CTNF 18/976,516 CTNF 78830 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-34-01 Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites “[a] vehicle”, however, claim 1 (from which claim 10 depends) already recites a vehicle. Correction for antecedent basis is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0302472 to Schulz et al. (“Schulz”) in view of US 2004/0056124 to Haruch . Regarding claims 1-4 and 9-11, Schulz (in Figs. 2, 8-9, 13, 15, and associated text) discloses a cleaning system (60) for a vehicle (intended use, however, see vehicle 74) , the system comprising: a first medium unit (50) , an acceleration unit (see tapering conduit 44 and duct 36 in Figs. 2 and 8-9) , a second medium unit (40) , and a control unit (see controller in ¶ [0066]) , wherein the first medium unit is configured to guide a first medium into the acceleration unit (see Figs. 2 and 8-9) , the acceleration unit is configured to guide the first medium in a predetermined fluidic flow out of the cleaning system via a first outlet opening (intake 36 providing a channel opening into eductor 26) , the second medium unit is configured to introduce a second medium into the fluidic flow via a second outlet opening (via injection port 32 into eductor 26) , wherein the control unit is configured to: control a flow of the first medium and/or a flow of the second medium, and/or control a flow of respective media by a switching sequence (see ¶ [0066] and [0069], note the control of various components of the system using a controller) , wherein the cleaning system comprises a nozzle unit (spray element 22, see ¶ [0030] and Fig. 2 , wherein the nozzle unit is configured to atomize the predetermined fluidic flow (note the nozzle is designed to provide a homogeneous two-phase cleaning fluid comprising air and liquid droplets, i.e. atomize the predetermined fluid flow) , further comprising a jet shaping unit (opening 24 of the nozzle) , wherein the jet shaping unit surrounds the first outlet opening and the second outlet opening on an exterior of the cleaning system in order to shape the fluidic flow generated by the first medium unit and the second medium unit, and/or arranged on the jet shaping unit (see Figs. 2, 6, and 8-9 showing such configuration) , wherein the control unit is configured to control the characteristic of the fluidic flow as a function of: influencing variables currently acting on the fluidic flow, and/or the current cleaning requirements for the cleaning system (note the controlling of valves by the control unit with automatic or manual control of the fluid supply to the nozzle as needed in ¶ [0069]) , a vehicle (74) comprising at least one cleaning system according to claim 1 and a surface to be cleaned by the cleaning system (manifestly, the cleaning system of Schulz being used to clean a vehicle surface) , wherein the first medium is a liquid cleaning agent and the second medium is a pressurized gas (see above as well as ¶ [0062]-[0064] wherein the first medium is a cleaning fluid and second medium is compressed air) . Schulz discloses the claimed invention with the exception of a third medium unit and the control unit controlling a flow of the third medium as claimed. However, Haruch (in Figs. 1-3 and associated text) teaches a similar atomizing nozzle using first liquid medium unit (liquid passage 16), an accelerating unit (21), a second air medium (forming annular air passage 40), and a third air medium (angled air passage 48) for the purpose of atomizing and forming a desired spray pattern (Haruch at ¶ [0024]). Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to substitute one known nozzle configuration for the other to achieve the same and predictable results of achieving a desired spray pattern using known nozzle configurations. Regarding claim 5, Haruch further discloses wherein the third medium unit is configured to guide the third medium indirectly onto the fluidic flow by the third medium being emitted in a direction of an inner surface of the jet shaping unit and being deflected in the direction of the fluidic flow upon contact with the inner surface (see above and Fig. 1 of Haruch) . Regarding claim 6, Haruch further discloses wherein a main emission direction of the third medium from the third outlet opening crosses a main emission direction of the fluidic flow at an angle from 30° to 90°, and/or the third medium unit is configured to adapt a shape, and/or a size, and/or a direction of the fluidic flow (see Figs. 1-3 and ¶ [0022] describing angle Φ of between 30° to 90°) , Regarding claim 7, Haruch further discloses wherein the third medium unit comprises a plurality of third outlet openings (plural passages 48 in Figs. 1-3 and ¶ [0023]) , which are arranged in proximity to the first outlet opening and the second outlet opening, and/or the control unit is configured to control an output of the third medium via the plurality of third outlet openings, at least partially independently of one another (see Figs. 1-3 of Haruch; note the combination of Schulz and Haruch would include the control unit of Schulz controlling the third medium unit in a similar manner) . Regarding claim 8, Schulz combined with Haruch further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to continuously change an output pressure of the third medium during a cleaning process in order to effect a continuous deflection and/or change in shape of the fluidic flow (see control of the medium units in Schulz using valves to control fluid pressure, the combination of Schulz and Haruch resulting in a similar result) . Regarding claim 12, Haruch further discloses wherein the third outlet opening is arranged on an inner side of the jet shaping unit (see Figs. 1-3) . Regarding claim 13, Haruch further discloses wherein the main emission direction of the third medium from the third outlet opening crosses a main emission direction of the fluidic flow at an angle from 45° to 90° (see Figs. 1-3 and ¶ [0022] describing angle Φ of between 30° to 90°). Regarding claim 14, Haruch further discloses wherein the main emission direction of the third medium from the third outlet opening crosses a main emission direction of the fluidic flow at an angle from 60° to 90° (see Figs. 1-3 and ¶ [0022] describing angle Φ of between 30° to 90°) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2022/263239 to Sykes et al, which discloses cleaning a surface with a pressurized nozzle configured with a liquid medium unit and gas medium unit. US 2021/0387596 to Fiebrandt et al, which discloses a vehicle cleaning nozzle with air and liquid spray. US 6,161,778 to Haruch, which discloses an air atomizing liquid nozzle. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSEPH L PERRIN whose telephone number is (571)272-1305. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael E. Barr can be reached at 571-272-1414. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D. Primary Examiner Art Unit 1711 /Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/976,516 Page 2 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/976,516 Page 3 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/976,516 Page 4 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/976,516 Page 5 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/976,516 Page 6 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/976,516 Page 7 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/976,516 Page 8 Art Unit: 1711