DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 12/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. Examiner suggests that title maybe changed to provide more description regarding the instant invention. Therefore, a new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maruno et al., JP 2012-253479.
Regarding claim 1, Maruno discloses a reading device (image forming apparatus 100 includes an image reading device 1, paragraph 15) comprising:
a light source (irradiation lamp 141) to emit light to a subject (irradiation lamp 141 that emits light for irradiating the document 9, paragraphs 35, 42, 63);
an imaging device (image reading unit 16) to receive light reflected from the subject and generate an image (image reading unit 16 is configured such that the reflected light from the third mirror 152 passes through the lens 160 and forms an image on the CCD 161 such that mirrors allow the light reflected by the document 9 to reach the image reading unit 16 at the document reading position of document 9, image reading unit 16 then reads the image of the document 9 by the CCD 161, and outputs image data, paragraphs 41-46);
a first inclination correction device (electronic tilt correction unit 86) to mechanically correct an inclination of the subject (electronic tilt correction unit 86 electronically corrects the skew by performing image processing on the image information received by the read image reception unit 85, paragraph 56);
a second inclination correction device (mechanical tilt correcting unit 87) to electronically correct an inclination of the image obtained at the imaging device (mechanical tilt correcting unit 87 controls the operation of the document transport rollers 63a and 63b by controlling the transport roller driving circuit 800, and mechanically corrects the tilt of the document 9 with respect to the transport direction, paragraph 57);
and circuitry configured to: switch to use between the first inclination correction device and the second inclination correction device (tilt correction switching unit 84 switches the skew correction of the document 9 to either the electronic tilt correction unit 86 or the mechanical tilt correction unit 87 based on a predetermined condition, paragraph 54),
wherein, in a case where the subject includes subjects of a single size but does not include subjects of multiple sizes, the circuitry is configured to switch to use the first inclination correction device (“if a single-size document is placed on the plurality of paper feed trays 101a as the document 9 and the mixed document size button 112a is not operated in step S2 (S2; No), the electronic inclination correcting unit 86 The following “(4) Electronic tilt correction operation” is executed”, paragraph 77),
and in a case where the subject includes subjects of multiple sizes, the circuitry is configured to switch to use the second inclination correction device (“when documents of a plurality of sizes are arranged on the paper feed tray 101a as the document 9, and the mixed document size button 112a is operated (S2; Yes), the mechanical tilt correction unit 87 performs the following "(3) Mechanical tilt correction". "Operation" is executed”, paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 2, Maruno further discloses wherein in a case where the subject includes subjects of a single size but does not include subjects of multiple sizes, the circuitry is configured to use the second inclination correction device in addition to the first inclination correction device (if only single size document is placed without any presence of multiple size document, then the electronic tilt correction takes places, however, if an error occurs during electronic tilt correction than the user is prompted to reset the document 9 on the touch panel and the reading operation is executed again by the skew correction using the mechanical tilt correcting means in addition to electronic tilt correction, paragraphs 77, 89, 69).
Regarding claim 3, Maruno further discloses further comprising an operation device (front surface of the housing 12 of the image reading apparatus 1 serves as an operation unit with a control panel 110 having 111 and a plurality of operation buttons 112a that is operated by the user when the document 9 has a plurality of sizes or a mixed document size button 112 provided on the touch panel 111, paragraph 16), wherein the circuitry is configured to determine that the subject includes subjects of multiple sizes (it is determined whether or not the mixed document size button 112a is operated in the received job, paragraph 71) and use the second inclination correction device in response to a predetermined operation being performed on the operation device (“when documents of a plurality of sizes are arranged on the paper feed tray 101a as the document 9, and the mixed document size button 112a is operated (S2; Yes), the mechanical tilt correction unit 87 performs the following "(3) Mechanical tilt correction". "Operation" is executed”, paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 4, Maruno further discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to use the second inclination correction device in response to an operation of setting an irregular-sized subject as the subject being performed on the operation device (switching unit that switches the first inclination correction unit to the second inclination correction unit when the plurality of documents includes a plurality of types of sizes having all sorts of sizes and orientations, etc., wherein, when documents of a plurality of sizes are arranged on the paper feed tray 101a as the document 9, and the mixed document size button 112a is operated, and there is a high probability that an error will occur due to skew correction of most likely an irregular-sized document being arranged, then the mechanical tilt correction is executed, paragraphs 6-7, 24, 72-74, 94-95).
Regarding claim 6, Maruno further discloses wherein the subject includes an object being transported (document 9 is the subject that is being transported, paragraphs 29, 57, 75).
Regarding claim 7, Maruno further discloses an image processing apparatus (image forming apparatus 100, paragraph 15) comprising: the reading device according to claim 1 (image forming apparatus 100 includes an image reading device 1, paragraph 15); and an image forming device to form the image (and includes image forming unit 2 that prints an image on a sheet 30 as a recording medium, paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 8, it is a method version of claim 1, which recites similar features as claim 1 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruno et al., JP 2012-253479 in view of Masaki et al., US 2013/0182296.
Regarding claim 5, Maruno further discloses a conveyer (conveyance roller drive circuit 800) to convey the subject to be read by the imaging device (conveyance of the document 9 is executed by the conveyance roller drive circuit 800 to convey the originals 9 one by one to the reading target area such that irradiation lamp 141 emits light by the image reading unit for reading/scanning the document 9 placed on the target area of the document table, paragraphs 62-65);
and a subject size detector of the imaging device in a direction of conveyance of the subject to acquire a size of the subject (switching unit determines that the plurality of documents include a plurality of types of sizes based on detection contents of the detection unit such as sensors appointed in the conveyance of document 9 in the main and sub scanning directions, paragraphs 8, 12, 26, 52)
wherein the circuitry is configured to determine that the subject includes subjects of multiple sizes, based on a size of a read subject and a size of a subject to be read next, the size of the read subject and the size of the subject to be read next being obtained from the subject size detector (switching means determine whether or not a plurality of types of sizes of the document 9 are mixed from the information detected by the sensors Sp1 to Sp3, and this determination content is used as a condition for executing the skew correction by the mechanical inclination correction, paragraph 97, also see paragraph 94).
Maruno fails to explicitly disclose a subject size detector upstream of imaging device in a direction of conveyance of subject to acquire a size of the subject.
However, Masaki teaches a conveyer to convey the subject to be read by the imaging device (a transporter 22 as an example of a transport unit that transports a document G to an image reading position Q, and a lamp 26 as an example of a radiating unit that radiates light to the document G at the reading position Q, paragraph 52); and a subject size detector upstream of the imaging device in a direction of conveyance of the subject to acquire a size of the subject (multiple document-size sensors are disposed facing the first transport path and at the upstream side of the registration roller in the main and sub scanning directions of the conveyance of the document, paragraphs 62, 68-69), wherein the circuitry is configured to determine that the subject includes subjects of multiple sizes, based on a size of a read subject and a size of a subject to be read next, the size of the read subject and the size of the subject to be read next being obtained from the subject size detector (size of the documents G is determined on the basis of an output from the document-size sensors arranged in the main scanning direction and an output from the document-size sensors arranged in the sub scanning direction, for example, the document G is detected as being a B5-size or the document G is detected as being an A4-size document, paragraphs 69, 51, 181-184).
Maruno and Masaki are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image forming apparatus with reading devices for performing skew correction.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maruno to incorporate the teachings of Masaki for the benefit of having image reading device efficiently switching between the skew correction by the first correcting unit and the skew correction by the second correcting unit on the basis of document information, the skew amount of the leading edge calculated by the skew-amount calculating unit, or user's selection as taught by Masaki at paragraph 3.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruno et al., JP 2012-253479 in view of Tsukahara et al., US 2020/0244837.
Regarding claim 9, which recites a non-transitory recording medium version of claim 1, see rationale as applied above. But Maruno fails to teach a non-transitory recording medium, however, which is taught by Tsukahara in paragraphs 68-69, also further note that Tsukahara teaches having an image processing apparatus that includes the reading device and an image forming device configured to form an image on basis of the image information read by the reading device and correcting the inclination amount in the image data, paragraphs 6, 125, 132.
Maruno and Tsukahara are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with image forming apparatus with reading devices and correcting the inclination/tilt amount.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maruno to incorporate the teachings of Tsukahara for the benefit of providing instructions which can be executed by CPU as a program for effectively detecting an inclination of the object in the image information and performing inclination correction as taught by Tsukahara at paragraphs 5, 68, 132.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaneko et al., US 2014/0132966 – teaches image reading device includes a transporter transporting a document to a reading position, a first corrector correcting a skew of the document and a second corrector correcting a skew of the image information based on the skew amount. The device switches between the skew correction by the first corrector and the skew correction by the second corrector based on document information, the skew amount, or user's selection.
Nakada et al., US 2020/0252513 – teaches a first inclination detecting unit and a second inclination detecting unit and an inclination correcting unit.
Koda et al., US 2015/0207941 – teaches having first and second inclination means, wherein, the push button is selected for setting to the first correction mode in which to mechanically correct inclination of a document sheet being conveyed.
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683