Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 2 “the bottom sheet are secured together with snap” should read “the bottom sheet are secured together with snaps” or “the bottom sheet are secured together with snaps”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Preston (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0058214).
Regarding claim 1, Preston discloses a combination bed set comprising: a top sheet 110 comprising a rectangular flat piece of material with a first cut out 130a at a first bottom comer of the material and a second cut out 130b at a second bottom corner of the material wherein each cut out is along a first line 125a, 125b and a second line 135a, 135b respectively (Figure 1 and 2A), wherein the first line 125a, 125b extends from the bottom edge 115 of the top sheet 110 inwardly and the second line 135a, 135b extends from a side edge 110c1, 110c2 of the top sheet 110 inwardly until the two lines intersect (paragraph 0011 and Figure 2A); and a bottom sheet 105 comprising a piece of material having a top edge 106, a right side edge 108a, a left side edge 108b and bottom edge 107; wherein the bottom edge 115 of the top sheet 110 and the bottom edge 107 of the bottom sheet 105 are secured together (paragraph 0020 and Figures 1 and 2B).
Regarding claim 2, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Preston further discloses wherein the bottom sheet 105 is a fitted sheet with elastic around its edges 106, 108a, 108b, and 107 (Figure 1 and paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 3, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Preston further discloses wherein the first line 125a, 125b extends inwardly perpendicular to the bottom edge 115 of the top sheet 110 (Figure 2A and paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 4, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Preston further discloses wherein the second line 135a, 135b extends inwardly and towards the bottom edge 115 of the top sheet 110 (Figure 2A and paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 5, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Preston further discloses wherein the first line 125a, 125b and the second line 135a, 135b form a 135-degree angle (Figure 2A and paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 6, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Preston further discloses wherein the first line 125a, 125b and the second line 135a, 135b form an angle greater than ninety degrees (Figure 2A and paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 7, wherein first line 125a, 125b and the second line 135a, 135b form an angle less than ninety degrees (Figure 2A and paragraphs 0015-0016).
Regarding claim 8, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Preston further discloses wherein the bottom edge 115 of the top sheet 110 and the bottom edge 107 of the bottom sheet 105 are sewn together (paragraphs 0020 and 0024 Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Preston further discloses wherein the bottom edge 115 of the top sheet 110 and the bottom edge 107 of the bottom sheet 105 are secured together with a snap (paragraphs 0020 and 0024 Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Preston discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Preston further discloses wherein the bottom edge 115 of the top sheet 110 and the bottom edge 107 of the bottom sheet 105 are secured together with hook and loop fasteners (paragraphs 0020 and 0024 Figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Griffin (Publication No. WO 2022/073076 A1) which discloses a bed sheet comprising a first and second cut out in two corners.
Pardee (U.S. Patent No. 4,035,854) which discloses a bed sheet comprising a first and second portions in two corners to resemble folded corners.
Cuneo (U.S. Patent No. 9,038,213) which discloses a bed sheet comprising a first and second cut out in two corners.
Caines (U.S. Patent No. 8,370,974) which discloses a bed sheet comprising a first and second cut out in two corners.
The following publications generally disclose a flat sheet and a fitted sheet combination bed set:
Holt (U.S. Patent No. 10,624,475)
Dunwood (U.S. Patent No. 9,907,418)
Connolly (U.S. Patent No. 11,910,945)
Hudson (U.S. Patent No. 8,950,024)
Mikesell (U.S. Patent No. 9,149,136)
Milber (U.S. Patent No. 6,098,219)
Gretsinger (U.S. Patent No. 5,884,349)
Cybulski (U.S. Patent No. 5,557,814)
Serafini (U.S. Patent No. 11,064,825)
Ho (U.S. Patent No. 7,487,561)
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679