressed bitstream comprises a second image information for a second two-dimensional image, the processor is further configured to decode the second image information to generate the second two-dimensional image, and the processor is further configured to present the second two-dimensional image (figs. 4, 16, #4002, #4003). Regarding claim 7 , see teachings of claims 1, 6. Yoon further discloses wherein the second image information comprises camera information for the second two-dimensional image, wherein the camera information for the second two-dimensional image comprises a three-dimensional position and a directional vector of a camera used to generate the second two-dimensional image, wherein the three-dimensional position and the directional vector of the camera used to generate the first two-dimensional image is different from the three-dimensional position and the directional vector of the camera used to generate the second two-dimensional image (figs. 4, 16; pars. 392, 465). Regarding claim 8 , Yoon discloses an apparatus comprising: a communication interface configured to receive a file comprising a first track and a second track, wherein the first track includes one or more coded two-dimensional images corresponding to a coded volumetric frame and the second track includes atlas bitstream (figs. 4, 16; pars. 118, 119); and a processor operably coupled to the communication interface (figs. 4, 16); the processor configured to: decode the one or more coded two-dimensional images to generate one or more two-dimensional images; and present the one or more two-dimensional images (figs. 4, 16). Regarding claim 9 , see teachings of claim 8. Yoon further discloses wherein the second track references a volumetric track including volumetric data (par. 119). Regarding claim 10 , see teachings of claim 8. Yoon further discloses wherein the second track further comprises one or more identifiers which designate tracks containing two-dimensional images which the second track references (pars. 102). Regarding claim 11 , see teachings of claims 8, 10. Yoon further discloses wherein the one or more coded two-dimensional images are sync samples (par. 267, intra-predicted). Regarding claim 12 , see teachings of claim 8. Yoon further discloses wherein the file further comprises a third track including camera information about a camera used to generate the one or more two-dimensional images. Regarding claim 13 , see teachings of claims 8, 12. Yoon further discloses wherein the third track includes a viewport sample and the viewport sample whose composition time is same with a snapshot image provides information about a camera used to render the snapshot image (pars. 392, 465). Regarding claim 14 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Regarding claim 15 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2. Regarding claim 16 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3. Regarding claim 17 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4. Regarding claim 18 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5. Regarding claim 19 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6. Regarding claim 20 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7. Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NGUYEN T TRUONG whose telephone number is (571)272-5262. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon - Fri, 6AM - 2PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JAMIE ATALA can be reached on 571-272-7384. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486 Application/Control Number: 18/976,215 Page 2 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 18/976,215 Page 3 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 18/976,215 Page 4 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 18/976,215 Page 5 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 18/976,215 Page 6 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 18/976,215 Page 7 Art Unit: 2486