DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-35 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1-15 are canceled and claims 16-35 are added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2021, 01/06/2025, 09/08/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 21, 24, and 26-35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, lines 2-3, recites “the movement of the electronic pen in the air”. Examiner suggest ““movement of the electronic pen in air”, to correct antecedent issues.
Claim 21, line 2, recites “the entire screen”. Examiner suggest “an entire screen”, to correct antecedent issues.
Claim 24, lines 3-4, recite “at least one of: an orientation, a direction, a movement speed, a movement period of the electronic pen”. Examiner suggest “at least one of an orientation, a direction, a movement speed, or a movement period of the electronic pen”.
Claim 26, line 7, recites “the at least one processor individually and/or collectively”. To clarify the claim language, examiner suggest “the at least one processor individually or collectively”.
Claim 26, line 8, recites “an electronic pen”. Examiner suggest “the electronic pen”, since the phrase previously appears in the claim.
Claim 26, line 8, recites “a movement detecting device”. Examiner suggest “the movement detecting device”, since the phrase previously appears in the claim.
Claim 26, lines 8-9, recites “a rolling ball tip”. Examiner suggest “the rolling ball tip”, since the phrase previously appears in the claim.
Claim 27, line 1, recites “wherein at least one sensor includes”. The term “wherein” is used to provide additional context or more detail about a term previously presented. However, “at least one sensor” was not previously presented. To keep consistency in the claim language and clarify the claimed limitation, examiner suggest “wherein the movement detecting device includes”
Claim 28, line 2, recites “the movement of the electronic pen in the air”. Examiner suggest “movement of the electronic pen in air”, to correct antecedent issues.
Claim 31, lines 2-3, recites “the entire screen”. Examiner suggest “an entire screen”, to correct antecedent issues.
Claim 34, line 2, recites “the first”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggest “the first input”.
Claim 34, lines 3-4, recite “at least one of an orientation, a direction, a movement speed, a movement period of the electronic pen”. Examiner suggest “at least one of an orientation, a direction, a movement speed, or a movement period of the electronic pen”.
Claim 34, line 4, recites “the at least one sensor”. To correct antecedent issues and keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggest “the movement detecting device”.
Claims 29-30, 32-33, and 35 depend directly from an objected claim therefore are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-22, 25, 29-32, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 19 and 29 recite “wherein the executing the preset operation comprises rendering a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image based on the movement of the rolling ball tip on the electronic device”. The specification discloses “[t]he electronic device 1000 may receive, from the electronic pen 100, a user input via movement of the electronic pen 100... In FIG. 24, when a user holds the electronic pen 100 and draws a three-dimensional image 2410 using the tip 10 of the electronic pen 100, the electronic device 1000 may receive, from the electronic pen 100, a user input via movement of the electronic pen 100, and render and display an image 2420 corresponding to the user input. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the electronic device 1000 may immediately render an image upon recognizing movement of the electronic pen 100, or may render an image when a looped curve or a figure is completed via movement of the electronic pen 100. For example, as the electronic pen 100 is moved, a line may be immediately marked according to the movement to render and display an image, or when a looped curve or a figure is completed via movement of the electronic pen 100, an image of the completed looped curve or figure may be rendered and displayed” (page 69 and Fig. 24). In addition, the specification further discloses “[w]hen a user holds the electronic pen 100 and draws a two-dimensional image 2510 using the tip 10 of the electronic pen 100, the electronic device 1000 may receive, from the electronic pen 100, a user input via movement of the electronic pen 100, and render and display an image 2520 corresponding to the user input….That is, as the electronic pen 100 is moved, a line may be immediately marked according to the movement and a length of the line may be dynamically displayed, or when a looped curve or a figure is completed via movement of the electronic pen 100, lengths of lines may be displayed in an image of the completed looped curve or figure” (page 70 and Fig. 25). As depicted in figure 24 and 25 the two-dimensional image or the three-dimensional image are render based on the moment of the electronic pen in air. The specification is silent with respect to rendering a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image based on the movement of the rolling ball tip on the electronic device. The above amendments represent a departure from the disclosure and the claims as originally filed and thus is considered to lack adequate written description.
Claim 20 recite “wherein the executing the preset operation comprises measuring a movement distance of the electronic pen detected using the rolling ball tip”. Similarly, claim 30 recites “the at least one processor is further configured to measure a movement distance of the electronic pen detected using the rolling ball tip”. Applicant’s disclosure provides support for “a user input value may also vary according to a movement distance of a touch input of a user on the touch pad 910. A movement distance of a touch input of a user on the touch pad 910 may be proportional to a user input value. For example, when a user swipes the touch pad 910 by 0.5 cm to receive a value of x as a user input, then when the user swipes the touch pad 910 by a distance of 1 cm, which is twice 0.5 cm, a value of 2x may be received as a user input.” (page 43-44, Fig. 9). In addition, the specification also discloses “[a]ccording to an embodiment of the disclosure, the electronic device 1000 may measure a movement distance of the electronic pen 100 according to a movement of the electronic pen 100. For example, the electronic device 1000 may measure a distance that the electronic pen 100 has moved, by detecting a movement of the electronic pen 100. For example, when drawing an image along a straight line or a curve using the electronic pen 100, the electronic device 1000 may detect this as a movement of the electronic pen 100 to measure a distance of the straight line or the curve (pages 66-67). The specification discloses another embodiment in which “the electronic device 1000 may measure a distance that the electronic pen 100 has moved, by detecting movement of the electronic pen 100. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the electronic device 1000 may measure a distance moved so far according to movement of the electronic pen 100 and dynamically display the distance, or when the movement of the electronic pen 100 stops, the electronic device 1000 may measure and display a total distance moved (page 70 and Fig. 25). Based on applicant’s disclosure, the movement distance is either measure by movement of the electronic pen or by detecting a movement distance of a touch input in a touch pad. Applicant’s specification is silent with respect of measuring a movement distance of the electronic pen detected using the rolling ball tip. The above amendments represent a departure from the disclosure and the claims as originally filed and thus is considered to lack adequate written description.
Claim 21 recites “the preset operation comprises changing at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the rolling ball tip”. Similarly, claim 31 recites “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the rolling ball tip”. Applicant’s specification discloses “the electronic device 1000 may change at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a touch input to a touch pad of the electronic pen 100. For example, dragging, panning, flicking, or swiping a touch pad of the electronic pen 100 to the left, the right, upwards or downwards, the electronic device 1000 may turn a viewpoint of a user to the left, to the right, upwards, or downwards on a screen displayed to the user or may rotate or move at least a portion of the screen displayed to the user or the entire screen to the left, to the right, upwards, or downwards (page 29 Fig. 9). The specification also recites “the electronic device 1000 may select a point on a displayed screen, via a third user input of selecting a particular point, and may rotate or move at least a portion of the screen displayed to a user or the entire screen, according to a fourth user input of moving the electronic pen 100” (page 32). In addition, the specification discloses, another embodiment, in which “when the at least a part of the electronic pen 100 or the entire electronic pen 100 rotate clockwise or counter-clockwise, the electronic device 1000 may rotate a viewpoint of a user clockwise or counter-clockwise on a screen displayed to the user or rotate or move at least a portion of the screen displayed to the user or the entire screen, clockwise or counter-clockwise” (page 28, pages 36-37 and Fig. 7 (part 710)). Based on applicant’s disclosure the portion of the screen or the entire screen is changed according to a touch input to a touch pad, or rotating the electronic pen, or rotating a part (710) of the electronic pen. Applicant’s disclosure is silent with respect of changing at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the rolling ball tip. The above amendments represent a departure from the disclosure and the claims as originally filed and thus is considered to lack adequate written description.
Claim 22 recites “wherein the executing the preset operation comprises increasing or reducing a preset value according to a rotational direction of the rolling ball tip”. Similarly, claim 32 recites “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to increase or reduce a preset value according to a rotational direction of the rolling ball tip”. The specification discloses “the electronic device 1000 may increase or reduce a preset value according to a touch input to a touch pad of the electronic pen 100. For example, when dragging, panning, flicking, or swiping the touch pad of the electronic pen 100 to the left, to the right, upwards, or downwards, a preset value may be increased or reduced (pages 29-30 and Fig. 9). The specification also discloses, another embodiment, in which “variation in a user input value may vary according to a rotational speed of the electronic pen 100. For example, when rotating the electronic pen 100 quickly, a user input value may be increased or reduced quickly or the amount by which the user input value is increased or decreased may be increased. When rotating the electronic pen 100 slowly, a user input value may be increased or reduced slowly or the amount by which the user input value is increased or decreased may be reduced” (pages 33-34). In addition, the specification further discloses, a different embodiment, in which “a user input value may vary according to a rotational speed of the at least a part 710 of the electronic pen 100… When rotating the at least a part 710 of the electronic pen 100 slowly, a user input value may be increased or reduced slowly or the amount by which the user input value is increased or decreased may be reduced” (pages 37-38, and Fig. 7). Based on applicant’s disclosure a preset value is increased or reduced based on a touch input on a touch pad, or based on a rotational speed of the electronic pen, or based on a rotational speed of a part (710) of the electronic pen. However, applicant’s disclosure is silent with respect of increasing or reducing a preset value according to a rotational direction of the rolling ball tip. The above amendments represent a departure from the disclosure and the claims as originally filed and thus is considered to lack adequate written description.
Claims 25 and 35 recite “wherein the movement of the rolling ball tip includes a rotation, and wherein the first input varies according to a rotation direction including clockwise or counter-clockwise”. Applicant’s specification discloses “the electronic pen 100 may rotate clockwise or counter-clockwise, and a user input value may vary according to a rotational direction of the electronic pen 100” (pages 32-33 and Fig. 5). The specification discloses, another embodiment, in which “at least a part 710 of the electronic pen 100 may rotate clockwise or counter-clockwise, and a user input value may vary according to a rotational direction of the at least a part 710” (pages 36-37 and Fig. 7). Based on applicant’s disclosure a user input varies according to a rotational direction of the electronic pen or the rotational direction of part (710) of the electronic pen. However, applicant’s disclosure is silent with respect of varying the input based on rotational direction of the rolling ball tip. The above amendments represent a departure from the disclosure and the claims as originally filed and thus is considered to lack adequate written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20, and 23-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayah et al. (US 20180364813 A1, hereinafter referenced as Sayah) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1).
Regarding Claim 16, Sayah teaches a method of operating an electronic device (see para. [0006]-[0007]. Method of collecting data with a smart wand held in a user's hand. The method may include receiving sensor data measuring a gesture made with the smart wand in midair by the user's hand. The method may also include transmitting the sensor data to a remote computing device for generating a two-dimensional rendering corresponding to the gesture made with the smart wand in midair by the user's hand The two-dimensional rendering may include at least one drawn line or mark that matches a pattern of the gesture. The method may include converting the sensor data to rendering data configured to generate a visual representation of the gesture made with the smart wand on a display of a remote computing device), the method comprising:
connecting to an electronic pen including at least one sensor for detecting a movement of the electronic pen (see Fig. 1A, Fig. 2para. [0025], para. [0027], para. [0040], para. [0043]. The smart wand device 100 works in conjunction with a remote computing device 200, via a direct wireless link 15, to activate, unlock, enter notations into, and/or interact with the remote computing device 200 without the need for a special writing surface. Using the direct wireless link 15, the smart wand device 100 may communicate the measured movement to the remote computing device 200. In the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the smart wand device 100 is shaped similar to conventional ink-based pen. A processor 150 of the smart wand device 100 may initially receive a pair request entered by a user through an interface of the smart wand device 100. The pair request may cause the processor 150 to initiate a pairing routine with a nearby remote computing device. For example, the processor 150 may use the transceiver 170 to convey an external pairing signal to the remote computing device to establish a wireless communication link);
receiving, from the electronic pen, a first input corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen detected using the at least one sensor orsee Figs. 3A-7, para. [0031], para. [0043]. The smart wand device 100 may include a motion sensor 134, such as a gyroscope or an accelerometer. The motion sensor 134 may include an optical flow-measuring unit. Alternatively or additionally, the motion sensor 134 may include magnetic field measuring units or acoustic field measuring units that may interpolate or refine an absolute or inferred position measured by the optical sensor 131. During normal operation (i.e., an active rendering mode), the smart wand device 100 may sample the encoding from the motion sensor 134 as the nib 110 moves in the air. The sampled encoding may be decoded by the processor 150 to identity the absolute position of the nib 110 and the smart wand device 100 generally. As part of the active rendering mode, the processor may use the transceiver to transmit sensor data, which measures and reflects the movements of a gesture, to the remote computing device via the direct wireless link for further processing. In this way, the remote computing device may translate the sensor data to text or function commands); and
executing a preset operation corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen, based on the first input (see Figs. 4-7, para. [0043], para. [0051]-[0057]. the remote computing device may translate the sensor data to text or function commands. In this way, a processor of the remote computing device or a web-based application may identify input characters, (e.g., alpha-numeric characters or symbols) based on the measured changes in position. Alternatively, during the active rendering mode, the processor of the smart wand device 100 may translate measured changes in position to text or function commands. In this way, the processor of the smart wand device 100 may identify input characters, (e.g., alpha-numeric characters or symbols) based on the measured changes in position).
Sayah does not explicitly disclose the electronic pen comprises a rolling ball tip.
However, Monroe teaches the electronic pen comprises a rolling ball tip (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, a rolling ball pen "point" 22, col. 3 lines 38-67, col. 4 lines 1-9) and receiving, from the electronic pen, a first input corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen detected using the rolling ball tip (see col. 1 lines 65-67, col. 2 lines 1-17, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-22. The tip of the barrel 12 includes a transparent window 40 through which the sensors 24 and 28 can monitor the movements of the ball and the orientation of the pen relative to the transfer media, such as paper, not shown. This assures that the position of the pen relative to the paper is known both during a pen stroke and when the pen is lifted and moved to another portion of the paper. As best shown in FIG. 2, all motions of the pen can be defined by standard "x" and "y" coordinates. This permits any alphanumeric or graphic data to be defined by a point-to-point "x" and "y" position of the ball 22 to the paper or other media. By monitoring the position of the ball relative of a defined origin point, the "x" and "y" position data can be transmitted via the transmitter 32 to a remote computer and accurately reproduced in electronic form).
Sayah and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Regarding Claim 17, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Sayah further teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a magnetic sensor, an acceleration sensor, and a gyroscopic sensor (see para. [0031]. the smart wand device 100 may include a motion sensor 134, such as a gyroscope or an accelerometer).
Regarding Claim 18, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Sayah further teaches wherein the movement of the electronic pen comprises the movement of the electronic pen in the air (see Figs. 3A-7. Para. [0048]-[[0049], para. [0055]-[0057]. The user may press and hold the activation button with the thumb while moving the smart wand device through the air to follow a pattern representing a particular character or word), and
wherein the executing the preset operation comprises rendering a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image based on the movement of the electronic pen in the air (see Figs. 4-7, para. [0050]-[0057]. [0050] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a 2D rendering of multiple gestures measured during intervals in which the smart wand device is in the active rendering mode. The user's hand attempting to form characters in midair is not constrained to follow the plane of a conventional 2D writing surface. FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a 3D movement path that may be converted into a 2D rendering similar to that of FIG. 4, by ignoring the z-axis dimension of movement. The reference points in FIG. 5 are designated by coordinates along each axis (i.e., the x-axis, the y-axis, and the z-axis), exemplifying a corresponding position in 3D space. FIG. 6 illustrates a remote computing device 200 generating a two-dimensional rendering 210 of a gesture 50 and converting the 2D rendering 210 into machine-encoded text 215 (i.e., recognized text), in accordance with various embodiments. Sensor data collected by the smart wand device 100 may be transmitted to the remote computing device 200 for interpretation. Once received by the remote computing device 200, the sensor data may be subsequently converted into a 2D rendering 210. In FIG. 6, dotted lines represent the movements forming the gesture 50, made in midair by the user 5 with the tip of the smart wand device 100. As shown, a path of the gesture 50 is similar to cursive writing forming letters and the words, “call home.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Monroe further teaches wherein the executing the preset operation comprises measuring a movement distance of the electronic pen detected using the rolling ball tip (see col. 4 lines 1-39, Figs. 1-3. The sensor 28 monitors the orientation (rotation) of the pen relative to the origin and the sensor 24 monitors the angle and distance of the pen relative to the origin in order to define the "x" and "y" coordinate of each point representing the alphanumeric or graphic input. By using an orientation sensor, the style of stroke may be monitored as well as the "x" and "y" position. Thus, if a calligraphic (flat) point were used instead of the ball, both the "thin" and "thick" line strokes can be monitored by sensing the orientation (rotation) of the point about the center axis of the pen. Sensors 54 and 56 are positioned around the perimeter of the wire 50 and monitor deflection of the wire to determine movement of the ball in an "x" and "y" coordinate system. Sensor 58 monitors surface speed of the ball 22 to determine actual coordinate position at any point during a stroke, via the positive contact system as indicated by contact surface 60. This permits accurate representation of the pen position by combining the "x" and "y" deflection with the speed of movement. The sensor 58 may also monitor ball pressure (or "z" axis deflection) in order to capture the boldness of the stroke).
Sayah and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Regarding Claim 23, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Monroe further teaches wherein the receiving the first input comprises receiving the first input corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen generated based on at least one of a number of rotation of the rolling ball tip, a rotational speed of the rolling ball tip or a rotation direction of the rolling ball tip (see col. 4 lines 1-39, Figs. 1-3. The sensor 28 monitors the orientation (rotation) of the pen relative to the origin and the sensor 24 monitors the angle and distance of the pen relative to the origin in order to define the "x" and "y" coordinate of each point representing the alphanumeric or graphic input. By using an orientation sensor, the style of stroke may be monitored as well as the "x" and "y" position. Thus, if a calligraphic (flat) point were used instead of the ball, both the "thin" and "thick" line strokes can be monitored by sensing the orientation (rotation) of the point about the center axis of the pen. Sensors 54 and 56 are positioned around the perimeter of the wire 50 and monitor deflection of the wire to determine movement of the ball in an "x" and "y" coordinate system. Sensor 58 monitors surface speed of the ball 22 to determine actual coordinate position at any point during a stroke, via the positive contact system as indicated by contact surface 60. This permits accurate representation of the pen position by combining the "x" and "y" deflection with the speed of movement. The sensor 58 may also monitor ball pressure (or "z" axis deflection) in order to capture the boldness of the stroke).
Sayah and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Regarding Claim 24, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Sayah further teaches wherein the receiving the first input comprises receiving the first input corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen generated based on at least one of: an orientation, a direction, a movement speed, a movement period of the electronic pen based on the at least one sensor (see Figs. 3A-3B, Figs. 6-7, para. [0025], para. [0042], para. [0046]-[0047], para. [0052] para. [0055]. The smart wand device 100 detects gestures using onboard sensors that measure movement and/or orientation of the smart wand device 100 in midair. FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrate the smart wand device 100 oriented in two different positions within a three-dimensional (3D) space, having a Cartesian coordinate system with x, y, and z-axes. When the smart wand device is in active rendering mode, the position sensor(s) (e.g., optical sensor 131 and/or motion sensor 134) may measure various aspects of the movement of the smart wand device 100 to determine a relative position. One aspect of the movement relates to relative changes in position of a reference point of the smart wand device 100. Those changes of position may correspond to one or more gestures made by the user 5 with the smart wand device 100 in midair. An orientation of the smart wand device 100, detected by onboard sensors, may control whether the smart wand device 100 is in the active rendering mode).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayah (US 20180364813 A) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1), further in view of Bakken et al. (US 20130106771 A1, hereinafter referenced as Bakken).
Regarding Claim 19, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Monroe further teaches wherein the movement of the electronic pen comprises a movement of the rolling ball tip (see col. 1 lines 65-67, col. 2 lines 1-17, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-22. The tip of the barrel 12 includes a transparent window 40 through which the sensors 24 and 28 can monitor the movements of the ball and the orientation of the pen relative to the transfer media, such as paper, not shown. This assures that the position of the pen relative to the paper is known both during a pen stroke and when the pen is lifted and moved to another portion of the paper. As best shown in FIG. 2, all motions of the pen can be defined by standard "x" and "y" coordinates. This permits any alphanumeric or graphic data to be defined by a point-to-point "x" and "y" position of the ball 22 to the paper or other media. By monitoring the position of the ball relative of a defined origin point, the "x" and "y" position data can be transmitted via the transmitter 32 to a remote computer and accurately reproduced in electronic form), and wherein the executing the preset operation comprises rendering a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image based on the movement of the rolling ball tip (see Figs. 1-3, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-23. The sensors 24 and 28 can monitor the movements of the ball and the orientation of the pen relative to the transfer media, such as paper, not shown. This assures that the position of the pen relative to the paper is known both during a pen stroke and when the pen is lifted and moved to another portion of the paper. As best shown in FIG. 2, all motions of the pen can be defined by standard "x" and "y" coordinates. This permits any alphanumeric or graphic data to be defined by a point-to-point "x" and "y" position of the ball 22 to the paper or other media. By monitoring the position of the ball relative of a defined origin point, the "x" and "y" position data can be transmitted via the transmitter 32 to a remote computer and accurately reproduced in electronic form).
Sayah and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah with Monroe’s teachings of providing a rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Sayah and Monroe do not explicitly disclose the movement of the rolling ball tip comprises movement of the rolling ball tip on the electronic device.
However, Bakken teaches the movement of the rolling ball tip comprises movement of the rolling ball tip on the electronic device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0031]-[0039]. FIG. 4 illustrates an example active stylus 20 with an example device 52. Device 52 may have a display (not shown) and a touch sensor with a touch-sensitive area 54. FIG. 5 illustrates an example active stylus of FIG. 2 with a rolling-ball tip. In the example of FIG. 5, nib 26 of active stylus 20 includes a rolling-ball tip 56 a signal from active stylus 20 is communicated to the electrode of rolling-ball tip 56 and transmitted to a touch-sensitive area 54 of a touch sensor of the device 52. Rolling-ball tip 56 has free rotational movement within the tapered end of nib 26 and in particular during movement of active stylus 20 with rolling-ball tip 56 in contact with touch-sensitive area 54).
Sayah, Monroe and Bakken are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah and Monroe with Bakken’s teachings of having the rolling ball tip moving on the electronic device, since it would have been obvious to try from finite number of surfaces known in the art in which the rolling ball tip could be used to move.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayah (US 20180364813 A) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1), further in view of Chang (US US 20160139690 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Sayah and Monroe teaches the method of claim 16.
Monroe further teaches the tip is a rolling ball tip (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, a rolling ball pen "point" 22, col. 3 lines 38-67, col. 4 lines 1-9).
Sayah and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen.
Sayah and Monroe do not explicitly disclose wherein the executing the preset operation comprises changing at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the tip.
However, Chang teaches wherein the executing the preset operation comprises changing at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the tip (see Fig. 5, para. [0045]-[0046]. [0045] As shown in FIG. 5, stylus 10 may be rotated to control equipment 80. Rotational motion of stylus 10 may be monitored using inertial sensor 28. Stylus 10 may be rotated when stylus 10 is being held in free space by a user or may be rotated while tip 18 of stylus 10 is being pressed against a surface such as the surface of equipment 80 of FIG. 5. Equipment 80 of FIG. 5 may be a touch screen display that includes touch sensor 84 and display 86. Equipment 80 may display content on display 86 such as object 97. When tip 18 is pressed against the surface of equipment 80 at location 90, location 90 (and tip 18) may form a point of rotation for stylus 10 and may help stabilize stylus 10 so that stylus 10 may be rotated smoothly and accurately. When operated in a rotational controller mode in this way, stylus 10 may be rotated in directions 98 about axis 24 while tip 18 remains in contact with point 90. Rotational motion of stylus 10 about axis 24 may be detected by inertial sensor 28 and transmitted wirelessly to equipment 80 using wireless circuitry 72. Equipment 80 may receive the wirelessly transmitted signals and may take appropriate action based on the rotational input gathered using stylus 30. For example, in a drawing application that is displaying an on-screen object such as object 97 the input from inertial sensor 28 may be used to rotate object 97 about rotational axis 92 or other suitable rotational axis for object 97).
Sayah, Monroe and Chang are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah and Monroe with Chang’s teachings, since it would have enhanced the method by providing a user additional function of changing a portion of a screen displayed to a user, thus increasing the electronic device functionalities, enhancing the user interface and improving user’s interaction with the electronic device.
Claims 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayah (US 20180364813 A) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1), further in view of Fleck et al. (US 20010006383 A1, hereinafter Fleck).
Regarding Claim 22, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Monroe further teaches a rotational member is a rolling ball tip ((see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, a rolling ball pen "point" 22, col. 3 lines 38-67, col. 4 lines 1-9).
Sayah and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen.
Sayah and Monroe do not explicitly disclose the executing the preset operation comprises increasing or reducing a preset value according to a rotational direction of the “rotational member”.
However, Fleck teaches increasing or reducing a preset value according to a rotational direction of the “rotational member” (see Fig. 1, wheel 7, para. [0001], para. [0045]-[0050]. Stylus 1 includes hollow housing 5, rotatable finger wheel or dial 7 for inputting variable data depending upon the amount or degree to which the wheel is adjusted. When the user rotates finger wheel 7 (either clockwise or counterclockwise) about axis 31. A circuitry in the stylus can determine the degree or amount of rotation of finger wheel 7 caused by the user. Then the stylus output a signal to the tablet (or computer) indicating how far wheel 7 was detected to have been rotated. The amount or degree of rotation determines how much a chosen graphical parameter is varied. Thus, the user can rotate finger wheel 7 so as to continually adjust graphics or control parameter data such as, for example, the thickness of the line/stroke being drawn, the shading of the line/stroke being drawn, the color of the line/stroke being drawn, the texture of the line/stroke being drawn, the density of the line/stroke being drawn, and/or the type of brush or stylus being simulated in the drawing of the line/stroke being drawn. In other words, wheel 7 is a variably rotatable wheel which can cause the stylus to output a plurality of different signals or levels dependent upon the direction and/or angular degree .theta. to which wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31. These different signals may be used to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts while writing/drawing, including those listed above. The image parameter to be altered or adjusted by finger wheel 7 is varied in a manner/amount as a linear function of the degree of rotation of wheel 7. For example, the width of the line being drawn by stylus 1 may increase a given amount (e.g. 0.1 mm) on a corresponding LCD display screen for every angular degree of rotation that wheel 7 is rotated from its origin about axis 31. In other embodiments of this invention, the parameter to be adjusted by wheel 7 may be varied in a non-linear manner with respect to the degree .theta. of wheel 7 rotation. In a non-linear example, the amount of increase for line thickness may be a first amount (e.g. 0.10 mm) for the first angular degree of wheel 7 rotation about axis 31, a second greater amount (e.g. 0.125 mm for a total increase of 0.225 mm) for the next angular degree of wheel 7 rotation, a third amount (e.g. 0.150 mm for a total thickness increase of 0.375 mm) for three angular degrees of rotation, etc. When wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31 in one direction the line width will get progressively smaller depending upon the degree of rotation so that the user can continuously vary the line width by varying the rotational position of wheel 7. When the user releases wheel 7, it will rotate back to the neutral position and the line width will go back to the given line width. However, when the user rotates wheel 7 about axis 31 in the other direction, will cause the stylus to output a signal instructing the system that the line width is to increase, and the line width of the image being drawn will progressively increase depending upon the degree of rotation).
Sayah, Monroe and Fleck are related to user interfaces and input devices, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method for the stylus rolling ball tip disclosed Sayah and Monroe with Fleck’s teachings of increasing and/or reducing a preset value based on the direction of the rotational member, since it would have further enhanced the user interface buy allowing the user to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts based on a simple rotation of a rotational member in the stylus and thus improving control of the interface.
Regarding Claim 25, Sayah and Monroe teach the method of claim 16.
Monroe further teaches wherein the movement of the rolling ball tip includes a rotation (see col. 4 lines 10-23, Figs. 1-3, claim 5. The sensor 28 monitors the orientation (rotation) of the pen relative to the origin and the sensor 24 monitors the angle and distance of the pen relative to the origin in order to define the "x" and "y" coordinate of each point representing the alphanumeric or graphic input. By using an orientation sensor, the style of stroke may be monitored as well as the "x" and "y" position. Thus, if a calligraphic (flat) point were used instead of the ball, both the "thin" and "thick" line strokes can be monitored by sensing the orientation (rotation) of the point about the center axis of the pen)
Sayah and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Sayah with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen.
Sayah and Monroe do not explicitly teach wherein the first input varies according to a rotation direction including clockwise or counter-clockwise.
However, Fleck teaches wherein the first input varies according to a rotation direction including clockwise or counter-clockwise (see Fig. 1, wheel 7, para. [0001], para. [0045]-[0050]. Stylus 1 includes hollow housing 5, rotatable finger wheel or dial 7 for inputting variable data depending upon the amount or degree to which the wheel is adjusted. When the user rotates finger wheel 7 (either clockwise or counterclockwise) about axis 31. A circuitry in the stylus can determine the degree or amount of rotation of finger wheel 7 caused by the user. Then the stylus output a signal to the tablet (or computer) indicating how far wheel 7 was detected to have been rotated. The amount or degree of rotation determines how much a chosen graphical parameter is varied. Thus, the user can rotate finger wheel 7 so as to continually adjust graphics or control parameter data such as, for example, the thickness of the line/stroke being drawn, the shading of the line/stroke being drawn, the color of the line/stroke being drawn, the texture of the line/stroke being drawn, the density of the line/stroke being drawn, and/or the type of brush or stylus being simulated in the drawing of the line/stroke being drawn. In other words, wheel 7 is a variably rotatable wheel which can cause the stylus to output a plurality of different signals or levels dependent upon the direction and/or angular degree .theta. to which wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31. These different signals may be used to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts while writing/drawing, including those listed above. The image parameter to be altered or adjusted by finger wheel 7 is varied in a manner/amount as a linear function of the degree of rotation of wheel 7. When wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31 in one direction the line width will get progressively smaller depending upon the degree of rotation so that the user can continuously vary the line width by varying the rotational position of wheel 7. When the user releases wheel 7, it will rotate back to the neutral position and the line width will go back to the given line width. However, when the user rotates wheel 7 about axis 31 in the other direction, will cause the stylus to output a signal instructing the system that the line width is to increase, and the line width of the image being drawn will progressively increase depending upon the degree of rotation).
Sayah, Monroe and Fleck are related to user interfaces and input devices, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method for the stylus rolling ball tip disclosed Sayah and Monroe with Fleck’s teachings varying the first input according to a rotation direction including clockwise or counter-clockwise, since it would have further enhanced the user interface buy allowing the user to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts based on a simple rotation of a rotational member in the stylus and thus improving control of the interface.
Claims 26-27, 30, 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20140152576 A1, hereinafter referenced as Kim) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim teaches an electronic device (see Fig. 1, a multi display apparatus 100) comprising:
a communicator, comprising circuitry, configured to communicate with an electronic pen (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, communicator 110, para. [0114]-[0115] and para. [0137]-[0150]. The multi display apparatus 100 and the input pen 500 exchange data with each other using a short range communicating means as illustrated in FIG. 1) including a movement detecting device and a tip (see Fig. 1, Fig. 20, Fig. 51, para. [0114]-[0115], para. [0307], para. [0311]. The input pen 500 may include a sensor 510, as illustrated in FIG. 20. The sensor 510 may include at least one of various modules such as a camera, a rotation sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, and a touch sensor, but is not limited thereto. The sensor 510 may include at least one of a camera that photographs an image, an acceleration sensor that detects acceleration corresponding to a force exerted to a moving object or acceleration of gravity of a still object, a geomagnetic sensor that senses azimuth by detecting a flow in a magnetic field, a gyro sensor that is used to detect a motion by detecting a rotation speed. As depicted in Fig. 1, the input pen 500 has a tip);
at least one memory (see Fig. 3, storage 170, para. [0185]. The storage 170 may be implemented as at least one of a memory card that is mountable in or dismountable from a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (ROM), or the multi display apparatus 100 (for example, an SD card or a memory stick), a non-volatile memory, a volatile memory, a hard disk drive (HDD), and a solid state drive (SSD)) storing a program for executing an operation based on one or more inputs received via the electronic pen (see para. [0180]-[0185]. The storage 170 may store an operating system (OS) program to control the operation of the multi display device 100. the storage 170 may store various multimedia data that are processed by the controller 130, content data, and data that is received from an external source. The storage 170 may store information that is transmitted according to a result of sensing by the input pen 500, or may store a result of analyzing the information by the controller 130); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, the at least one processor individually and/or collectively configured to control the electronic device (see Figs. 3-4, controller 130 including CPU 131, para. [0201], para. [0211], para. [0213]. The CPU 131 copies various application programs stored in the storage 170 into the RAM 135, and performs various operations by executing the application programs copied into the RAM 135. As described above, the CPU 131 may perform various operations by executing the application programs stored in the storage 170) to:
connect to an electronic pen (see Fig. 1, para. [0114], para. [0138]-[0150], para.[0307]-[0320]. The communicator 530 of the input pen communicates with the multi display apparatus 100. The controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 receives a sensing signal which is sensed by the sensing part 510 through the communicator 110) including a movement detecting device and a tip (see Fig. 1, Fig. 20, Fig. 51, para. [0052], para. [0114]-[0115], para. [0307], para. [0311]. The input pen 500 may include a sensor 510, as illustrated in FIG. 20. The sensor 510 may include at least one of various modules such as a camera, a rotation sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, and a touch sensor, but is not limited thereto. The sensor 510 may include at least one of a camera that photographs an image, an acceleration sensor that detects acceleration corresponding to a force exerted to a moving object or acceleration of gravity of a still object, a geomagnetic sensor that senses azimuth by detecting a flow in a magnetic field, a gyro sensor that is used to detect a motion by detecting a rotation speed. As depicted in Fig. 1, the input pen 500 has a tip);
receive, from the electronic pen, a first input corresponding to a movement of the electronic pen detected using at least one of the movement detecting device and the tip (see Fig. 51-53, para. [0115], para. [0307], para. [0310]-[0313], para. [0320], para. [0454], para. [0457], para. [0471]-[0473], para. [0477], para. [0480]-[0481]. The input pen 500 may transmits a result of sensing by the sensor 510 to the multi display apparatus 100. The multi display apparatus 100 may perform various operations according to the result of the sensing provided from the input pen 500 or a touch by the input pen 500. the input pen 500 senses a variety of information using the sensor 510, and transmits the sensed information to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. When an event indicating reception of the sensed information is generated, the multi display apparatus 100 performs various control operations based on the sensed information. That is, the controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 receives a sensing signal which is sensed by the sensing part 510 through the communicator 110, and controls the operations of the first display 190a and the second display 190b according to the sensing signal. FIG. 51 is a view illustrating a table that distinguishes motions of the input pen 500-5. The input pen 500-5 may transmit a distinct input signal according to each type of input, and the multi display apparatus 100 may perform output corresponding to each input signal. As depicted in Fig. 52 (3)-(4), the user may perform the F type of input by vertically shaking the input pen 500-5 in the lengthwise direction. In this case, an F type input signal is generated and transmitted to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. The controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 multi speed replays the moving image 5240 according to the received F type input signal (view (4) of FIG. 52). As depicted in Fig. 53, when the user performs an input operation of moving the input pen 500-5 upwardly, a signal to toggle on an item of the current menu window in an upward direction and highlight it is generated and transmitted to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. The controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 toggles on the item 5320 of the current menu window in the upward direction and highlight it according to the signal. Note: Based on applicant’s disclosure the above limitation is interpret to be disjunctive); and
execute a preset operation corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen, based on the first input (see Fig. 51-53, para. [0307], para. [0311]-[0313], para. [0320], para. [0454], para [0457], para. [0471]-[0473], para. [0477], para. [0480]-[0481]. The input pen 500 senses a variety of information using the sensor 510, and transmits the sensed information to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. When an event indicating reception of the sensed information is generated, the multi display apparatus 100 performs various control operations based on the sensed information. That is, the controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 receives a sensing signal which is sensed by the sensing part 510 through the communicator 110, and controls the operations of the first display 190a and the second display 190b according to the sensing signal. When the pen point 560 of the input pen 500-5 faces up, the motion sensor 514 recognizes that the input pen 500-5 is upside down. This situation may correspond to a user experience of using a pencil with an eraser. FIG. 51 is a view illustrating a table that distinguishes motions of the input pen 500-5. The input pen 500-5 may transmit a distinct input signal according to each type of input, and the multi display apparatus 100 may perform output corresponding to each input signal. As depicted in Fig. 52 (3)-(4), the user may perform the F type of input by vertically shaking the input pen 500-5 in the lengthwise direction. In this case, an F type input signal is generated and transmitted to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. The controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 multi speed replays the moving image 5240 according to the received F type input signal (view (4) of FIG. 52). As depicted in Fig. 53, when the user performs an input operation of moving the input pen 500-5 upwardly, a signal to toggle on an item of the current menu window in an upward direction and highlight it is generated and transmitted to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. The controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 toggles on the item 5320 of the current menu window in the upward direction and highlight it according to the signal. When the top item of the menu window is toggled on and the D type of input in the upward direction is performed, the bottom item of the menu window is toggled on and highlighted).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the electronic pen comprises a rolling ball tip.
However, Monroe teaches the electronic pen comprises a rolling ball tip (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, a rolling ball pen "point" 22, col. 3 lines 38-67, col. 4 lines 1-9) and receive, from the electronic pen, a first input corresponding to a movement of the electronic pen detected using the rolling ball tip (see col. 1 lines 65-67, col. 2 lines 1-17, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-22. The tip of the barrel 12 includes a transparent window 40 through which the sensors 24 and 28 can monitor the movements of the ball and the orientation of the pen relative to the transfer media, such as paper, not shown. This assures that the position of the pen relative to the paper is known both during a pen stroke and when the pen is lifted and moved to another portion of the paper. As best shown in FIG. 2, all motions of the pen can be defined by standard "x" and "y" coordinates. This permits any alphanumeric or graphic data to be defined by a point-to-point "x" and "y" position of the ball 22 to the paper or other media. By monitoring the position of the ball relative of a defined origin point, the "x" and "y" position data can be transmitted via the transmitter 32 to a remote computer and accurately reproduced in electronic form).
Kim and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Kim with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Regarding Claim 27, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Kim further teaches wherein at least one sensor includes at least one of a magnetic sensor, an acceleration sensor, and a gyroscopic sensor (see para. [0114], para. [0311], para. [0421]. The sensor 510 senses at least one physical quantity that exists in a predetermined range. For example, the sensor 510 may include at least one of a camera that photographs an image, an acceleration sensor that detects acceleration corresponding to a force exerted to a moving object or acceleration of gravity of a still object, a geomagnetic sensor that senses azimuth by detecting a flow in a magnetic field, a gyro sensor that is used to detect a motion by detecting a rotation speed, an IR sensor that detects IRs emitted from an object, and a pressure sensor that detects a magnitude of applied pressure).
Regarding Claim 30, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Monroe further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to measure a movement distance of the electronic pen detected using the rolling ball tip (see Figs. 1-3, abstract, col. 1 lines 65-67, col. 2 lines 1-16, col. 4 lines 1-39, Figs. 1-3. A transmitter is provided in the pen barrel for transmitting the stroke signals directly to a computer for input and processing each stroke to provide an accurate representation of the pen stroke as it is being made. The transmitter may be a wireless device for transmitting a low frequency radio signal to a receiver associated with the computer. This permits the pen to be utilized anywhere within the transmitting range of the device, and in any orientation, with the computer picking up, processing and storing the signal representing the pen strokes. The sensor 28 monitors the orientation (rotation) of the pen relative to the origin and the sensor 24 monitors the angle and distance of the pen relative to the origin in order to define the "x" and "y" coordinate of each point representing the alphanumeric or graphic input. By using an orientation sensor, the style of stroke may be monitored as well as the "x" and "y" position. Thus, if a calligraphic (flat) point were used instead of the ball, both the "thin" and "thick" line strokes can be monitored by sensing the orientation (rotation) of the point about the center axis of the pen. Sensors 54 and 56 are positioned around the perimeter of the wire 50 and monitor deflection of the wire to determine movement of the ball in an "x" and "y" coordinate system. Sensor 58 monitors surface speed of the ball 22 to determine actual coordinate position at any point during a stroke, via the positive contact system as indicated by contact surface 60. This permits accurate representation of the pen position by combining the "x" and "y" deflection with the speed of movement. The sensor 58 may also monitor ball pressure (or "z" axis deflection) in order to capture the boldness of the stroke).
Kim and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Kim with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Regarding Claim 33, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Monroe further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive the first input corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen generated based on at least one of a number of rotation of the rolling ball tip, a rotational speed of the rolling ball tip or a rotation direction of the rolling ball tip (see abstract, col. 1 lines 65-67, col. 2 lines 1-16, col. 4 lines 1-39, Figs. 1-3. A transmitter is provided in the pen barrel for transmitting the stroke signals directly to a computer for input and processing each stroke to provide an accurate representation of the pen stroke as it is being made. The transmitter may be a wireless device for transmitting a low frequency radio signal to a receiver associated with the computer. This permits the pen to be utilized anywhere within the transmitting range of the device, and in any orientation, with the computer picking up, processing and storing the signal representing the pen strokes. The sensor 28 monitors the orientation (rotation) of the pen relative to the origin and the sensor 24 monitors the angle and distance of the pen relative to the origin in order to define the "x" and "y" coordinate of each point representing the alphanumeric or graphic input. By using an orientation sensor, the style of stroke may be monitored as well as the "x" and "y" position. Thus, if a calligraphic (flat) point were used instead of the ball, both the "thin" and "thick" line strokes can be monitored by sensing the orientation (rotation) of the point about the center axis of the pen. Sensors 54 and 56 are positioned around the perimeter of the wire 50 and monitor deflection of the wire to determine movement of the ball in an "x" and "y" coordinate system. Sensor 58 monitors surface speed of the ball 22 to determine actual coordinate position at any point during a stroke, via the positive contact system as indicated by contact surface 60. This permits accurate representation of the pen position by combining the "x" and "y" deflection with the speed of movement. The sensor 58 may also monitor ball pressure (or "z" axis deflection) in order to capture the boldness of the stroke ).
Kim and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Kim with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Regarding Claim 34, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Kim further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (see Figs. 3-4, controller 130 including CPU 131, para. [0201], para. [0211], para. [0213]. The CPU 131 copies various application programs stored in the storage 170 into the RAM 135, and performs various operations by executing the application programs copied into the RAM 135. As described above, the CPU 131 may perform various operations by executing the application programs stored in the storage 170) receive the first corresponding to the movement of the electronic pen generated based on at least one of an orientation, a direction, a movement speed, a movement period of the electronic pen based on the at least one sensor (see Fig. 49, Fig. 51-53, para. [0026], , para. [0115], para. [0307], para. [0310]-[0313], para. [0320], para. [0422]-[0423], para. [0454], para. [0457], para. [0470]-[0473], para. [0477], para. [0480]-[0481].The input pen 500 may transmits a result of sensing by the sensor 510 to the multi display apparatus 100. The multi display apparatus 100 may perform various operations according to the result of the sensing provided from the input pen 500 or a touch by the input pen 500. The input pen 500 senses a variety of information using the sensor 510, and transmits the sensed information to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. When an event indicating reception of the sensed information is generated, the multi display apparatus 100 performs various control operations based on the sensed information. That is, the controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 receives a sensing signal which is sensed by the sensing part 510 through the communicator 110, and controls the operations of the first display 190a and the second display 190b according to the sensing signal. FIG. 51 is a view illustrating a table that distinguishes motions of the input pen 500-5. The input pen 500-5 may transmit a distinct input signal according to each type of input, and the multi display apparatus 100 may perform output corresponding to each input signal. The controller may control to perform a corresponding operation, further considering a tilt direction of the input pen. The controlling the operations may include controlling to perform a corresponding operation, further considering a tilt direction of the input pen).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20140152576 A1) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1), further in view of Sayah (US 20180364813 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Kim further teaches wherein the movement of the electronic pen comprises the movement of the electronic pen in the air (see Fig. 51-53, para. [0470]-[0475], para. [0477], para. [0480]-[0481]. FIG. 51 is a view illustrating a table that distinguishes motions of the input pen 500-5. As depicted in Fig. 52 (3)-(4), the user may perform the F type of input by vertically shaking the input pen 500-5 in the lengthwise direction. In this case, an F type input signal is generated and transmitted to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. The controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 multi speed replays the moving image 5240 according to the received F type input signal (view (4) of FIG. 52). As depicted in Fig. 53, when the user performs an input operation of moving the input pen 500-5 upwardly, a signal to toggle on an item of the current menu window in an upward direction and highlight it is generated and transmitted to the multi display apparatus 100 through the communicator 530. The controller 130 of the multi display apparatus 100 toggles on the item 5320 of the current menu window in the upward direction and highlight it according to the signal. When the top item of the menu window is toggled on and the D type of input in the upward direction is performed, the bottom item of the menu window is toggled on and highlighted).
Kim and Monroe do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to render a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image based on the movement of the electronic pen in the air.
However, Sayah teaches wherein the at least one processor (see para. [0055], para. [0057]. The processor of the remote computing device 200 may be configured with processor-executable instructions to perform character recognition on the 2D rendering 210) is further configured to render a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image based on the movement of the electronic pen in the air(see Figs. 4-7, abstract, para. [0003], para. [0048]-[0057], para. [0072]. The user may press and hold the activation button with the thumb while moving the smart wand device through the air to follow a pattern representing a particular character or word FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a 2D rendering of multiple gestures measured during intervals in which the smart wand device is in the active rendering mode. The user's hand attempting to form characters in midair is not constrained to follow the plane of a conventional 2D writing surface. FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a 3D movement path that may be converted into a 2D rendering similar to that of FIG. 4, by ignoring the z-axis dimension of movement. The reference points in FIG. 5 are designated by coordinates along each axis (i.e., the x-axis, the y-axis, and the z-axis), exemplifying a corresponding position in 3D space. FIG. 6 illustrates a remote computing device 200 generating a two-dimensional rendering 210 of a gesture 50 and converting the 2D rendering 210 into machine-encoded text 215 (i.e., recognized text), in accordance with various embodiments. Sensor data collected by the smart wand device 100 may be transmitted to the remote computing device 200 for interpretation. Once received by the remote computing device 200, the sensor data may be subsequently converted into a 2D rendering 210. In FIG. 6, dotted lines represent the movements forming the gesture 50, made in midair by the user 5 with the tip of the smart wand device 100. As shown, a path of the gesture 50 is similar to cursive writing forming letters and the words, “call home.”).
Kim, Monroe and Sayah are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Kim and Monroe with Sayah’s teachings, since it would have enhanced the electronic device by providing a user additional functions, enhancing the user interface and improving user’s interaction with the electronic device. Moreover, it would have allowed the user to enter notations and even interact with the electronic device without the need for a special writing surface (Sayah para. [0025]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20140152576 A1) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1), further in view of Bakken (US 20130106771 A1).
Regarding Claim 29, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Monroe further teaches wherein the movement of the electronic pen comprises a movement of the rolling ball tip (see col. 1 lines 65-67, col. 2 lines 1-17, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-22. The tip of the barrel 12 includes a transparent window 40 through which the sensors 24 and 28 can monitor the movements of the ball and the orientation of the pen relative to the transfer media, such as paper, not shown. This assures that the position of the pen relative to the paper is known both during a pen stroke and when the pen is lifted and moved to another portion of the paper. As best shown in FIG. 2, all motions of the pen can be defined by standard "x" and "y" coordinates. This permits any alphanumeric or graphic data to be defined by a point-to-point "x" and "y" position of the ball 22 to the paper or other media. By monitoring the position of the ball relative of a defined origin point, the "x" and "y" position data can be transmitted via the transmitter 32 to a remote computer and accurately reproduced in electronic form), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to render a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image based on the movement of the rolling ball tip (see Figs. 1-3, abstract, col. 1 lines 65-67, col. 2 lines 1-16, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-23. A transmitter is provided in the pen barrel for transmitting the stroke signals directly to a computer for input and processing each stroke to provide an accurate representation of the pen stroke as it is being made. The transmitter may be a wireless device for transmitting a low frequency radio signal to a receiver associated with the computer. This permits the pen to be utilized anywhere within the transmitting range of the device, and in any orientation, with the computer picking up, processing and storing the signal representing the pen strokes. The sensors 24 and 28 can monitor the movements of the ball and the orientation of the pen relative to the transfer media, such as paper, not shown. This assures that the position of the pen relative to the paper is known both during a pen stroke and when the pen is lifted and moved to another portion of the paper. As best shown in FIG. 2, all motions of the pen can be defined by standard "x" and "y" coordinates. This permits any alphanumeric or graphic data to be defined by a point-to-point "x" and "y" position of the ball 22 to the paper or other media. By monitoring the position of the ball relative of a defined origin point, the "x" and "y" position data can be transmitted via the transmitter 32 to a remote computer and accurately reproduced in electronic form).
Kim and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Kim with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen. Moreover, it would have permitted unlimited alphanumeric and graphic input into a computer utilizing a manual input device, eliminating the need to recreate information on a keyboard or scanning the information into the system from hard copy (Monroe col. 2 lines 55-63).
Kim and Monroe do not explicitly disclose the movement of the rolling ball tip comprises movement of the rolling ball tip on the electronic device.
However, Bakken teaches the movement of the rolling ball tip comprises movement of the rolling ball tip on the electronic device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0031]-[0039]. FIG. 4 illustrates an example active stylus 20 with an example device 52. Device 52 may have a display (not shown) and a touch sensor with a touch-sensitive area 54. FIG. 5 illustrates an example active stylus of FIG. 2 with a rolling-ball tip. In the example of FIG. 5, nib 26 of active stylus 20 includes a rolling-ball tip 56 a signal from active stylus 20 is communicated to the electrode of rolling-ball tip 56 and transmitted to a touch-sensitive area 54 of a touch sensor of the device 52. Rolling-ball tip 56 has free rotational movement within the tapered end of nib 26 and in particular during movement of active stylus 20 with rolling-ball tip 56 in contact with touch-sensitive area 54).
Kim, Monroe and Bakken are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device disclosed by Kim and Monroe with Bakken’s teachings of having the rolling ball tip moving on the electronic device, since it would have been obvious to try from finite number of surfaces known in the art in which the rolling ball tip could be used to move.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20140152576 A1) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1), further in view of Chang (US US 20160139690 A1).
Regarding Claim 31, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the rolling ball tip.
Monroe further teaches the tip is a rolling ball tip (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, a rolling ball pen "point" 22, col. 3 lines 38-67, col. 4 lines 1-9).
Kim and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the stylus disclosed by Kim with Monroe’s teachings of providing a rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen.
Kim and Monroe do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the tip.
However, Chang teaches wherein the at least one processor (see para. [0040]-[0041]. Fig. 5, external equipment 80. External equipment 80 may include one or more electronic devices having components such as touch sensor 84 and display 86. a stylus 10 may be used to provide input to a tablet computer, cellular telephone, or computer through a touch screen display. Inherently the external equipment will have at least a CPU) is further configured to change at least a portion of a screen displayed to a user or the entire screen according to a rotational direction of the tip. (see Fig. 5, para. [0045]-[0046]. [0045] As shown in FIG. 5, stylus 10 may be rotated to control equipment 80. Rotational motion of stylus 10 may be monitored using inertial sensor 28. Stylus 10 may be rotated when stylus 10 is being held in free space by a user or may be rotated while tip 18 of stylus 10 is being pressed against a surface such as the surface of equipment 80 of FIG. 5. Equipment 80 of FIG. 5 may be a touch screen display that includes touch sensor 84 and display 86. Equipment 80 may display content on display 86 such as object 97. When tip 18 is pressed against the surface of equipment 80 at location 90, location 90 (and tip 18) may form a point of rotation for stylus 10 and may help stabilize stylus 10 so that stylus 10 may be rotated smoothly and accurately. When operated in a rotational controller mode in this way, stylus 10 may be rotated in directions 98 about axis 24 while tip 18 remains in contact with point 90. Rotational motion of stylus 10 about axis 24 may be detected by inertial sensor 28 and transmitted wirelessly to equipment 80 using wireless circuitry 72. Equipment 80 may receive the wirelessly transmitted signals and may take appropriate action based on the rotational input gathered using stylus 30. For example, in a drawing application that is displaying an on-screen object such as object 97 the input from inertial sensor 28 may be used to rotate object 97 about rotational axis 92 or other suitable rotational axis for object 97).
Kim, Monroe and Chang are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device interface disclosed by Kim and Monroe with Chang’s teachings, since it would have enhanced the electronic device interface by providing a user additional function of changing a portion of a screen displayed to a user, thus increasing the electronic device functionalities, enhancing the user interface and improving user’s interaction with the electronic device.
Claims 32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20140152576 A1) in view of Monroe (US 6633282 B1), further in view of Fleck (US 20010006383 A1, hereinafter Fleck).
Regarding Claim 32, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Monroe further teaches a “rotational member” is a rolling ball tip ((see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, a rolling ball pen "point" 22, col. 3 lines 38-67, col. 4 lines 1-9).
Kim and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the stylus disclosed by Kim with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen.
Kim and Monroe do not explicitly the at least one processor is further configured to increase or reduce a preset value according to a rotational direction of the “rotational member”.
However, Fleck teaches the at least one processor (see Fig. 12, para. [0057], para. [0066]. processor 75 in the tablet system) is further configured to increase or reduce a preset value according to a rotational direction of the “rotational member” (see Fig. 1, wheel 7, para. [0001], para. [0045]-[0050]. Stylus 1 includes hollow housing 5, rotatable finger wheel or dial 7 for inputting variable data depending upon the amount or degree to which the wheel is adjusted. When the user rotates finger wheel 7 (either clockwise or counterclockwise) about axis 31. A circuitry in the stylus can determine the degree or amount of rotation of finger wheel 7 caused by the user. Then the stylus output a signal to the tablet (or computer) indicating how far wheel 7 was detected to have been rotated. The amount or degree of rotation determines how much a chosen graphical parameter is varied. Thus, the user can rotate finger wheel 7 so as to continually adjust graphics or control parameter data such as, for example, the thickness of the line/stroke being drawn, the shading of the line/stroke being drawn, the color of the line/stroke being drawn, the texture of the line/stroke being drawn, the density of the line/stroke being drawn, and/or the type of brush or stylus being simulated in the drawing of the line/stroke being drawn. In other words, wheel 7 is a variably rotatable wheel which can cause the stylus to output a plurality of different signals or levels dependent upon the direction and/or angular degree .theta. to which wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31. These different signals may be used to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts while writing/drawing, including those listed above. The image parameter to be altered or adjusted by finger wheel 7 is varied in a manner/amount as a linear function of the degree of rotation of wheel 7. For example, the width of the line being drawn by stylus 1 may increase a given amount (e.g. 0.1 mm) on a corresponding LCD display screen for every angular degree of rotation that wheel 7 is rotated from its origin about axis 31. In other embodiments of this invention, the parameter to be adjusted by wheel 7 may be varied in a non-linear manner with respect to the degree .theta. of wheel 7 rotation. In a non-linear example, the amount of increase for line thickness may be a first amount (e.g. 0.10 mm) for the first angular degree of wheel 7 rotation about axis 31, a second greater amount (e.g. 0.125 mm for a total increase of 0.225 mm) for the next angular degree of wheel 7 rotation, a third amount (e.g. 0.150 mm for a total thickness increase of 0.375 mm) for three angular degrees of rotation, etc. When wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31 in one direction the line width will get progressively smaller depending upon the degree of rotation so that the user can continuously vary the line width by varying the rotational position of wheel 7. When the user releases wheel 7, it will rotate back to the neutral position and the line width will go back to the given line width. However, when the user rotates wheel 7 about axis 31 in the other direction, will cause the stylus to output a signal instructing the system that the line width is to increase, and the line width of the image being drawn will progressively increase depending upon the degree of rotation).
Kim, Monroe and Fleck are related to user interfaces and input devices, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device interface disclosed Kim and Monroe with Fleck’s teachings of increasing and/or reducing a preset value based on the direction of the rotational member, since it would have further enhanced the user interface buy allowing the user to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts based on a simple rotation of a rotational member in the stylus and thus improving control of the interface.
Regarding Claim 35, Kim and Monroe teach the electronic device of claim 26.
Monroe further teaches wherein the movement of the rolling ball tip includes a rotation (see col. 4 lines 10-23, Figs. 1-3, claim 5. The sensor 28 monitors the orientation (rotation) of the pen relative to the origin and the sensor 24 monitors the angle and distance of the pen relative to the origin in order to define the "x" and "y" coordinate of each point representing the alphanumeric or graphic input. By using an orientation sensor, the style of stroke may be monitored as well as the "x" and "y" position. Thus, if a calligraphic (flat) point were used instead of the ball, both the "thin" and "thick" line strokes can be monitored by sensing the orientation (rotation) of the point about the center axis of the pen)
Kim and Monroe are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the stylus disclosed by Kim with Monroe’s teachings of providing a stylus with rolling ball tip, since it would have enhanced user’s experience and interactions by providing an electronic pen that resembles a standard ballpoint pen.
Kim and Monroe do not explicitly teach wherein the first input varies according to a rotation direction including clockwise or counter-clockwise.
However, Fleck teaches wherein the first input varies according to a rotation direction including clockwise or counter-clockwise (see Fig. 1, wheel 7, para. [0001], para. [0045]-[0050]. Stylus 1 includes hollow housing 5, rotatable finger wheel or dial 7 for inputting variable data depending upon the amount or degree to which the wheel is adjusted. When the user rotates finger wheel 7 (either clockwise or counterclockwise) about axis 31. A circuitry in the stylus can determine the degree or amount of rotation of finger wheel 7 caused by the user. Then the stylus output a signal to the tablet (or computer) indicating how far wheel 7 was detected to have been rotated. The amount or degree of rotation determines how much a chosen graphical parameter is varied. Thus, the user can rotate finger wheel 7 so as to continually adjust graphics or control parameter data such as, for example, the thickness of the line/stroke being drawn, the shading of the line/stroke being drawn, the color of the line/stroke being drawn, the texture of the line/stroke being drawn, the density of the line/stroke being drawn, and/or the type of brush or stylus being simulated in the drawing of the line/stroke being drawn. In other words, wheel 7 is a variably rotatable wheel which can cause the stylus to output a plurality of different signals or levels dependent upon the direction and/or angular degree .theta. to which wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31. These different signals may be used to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts while writing/drawing, including those listed above. The image parameter to be altered or adjusted by finger wheel 7 is varied in a manner/amount as a linear function of the degree of rotation of wheel 7. When wheel 7 is rotated about axis 31 in one direction the line width will get progressively smaller depending upon the degree of rotation so that the user can continuously vary the line width by varying the rotational position of wheel 7. When the user releases wheel 7, it will rotate back to the neutral position and the line width will go back to the given line width. However, when the user rotates wheel 7 about axis 31 in the other direction, will cause the stylus to output a signal instructing the system that the line width is to increase, and the line width of the image being drawn will progressively increase depending upon the degree of rotation).
Kim, Monroe and Fleck are related to user interfaces and input devices, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the electronic device interface disclosed Kim and Monroe with Fleck’s teachings varying the first input according to a rotation direction including clockwise or counter-clockwise, since it would have further enhanced the user interface buy allowing the user to continually vary or adjust any of a plurality of parameters by different amounts based on a simple rotation of a rotational member in the stylus and thus improving control of the interface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20070279399 A1 – Nishimura et al. – Stylus with a ball rotatably mounted at one end and a method for obtaining navigation information representing translational movement of a stylus relative to a surface.
US 20190369755 A1 – Roper et al. – System that includes a portable multifunctional device and stylus. The stylus includes movement sensors that can detect a rotational manipulation in a clockwise and counter clockwise direction. Different operations of the multifunctional device are performed response to the rotational manipulation
US 6498604 B1 – Jensen – Ball-point pen for positioning a cursor on a computer screen by movement of a ball whose rotary movements are transformed into electronic signals.
US 20180052535 A1 – Sakuishi et al. – Touch pen with a tip that comprises a ball.
US 20200233506 A1 – King, JR. – Smart pen with ball point writing element .
US 6486875 B1 - O'Donnell, Jr. – A pen that includes a ball for ink writing that is associated with internal sensors that detect distance and direction of ball movement and relay that directional and distance data to a microprocessor which records a series of vectors.
US 20200209993 A1 – Wang et al. – Pen mouse with a rotatable actuator movably dispose inside its housing.
US 6625314 B1 – Okamoto – Electronic pen that utilizes a ball rotation sensor to detect position and movement while it is in contact with a surface and an acceleration sensor when the pen is not in contact with the surface.
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 9/29/2025