DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 2, “a body” is unclear to how this relates to “a base and a cover” cited in claim 1. It is understood that the body includes the base and the cover.
Claim 3 is included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard (4626298) in view of Hiramitsu et al. (2018/0005726).
Allard discloses a wire harness assembly comprising a wire harness including an electric wire (12); and an assembly member in which the wire harness is arranged, wherein the assembly member includes a base (14); and a cover (16) attached to the base via a bonding portion (30), the bonding portion includes a wayside bonding portion arranged along the electric wire (Fig. 7), and a non-bonding region (between the lower surface of wire 12 and channel 20) in which the bonding portion is not arranged is provided between the base and the cover (re-claim 1). Allard also discloses the assembly member including a body (comprised of base 14 and cover 16) (re-claim 2).
Allard does not disclose a connector electrically connected to an end of the wire (re-claim 1).
Hiramitsu et al. discloses a wire harness assembly comprising a connector (14A) electrically connected to an end of an electric wire (11). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to electrically connect a connector to an end of the electric wire (12) of Allard to provide a connection means therefrom as taught by Hiramitsu et al.
Re-claims 2 and 3, Hiramitsu et al. discloses an assembly member including a body (21) in which the electric wire (11) is arranged; and an extension (24) in which the connector (14A) is arranged, the extension being formed as a single member continuous with the body, and the extension including a dividing portion (located between body 21 and extension 24, see [0053], the extending portion 24 extending forward from the end portion on the front side of the tubular portion 21…The tubular portion 21 is formed to extend over substantially the entire length…excluding the length of the extending portion 24). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include an extension as a single member continuous with the body (14, Fig. 9) of Allard to support the connector as taught by Hiramitsu et al. It is noted that in the modified harness assembly of Allard (Fig. 9), there is no bonding portion included at a position of the connector and the wire in the extension; and the dividing portion can be configured to divide the extension to expose the connector.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841