DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 as originally filed are currently pending and are considered below.
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 17/711,832, filed October 9, 2019, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitutes a continuation.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6, 8-11 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: no prior art of record could be found alone or in combination that recite the claimed limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,198,098. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed toward a remote monitoring inventory, process and product-life cycle data.
As per Claim 1, ‘098 discloses a system comprising a gateway device, a plurality of node devices, and a plurality of sensor devices positioned within a container storage facility, wherein:
(a) each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices includes a sensor array, is coupled to a container that is stored at the container storage facility, is in communication with at least one node device of the plurality of node devices, and is configured to: (i) determine a set of container data using the sensor array, wherein the set of container data describes one or more characteristics of the container; and (ii) provide the set of container data to one or more node devices of the plurality of node devices;
(b) each node device of the plurality of node devices is positioned at a different location within the container storage facility, is in communication with the gateway device, and is configured to: (i) determine a set of node data based on container data received from one or more sensor devices; and (ii) provide the set of node data to the gateway device; (c) the gateway device is in communication with a server through a network, and is configured to:
(i) determine a set of gateway data based on node data received from one or more node devices; and
(ii) provide the set of gateway data to the server; wherein the server is configured to cause a user device to display a container inventory dashboard that describes the status of a plurality of containers within the container storage facility that the plurality of sensor devices are coupled to, based on the set of gateway data; and
wherein each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices includes a volume sensor, wherein the server is configured to, for each container of the plurality of containers:
(a) determine a liquid volume that is stored within that container; and
(b) cause the container inventory dashboard to include the liquid volumes stored within each container of the plurality of containers. (Claim 1)
Claim 1 of the instant application teaches a system comprising a gateway device, a plurality of node devices and a plurality of sensor devices position within a container storage facility. Claim 1 of the instant application fails to disclose a volume sensor that is configured to determine, without calibration and as a Boolean output, the presence or absence of liquid at each of a plurality of locations of the container and based on the set of container data indicating, at each of the plurality of locations of the container, the presence or absence of liquid.
Claim 1 of the issued patent also recites a system comprising a gateway device, a plurality of node devices, and a plurality of sensor devices positioned within a container storage facility, however the system is capable of providing an improved detection of the presence or absence of liquid.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the system recited in claim 1 of the instant application to include the ability to detect the presence or absence of a liquid as taught by the issued patent to improve the system in order to provide the system with an improved liquid detection.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter with substantially similar claim language
As per Claim 2, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor array includes: (a) a position sensor that indicates a position of the sensor device within the container storage facility; (b) a temperature sensor that indicates a temperature associated with the position; and (c) a humidity sensor that indicates a humidity associated with the position. (Claim 2)
As per Claim 3, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include positions, temperature measurements, and humidity measurements for the plurality of containers. (Claim 3)
As per Claim 4, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include, for a selected container from the plurality of containers, an aging timeline that includes, for the period that the selected container was stored in the container storage facility, a history of temperature, humidity, and location. (Claim 4)
As per Claim 5, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 2, wherein each node device of the plurality of node devices:
(a) comprises a node sensor array that includes a node temperature sensor that indicates a node temperature at that node's location within the storage facility, and includes a node humidity sensor that indicates a node humidity at that node's location within the storage facility; and
(b) is configured to determine the set of node data based on container data received from one or more sensor devices, the temperature at that node's location, and the humidity at that node's location. (Claim 5)
As per Claim 6, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the server is further configured to: (a) determine a refined position of the sensor device within the container storage facility based on the position of the sensor device and the node temperature and node humidity for at least one node device of the plurality of node devices; and
(b) cause the container inventory dashboard to include refined positions for the plurality of containers. (Claim 6)
As per Claim 7, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include a liquid volume that is stored within each container of the plurality of containers. (Claim 7)
As per Claim 8, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the sensor array includes a circular electrode array adapted to fit a circular edge of the container, wherein the circular electrode array includes a plurality of electrodes distributed across its circular length, wherein each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is configured to produce a signal indicating the presence of liquid within the container at that electrode's location, and wherein the server is configured to determine the liquid volume for each container based on the output of the plurality of electrodes for that container. (Claim 8)
As per Claim 9, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the sensor array includes a precision volume sensor adapted to fit a top side of the container, wherein the precision volume sensor is configured to:
(a) transmit a signal through a wall of the container and a volume of air within the container to reflect off a volume of liquid in the container;
(b) receive the reflected signal; and
(c) produce a volume sensor measurement that indicates a time of travel between transmitting the signal and receiving the reflected signal;
wherein the server is configured to determine the liquid volume for each container based on the volume sensor measurement. (Claim 9)
As per Claim 10, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the precision volume sensor includes a magnetic mount that is adapted to couple the precision volume sensor to a metal hoop of the container. (Claim 10)
As per Claim 11, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the sensor array includes a linear electrode array adapted to fit a side of the container, wherein the linear electrode array includes a plurality of electrodes distributed across its linear length, wherein each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is configured to produce a signal indicating the presence of liquid within the container at that electrode's location, and wherein the server is configured to determine the liquid volume for each container based on the output of the plurality of electrodes for that container. (Claim 11)
As per Claim 12, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices is configured to:
(a) enter a sleep state in which at least one sensor of the sensor array is disabled, and communication with the at least one node device is disabled; and
(b) exit the sleep state in response to the occurrence of an event from a set of configured events; wherein the set of configured events includes a scheduled event that occurs based on the passage of time. (Claim 12)
As per Claim 13, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 12, wherein:
(a) the sensor array includes an accelerometer that indicates movements of the container;
(b) the accelerometer is not disabled during the sleep state; and
(c) the set of configured events includes a movement event that occurs based on an indication from the accelerometer that the container has moved. (Claim 13)
As per Claim 14, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the server is further configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include a container motion notification in response to the movement event. (Claim 14)
As per Claim 15, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the server is further configured to:
(a) determine, based on the set of container data and the movement event, that the sensor device has become unattached from the container; and
(b) in response, cause the container motion notification to indicate that the sensor device has become unattached from the container. (Claim 15)
As per Claim 16, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the server is further configured to:
(a) determine, based on the set of container data and the movement event, that the container has undergone a significant change in location or orientation; and
(b) in response, cause the container motion notification to indicate that the container has undergone the significant change in location or orientation. (Claim 16)
As per Claim 17, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the server is further configured to:
(a) determine, based on multiple sets of container data and multiple movements events, that a subset of proximately located containers have each undergone movement; and
(b) in response, cause the container motion notification to indicate that multiple proximately located containers have each undergone a change in location or orientation. (Claim 17)
As per Claim 18, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the sensor device is configured to, when exiting the sleep state:
(a) immediately provide the set of container data to the one or more node devices as a non-transactional broadcast without confirming receipt of the set of container data; and
(b) immediately enter the sleep after completing the non-transactional broadcast. (Claim 18)
As per Claim 19, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor array includes a linear electrode array adapted to fit a side of the container, one or more accelerometers usable to determine relative positions of a plurality of electrodes of the linear electrode array, and an output device, wherein the sensor device is further configured to, when placed into an install mode:
(a) determine the relative positions of each electrode of the plurality of electrodes;
(b) as each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is coupled to the container, determine whether that electrode is within a configured threshold of an acceptable placement location on the container based on the relative position of that electrode; and
(c) where that electrode is not within the configured threshold, provide an indication via the output device that that electrode should be repositioned. (Claim 19)
As per Claim 20, ‘098 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor device is further configured to: (a) when providing a first set of container data, save a local copy of the first set of container data; (b) when providing a second set of container data subsequent to the first set of container data, compare the second set of container data to the first set of container data to produce a minimized second set of container data that omits any values that have not significantly changed; (c) provide the minimized second set of container data instead of the second set of container data. (Claim 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 12-14, 22-23, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stamatakis U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0334769 in view of Moeller, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0271578.
As per Claim 1, Stamatakis system comprising a gateway device, a plurality of node devices, and a plurality of sensor devices positioned within a container storage facility (Figure 4, depicts a plurality of sensors S1…SN, within a monitored location 410 with a gateway device 411) , wherein:
(a) each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices includes a sensor array (pg.6, ¶ [0058] discusses this communication infrastructure enables the various sensors supported by a plurality of sensor module units dispersed around the monitored location to communicate with a gateway device at the monitored location), is in communication with at least one node device of the plurality of node devices (Figure 4, depicts Sensors S1-SN communicating with Node 412-n) , and is configured to:
(b) each node device of the plurality of node devices is positioned at a different location within the container storage facility (Figure 4, depicts Nodes 412-n, positioned throughout monitored facility 410 in communication with the gateway 411device), and is configured to:
(i) determine a set of node data received from one or more sensor devices (pg.8, ¶ [0078] discusses node device 412-1 can collect sensor readings from sensor module unit S3 at the newly defined collection period, e.g., 60 seconds); and
(ii) provide the set of node data to the gateway device (pg.4, ¶ [0046] discusses gateway 411 communicates wirelessly with a plurality of nodes 412-n that form a wireless mesh network);
(c) the gateway device is in communication with a server through a network (Figure 4, depicts Gateway 411 in communication with control system 420 and sensor application 430), and is configured to:
(i) determine a set of gateway data based on node data received from one or more node devices (pg.8, ¶ [0078] discusses The sensor data values collected at the newly defined collection period can then be delivered by node device 412-1 to gateway 411 in data packets via the wireless mesh network); and
(ii) provide the set of gateway data to the server (pg.8, ¶[0079] discusses in forwarding the received sensor data value to sensor data control system 420, gateway 411 can prepare an HTTP POST method that submits the latest sensor data value for recording in the database).
Stamatakis et al. teaches a system and method capable of monitoring a location such as container with sensors in communication with nodes, a gateway and a server (¶ [0021]). Stamatakis et al. further teaches a sensor application which is available to be downloaded on a mobile device which can provide analysis data received by sensor data control system 220. ¶ [0033].
wherein the server is configured to cause a user device to display a container inventory dashboard that describes the status of a plurality of containers within the container storage facility that the plurality of sensor devices are coupled to, based on the set of gateway data (pg.1, ¶ [0022] discusses control and analysis portion 120 includes database 122 for storage of the collected sensor data. Dashboard 123 can be embodied as an online platform that allows a customer to view the sensor data from monitored location 110. Dashboard 123 can therefore represent a management tool authored by sensor data management system 100 that helps promote customer understanding of the sensor data).
Stamatakis et al., further teaches (b) cause the container inventory dashboard to include the liquid volumes stored within each container of the plurality of containers (pg.2, ¶ [0023] discusses Dashboard 123 can be embodied as an online platform that allows a customer to view the sensor data from monitored location 110. Dashboard 123 can therefore represent a management tool authored by sensor data management system 100 that helps promote customer understanding of the sensor data).
However, Stamatakis et al. fails to explicitly state a sensor device coupled to a container that is stored at the container storage facility, (i) determine a set of container data using the sensor array, wherein the set of container data describes one or more characteristics of the container; and
(ii) provide the set of container data to one or more node devices of the plurality of node devices; (i) container data received from one or more sensor devices;
wherein the server is configured to cause a user device to display a container inventory dashboard that describes the status of a plurality of containers within the container storage facility that the plurality of sensor devices are coupled to, based on the set of gateway data.
Moeller teaches a sensor device coupled to a container that is stored at the container storage facility (pg.5, ¶ [0031] discusses a sensor device may be physically coupled to a container and include multiple types of sensors and/or sensor interfaces…¶ [0032] discusses when multiple containers are installed as part of a system, e.g., at an industrial facility, a single IPU may be connected to multiple USCs, each USC physically coupled to a respective container),
(i) determine a set of container data using the sensor array, wherein the set of container data describes one or more characteristics of the container (pg.11, ¶ [0076] discusses The container database 912 may include information about containers managed by the system 900 such as, for example, mechanical specifications, geometries, date of creation, material composition and other information. The container contents database 914 may include information about the contents (e.g., liquids, bulk solids, powders) of the container being managed such as, for example, ingredients, chemical composition, classification (e.g., pharmaceutical, beverage, food), properties and other information collected over time, and other information about the contents. Properties of a container may include physical properties associated with a container, such as, for example, climate conditions, location, weight, and fill level, as well as other properties. Various other information, including properties, of a container, its contents and its lifecycle may be stored in one or more of the databases 912, 914, 916 and 918, including, for example, an ATEX classification of a container's contents or intended contents, a maximum fill level of a container, and regulatory-related information); and
(ii) provide the set of container data to one or more networked devices of the plurality of network devices (Figure 9A, depicts Sensor device 924, 926, 928, transmitting data to a network device);
(i) container data received from one or more sensor devices (pg.11, ¶ [0074] discusses each of the gateways 919-921 may be configured to process container status information received from a sensor device, including analyzing detected physical properties and other information that may have been generated or received by the sensor device, and providing instructions to the sensor device);
Moeller further teaches wherein each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices includes a volume sensor (pg.9, ¶ [0058] discusses The fill sensor logic 310 may be connected to one or more fill sensors via an M12.8 connector. The one or more fill sensors may be any of a variety of sensors for use in detecting liquid, bulk solid or particle solid fill levels in a container),
wherein the server is configured to, for each container of the plurality of containers: (a) determine a liquid volume that is stored within that container (pg.9, ¶ [0058] discusses when the container contains liquid, the one or more fill sensors may provide raw liquid-fill information, including information resulting from a series of reflections, for example, as described elsewhere herein. The fill sensor logic 310 may filter and process the raw information, including interpreting it based on the detected time of flight of each reflected signal, and produces information indicative of the fill level of one or more fluids within a container).
Examiner is construing a fill sensor capable of sensing the volume of a liquid or gas as stated throughout Moeller.
The cited portions of Moeller teaches a system and method where a sensor device is attached to containers to communicate the monitored properties of the container between networked device for storage within a server.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to monitor containers and container contents as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
Examiner notes Moeller teaches status information may include one or more properties detected or determined by the device and other information, and the information received by the sensor device may include instructions, updated container information based on analysis performed by a gateway, server or other network components, technology updates and other information. The servers, gateways and sensor devices may be configured to communicate information with each other in an efficient manner, according to predefined schedules, and may use blockchain technology to communicate and store such information in transaction blocks. ¶ [0034]
The Stamatakis Moeller combination teaches a system and method for a server to receive sensor data regarding containers and contents of the containers and accessible to a user device. Therefore, the Stamatakis Moeller combination teaches wherein the server is configured to cause a user device to display a container inventory dashboard that describes the status of a plurality of containers within the container storage facility that the plurality of sensor devices are coupled to, based on the set of gateway data.
As per Claim 2, Stamatakis et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor array includes:
(b) a temperature sensor that indicates a temperature associated with the position (pg.5, ¶ [0053] discusses a temperature sensor application… to measure a characteristic associated with a physical environment of a part of the monitored location); and
(c) a humidity sensor that indicates a humidity associated with the position (pg.5, ¶ [0053] discusses a humidity sensor application… to measure a characteristic associated with a physical environment of a part of the monitored location).
However, Stamatakis et al. fails to explicitly state (a) a position sensor that indicates a position of the sensor device within the container storage facility (pg.7, ¶ [0045] discusses the network interfaces 206 also may be configured to implement UWB technology if accuracy of indoor location on the order of centimeters is desired).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to include a sensor to monitor the indoor location of containers fitted with a sensor as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
As per Claim 7, Stamatakis et al. discloses the system of claim 1. Stamatakis et al. further teaches a dashboard to display monitored inventory attributes stored in a server (Figure 1, Dashboard 123).
However, Stamatakis et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include a liquid volume that is stored within each container of the plurality of containers.
Moeller teaches a liquid volume that is stored within each container of the plurality of containers (pg.12, ¶ [0078] discusses The inventory application 904 may provide an inventory of containers managed within the system (e.g., the system 900 or a defined subsystem thereof), including properties (e.g., characteristics) about each container in the system, and the contents thereof, including the current state of the container within its lifecycle, a fill level of the container).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to provide fill level data for each container as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
As per Claim 12, Stamatakis et al. teaches the system of claim 1. However, Stamatakis et al. fails to disclose wherein each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices is configured to:
(a) enter a sleep state in which at least one sensor of the sensor array is disabled, and communication with the at least one node device is disabled; and
(b) exit the sleep state in response to the occurrence of an event from a set of configured events; wherein the set of configured events includes a scheduled event that occurs based on the passage of time.
Moeller teaches wherein each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices is configured to:
(a) enter a sleep state in which at least one sensor of the sensor array is disabled, and communication with the at least one node device is disabled (Figure 11, Step 1103 Enter deep sleep mode…pg.22, ¶ [0141] discusses By powering off all (or nearly all) sensor device components not needed to wake-up the sensor device, power may be conserved. ; and
(b) exit the sleep state in response to the occurrence of an event from a set of configured events (pg.22, ¶ [0139] discusses he wake-up timer for a sensor device may be configured to coincide with a schedule of a time slot during which the sensor device is scheduled to communicate (e.g., report) information to a gateway, for example, as part of a transaction record);
wherein the set of configured events includes a scheduled event that occurs based on the passage of time (pg.6, ¶ [0038] discusses In a deep sleep mode of operation, the sensor device may be awakened from time-to-time, e.g., periodically, at predefined times of day, at predefined days of week, month or year, in response to instruction, and/or in response to detected movement of the sensor (and by inference the container).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to include a configurable sleep timer to monitor sensor devices as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
As per Claim 13, Stamatakis et al. discloses the system of claim 12. However, Stamatakis fails to disclose wherein:
(a) the sensor array includes an accelerometer that indicates movements of the container;
(b) the accelerometer is not disabled during the sleep state; and
(c) the set of configured events includes a movement event that occurs based on an indication from the accelerometer that the container has moved.
Moeller teaches wherein:
(a) the sensor array includes an accelerometer that indicates movements of the container (Figure 2, Movement Sensor 216);
(b) the accelerometer is not disabled during the sleep state (pg.17, ¶ [0103] discusses while being transported to the customer, the sensor device may be woken up from the idle state 1001 into the transport-to-customer state 1008 in response to movement detected by the movement sensor 216); and
(c) the set of configured events includes a movement event that occurs based on an indication from the accelerometer that the container has moved (pg.7, ¶ [0047] discusses the movement sensor 216 may be configured to detect relative abrupt movement, e.g., as a result of a sudden acceleration, in contrast to a more general change in geographic location. Such a movement may occur, e.g., as a result of a sudden stop, an accident, falling from a shelf, tipping over, being manually jostled, a hole in a road, a deformation of a railroad rail, wind turbulence impacting an airplane, stormy seas, etc.).
The cited portions describe a movement sensor capable of detecting movement to wake up the sensor device, thus the movement sensor remains active while the sensor device is in an idle state.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to include a movement sensor to track and identify movement of containers as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
As per Claim 14, Stamatakis et al. discloses the system of claim 13. However, Stamatakis fails to disclose wherein the server is further configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include a container motion notification in response to the movement event
Moeller teaches wherein the server is further configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include a container motion notification in response to the movement event (pg.18, ¶ [0108] discusses such a state transition may occur in response to determining that the sensor device (and by inference the container) has changed location (i.e., moved away) from the customer site. The change in location may be determined using one or more of the networking technologies described elsewhere herein, using techniques described herein. For example, the sensor device may have recorded the cellular ID, Wi-Fi network ID, ISM location and/or GPS location of the customer location (and the cellular IDs of neighboring cells at this location) as values for corresponding parameters, and the IPU of the sensor device may determine when a determined value of one of these parameters for a current location no longer matches that of the customer location…pg.20, ¶ [0125] discusses receiving information from the container management network enables any of a variety of adaptations to be made to the sensor device during its lifecycle, for example, per the desire of an OEM or a customer, which can improve or otherwise adapt services over time).
The cited portions disclose a system that is capable of determining a change in location and providing received information to an OEM or a customer, thereby providing information regarding the change of location to a user.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to provide location information to a user as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
As per Claim 22, Stamatakis discloses a method comprising:
(a) positioning a gateway device at a container storage facility, wherein the gateway device is in communication with a server through a network (Figure 4, depicts Gateway 411 in communication with Sensor data control system 420);
(b) positioning a plurality of node devices at different locations within the container storage facility, wherein each node device of the plurality of devices is in communication with the gateway device (Figure 4, depicts Node 412-1 in communication with Gateway 411);
(c) coupling a plurality of sensor devices to a plurality of containers stored within the container storage facility, wherein each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices includes a sensor array and is in communication with at least one node device of the plurality of node devices (Figure 4, depicts Sensor S1-S4 in communication with Node 412-1);
(e) by each node device of the plurality of node devices:
(i) determining a set of node data based on container data received from one or more sensor devices (pg.8, ¶ [0078] discusses node device 412-1 can collect sensor readings from sensor module unit S3 at the newly defined collection period, e.g., 60 seconds); and
(ii) providing the set of node data to the gateway device (pg.4, ¶ [0046] discusses gateway 411 communicates wirelessly with a plurality of nodes 412-n that form a wireless mesh network);
(f) by the gateway device:
(i) determining a set of gateway data based on node data received from one or more node devices (pg.8, ¶ [0078] discusses The sensor data values collected at the newly defined collection period can then be delivered by node device 412-1 to gateway 411 in data packets via the wireless mesh network); and
(ii) providing the set of gateway data to the server (pg.8, ¶[0079] discusses in forwarding the received sensor data value to sensor data control system 420, gateway 411 can prepare an HTTP POST method that submits the latest sensor data value for recording in the database);
(g) by the server, causing a user device to display a container inventory dashboard that describes the status of the plurality of containers within the container storage facility that the plurality of sensor devices are coupled to, based on the set of gateway data (pg.1, ¶ [0022] discusses control and analysis portion 120 includes database 122 for storage of the collected sensor data. Dashboard 123 can be embodied as an online platform that allows a customer to view the sensor data from monitored location 110. Dashboard 123 can therefore represent a management tool authored by sensor data management system 100 that helps promote customer understanding of the sensor data).
Stamatakis et al. teaches a system and method capable of monitoring a location such as container with sensors in communication with nodes, a gateway and a server (¶ [0021]). Stamatakis et al. further teaches a sensor application which is available to be downloaded on a mobile device which can provide analysis data received by sensor data control system 220. ¶ [0033].
However, Stamatakis et al. fails to explicitly state a sensor device coupled to a container that is stored at the container storage facility, (d) by each sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices:
(i) determining a set of container data using the sensor array, wherein the set of container data describes one or more characteristics of the container; and
(ii) providing the set of container data to one or more node devices of the plurality of node devices;
(i) container data received from one or more sensor devices;
wherein the server is configured to cause a user device to display a container inventory dashboard that describes the status of a plurality of containers within the container storage facility that the plurality of sensor devices are coupled to, based on the set of gateway data.
Moeller teaches a sensor device coupled to a container that is stored at the container storage facility (pg.5, ¶ [0031] discusses a sensor device may be physically coupled to a container and include multiple types of sensors and/or sensor interfaces…¶ [0032] discusses when multiple containers are installed as part of a system, e.g., at an industrial facility, a single IPU may be connected to multiple USCs, each USC physically coupled to a respective container),
(i) determine a set of container data using the sensor array, wherein the set of container data describes one or more characteristics of the container (pg.11, ¶ [0076] discusses The container database 912 may include information about containers managed by the system 900 such as, for example, mechanical specifications, geometries, date of creation, material composition and other information. The container contents database 914 may include information about the contents (e.g., liquids, bulk solids, powders) of the container being managed such as, for example, ingredients, chemical composition, classification (e.g., pharmaceutical, beverage, food), properties and other information collected over time, and other information about the contents. Properties of a container may include physical properties associated with a container, such as, for example, climate conditions, location, weight, and fill level, as well as other properties. Various other information, including properties, of a container, its contents and its lifecycle may be stored in one or more of the databases 912, 914, 916 and 918, including, for example, an ATEX classification of a container's contents or intended contents, a maximum fill level of a container, and regulatory-related information); and
(ii) provide the set of container data to one or more networked devices of the plurality of network devices (Figure 9A, depicts Sensor device 924, 926, 928, transmitting data to a network device);
(i) container data received from one or more sensor devices (pg.11, ¶ [0074] discusses each of the gateways 919-921 may be configured to process container status information received from a sensor device, including analyzing detected physical properties and other information that may have been generated or received by the sensor device, and providing instructions to the sensor device).
The cited portions of Moeller teaches a system and method where a sensor device is attached to containers to communicate the monitored properties of the container between networked device for storage within a server.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to monitor containers and container contents as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
Examiner notes Moeller teaches status information may include one or more properties detected or determined by the device and other information, and the information received by the sensor device may include instructions, updated container information based on analysis performed by a gateway, server or other network components, technology updates and other information. The servers, gateways and sensor devices may be configured to communicate information with each other in an efficient manner, according to predefined schedules, and may use blockchain technology to communicate and store such information in transaction blocks. ¶ [0034]
The Stamatakis Moeller combination teaches a system and method for a server to receive sensor data regarding containers and contents of the containers and accessible to a user device. Therefore, the Stamatakis Moeller combination teaches wherein the server is configured to cause a user device to display a container inventory dashboard that describes the status of a plurality of containers within the container storage facility that the plurality of sensor devices are coupled to, based on the set of gateway data.
As per Claim 23, Stamatakis et al. discloses the method of claim 22. Stamatakis et al. further teaches a dashboard to display monitored inventory attributes stored in a server (Figure 1, Dashboard 123).
However, Stamatakis et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include a liquid volume that is stored within each container of the plurality of containers.
Moeller teaches a liquid volume that is stored within each container of the plurality of containers (pg.12, ¶ [0078] discusses The inventory application 904 may provide an inventory of containers managed within the system (e.g., the system 900 or a defined subsystem thereof), including properties (e.g., characteristics) about each container in the system, and the contents thereof, including the current state of the container within its lifecycle, a fill level of the container).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to provide fill level data for each container as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
As per Claim 26, Stamatakis sensor device comprising a housing (Figure 8, Sensor module housing), (b) a temperature sensor that indicates a temperature associated with the position (pg.5, ¶ [0053] discusses a temperature sensor application… to measure a characteristic associated with a physical environment of a part of the monitored location); and
(c) a humidity sensor that indicates a humidity associated with the position (pg.5, ¶ [0053] discusses a humidity sensor application… to measure a characteristic associated with a physical environment of a part of the monitored location);
(c) a communication device that is in communication with a node device (pg.5, ¶ [0051] discusses The software portion of the universal sensor interfaces 530-n can include a protocol that allows node device 500 to communicate with a sensor module unit); and
(d) a processor (Figure 6, Controller 610);
wherein the processor is configured to:
(i) exit a sleep state in response to the occurrence of an event from a set of configured events, wherein the set of configured events includes a scheduled event that occurs based on the passage of time (pg.8, ¶ [0086] discusses sensor application 1230 can submit configuration settings that identify one or more sensors for activation from a deactivation state. In one scenario, the one or more sensors may have been deactivated after completion of a previous audit activity that occurred in a previous month, quarter, year, or other time period);
(ii) while not in the sleep state:
(A) determine a set of container data using the sensor array, wherein the set of container data describes one or more characteristics of the container including at least the volume of liquid, the temperature, and the humidity (pg.8, ¶ [0086] discusses the configuration settings that specify the activation of one or more sensors can be used by sensor data control system 1220 in generating a configuration setup request for delivery to gateway 1211 at monitored location 1210. In one embodiment, the configuration setup request is an HTTP message delivered in response to a system status update received by sensor data control system 1220 from gateway 1211 via the web API); and
(B) provide the set of container data to one or more node devices of the plurality of node devices via the communication device (pg.9, ¶ [0087] discusses where the configuration setup request relates to an operation of node device 1212-1 or one or more of supported sensor module units S1-S4, gateway 1211 can deliver a packet containing configuration setup information to node device 1212-1 via the wireless mesh network).
Stamatakis teaches a system and method using sensors, nodes, a gateway and a server to monitor and track a monitored location. The collected data is communicated through multiple networked devices capable of activating and deactivating based on a configured setting over a period of time.
However, Stamatakis fails to explicitly state: `
Moeller teaches (a) a housing adapted to couple the sensor device to a wall of a container (Figure 5, depicts Sensor 508 coupled to the wall of a container 500 by substrate 504);
(b) a sensor array including a volume sensor that is configured to detect a volume of liquid within the container (pg.9, ¶ [0058] discusses The fill sensor logic 310 may be connected to one or more fill sensors via an M12.8 connector. The one or more fill sensors may be any of a variety of sensors for use in detecting liquid, bulk solid or particle solid fill levels in a container),
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the container, and a humidity sensor configured to detect a humidity associated with the container (pg.5, ¶ [0031] discusses one or more other sensors and/or other interfaces thereto for detecting other properties of the container, including, but not limited to: temperature, humidity);
(iii) after providing the set of container data, enter the sleep state in which at least one sensor of the sensor array and the communication device are disabled (pg.6, ¶ [0038] discusses while awake, i.e., in an active state, the sensor device may power-on components, detect properties, analyze the properties and other information, store status information, transmit the status information to a gateway if possible, and then return to the idle state. These steps may be repeated until it is decided to exit the deep sleep mode).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to monitor containers and container contents as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
As per Claim 30, Stamatakis et al. discloses a method comprising:
(a) coupling a housing of a sensor device to a wall of a container, wherein the sensor device includes:
(i) a sensor array including a volume sensor that is configured to detect a volume of liquid within the container, a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the container, and a humidity sensor configured to detect a humidity associated with the container;
(ii) a communication device that is in communication with a node device (pg.5, ¶ [0051] discusses The software portion of the universal sensor interfaces 530-n can include a protocol that allows node device 500 to communicate with a sensor module unit); and
(iii) a processor (Figure 6, Controller 610);
(b) exiting, by the processor, a sleep state in response to the occurrence of an event from a set of configured events, wherein the set of configured events includes a scheduled event that occurs based on the passage of time (pg.8, ¶ [0086] discusses sensor application 1230 can submit configuration settings that identify one or more sensors for activation from a deactivation state. In one scenario, the one or more sensors may have been deactivated after completion of a previous audit activity that occurred in a previous month, quarter, year, or other time period);
(c) while not in the sleep state:
(i) determining, by the processor, a set of container data using the sensor array, wherein the set of container data describes one or more characteristics of the container including at least the volume of liquid, the temperature, and the humidity (pg.8, ¶ [0086] discusses the configuration settings that specify the activation of one or more sensors can be used by sensor data control system 1220 in generating a configuration setup request for delivery to gateway 1211 at monitored location 1210. In one embodiment, the configuration setup request is an HTTP message delivered in response to a system status update received by sensor data control system 1220 from gateway 1211 via the web API; and
(ii) providing, by the communication device, the set of container data to one or more node devices of the plurality of node devices (pg.9, ¶ [0087] discusses where the configuration setup request relates to an operation of node device 1212-1 or one or more of supported sensor module units S1-S4, gateway 1211 can deliver a packet containing configuration setup information to node device 1212-1 via the wireless mesh network).
Stamatakis teaches a system and method using sensors, nodes, a gateway and a server to monitor and track a monitored location. The collected data is communicated through multiple networked devices capable of activating and deactivating based on a configured setting over a period of time.
Moeller teaches (a) coupling a housing of a sensor device to a wall of a container (Figure 5, depicts Sensor 508 coupled to the wall of a container 500 by substrate 504), wherein the sensor device includes:
(i) a sensor array including a volume sensor that is configured to detect a volume of liquid within the container (pg.9, ¶ [0058] discusses The fill sensor logic 310 may be connected to one or more fill sensors via an M12.8 connector. The one or more fill sensors may be any of a variety of sensors for use in detecting liquid, bulk solid or particle solid fill levels in a container),
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the container, and a humidity sensor configured to detect a humidity associated with the container (pg.5, ¶ [0031] discusses one or more other sensors and/or other interfaces thereto for detecting other properties of the container, including, but not limited to: temperature, humidity);
(d) after providing the set of container data, entering, by the processor, the sleep state in which at least one sensor of the sensor array and the communication device are disabled (pg.6, ¶ [0038] discusses while awake, i.e., in an active state, the sensor device may power-on components, detect properties, analyze the properties and other information, store status information, transmit the status information to a gateway if possible, and then return to the idle state. These steps may be repeated until it is decided to exit the deep sleep mode).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of remote monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Stamatakis et al. to include the ability to monitor containers and container contents as taught by Moeller to provide a system and method for managing a lifecycle of a container includes defining a plurality of states, each state corresponding to a particular phase in the lifecycle of the container, determining one or more current properties of the container while a current defined state of the container is in a first defined state of the plurality of defined states, and controlling an action associated with the container based on at least the first defined state and the one or more determined properties of the container. Abstract
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stamatakis U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0334769 in view of Moeller, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0271578 further in view of Cañete et al., “Smart winery: A real-time monitoring system for structural health and ullage in fino style wine casks.”
As per Claim 3, Stamatakis and Moeller discloses the system of claim 2. Stamatakis teaches a remote monitoring system and method utilizing sensors, nodes, gateways and servers to collect, store and transmit data to a user regarding items within a monitored facility.
Moeller teaches a container monitoring system and method to track and monitor container contents and transmit data to a user. However the Stamatakis and Moeller combination fails to explicitly state, wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include positions, temperature measurements, and humidity measurements for the plurality of containers.
Cañete et al. teaches wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include positions, temperature measurements, and humidity measurements for the plurality of containers (pg.11, Figure 9(a) depicts a layout of the wine cask within a storage location, thereby indicating a position. Figure 9(d) depicts an interface that displays Temperature and Humidity of each individual cask).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the Stamatakis Moeller combination the ability to visualize received sensor data on a graphical user interface as taught by Cañete et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per Claim 4 Stamatakis and Moeller discloses the system of claim 2. Stamatakis teaches a remote monitoring system and method utilizing sensors, nodes, gateways and servers to collect, store and transmit data to a user regarding items within a monitored facility.
Moeller teaches a container monitoring system and method to track and monitor container contents and transmit data to a user. However the Stamatakis and Moeller combination fails to explicitly state, wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include positions, temperature measurements, and humidity measurements for the plurality of containers.
However, the Stamatakis Moeller combination fails to disclose wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include, for a selected container from the plurality of containers, an aging timeline that includes, for the period that the selected container was stored in the container storage facility, a history of temperature, humidity, and location.
Cañete et al. teaches wherein the server is configured to cause the container inventory dashboard to include, for a selected container from the plurality of containers, an aging timeline that includes, for the period that the selected container was stored in the container storage facility, a history of temperature, humidity, and location (Figure 9(c) depicts a graph capable of displaying a timeline for temperature and humidity for each selected cask. The graph is capable of displaying a user selectable period for a selected cask).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the Stamatakis Moeller combination the ability to visualize received sensor data on a graphical user interface as taught by Cañete et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Herlin, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0297890 discusses a system for identifying the beer keg to a user which fills the keg and for identifying the date on which the beer keg is filled. A sensor system is attachable to or built into the beer keg, including at least one of the following sensors: a temperature sensor for the beer, a volume sensor for the beer present in the keg and a location sensor for the keg. A communication system transmits the sensor information to a remote data center for the user. Abstract
/ASHFORD S HAYLES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627