DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on December 11, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim appears to be directed to software/program per se; therefore, the claim(s) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter, see MPEP 2106.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dannenberg et al. US2020/0247518 (“Dannenberg”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 18-20. Dannenberg discloses a marine maneuvering system for a marine vessel (abstract, A marine propulsion system includes at least one propulsion device and a user input device configured to facilitate input for engaging automatic propulsion control functionality with respect to a docking surface), comprising:
a proximity sensor configured to sense at least portions of an environment surrounding the marine vessel ([0012] One embodiment of a method for controlling propulsion of a marine vessel includes receiving proximity measurements from one or more proximity sensors on the marine vessel and identifying at least one potential docking surface based on the proximity measurements.);
an input device adapted to provide navigational commands to the marine vessel ([0030] The operation console 22 includes a number of user input devices, such as a keypad 28, a joystick 30, a steering wheel 32, and one or more throttle/shift levers 34. The operation console 22 may further include a display 29,), wherein the input device comprises a movable joystick and a force feedback device being adapted to apply a force feedback to the joystick ([0069] In certain embodiments, an alert may be generated notifying the user that the buffer distance is no longer being maintained. The alert may, for example, specify the direction or side of the vessel where the buffer distance 50 is modified or eliminated, thereby advising the user that collision with an object on that side is possible or likely. In various examples, the alert may be provided via the display 29, such as a text or graphic alert displayed thereon. Alternatively or additionally, the alert may be provided via the joystick, such as by haptic and/or visual means. For example, the joystick may include a direction indicator display 115 as described herein, which includes one or more light indicators that illuminate to correspond with and indicate directions or side(s) of the vessel where the buffer distance is no longer being maintained.); and a
marine vessel control unit operatively connected to the proximity sensor and the input device, the marine vessel control unit being configured to: obtain a requested movement of the joystick, the requested movement indicating a speed value and a direction value for an upcoming navigation of the marine vessel; obtain one or more proximity signals from the proximity sensor in response to at least one target being sensed in the environment at least towards a direction indicated by the direction value ([0073] FIG. 6 depicts one embodiment of a propulsion control method 200 implementing proximity-based velocity limiting as described herein. Six closest proximity measurement values are provided, one in each of the +/−x direction, +/−y direction, and +/−yaw direction. The preset buffer distance 50, or “minimum range” that must be maintained from an object, is defined and provided, where the linear range limit is provided at block 103 and the rotational range limit is provided at block 104. In the example, the linear range limit is 5 m. Note that the range limit in the angular direction is an angular measurement, which in the example is 0.45 radians. The minimum range is then either added or subtracted from the respective distance value depending on the direction (and thus the sign) of the respective distance value. Summing blocks 105a-105f are each configured to assign the appropriate sign to the preset buffer value.);
determine a distance between the marine vessel and the at least one target based on the one or more proximity signals; and control the force feedback device to apply a force feedback to the joystick based on the determined distance ([0069], Alternatively or additionally, the alert may be provided via the joystick, such as by haptic and/or visual means. For example, the joystick may include a direction indicator display 115 as described herein, which includes one or more light indicators that illuminate to correspond with and indicate directions or side(s) of the vessel where the buffer distance is no longer being maintained.).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Dannenberg discloses wherein the marine vessel control unit is further configured to control the force feedback device to gradually increase the applied force feedback when the distance between the marine vessel and the target is decreasing ([0073] FIG. 6 depicts one embodiment of a propulsion control method 200 implementing proximity-based velocity limiting as described herein. Six closest proximity measurement values are provided, one in each of the +/−x direction, +/−y direction, and +/−yaw direction. The preset buffer distance 50, or “minimum range” that must be maintained from an object, is defined and provided, where the linear range limit is provided at block 103 and the rotational range limit is provided at block 104. In the example, the linear range limit is 5 m. Note that the range limit in the angular direction is an angular measurement, which in the example is 0.45 radians. The minimum range is then either added or subtracted from the respective distance value depending on the direction (and thus the sign) of the respective distance value. Summing blocks 105a-105f are each configured to assign the appropriate sign to the preset buffer value.);.
Regarding claim(s) 7. Dannenberg discloses wherein the marine vessel control unit is further configured to control the force feedback device to gradually increase the applied force feedback when the speed value is increasing ([0073] FIG. 6 depicts one embodiment of a propulsion control method 200 implementing proximity-based velocity limiting as described herein. Six closest proximity measurement values are provided, one in each of the +/−x direction, +/−y direction, and +/−yaw direction. The preset buffer distance 50, or “minimum range” that must be maintained from an object, is defined and provided, where the linear range limit is provided at block 103 and the rotational range limit is provided at block 104. In the example, the linear range limit is 5 m. Note that the range limit in the angular direction is an angular measurement, which in the example is 0.45 radians. The minimum range is then either added or subtracted from the respective distance value depending on the direction (and thus the sign) of the respective distance value. Summing blocks 105a-105f are each configured to assign the appropriate sign to the preset buffer value.)
Regarding claim(s) 8. Dannenberg discloses wherein the applied force feedback is overridable by an applied external force to the joystick exceeding a value of the force feedback ([0061] When the operator wants to suspend, or override, maintenance of the buffer distance by the propulsion control system 20, the operator provides input via a user input device on the operation console 22 such input may be provided, for example, via the user input devices described herein (see FIGS. 11-13). The user-generated instruction to suspend maintenance of the buffer distance 50 may be by any user input device or system that allows the operator to provide an intentional input that acknowledges that the marine vessel is near an object and that the operator intends to override the collision avoidance algorithm to allow the marine vessel to approach and impact the object O.).
Regarding claim(s) 9. Dannenberg discloses wherein upon the proximity signals indicating a plurality of targets in the environment towards at least a direction indicated by the direction value, the marine vessel control unit being configured to: determine a distance between the marine vessel and each one of the plurality of targets; and control the force feedback device to apply a force feedback to the joystick based on each one of the determined distances ([0062] Alternatively, the user input may be provided by other means. For example, the display 29 on the operation console 22 may be configured to present a user input option to the operator to suspend maintenance of the buffer distance 50 in one or all directions with respect to the marine vessel 10. In one embodiment, the display 29 may be controlled to present a user input option to suspend maintenance of the buffer distance 50 when the marine vessel is within a predetermined distance of the object O (e.g., dock O.sub.d). In such an embodiment, the option to suspend the buffer zone may be presented or otherwise available to the operator when the marine vessel is at the buffer distance 50, or within a predetermined range of the buffer distance 50. In other embodiments, the option to suspend the buffer zone 51 entirely or the buffer distance 50 in select directions may be available any time that the user input authority is being limited below the maximum propulsion authority 54.).
Regarding claim(s) 10. Dannenberg discloses the joystick being movable in three degrees of freedom, wherein the force feedback device comprises a respective force feedback unit for each degree of freedom of the joystick, wherein the marine vessel control unit is configured to control the application of the force feedback to the joystick through one or more of the force feedback units ([0039] The inventors have recognized unique problems presented by autonomous and semi-autonomous vessel control systems for operating in marine environments where marine vessels have additional degrees of freedom of movement compared to automotive applications—for example, they can effectuate only lateral and yaw movement without any forward or reverse movement (e.g., in a joysticking mode).
Regarding claim(s) 11. Dannenberg discloses wherein the marine vessel control unit is further configured to control the force feedback device based on navigable water conditions where the marine vessel is traveling, the navigable water conditions including one or more of wind speed, wave height, current strength, and weather condition ([0039] The inventors have recognized unique problems presented by autonomous and semi-autonomous vessel control systems for operating in marine environments where marine vessels have additional degrees of freedom of movement compared to automotive applications—for example, they can effectuate only lateral and yaw movement without any forward or reverse movement (e.g., in a joysticking mode). Additionally, marine environments pose unique external environmental factors acting on the marine vessel, such as current, wind, waves, or the like. The present inventors have recognized that autonomous and semi-autonomous control systems for marine vessels need to be “aware” of relevant vessel acceleration limits to avoid colliding with obstacles.).
Regarding claim(s) 12. Dannenberg discloses wherein the marine vessel control unit is further configured to: process the one or more proximity signals for determining at least one classification of the at least one target; and control the force feedback device to apply a force feedback to the joystick based on the determined at least one classification ([0042] The inventors have further recognized that maintenance of the buffer zone is not always desired or practical, such as when passengers are getting on and off the marine vessel. Through their experimentation and research, the inventors have recognized that maintenance of a minimum buffer distance between the marine vessel and an object, such as a dock, for instance, does not necessarily position the marine vessel well for passengers to disembark safely from a marine vessel. Depending on the vessel shape and the dock shape, holding a vessel parallel to the dock will not necessarily get passengers close enough to disembark safely and easily from the marine vessel. Moreover, holding the marine vessel steady at precisely the minimum buffer distance can be quite challenging or even impossible. Marine environmental factors and conditions, such as in heavy wind and waves, can inflict unpredictable forces affecting vessel movement. Moreover, many proximity sensing systems have minimum detection distances that fall short of the minimum distance for safe disembarking, and control systems implementing such proximity sensors cannot reliably hold the marine vessel at a minimum distance that is less than their minimum reliable detection capabilities.).
Regarding claim(s) 13. Dannenberg discloses wherein the at least one classification comprises one of a mobility attribute, a size attribute, a mass attribute, a living attribute, or a material composition attribute ([0094] Once the auto-docking or buffer zone suspension is selected by a user, the direction indicator 102a-102d on the selected side may be changed to indicate the current control functionality being executed. For example, the direction indicator 102a-102d on the selected docking side of the marine vessel may blink, pulse, change color, change shape, or otherwise indicate the control mode and the docking surface for which the control mode is active. The user input device 100 also includes a visual indicator 111 to indicate whether the docking control system is on or off. In the example at FIGS. 12A-12C, the visual indicator 111 is a light indicator that illuminates when the docking related sensing and control functionality is active. In other embodiments, the visual indicator 111 may be by other means and may provide more detail regarding the current control mode, selected functionality, or the like.).
Regarding claim(s) 14. Dannenberg discloses wherein the marine vessel control unit is further configured to: calculate a weighted value of a plurality of classifications from among the at least one classification; and control the force feedback device to apply a force feedback to the joystick based on the calculated weighted value ( [0081] In one embodiment, the potential docking surface 150 may be identified, or represented, as the best fit line based on relevant proximity measurements 90. For example, the controller 24 may be configured to identify and assess proximity measurements adjacent to or near each of the points in the MIO dataset to determine whether such a linear relationship exists. For example, the MIO dataset may be six values specifying one closest proximity measurement in each of the +/−x directions, +/−y directions, and +/−yaw rotational directions. In the example at FIG. 8, the marine vessel is approaching a docking surface on the starboard side, and thus multiple proximity measurements 90 align along that side.).
Regarding claim(s) 15. Dannenberg discloses wherein the requested movement of the joystick is received in response to one of a manually or automatically initiated movement of the joystick (0082] Upon identification of one or more potential docking surfaces 150 around the marine vessel, a user input device may be controlled to present a user with options to engage auto-docking with respect to one or more of those potential docking surfaces. Exemplary user interfaces configured for such purposes are disclosed herein (e.g., FIGS. 11-13). Once a user selection is received to engage auto-docking with respect to a docking surface 150—e.g., by receiving a direction selection at a user input device 100 as described herein—the controller may execute instructions to align the marine vessel 10 with the selected docking surface or surfaces and/or to move the marine vessel toward the docking surface 150 such that it gently impacts the dock. Velocity control is provided for such maneuvers based on the proximity of the docking surface and/or the needed alignment adjustment.).
Regarding claim(s) 16. Dannenberg discloses wherein the marine vessel control unit is further configured to control the force feedback device to apply a fixed or variable force feedback value ([0069] In certain embodiments, an alert may be generated notifying the user that the buffer distance is no longer being maintained. The alert may, for example, specify the direction or side of the vessel where the buffer distance 50 is modified or eliminated, thereby advising the user that collision with an object on that side is possible or likely. In various examples, the alert may be provided via the display 29, such as a text or graphic alert displayed thereon. Alternatively or additionally, the alert may be provided via the joystick, such as by haptic and/or visual means. For example, the joystick may include a direction indicator display 115 as described herein, which includes one or more light indicators that illuminate to correspond with and indicate directions or side(s) of the vessel where the buffer distance is no longer being maintained.).
Regarding claim(s) 17. Dannenberg discloses a marine vessel comprising the marine maneuvering system of claim 1 (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2- 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658