DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/24 and 12/12/24 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bahl et al. U.S. 2021/0019194 (hereinafter Bahl).
As per claim 1, 8, and 15, Bahl discloses a method/system/CRM, comprising:
a memory device;
one or more processor devices operatively coupled with the memory device to perform operations including:
learning actions for an agent based on states and an associated reward for the actions based on a cost and latency of microservices of a distributed computing application with a reinforcement learning model (Bahl: [0012]: reinforcement learning model to orchestrate microservice placement that minimizes TCO/cost while complying with SLA/latency; [0016]-[0020]: fundamentals of reinforcement learning model);
generating an optimal action based on a top ranked action with an associated reward that maximizes a reward value based on the cost and the latency of microservices with the reinforcement learning model (Bahl: [0016]; [0020]-[0021]: reward system to learn or approximate optimal policy); and
placing the microservices to an optimal location within a cloud and edge computing environment that satisfies the latency and the cost of the microservices based on the optimal action (Bahl: [0016] and [0020]-[0021]: determine set of actions that maximizes total reward for deployment…relocate the microservice containers of the application across multiple clouds).
As per claim 3, 10 and 17, Bahl discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 16 respectively. Bahl further discloses wherein learning the actions further comprises transforming collected microservice data and telemetry data into states as a workload experienced at a given time (Bahl: [0020]-[0021]: generate state-action value; [0043]: collect state information including microservice data and telemetry).
As per claim 5, 12 and 18, Bahl discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Bahl further discloses wherein generating the optimal action further comprises determining an accuracy of the actions based on newly collected data by exploring the actions (Bahl: [0021]: iteratively updating Q-values based on return value to determine optimal Q-value function).
As per claim 7, 14 and 20, Bahl discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Bahl further discloses wherein placing the microservices further comprises generating a pipeline for the microservices that manages a data transfer between entities in the cloud and edge computing environment for the distributed computer application (Bahl: [0012]: orchestrating microservice containers via service mesh in multi-cloud environment; [0108]-[0109]: pipeline for deploying microservice containers in CSP network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahl et al. U.S. 2021/0019194 (hereinafter Bahl) in view of Arvinte et al. U.S. 2022/0114033 (hereinafter Arvinte).
As per claim 2, 9 and 16, Bahl discloses the limitations of claims 1, 7 and 15 respectively. Bahl does not explicitly disclose wherein the distributed computer application further comprises trajectory generation for controlling an autonomous vehicle based on input data collected by sensors. However. Arvinte discloses use of reinforcement model for scheduling workloads applies to autonomous vehicle applications (Arvinte: [0025];[0039]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to extend application of RL model to edge devices that process sensor data to offload resource intensive tasks such as trajectory generation.
As per claim 4, Bahl as modified discloses the limitations of claim 2. Bahl as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein learning the actions further comprises training the agent to determine actions based on the states having associated rewards including a high reward value when latency is satisfied at a low cost, a low reward value when latency is satisfied at a high cost, a low reward value when latency is not satisfied at a low cost, and a low reward value when latency is not satisfied at a high cost. However, Bahl at least suggests determining reward based on total cost and service level agreement/latency according to user-defined criteria (Bahl: [0016]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to determine rewards based on the claimed criteria since minimizing latency while keeping cost low is well-known efficiency requirement.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahl et al. U.S. 2021/0019194 (hereinafter Bahl) in view of Anand et al. U.S. 2022/0007382 (hereinafter Anand).
As per claim 6 and 13, Bahl discloses the limitations of claim 1 and 8 respectively. Bahl does not explicitly disclose; however, Anand discloses wherein generating the optimal action further comprises simulating actions based on the states and the associated rewards for the actions (Anand: [0041]-[0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to train reinforcement learning model through simulation to prevent service degradation and financial cost, as well as improving efficiency.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahl et al. U.S. 2021/0019194 (hereinafter Bahl).
As per claim 11 and 19, Bahl discloses the limitations of claims 10 and 15 respectively. Bahl does not explicitly disclose wherein learning the actions further comprises training the agent to determine actions based on the states having associated rewards including a high reward value when latency is satisfied at a low cost, a low reward value when latency is satisfied at a high cost, a low reward value when latency is not satisfied at a low cost, and a low reward value when latency is not satisfied at a high cost. However, Bahl at least suggests determining reward based on total cost and service level agreement/latency according to user-defined criteria (Bahl: [0016]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to determine rewards based on the claimed criteria since minimizing latency while keeping cost low is well-known efficiency requirement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. U.S. 2026/0012783 discloses policy learning method with privacy protection in mobile edge computing for intelligent agent.
Meghani et al. U.S. 12,639,107 discloses scheduling with support for multiple scheduling objectives.
Zhang et al. U.S. 2025/0206345 discloses generating vehicle trajectories to account for deviations in training trajectories.
Qiu et al. U.S. 2025/0004858 discloses reinforcement learning policy serving and training framework in production cloud systems.
Jain et al. U.S. 2024/0007414 discloses method to optimize resource in edge networks.
Lin et al. U.S. 11,695,646 discloses deep reinforcement model to reduce latency in edge computing.
Narang et al. U.S. 11,260,882 discloses method for context-aware decision making of an autonomous agent.
Tzortzatos et al. U.S. 2021/0311786 discloses workload management using reinforcement learning.
Liu et al. U.S. 2020/0320397 discloses learning-based service migration in mobile edge computing.
Nag et al. U.S. 2020/0065157 discloses automated reinforcement-learning-based application manager that learns and improves a reward function.
Janulewicz et al. U.S. 2019/0138948 discloses reinforcement learning for autonomous telecommunications networks.
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431