DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 11, 2024, fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the sub-body includes a second motor” where there is no prior recitation of a first motor. It is therefore unclear if the sub-body includes first and second motors or, in another interpretation, a separate second motor than the “first motor” recited in claim 5.
For examination purposes, claim 6 is being interpreted as reciting ---wherein the sub-body includes a motor--- to provide clarity.
Claim 7 is rejected due to dependency on claim 6.
Claim 8 recites “a second elevation part” (in line 2) and “a second fixing lever” (in line 3). There is no prior recitation of a first elevation part or a first fixing lever based on claim 8. It is therefore unclear if the endoscope unit in claim 8includes a first and second elevation part and a first and second fixing lever or, alternatively, if the sub-body includes second elevation part and second fixing lever in addition to the first elevation part and first fixing lever recited in claim 5 and claim 4, respectively.
For examination purposes, claim 8 is being interpreted as reciting ---wherein the endoscope unit includes: an elevation part disposed to be elevated from the sub-body; a fixing lever configured to fix the elevation part on the sub-body; an extension extending from an end of the elevation part of the endoscope unit toward the retraction unit; and a ball joint mounted such that an endoscope is rotatable at an end of the extension---.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected due to dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Truckai (US 2023/0355324 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Truckai (US 2023/0355324 A1) teaches a retractor mounting device (100) for a surgery, comprising:
a mounting unit (robotic arm 110, including base platform 118; Fig. 1; para. 0029);
a main body (rotating receiver 180B of tool holder 140; Fig. 1; para. 0030-0031, 0034) provided at an end (126; Fig. 1; para. 0030) of the mounting unit (see Fig. 1);
a retraction unit (second tool 145, which can be a retractor; Fig. 1; para. 0032) installed to be elevated on the main body (due to articulated movement of robotic arm 110, illustrated via arrows in Fig. 1, retraction unit 145 is installed to be elevated relative to the mounting unit, e.g. at least by being elevated relative to base unit 118 of the mounting unit);
a sub-body (rotating receiver 180A of tool holder 140; Fig. 1; para. 0034) disposed to be spaced apart from the main body (180B, as shown; Fig. 1); and
an endoscope unit (endoscope tool 144; Fig. 1; para. 0031) installed to be movable or rotatable on the sub-body (as described in para. 0034, endoscope 144 includes a handle 148 that is rotatable relative to sub-body 180A; Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in the claim. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest “wherein the retraction unit includes: a retractor bent on the main body to be inserted into a body; and a mounting part disposed at a lower portion of the retractor, and on which a light or a suction unit is mounted” as required by claim 2. Claims 3-5 would be allowable due to dependency on claim 2.
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in the claim. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest “wherein the sub-body includes: a motor; and a support frame extending in a horizontal direction from the main body to be coupled to pass through the sub-body” as required by claim 6. Claim 7 would be allowable due to dependency on claim 6.
Claims 8-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in the claim. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest “wherein the endoscope unit includes: an elevation part disposed to be elevated from the sub-body; a fixing lever configured to fix the second elevation part on the sub-body; an extension extending from an end of the second elevation part toward the retraction unit; and a ball joint mounted such that an endoscope is rotatable at an end of the extension” as required by claim 8. Claims 9-10 would be allowable due to dependency on claim 8.
Claims 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in the claim. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest “, wherein the mounting unit includes: a fixing part fixed onto an installation surface; a pair of first poles extending on the fixing part in a vertically upward direction; link parts, ends of which are connected to the first poles, respectively, and selectively pivoted toward a horizontal direction; and second poles connected to opposite ends of the link parts, respectively, and a lower portion of which is fixed to the main body” as required by claim 11. Claims 12-17 would be allowable due to dependency on claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other relevant references can be found in the attached PTO-892.
/ANNA V. LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773