Detailed Action
This communication is in response to the Application filed on 12/10/2024.
Claims 1-13 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
Apparent priority: 6/6/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/6/2025 1/17/2025 2/12/2025 2/25/2025 2/25/2025 3/18/2025 4/8/2025 4/28/2025 5/13/2025 6/2/2025 6/25/2025 7/25/2025 8/14/2025 8/27/2025 9/22/2025 10/27/2025 11/25/2025 12/16/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6,12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-42 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,802,843 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the issued patent anticipate the claims of the instant application. Please see below for the mapping in the table, where the bold limitations indicate the corresponding limitations between the issued patent and instant application. With respect to the dependent claims, each of the claims map to a corresponding dependent claim of the issued patent or are found within the scope of the independent claim.
With respect to each of the dependent claims and independent claims, each claim corresponds numerically. Please see mapping that follows: Instant application claim (I), Issued Patent (P) - Claim 1 (I):Claim 1 (P), Claim 2 (I):Claim 3 (P), Claim 3 (I):Claim 4 (P), Claim 4 (I):Claim 6 (P), Claim 5 (I):Claim 6 (P), Claim 6 (I):Claim 7 (P),
Instant Application: 18976231
Issued Patent: US 10,802,843 B1
Claim 1
1. A computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
performing a configuration process for the computer system, wherein the configuration process includes:
in accordance with a determination that a set of personalized voice recognition criteria is not met for an active user profile of the computer system,
causing display, via the display generation component, of a set of one or more user interfaces including an option that, when selected, initiates a process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile;
and in accordance with a determination that the set of personalized voice recognition criteria is met for the active user profile,
proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process.
Claim 1:
1. An electronic device, comprising: a display device; one or more input devices; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
detecting that one or more devices associated with the electronic device support a respective feature; in accordance with a determination that a set of criteria are met,
the set of criteria including a first criterion that is met when the one or more devices support the respective feature, and a second criterion that is met when the electronic device supports a plurality of user accounts,
wherein a first user account of the plurality of user accounts includes a voice profile:
displaying, on the display device, a prompt to configure the respective feature of the one or more devices;
while displaying the prompt to configure the respective feature of the one or more devices, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a set of one or more inputs;
and in response to receiving the set of one or more inputs, performing a configuration operation associated with the respective feature using the voice profile of the first user account,
wherein performing the configuration operation includes initiating a configuration process for configuring the respective feature of the one or more device;
while performing the configuration process: in accordance with a determination that the respective feature is a voice identification feature and the voice profile is not associated with the electronic device,
displaying, on the display device, an interface for performing a voice training operation for the voice identification feature;
and in accordance with a determination that the respective feature is the voice identification feature and the voice profile is associated with the electronic device:
forgoing displaying, on the display device, the interface for performing a voice training operation for the voice identification feature; and configuring the voice identification feature to use the voice profile;
and in accordance with a determination that the one or more devices do not support the respective feature,
forgoing display of, on the display device, the prompt to configure the respective feature of the one or more devices.
CRM claim 12 of the instant application is rejected over CRM claim 23 of the issued patent using the same rationale as that provided in the table above for the system claims.
Method claim 13 of the instant application is rejected over Method claim 12 of the issued patent using the same rationale as that provided in the table above for the system claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Claim 1 recites,
“1. A computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: performing a configuration process for the computer system, wherein the configuration process includes: in accordance with a determination that a set of personalized voice recognition criteria is not met for an active user profile of the computer system, [This relates to a human not recognizing a human voice using the auditory system and memory.] causing display, via the display generation component, of a set of one or more user interfaces including an option that, when selected, initiates a process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile; [This relates to a human recognizing a human voice using the auditory system.] and in accordance with a determination that the set of personalized voice recognition criteria is met for the active user profile, proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process. [This relates to a human recognizing a human voice given criteria using the auditory system.]
Regarding Independent Claim 12, claim 12 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar to that of claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Independent Claim 13, claim 13 is a method claim with limitations similar to that of claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
The Dependent Claim does not include additional limitations that could incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application or cause the Claim as a whole to amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 and 12 recites additional elements of “memory” and “processor” For example, in [0168] there is the description of
[0168] Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques described below, including processes 700 (FIG. 7), 900 (FIG. 9), 1100 (FIG. 11), 1300 (FIG. 13), and 1500 (FIG. 15). A computer-readable storage medium can be any medium that can tangibly contain or store computer-executable instructions for use by or in connection with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device. In some examples, the storage medium is a transitory computer-readable storage medium. In some examples, the storage medium is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium can include, but is not limited to, magnetic, optical, and/or semiconductor storages. Examples of such storage include magnetic disks, optical discs based on CD, DVD, or Blu-ray technologies, as well as persistent solid-state memory such as flash, solid-state drives, and the like. Personal electronic device 500
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor and memory is noted as a general computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the additional limitation in the claims noted above are directed towards insignificant solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites,
“2. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the set of personalized voice recognition criteria includes a criterion that is met when the active user profile of the computer system is associated with a voice profile. [This relates to a human recognizing a human voice given criteria using the auditory system.]No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 3 recites,
“3. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the set of personalized voice recognition criteria includes a criterion that is met when voice recognition is enabled for the active user profile of the computer system. [This relates to a human not recognizing a human voice given criteria using the auditory system.]No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 4 recites,
“4. The computer system of claim 1, wherein: causing display, via the display generation component, of the set of one or more user interfaces including the option includes: causing display of a voice recognition interface including the option; and proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option includes: proceeding with the configuration process without causing display of the voice recognition interface including the option. [This relates to a human displaying an option to configure using pen and paper .] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 5 recites,
“5. The computer system of claim 1, wherein: causing display of, via the display generation component, the set of one or more user interfaces including the option includes: causing display of a first set of user interfaces that does not include the option; and proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option includes: causing display of the first set of user interfaces that does not include the option. [This relates to a human displaying an option to configure using pen and paper .] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 6 recites,
“6. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile includes causing an external device to display a second set of one or more user interfaces. [This relates to a human displaying an option to configure an interface using pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 7 recites,
“7. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile includes causing display of a passcode interface for authenticating a user of the active user profile. [This relates to a human authenticating a user using logic and reasoning.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 8 recites,
“8. The computer system of claim 1, wherein proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process includes, causing display, at an external device, of a second notification indicating that voice recognition has been enabled on the computer system for the active user profile. [This relates to a human displaying an option to configure an interface using pen and paper.] a device is an additional limitation.
Dependent claim 9 recites,
“9. The computer system of claim 1, wherein proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process includes retrieving, from an external device, a voice profile associated with the active user profile[This relates to a human retrieving a profile using pen and paper.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 10 recites,
“10. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile includes providing a voice profile for the active user profile. [This relates to a human speaking.] No additional limitations present.
Dependent claim 11 recites,
“11. The computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: after performing the configuration process, receiving a speech input indicative of a task; in response to receiving the speech input indicative of a task: in accordance with a determination that the speech input corresponds to a first user profile, performing the task based on the first user profile; and in accordance with a determination that the speech input does not correspond to the first user profile, forgoing performing the task based on the first user profile. [this relates to a human receiving speech input using the auditory system and making a determination about the speech using logic an reasoning and performing a task using pen and paper]. No additional limitations present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (U.S. Patent US 2017/0242653).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Lang teaches
1. A computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component, comprising: (see Lang [0107] displaying by the computing device”) one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: performing a configuration process for the computer system, (see Lang [0108] “The computing device includes a processor, and memory having stored thereon instructions executable by the processor to cause the device to perform functions.”) wherein the configuration process includes: in accordance with a determination that a set of personalized voice recognition criteria is not met for an active user profile of the computer system, (see Lang [0516] “Some embodiments include actions based on determining whether a voice command was received from a guest user instead of a registered user of the media playback system. In some embodiments, computing device 506 may have stored a previously created guest profile that may be associated with a particular guest. In some embodiments, computing device 506 may determine that a voice command was not received from a registered user, and may then ask the registered user if the voice command came from a guest. causing display, via the display generation component, of a set of one or more user interfaces including an option that, when selected, initiates a process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile; and (see Lang [0517] In response to determining that the voice command was received from a guest user, computing device 506 may (1) assign a restriction setting for the guest user, (2) configure an instruction for one or more PBDs based on content from the voice command and the assigned restriction setting for the guest user, and (3) send the instruction to one or more PBDs for execution. In some embodiments, assigning a restriction setting for a guest user may include computing device 506 matching the voice command to a particular guest profile stored on the computing device 506. The guest profile may include restriction settings, and information regarding the voice of the particular guest user, such as frequency or tone of the guest's voice, among other information previously described. A restriction setting may be any setting that limits the control of the media playback system.”) in accordance with a determination that the set of personalized voice recognition criteria is met for the active user profile, (see Lang [0507] In some embodiments, determining whether the voice command was received from a registered user may include determining whether the voice command matches the voice inputs stored in the media playback system's voice configuration settings. For example, a user may have previously configured the media playback system to recognize the user's voice by providing a voice input or a series of voice inputs for the media playback system to recognize and associate the user with. Voice configuration settings may be stored on the computing device 506 and/or one or more of PBDs 532, 534, 536, and 538. Alternatively, the computing device 506 may communicate with the networked microphone system to store the voice configuration settings.”) proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process (see Lang [0511] “In some embodiments, based on the command for the media playback system to play media content and information in a user profile for the registered user, the computing device 506 may include instructions to (i) configure the media playback system with one or more of the registered user's preferred playback settings and (ii) cause one or more PBDs of the media playback system to play the media content with the registered user's preferred playback settings. Preferred playback settings may be preferred playback settings stored in a registered user's user profile. Additionally or alternatively, preferred playback settings may be based on user history stored in a registered user's user profile. User history may include commonly used or previously used playback settings by the user to play media content.”) (see Lang[0513] In some embodiments, the content from the voice command may include a command for the media playback system to modify a playback setting. Based on the command for the media playback system to modify a playback setting and information in a user profile for the registered user, computing device 506 may (i) configure an instruction or a set of instructions to cause the media playback system to modify the playback setting for one or more PBDs of the media playback system, and (ii) implement the configured instruction or set of instructions to modify the playback setting via the one or more PBDs.”)
As to Independent claim 12, claim 12 is a CRM claim with limitations similar to that of claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore Lang teaches 12. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component, the one or more programs including instructions for: (see Lang [0108] “In another aspect, a computing device is provided. The computing device includes a processor, and memory having stored thereon instructions executable by the processor to cause the device to perform functions. The functions include determining that a networked microphone device is available for assignment to one or more playback zones within a local playback network, displaying a prompt to indicate at least one playback zone to which the network microphone device is to be assigned, receiving an input indicating a particular playback zone in the local playback network to which the network microphone device is to be assigned, and storing data indicating an assignment of the network microphone device to the particular playback zone.”)
As to Independent claim 13, claim 13 is a method claim with limitations similar to that of claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore Lang teaches 13. A method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component: performing a configuration process for the computer system, wherein the configuration process includes (see Lang [0107] displaying by the computing device”)
As to Claim 2, Lang teaches. 2. (Original) The method of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lang teaches 2. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the set of personalized voice recognition criteria includes a criterion that is met when the active user profile of the computer system is associated with a voice profile. (see Lang [0579] “…voice command and information in a user profile for the registered user.”) (see Lang [0367] “…the networked microphone system may perform voice recognition on the voice command to determine who spoke the voice command, access metadata about the user”)
As to Claim 3, Lang teaches 3. (Original) The method of claim 2,
Furthermore Lang teaches 3. The computer system of claim 1, wherein the set of personalized voice recognition criteria includes a criterion that is met when voice recognition is enabled for the active user profile of the computer system. (see Lang [0028] “voice command and information in a user profile for the registered user.”) (see Lang [0367] “…the networked microphone system may perform voice recognition on the voice command to determine who spoke the voice command, access metadata about the user”)
As to Claim 4, Lang teaches 4. The computer system of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lang teaches wherein: causing display, via the display generation component, of the set of one or more user interfaces including the option includes: causing display of a voice recognition interface including the option; and (see Lang [0526] “…the display may change to show user interface 808 to prompt for account information from the user.”) proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option includes: proceeding with the configuration process without causing display of the voice recognition interface including the option. (see Lang [0511] “In some embodiments, based on the command for the media playback system to play media content and information in a user profile for the registered user, the computing device 506 may include instructions to (i) configure the media playback system with one or more of the registered user's preferred playback settings and (ii) cause one or more PBDs of the media playback system to play the media content with the registered user's preferred playback settings. Preferred playback settings may be preferred playback settings stored in a registered user's user profile. Additionally or alternatively, preferred playback settings may be based on user history stored in a registered user's user profile. User history may include commonly used or previously used playback settings by the user to play media content.”) (see Lang [0513] In some embodiments, the content from the voice command may include a command for the media playback system to modify a playback setting. Based on the command for the media playback system to modify a playback setting and information in a user profile for the registered user, computing device 506 may (i) configure an instruction or a set of instructions to cause the media playback system to modify the playback setting for one or more PBDs of the media playback system, and (ii) implement the configured instruction or set of instructions to modify the playback setting via the one or more PBDs.”)
As to Claim 5, Lang teaches 5. (Original) The method of claim 4,
Furthermore, Lang teaches 5. The computer system of claim 1, wherein: causing display of, via the display generation component, the set of one or more user interfaces including the option includes: causing display of a first set of user interfaces that does not include the option; and proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option includes: causing display of the first set of user interfaces that does not include the option. (see Lang [0511] “In some embodiments, based on the command for the media playback system to play media content and information in a user profile for the registered user, the computing device 506 may include instructions to (i) configure the media playback system with one or more of the registered user's preferred playback settings and (ii) cause one or more PBDs of the media playback system to play the media content with the registered user's preferred playback settings. Preferred playback settings may be preferred playback settings stored in a registered user's user profile. Additionally or alternatively, preferred playback settings may be based on user history stored in a registered user's user profile. User history may include commonly used or previously used playback settings by the user to play media content.”) (see Lang[0513] In some embodiments, the content from the voice command may include a command for the media playback system to modify a playback setting. Based on the command for the media playback system to modify a playback setting and information in a user profile for the registered user, computing device 506 may (i) configure an instruction or a set of instructions to cause the media playback system to modify the playback setting for one or more PBDs of the media playback system, and (ii) implement the configured instruction or set of instructions to modify the playback setting via the one or more PBDs.”)
As to Claim 6, Lang teaches 6. The computer system of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lang teaches wherein the process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile includes causing an external device to display a second set of one or more user interfaces. (see Lang [0031] FIGS. 26A-D show example user interfaces of a configuration process according to aspects described herein.”)
As to Claim 7, Lang teaches 7. The computer system of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lang teaches wherein the process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile includes causing display of a passcode interface for authenticating a user of the active user profile. (see Lang [0527] “The user may select a button such as a submit button 2614 to submit the username and password for authentication with the media playback system (e.g., computing device 506) and/or music service (e.g., computing device 508). The account information may be transmitted via any of communication paths 542, 544, 546 and/or the metadata exchange channel for authentication at computing device 504, computing device 506, and/or computing device 508. Once authenticated, user information associated with the account may be transmitted from the media playback system to the networked microphone system. The user information may be custom names (e.g., custom zone names, custom playlist names, custom song names, custom album names, custom artist names, etc.), household identifier(s) associated with the user information, PBD identifier(s), and/or zone identifier(s).”)
As to Claim 9, Lang teaches 9. The computer system of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lang teaches wherein proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process includes retrieving, from an external device, a voice profile associated with the active user profile. (see Lang [0367] To determine which bedroom is “my bedroom,” the networked microphone system may perform voice recognition on the voice command to determine who spoke the voice command, access metadata about the user (from the user profile for example) stored by the media playback system”)
As to Claim 10, Lang teaches 10. The computer system of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lang teaches wherein the process that enables voice recognition for the active user profile includes providing a voice profile for the active user profile. (see Lang [0460] In some cases, the host or household owner may want to allow certain guests to use voice commands to change the audio content, listening zone, or playback settings, while preventing other guests from making such changes. User identification based on user profiles or voice configuration settings can help distinguish a household owner's voice from a guest's voice.”)
As to Claim 11, Lang teaches 11. The computer system of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lang teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: after performing the configuration process, receiving a speech input indicative of a task; in response to receiving the speech input indicative of a task: in accordance with a determination that the speech input corresponds to a first user profile, performing the task based on the first user profile; and in accordance with a determination that the speech input does not correspond to the first user profile, forgoing performing the task based on the first user profile. (see Lang [0500] In response to determining that the voice command was received from a guest user, the computing device 506 may (1) assign a restriction setting for the guest user, (2) configure an instruction for one or more PBDs based on content from the voice command and the assigned restriction setting for the guest user, and (3) send the instruction to one or more PBDs for execution. In some embodiments, assigning a restriction setting for a guest user may include the computing device 506 matching the voice command to a particular guest profile stored on the computing device 506 and/or one or more PBDs. The guest profile may include restriction settings, and information regarding the voice of the particular guest user, such as frequency or tone of the guest's voice, among other information described previously. A restriction setting may be any setting that limits the control of the media playback system.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (U.S. Patent US 2017/0242653), in view of Antos (U.S. Patent Number US 10885910 B1),
As to Claim 8, Lang teaches 8. The computer system of claim 1,
Lang does not specifically teach wherein proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process includes, causing display, at an external device, of a second notification indicating that voice recognition has been enabled on the computer system for the active user profile. However Antos does teach this limitation (see Antos (5:64-67) “(35)…The voice-forward user interface may present digital content at the display in a visual format or application interface having a first content density.”)
Lang and Antos are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lang to include wherein proceeding with the configuration process without providing the option to enable voice recognition for the active user profile during the configuration process includes, causing display, at an external device, of a second notification indicating that voice recognition has been enabled on the computer system for the active user profile of Antos. This allows for improves readability as recognized by Antos (3:22).
Conclusion
/KRISTEN MICHELLE MASTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659