DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 12/10/2024 and 06/05/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Elkotby et al. (US12335867B2), hereinafter “Elkotby” in view of Elkotby-PGPUB
et al. (US20230057994A1) hereinafter “Elkotby-PGPUB”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Elkotby discloses, ‘A terminal device for wireless communication, comprising:
a processor, a memory, a first receiver and a second receiver’ (A WTRU includes a main receiver, and a passive receiver, Col. 19 [0034-0035]);
And discloses, ‘wherein the second receiver is configured to receive a wake-up signal’ (passive receivers are used as wake-up radios to trigger device internal wake-up Col. 14 [0060-0062]. a WTRU may receive network configuration parameters for any of (e.g., both) the passive receiver and the main transceiver Col. 19 [0042]);
And discloses, ‘and wherein the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, cause the terminal device to:
receive at least one measurement signal using the second receiver, wherein different measurement signals correspond to spatial information.’ (ZE measurement-RS; numerous-RS instances, Col. 20 [0032, 0036]. And transmit/receive spatially Col. 5 [0039]. Associated to any number of antenna/antenna array Col. 53 [0033-0035].
And didn’t disclose, ‘correspond to different spatial information’
Elkotby-PGPUB in the relevant art discloses, different beam includes spatially-multiplexed [0134]. Simultaneously/consecutively uses flexibility in time-scheduling [0135].)
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Elkotby and to include
with that of Elkotby-PGPUB to come up with the claim invention,
Elkotby motive to perform measurement on the RS includes numerous-RS instances, Col. 20 [0032, 0036]. And transmit/receive spatially Col. 5 [0039]. Associated to any number of antenna/antenna array Col. 53 [0033-0035]. Elkotby-PGPUB complements uses time-scheduling and spatially-multiplexed. Elkotby motive to use energy efficient energy harvesting device includes receivers co-located within the device and to maximize energy efficiency and rate. Uses power/time-split between the receivers and antennas to minimize PAPR in a transmitter that are in spatial-proximity Elkotby [0101-0103].
Regarding Claim 2,
‘ The terminal device according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby-PGPUB discloses, ‘wherein different transmission resources are used for different measurement signals, and different transmission resources correspond to different spatial information.’
Elkotby-PGPUB, different beam includes spatially-multiplexed [0134]. Simultaneously/consecutively uses time-scheduling [0135]. Selects the beam based on number of resources-configured and measured-RS [0237]. And, beam-specific-RS [0255]. Motive would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above. Elkotby motive, EH device to perform tasks and measure-RS for reselection uses channel Col. 15 [0011-0014]. Elkotby-PGPUB complements to use beam spatially and time-instances.
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The terminal device according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby discloses, ‘wherein different measurement signals carry different control information, and different control information corresponds to different spatial information.’ (Elkotby, A ZE receive RAN-configuration in Fig. 15. )
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The terminal device according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby discloses, ‘wherein the spatial information corresponding to the measurement signal is determined based on spatial information corresponding to a reference signal having a corresponding relationship with the measurement signal.’ (Elkotby, beam specific-RS measurement [0255].)
Regarding Claim 6,
‘ The terminal device according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby-PGPUB discloses, ‘wherein different spatial information corresponds to different beams.’ (Elkotby-PGPUB, different beam includes spatially-multiplexed [0134]. Simultaneously/consecutively uses time-scheduling [0135]. Motive would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above. Elkotby motive to perform beam specific ZE-RS and includes measurement time window. Complemented by Elkotby-PGPUB includes beam-RS-measurement uses spatially-multiplexed and time-instances. This would enhance synchronization and beam operation/reselection.)
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The terminal device according to claim 6’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby-PGPUB discloses, ‘wherein the one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
determine a target beam based on spatial information corresponding to a received measurement signal.’ (Elkotby-PGPUB, beam-selection based on the RS [0254]. Motive would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above.)
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The terminal device according to claim 7’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby-PGPUB discloses, ‘wherein the one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
in response to receiving one measurement signal, determine the target beam based on the spatial information corresponding to the received one measurement signal;
or
in response to receiving a plurality of measurement signals, determine the target beam based on the spatial information corresponding to one target measurement signal selected from the plurality of received measurement signals.’ (Elkotby-PGPUB, beam re-selection procedure. Receive RSs and each beam transmits a unique-RS for each beam [0254]. Motive would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above.)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The terminal device according to claim 7’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby-PGPUB discloses, ‘wherein the one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
determine a signal strength of the received measurement signal’ (Elkotby-PGPUB, determines strength of the RS for each beam [0254]. For each beam utilizes the received strength measurement [0255]. Motive would be identical to Claim 1 disclosed above.);
Elkotby-PGPUB, ‘and determine the target beam based on the spatial information corresponding to one target measurement signal selected from measurement signals with a signal strength greater than or equal to a threshold.’ (beam above/below certain threshold [0254]. Evaluates conditions of beam based on signal strength and beam increase/decrease function RSSI [0267]. . Motive would be identical to claim 1. )
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The terminal device according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Elkotby discloses, ‘wherein the one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
receive the at least one measurement signal using the second receiver in a case that the first receiver is in a non-operating state.’ ( a WTRU may measure and determine a received signal strength over a ZE air interface, for example, by using (e.g., utilizing) a cell and/or beam specific ZE RS in Fig. 14 while in-active, Col. 27 [0006-0008].)
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. in view of Sun-Yanliang (US20220116876A1) hereinafter “Sun-Yanliang”.
Regarding Claim 12,
Similar to claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A terminal device for wireless communication, comprising: a processor, a memory, a first receiver and a second receiver;
Similar to Claim 10 disclosed above, ‘wherein the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, cause the terminal device to:
in a case that the first receiver is in a non-operating state, switch the first receiver from the non-operating state to an operating state in response to the second receiver receiving a wake-up signal’;
And didn’t disclose, ‘and perform a beam failure recovery procedure upon switching of the first receiver to the operating state.’
Sun-Yanliang in the relevant art discloses, terminal perform beam recovery determine the beam recovery based on BFR-RS and a RS to BFR-RS [0152]. Applied to terminal receive M TCI configuration of a WuS of link management of at least on BFR, disclosure claim 1. TCI includes CORESET a same search space and different slot-configuration, disclosure claim 2. And, M is less than/equal to a RS in a full set of RS, disclosure claim 4.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Elkotby and to include
with that of Sun-Yanliang to come up with the claim invention,
Elkotby motive to enhance multi-mode capability of the terminal uses multiple receivers energy efficient EH devices Col. 17 [0034]. Specific motive to provide capability configuration to WTRU includes trigger-conditions includes procedure failure-receive ZE-receiver specific-signal/RS Col. 20 [0030]. Include numerous-RS instances, Col. 20 [0032, 0036]. And transmit/receive spatially Col. 5 [0039]. Associated to any number of antenna/antenna array Col. 53 [0033-0035].
Sun-Yanliang augments the motive uses the QCL on the RS to perform the recovery operation perceived by Elkotby pre-configuration to address the trigger condition.
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The terminal device according to claim 12’ (disclosed above),
Sun-Yanliang discloses, ‘wherein: a beam failure detection timer and a beam failure counter are suspended in the case that the first receiver is in the non-operating state (in-active BFR [0007]. Link management includes re-establishment, BF-counter and time includes recovery [0130-0132]. Motive would be identical in Claim 12 disclosed above. Elkotby motive to provide capability configuration includes measurement detection, threshold and validity timer, Col. 20 [0006, 0014-0015]. Sun-Yanliang complements motive includes specific BF-counter/timer. );
Sun-Yanliang, ‘and the beam failure detection timer and the beam failure counter resume running upon switching of the first receiver from the non-operating state to the operating state.’ (terminal in-active and perform link management includes BFD disclosure claim 1; monitor RS to the WuS and perform link management and BFR-counter disclosure Claim 5 and 10. Elkotby to increase the probability of achieving energy equilibrium and operating condition to a defined period of time Col 19. [022-0023, 0027]. )
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The terminal device according to claim 12’ (disclosed above),
Sun-Yanliang, ‘wherein a beam failure detection timer is restarted and/or a count value of a beam failure counter is set as zero upon switching of the first receiver from the non-operating state to the operating state.’ (condition of BF-count preset and BF-timer expires and the terminal switch to woken up [0180]. Motive would be identical to claim 12 disclosed above.)
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The terminal device according to claim 12’ (disclosed above),
Sun-Yanliang discloses, ‘wherein the one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
determine a bandwidth part (BWP) on which the first receiver operates upon switching of the first receiver to the operating state’ (monitor-RS to a WuS on a bwp [0096-0097]. Motive would be identical to claim 12 disclosed above.) ;
Sun-Yanliang, ‘and perform a beam failure detection on the BWP on which the first receiver operates.’ (receive configure M TCI of a WuS to perform BFD and link management, Monitor signal quality to the RS and to the WuS. Monitor the signal quality on a bwp, disclosure claim 1, claim 5, and claim 8. Motive would be identical to claim 12 disclosed above.
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The terminal device according to claim 12’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
determine, based on a beam failure detection result, a target reference signal satisfying a condition’ (Sun-Yanliang, determination-BF [0227-0228]. Motive would be identical to claim 12 disclosed above.);
Sun-Yanliang, ‘and initiate a random access procedure using a random access resource corresponding to the target reference signal.’ (rach [0157]. Motive would be identical to claim 12 disclosed above.)
Regarding Claim 17,
Similar to Claim 12 disclosed above, ‘A terminal device for wireless communication, comprising: a processor, a memory, a first receiver and a second receiver’;
Elkotby discloses; ‘wherein the second receiver is configured to receive a wake-up signal’ (disclosed above in claim 1.)
Similar to Claim 12, ‘and wherein the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, cause the terminal device to:
adjust a running state of a beam failure detection timer and/or a running state of a beam failure counter upon switching of the first receiver from a non-operating state to an operating state.’
Regarding Claim 18,
Similar to Claim 13 disclosed above, ‘The terminal device according to claim 17, wherein the beam failure detection timer and the beam failure counter are suspended in a case that the first receiver is in the non-operating state;
and wherein one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
control the beam failure detection timer and the beam failure counter to resume running upon switching of the first receiver from the non-operating state to the operating state.’
Regarding Claim 19,
Similar to Claim 14 disclosed above, ‘The terminal device according to claim 17, wherein one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
control the beam failure detection timer to restart and/or setting a count value of the beam failure counter as zero upon switching of the first receiver from the non-operating state to the operating state.’
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The terminal device according to claim 19’ (disclosed above),
Sun-Yanliang, ‘wherein the beam failure detection timer and the beam failure counter stop running in a case that the first receiver is in the non-operating state.’ (includes timer and counter operates due to condition of link-quality. And includes time expires and counter preset conditions [0132]. Elkotby motive to include capability configuration to passive receiver and includes validity timer Col. 20 [0006, 0114]. Specific motive of EH device to have efficiency of energy harvesting to make energy equilibrium between energy consumption and energy harvesting Col. 19 [0023-0026]. This would enhance the capability of EH device overall operation. )
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Elkotby et al. in view of Elkotby-PGPUB et al. and further in view of Sun-Yanliang (US20220116876A1) hereinafter “Sun-Yanliang”.
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The terminal device according to claim 4’ (disclosed above),
And didn’t disclose, ‘wherein the corresponding relationship is a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship.’
Sun-Yanliang in the relevant art discloses, beam and RS includes QCL [0099].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Elkotby and to include
with that of Sun-Yanliang to come up with the claim invention,
Elkotby motive to include numerous-RS instances, Col. 20 [0032, 0036]. And transmit/receive spatially Col. 5 [0039]. Associated to any number of antenna/antenna array Col. 53 [0033-0035]. Sun-Yanliang the motive uses the QCL on the RS to the WUS includes M-RS corresponding to the M TCI states, and the M-RS are quasi co-located with the WUS. This would improve efficiency of beam operation includes detects, failure and recovery.
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The terminal device according to claim 10’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein the one or more computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the terminal device to:
perform a beam procedure in a case that the first receiver is switched from the non-operating state to an operating state.’ (a WTRU may measure and determine a received signal strength over a ZE air interface, for example, by using (e.g., utilizing) a cell and/or beam specific ZE RS in Fig. 14 while in-active, Col. 27 [0006-0008].)
And didn’t disclose, ‘beam failure recovery procedure’
Sun-Yanliang in the relevant art discloses, terminal perform beam recovery determine the beam recovery based on BFR-RS and a RS to BFR-RS [0152]. Applied to terminal receive M TCI configuration of a WuS of link management of at least on BFR, disclosure claim 1. TCI includes CORESET a same search space and different slot-configuration, disclosure claim 2. And, M is less than/equal to a RS in a full set of RS, disclosure claim 4. . Motive would be identical to claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
HE et al. (US20240196328A1) “Low-Power Wake Up Radio Operation in Wireless Communication”.
Zhang et al. (US11564170B2) “Wake up signals operation”.
Lee et al. (US-12273888-B2) “Methods and apparatus for wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power control”.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466