DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAN et al. (CN-212935326-U-published 9 April,2021), LI et al. (CN-114865467-B-published 13 September 2024), ALTMAN et al. (US-20230354546-A1-published 2 November, 2023), and JIAN et al. (US-20110096485-A1-published 28 April,2011).
As to claim 1, GAN discloses a waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, comprising: an inner cabinet body (25) including a bottom wall, a top wall, a rear wall, and two side walls that jointly define an accommodation space (See Annotated Figure GAN), the rear wall, and each of the two side walls has a plurality of second ventilation holes (15,21); and an outer cover (1) housing the inner cabinet body and including a top baffle, a rear baffle, and two side baffles, the top baffle corresponding in position to the top wall, the rear baffle corresponding in position to the rear wall, the two side baffles respectively corresponding in position to the two side walls, and each of the two side baffles shielding the second ventilation holes of the corresponding side wall (See Annotated Figure GAN);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Shielding portion covering the ventilation holes )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rear wall)][AltContent: textbox (Top baffle)][AltContent: textbox (Two side baffles shielding the second ventilation holes )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Waterproof heat dissipation cabinet with outer cover)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bottom wall)][AltContent: textbox (Top wall)][AltContent: textbox (Two side walls has a plurality of second ventilation holes )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inner cabinet with bottom wall, top wall, rear wall, and two side walls that jointly define an accommodation space)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (GAN)
GAN, however does not teach that the bottom wall has a plurality of first ventilation holes,
LI, however teaches the bottom wall having plurality of first ventilation holes (See Annotated Figure LI). The first ventilation holes at the bottom wall is designed in order to let the cold air outside the cabinet enter the cabinet body through the first ventilation holes (Paragraph 21).
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom wall having plurality of first ventilation holes designed to let the outside cold air enter the cabinet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (LI)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GAN with the teachings of LI, to incorporate a bottom wall having plurality of first ventilation holes in order to let the cold air enter the cabinet body for effective heat transfer.
GAN as modified by LI, however does not teach that the rear wall has at least one heat dissipation window,
ALTMAN, however teaches the rear wall having at least one heat dissipation window (See Annotated Figure ALTMAN). The aperture formed in the walls of the housing may be fitted with panels such as cooling component(s) integrated or removably attached (Paragraph 31).
[AltContent: textbox (Wall having at least one heat dissipation window where cooling components can be fitted)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (ALTMAN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GAN’s rear wall with the teachings of ALTMAN, to incorporate a heat dissipation window in order to fit it with panels such as cooling components.
GAN as modified by LI and ALTMAN, however still does not teach that the rear baffle has a plurality of heat dissipation holes that provide for air communication between the at least one heat dissipation window and an external environment.
JIAN, however teaches that the rear baffle has a plurality of heat dissipation holes that provide for air communication between the at least one heat dissipation window and an external environment (See Annotated Figure JIAN). During operation, the heated air flows out of the cabinet via the air ventilation holes of the back plate (Paragraph 26).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rear Baffle with plurality of heat dissipation holes that provide air communication between heat dissipation window and an external environment)]
Annotated Figure (JIAN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GAN’s outer cover’s rear baffle with the teachings of JIAN, to incorporate heat dissipation holes that provide air communication between at least one heat dissipation window and an external environment so that heated air can flow from the heat dissipation cabinet.
As to claim 2, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN teaches the limitations of claim 1, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN, however does not teach the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein each of the two side walls and the corresponding side baffle have a plurality of shielding portions disposed therebetween to respectively shield the second ventilation holes, and each of the shielding portions has an opening that provides for air communication between the shielded second ventilation hole and the external environment.
GAN, however teaches a shielding portion (2) that covers the ventilation hole (See Annotated Figure GAN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to have duplicated the shielding portion of GAN on each of the two side walls in order to shield the second ventilation holes such that each of the shielding portions has an opening that provides for air communication between the shielded second ventilation hole and the external environment. Duplication of parts is well within the technical grasp of one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI (B)
As to claim 3, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN teaches the limitation of claim 2, GAN further teaches the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein each of the shielding portions has a water shielding panel that extends from an external wall surface of the corresponding side wall to shield the corresponding second ventilation hole (See Annotated Figure GAN),
GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN, however does not teach the water shielding panel has a curved guiding surface. While, as stated above, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN, however does not teach the water shielding panel has a curved guiding surface, one having ordinary skill within the art would have found providing the water shielding panel with a curved guiding surface entirely obvious, as it has been held the shape of an object is a matter of choice which one having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. See MPEP 2144.04 -IV (B). Looking at the specification of the present invention, in particular paragraph 35, it is recited, “More specifically, each of the shielding portions 15 has a water shielding panel 151 that extends from an external wall surface of the corresponding side wall 14 to shield the corresponding second ventilation hole 140, and the water shielding panel 151 has a curved guiding surface S.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GAN’s water shielding panel with a curved guiding surface, as change in form or shape is an obvious engineering design, which the Applicant, without any new or unexpected results directed to an outcome of the claimed shape, has not placed any criticality thereon.
As to claim 5, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN teaches the limitations of claim 1, LI further teaches the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein the bottom wall has a central area and first and second peripheral areas located at two opposite sides of the central area, the first ventilation holes are arranged on the bottom wall into two ventilation hole arrays, one of the two ventilation hole arrays is located in the first peripheral area, and another of the two ventilation hole arrays is located in the second peripheral area; (See Annotated Figure LI 2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second ventilation holes on each of the two side walls)][AltContent: textbox (Second Peripheral Area with ventilation hole array)][AltContent: textbox (First Peripheral Area with ventilation hole array )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Central Area)]
Annotated Figure (LI 2)
GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN; LI further teaches the second ventilation holes are arranged on each of the two side walls.
However, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN does not teach teaches the second ventilation holes are arranged side-by-side in pairs on each of the two side walls. While, as stated above, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN does not teach teaches the second ventilation holes are arranged side-by-side in pairs on each of the two side walls, duplication of parts is well within the technical grasp of one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI (B). In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAN et al. (CN-212935326-U-published 9 April,2021), LI et al. (CN-114865467-B-published 13 September 2024), ALTMAN et al. (US-20230354546-A1-published 2 November, 2023), JIAN et al. (US-20110096485-A1-published 28 April,2011), and GUO et al. (US-20230407874-A1- published 21 December, 2023).
As to claim 4, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN teaches the limitations of claim 1, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN, however does not teach the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein the rear baffle and each of the two side baffles have a heat dissipation gap therebetween, and the rear baffle and the top baffle have another heat dissipation gap therebetween.
GUO, however teaches the heat dissipation gap that is formed between plate and a cover such that it is spaced apart to form a heat dissipation gap in order to communicate with external atmosphere (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN with the teachings of GUO, to incorporate heat dissipation gap, such that heat dissipation gap is formed between the rear baffle and each of the two side baffles, and between the rear baffle and the top baffle in order to shorten the heat dissipation path by directly communicating with the external atmosphere for improving heat dissipation performance.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAN et al. (CN-212935326-U-published 9 April,2021), LI et al. (CN-114865467-B-published 13 September 2024), ALTMAN et al. (US-20230354546-A1-published 2 November, 2023), JIAN et al. (US-20110096485-A1-published 28 April,2011), and AOKI et al. (US-20180359879-A1-published 13 December, 2018).
As to claim 6, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN teaches the limitations of claim 1, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN, however does not teach the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, further comprising at least one heat sink that is disposed on the rear wall of the inner cabinet body.
AOKI, however teaches a heat sink that is disposed on the rear wall of the inner cabinet body (Paragraph 108 mentions heat sink may be arranged on the rear wall of the case) (See Annotated Figure AOKI). This arrangement allows for the possibility to reduce the installation space of the electronic apparatus (Paragraph 96).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Plurality of heat dissipation fins are located outside the rear wall of the inner cabinet body )][AltContent: textbox (Heat sink base is located in the accommodation space)][AltContent: textbox (Heat sink passes through the heat dissipation window )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Heat sink disposed on the wall of the cabinet body)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (AOKI)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, and JIAN with the teachings of AOKI, to incorporate heat sink that is disposed on the rear wall of the inner cabinet body, in order to reduce the installation space of the electronic apparatus.
As to claim 7, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, JIAN, and AOKI teaches the limitations of claim 6, AOKI further teaches the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein the at least one heat sink passes through the at least one heat dissipation window (See Annotated Figure AOKI).
As to claim 8, , GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, JIAN, and AOKI teaches the limitations of claim 7, AOKI further teaches the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein the at least one heat sink includes a base and a plurality of heat dissipation fins (50), the base is located in the accommodation space of the inner cabinet body, and the heat dissipation fins are located between the rear wall of the inner cabinet body (Paragraph 108 mentions heat sink may be arranged on the rear wall of the case) and the rear baffle of the outer cover and connected to the base through the at least one heat dissipation window (See Annotated Figure AOKI).
As to claim 9, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, JIAN, and AOKI teaches the limitations of claim 8, AOKI further teaches the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein the heat dissipation fins are adjacent to the heat dissipation holes (See Annotated Figure AOKI).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAN et al. (CN-212935326-U-published 9 April,2021), LI et al. (CN-114865467-B-published 13 September 2024), ALTMAN et al. (US-20230354546-A1-published 2 November, 2023), JIAN et al. (US-20110096485-A1-published 28 April,2011), AOKI et al. (US-20180359879-A1-published 13 December, 2018), and WU et al. (US-20130168056-A1- published 4 July, 2013).
As to claim 10, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, JIAN, and AOKI teaches the limitations of claim 9, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, JIAN, and AOKI, however does not teach that the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet, wherein the base has a plurality of heat pipes buried therein.
WU, however teaches a heat sink with a base that has plurality of heat pipes buried therein. This design overcomes the problem that the heat transfer effect at inactive ends of the heat pipe becoming poor and improves the heat transfer efficiency (Paragraph 15) (See Annotated Figure WU).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Base of the heat sink having plurality of heat pipes buried therein)]
Annotated Figure (WU)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, GAN as modified by LI, ALTMAN, JIAN, and AOKI with the teachings of WU, to incorporate heat sink with a base that has plurality of heat pipes buried therein in order to improve the heat transfer efficiency of the waterproof heat dissipation cabinet.
Conclusion
/BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763