DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richardson (US 4987868).
With respect to claim 1: Richardson teaches “a spark plug (12) comprising: a metal shell (28) having a cylindrical shape (see Figs. 1, 3) extending along an axial line (16), the metal shell including a front end being open (see Fig. 1); and a cover (48) having one or more injection holes (30, 32) passing through the cover, the cover closing the front end of the metal shell (see Fig. 1), wherein, in at least one of the one or more injection holes, in a section including a center line of the at least one injection hole and parallel to the axial line, a distance in an axial direction between, of two intersection points at which an outer surface of the cover and the at least one injection hole intersect, a first intersection point on a front end side and a front end of the cover is 1 mm or more (column 5 lines 57-58 and column 6 lines 10-11)”.
With respect to claim 2: Richardson teaches “The spark plug according to Claim 1 (see above), wherein the distance is 5 mm or less (column 5 lines 57-58 and column 6 lines 10-11)”.
With respect to claim 3: Richardson teaches “The spark plug according to Claim 1 (see above), wherein, in the section, an angle (angle complementary to 110) formed by the at least one injection hole including the first intersection point and the outer surface of the cover is 57° or more and 123° or less (column 6 lines 14-16; Richardson measures the angle with respect to the bottom of the cover while applicant measures the angle with respect to the sides, so Richardson’s preferred angle of 16° is the same as an angle of 74° as measured in the claim)”.
With respect to claim 5: Richardson teaches “the spark plug according to Claim 1 (see above), wherein the front end of the cover exists on the section (see Fig. 1), and, in the section, a line of the outer surface of the cover connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover includes a line segment starting from the first intersection point (see Fig. 1)”.
With respect to claim 6: Richardson teaches “the spark plug according to Claim 1 (see above), wherein at least a portion, of the outer surface of the cover, on the front end side relative to the at least one injection hole includes a conical surface whose diameter decreases toward the front end of the cover (see Figs. 1, 2)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richardson (US 5105780), hereinafter Richardson II.
With respect to claim 1: Richardson teaches “the spark plug according to Claim 1 (see above), wherein the front end of the cover exists on the section (see Fig. 1)”.
Richardson does not specifically teach that in the section, a length of a shortest line segment of line segments connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover is larger than a maximum value, excluding infinity, of a curvature radius of a line of the outer surface of the cover connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover.
However, Richardson II, teaches embodiments of the spark plug (Fig. 5) in which the section, a length of a shortest line segment of line segments connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover is larger than a maximum value, excluding infinity, of a curvature radius of a line of the outer surface of the cover connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover (see Fig. 5) and recognizes this configuration as being an equivalent spark plug configuration to embodiments (Fig. 6) in which the section, a length of a shortest line segment of line segments connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover is smaller than a maximum value, excluding infinity, of a curvature radius of a line of the outer surface of the cover connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spark plug of Richardson by selecting the cover shape in which the curvature radius of a line of the outer surface of the cover connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover is small compared to the shortest line segment of line segments connecting the first intersection point and the front end of the cover due to the art recognized suitability of such a cover to introduce a combustible mixture into an ignition chamber (Richardson II column 6 lines 23-34).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gozawa et al. (US 10742002 B1), which teaches a spark plug.
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875