DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an operation member…wherein the operation member is configured to be rotationally moved in a first direction about an axis of the endoscopic treatment equipment” in claim 1 and “a power transmission element that mechanically connects at least the operation member and the treatment part” in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11, 13-14, 16-19 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark (US Pub No. 2015/0190159).
Regarding claim 1, Mark discloses (Figures 7-10) an instrument (200) fully capable in being used as an endoscopic treatment equipment to be used by being introduced into a treatment tool inlet port of an endoscope, the endoscopic treatment equipment comprising: a distal end portion (from 226 to the distal end 220) that includes a treatment part (Figure 11); a proximal end portion (from 235 to the proximal end 214) that is provided at a proximal end of the endoscopic treatment equipment (Figure 8); an operation member (206) that is provided between the distal end portion and the proximal end portion (Figure 10) and that is mechanically connected to the treatment part (Paragraphs 0058 and 0068); a first connecting member (240) that connects the distal end portion and the operation member (Figure 10); and a second connecting member (228) that connects the operation member and the proximal end portion and that is different from the first connecting member (clearly shown in Figure 10) (Paragraph 0068), wherein the operation member is configured to be rotationally moved in a first direction about an axis of the endoscopic treatment equipment, and the treatment part is configured to be rotationally moved in the first direction by a rotational movement of the operation member (Paragraphs 0068, 0074 and 0076).
Regarding claim 2, wherein a position of the operation member in an axial direction of the endoscopic treatment equipment is fixed to the first connecting member and the second connecting member (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, further comprising: a power transmission element (208) that mechanically connects at least the operation member and the treatment part (Figure 10) (Paragraph 0068), wherein the operation member is configured to be rotationally moved in the first direction with respect to the first connecting member (Paragraph 0068), and the endoscopic treatment equipment is configured such that a rotational movement force in a case where the operation member is moved rotationally is transmitted to the treatment part via the power transmission element (Paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the first connecting member (240) has a tubular shape in which the power transmission element is provided (clearly shown in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the power transmission element is provided to further extend from the operation member to the proximal end portion and mechanically connects the proximal end portion and the treatment part (Figure 10) (Paragraph 0068), and the second connecting member has a tubular shape in which the power transmission element is provided (clearly shown in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 6, wherein inside the first connecting member, the operation member and the second connecting member, the power transmission element is provided to be movable in the axial direction (clearly shown in Figure 10) (Paragraphs 0073-0076).
Regarding claim 11, further comprising: a transmission element (212) that is provided to extend from the proximal end portion to the treatment part (Figures 10-11), wherein the second connecting member is a solid structure (partially solid as shown in Figure 10) in which the transmission element is provided (clearly shown in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the operation member is fixed to the first connecting member (Paragraph 0068), and the endoscopic treatment equipment is configured such that a rotational movement force in a case where the operation member is moved rotationally is transmitted to the treatment part via the first connecting member (Paragraphs 0074-0076).
Regarding claim 14, further comprising: a transmission element (212) that is provided to extend from the proximal end portion to the treatment part (Figures 10-11), wherein the first connecting member and the second connecting member each have a columnar shape in which the transmission element is provided (clearly shown in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 16, wherein stiffness of the first connecting member against a force in the first direction and stiffness of the second connecting member against a force in the first direction are different [Stiffness against a force in the first direction would be different since the first connecting member and the second connecting member each have a different shape and thickness as shown in Figure 10. Also, Paragraph 0066 disclose that the first connecting member is made of a compliant material having some memory that may be selectively deformed which would have a different stiffness against a force in the first direction compared to the second connecting member].
Regarding claim 17, wherein stiffness of the first connecting member against a force in an axial direction of the endoscopic treatment equipment and stiffness of the second connecting member against a force in the axial direction of the endoscopic treatment equipment are different [Stiffness against a force in an axial direction of the endoscopic treatment equipment would be different since the first connecting member and the second connecting member each have a different shape and thickness as shown in Figure 10. Also, Paragraph 0066 disclose that the first connecting member is made of a compliant material having some memory that may be selectively deformed which would have a different stiffness against a force in an axial direction of the endoscopic treatment equipment compared to the second connecting member].
Regarding claim 18, wherein the proximal end portion and the second connecting member are connected to be movable rotationally relative to each other (Paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 19, Mark discloses (Figures 7-10) an instrument (200) fully capable in being used as an endoscopic treatment equipment to be used by being introduced into a treatment tool inlet port of an endoscope, the endoscopic treatment equipment comprising: a distal end portion (from 226 to the distal end 220) that includes a treatment part (Figure 11); a proximal end portion (from 235 to the proximal end 214) that is provided at a proximal end of the endoscopic treatment equipment (Figure 8); a first member (208) that extends from the distal end portion to the proximal end portion along an axial direction of the endoscopic treatment equipment (Figures 10-11); and a tubular member (240) in which a part of the first member is provided and that extends from the distal end portion to a position between the distal end portion and the proximal end portion (Figure 10), wherein the treatment part is configured to be rotationally moved in a first direction about an axis of the endoscopic treatment equipment by a rotational movement of the tubular member in the first direction (Paragraphs 0068, 0074 and 0076).
Regarding claim 21, further comprising an operation member (206) that is fixed to the tubular member (Paragraphs 0068, 0074 and 0076).
Regarding claim 22, further comprising: a transmission element (212) that is provided to extend from the proximal end portion to the treatment part (Figures 10-11).
Regarding claim 23, wherein the first member (208) has a tubular shape (clearly shown in Figures 10-11), and inside the first member, the transmission element is provided to be movable in the axial direction (Figures 10-11) (Paragraphs 0073-0075).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the first member is a solid structure in which the transmission element is provided (Figure 11).
Regarding claim 25, wherein stiffness of the first member against a force in the first direction and stiffness of the tubular member against a force in the first direction are different [Stiffness against a force in the first direction would be different since the first member and the tubular member each have a different size and thickness as shown in Figure 10. Also, Paragraph 0066 disclose that the tubular member is made of a compliant material having some memory that may be selectively deformed which would have a different stiffness against a force in the first direction compared to the first member].
Regarding claim 26, wherein the first member has higher stiffness against the force in the axial direction than the stiffness of the tubular member against the force in the axial direction [Stiffness against a force in the axial direction would be different since the first member and the tubular member each have a different size and thickness as shown in Figure 10. Also, Paragraph 0066 disclose that the tubular member is made of a compliant material having some memory that may be selectively deformed which would have a different stiffness against a force in the axial direction compared to the first member].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10, 12, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in the dependent claims:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination of features as claimed. In particular, the prior art of record fails to wherein the operation member is configured to be rotationally moved in the first direction with respect to the first connecting member and the second connecting member (claim 7), wherein the operation member is configured to be rotationally moved in the first direction with respect to the second connecting member (claim 12), wherein the transmission element includes a power transmission element that mechanically connects the proximal end portion and the treatment part, the first connecting member has a first tubular member and a second tubular member provided on an outer periphery of the first tubular member, inside the first tubular member, the power transmission element is provided to be movable in the axial direction, and the first tubular member has higher stiffness against a force in the axial direction than stiffness of the second tubular member against a force in the axial direction (claim 15) and wherein the tubular member is configured to be rotationally moved in the first direction with respect to the first member (claim 20).
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771