DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-14 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0057605 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MolavianJazi et al. teach a method for scheduling a data channel, implemented by a terminal, the method comprising (Figs. 1 and 4-5, [0093], a UE (such as the UE 116) that is configured a set of co-scheduled cells, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling can provide full or partial information for values of cell-common and cell-specific fields for scheduling PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions on respective one or more cells from the set of co-scheduled cells),
MolavianJazi et al. teach receiving first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is used for scheduling N data channels, wherein the N data channels correspond to N cells in a first cell combination, N being a positive integer (Figs. 1 and 3-5, [0274-0275], the UE can receive DCI format(s) for multi-cell scheduling even before receiving a new MAC CE that activates a second subset of co-scheduled cells, but the UE expects to be provided an indication for a subset of co-scheduled cells by the DCI format(s). The subset of the set of co-scheduled cells can be provided by a DCI format in a PDCCH/PDSCH. The subset of cells can change between PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) for PDSCH/PUSCH scheduling as indicated by a corresponding DCI format. For example, a first DCI format in a first PDCCH MO indicates scheduling on a first subset of cells, while a second DCI format in a second PDCCH MO indicates scheduling on a second subset of cells).
Regarding claim 2, MolavianJazi et al. teach wherein the first DCI comprises a cell combination indicator field, the cell combination indicator field indicates the first cell combination (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0296], when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a set of co-scheduled cells including a first cell, the UE can receive a PDCCH with a DCI format (i.e. field) that schedules a PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission only on the first cell (single-cell scheduling DCI format). The UE can distinguish a single-cell scheduling DCI format from a multi-cell scheduling DCI format via various methods, such as a DCI format size, or an RNTI used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, or by an explicit indication by a field in the DCI format, or by a dedicated CORESET and associated search space sets. (Note: a DCI payload includes a "first cell combination" field, that is, a scheduled cell combination" field).
Regarding claim 3, MolavianJazi et al. teach wherein the cell combination indicator field indicates the first cell combination from P cell combinations corresponding to a first cell set, wherein P is a positive integer (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0094], when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a set of co-scheduled cells including a first cell, the UE can receive a PDCCH with a DCI format that schedules a PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission only on the first cell (single-cell scheduling DCI format). The UE can distinguish a single-cell scheduling DCI format from a multi-cell scheduling DCI format via various methods, such as a DCI format size, or an RNTI used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, or by an explicit indication by a field in the DCI format, or by a dedicated CORESET and associated search space sets).
Regarding claim 12, MolavianJazi et al. teach a network device, comprising: a processor, a transceiver connected to the processor, and a memory storing one or more executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the network device to (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0042], BS 102 includes multiple antennas 205a-205n, multiple radio frequency (RF) transceivers 210a-210n, transmit (TX) processing circuitry 215, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 220. The BS 102 also includes a controller/processor 225, a memory 230, and a backhaul or network interface 235. The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process. For example, the controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 according to a process that is being executed),
MolavianJazi et al. teach transmit first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is used for scheduling N data channels, wherein the N data channels correspond to N cells in a first cell combination, N being a positive integer (Figs. 1 and 4-5, [0274-0275], the UE can receive, (from the base station), DCI format(s) for multi-cell scheduling even before receiving a new MAC CE that activates a second subset of co-scheduled cells, but the UE expects to be provided an indication for a subset of co-scheduled cells by the DCI format(s). The subset of the set of co-scheduled cells can be provided by a DCI format in a PDCCH/PDSCH. The subset of cells can change between PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) for PDSCH/PUSCH scheduling as indicated by a corresponding DCI format. For example, a first DCI format in a first PDCCH MO indicates scheduling on a first subset of cells, while a second DCI format in a second PDCCH MO indicates scheduling on a second subset of cells).
Regarding claim 13, MolavianJazi et al. teach wherein the first DCI carries a cell combination indicator field, wherein the cell combination indicator field indicates the first cell combination (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0296], when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a set of co-scheduled cells including a first cell, the UE can receive a PDCCH with a DCI format (i.e. field) that schedules a PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission only on the first cell (single-cell scheduling DCI format). The UE can distinguish a single-cell scheduling DCI format from a multi-cell scheduling DCI format via various methods, such as a DCI format size, or an RNTI used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, or by an explicit indication by a field in the DCI format, or by a dedicated CORESET and associated search space sets. (Note: a DCI payload includes a "first cell combination" field, that is, a scheduled cell combination" field).
Regarding claim 14, MolavianJazi et al. teach wherein the cell combination indicator field indicates the first cell combination from P cell combinations corresponding to a first cell set, wherein P is a positive integer (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0094], when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a set of co-scheduled cells including a first cell, the UE can receive a PDCCH with a DCI format that schedules a PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission only on the first cell (single-cell scheduling DCI format). The UE can distinguish a single-cell scheduling DCI format from a multi-cell scheduling DCI format via various methods, such as a DCI format size, or an RNTI used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, or by an explicit indication by a field in the DCI format, or by a dedicated CORESET and associated search space sets).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0057605 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2026/0247397 A1).
MolavianJazi et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. MolavianJazi et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field is determined based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set; regarding claim 15, wherein a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field is determined based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set.
Regarding claim 4, Yang et al. teach wherein a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field is determined based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set ([0324], DCI may support multi-cell scheduling based on a plurality of cells configured in the UE. The DCI may include a first DCI field commonly configured for co-scheduled cells. Based on that the plurality of serving cells include a first cell and a second cell, and that a size related configuration of the first DCI field is M-bit for scheduling of the first cell and is N-bit for scheduling of the second cell, respectively: the size of the first DCI field commonly configured for the co-scheduled cells may be determined as a lager one of the M-bit and the N-bit).
Regarding claim 15, Yang et al. teach wherein a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field is determined based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set ([0324], DCI may support multi-cell scheduling based on a plurality of cells configured in the UE. The DCI may include a first DCI field commonly configured for co-scheduled cells. Based on that the plurality of serving cells include a first cell and a second cell, and that a size related configuration of the first DCI field is M-bit for scheduling of the first cell and is N-bit for scheduling of the second cell, respectively: the size of the first DCI field commonly configured for the co-scheduled cells may be determined as a lager one of the M-bit and the N-bit).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MolavianJazi et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Yang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set. The motivation is to support an improved method for transmitting or receiving a downlink/uplink radio signal in a wireless communication system (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0057605 A1) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0354331 A1) (Molavian’331 hereinafter).
MolavianJazi et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. MolavianJazi et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the first DCI comprises a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set; regarding claim 6, wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on a number of the at least one cell set; regarding claim 16, wherein the first DCI carries a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set; regarding claim 17, wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on a number of the at least one cell set.
Regarding claim 5, Molavian’331 teaches wherein the first DCI comprises a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set (Figs. 1 and 10, [0466, 0483], when using a two-stage method for joint scheduling of a set/subset of co-scheduled cells, as described herein, when the 1st stage DCI (i.e. first DCI) is on a first PDCCH on a first cell, and the 2nd stage DCI is on a first PDSCH on a second cell. In a first approach, referred to as concatenated DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, a single DCI format can include information of all scheduling parameters for all the co-scheduled PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions, except possibly for some information that is provided by higher layers or predetermined by the specifications for system operations or implicitly determined by the UE. For example, the MC-DCI format can provide separate values of fields for PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission on each of the multiple co-scheduled cells. A first value corresponds to a first cell, a second value corresponds to a second cell, and so on. Therefore, DCI format fields for the multiple cells are concatenated, thereby referring to such DCI format as a concatenated DCI format for multi-cell scheduling. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have different channel characteristics or configurations, such as for inter-band CA operation, or for co-scheduling a PDSCH reception and a PUSCH transmission. Some DCI fields can be cell-common and provided only once in a concatenated DCI format. In one example, a functionality of a field in a first DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission on a single cell and provides information for multiple cells).
Regarding claim 6, Molavian’331 teaches wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on a number of the at least one cell set (Figs. 1 and 10, [0465], a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling provides an index for a subset of cells that are co-scheduled such as a CIF value that corresponds to a subset of one or more cells from a set of co-scheduled cells. For example, UE-specific RRC signaling can indicate first/second/third/fourth indexes and corresponding first/second/third/fourth subsets that include one or more cells from a set of co-scheduled cells, wherein a subset can also include all cells from the set of co-scheduled cells. Then, a CIF field of 2 bits in a DCI format can provide a value that indicates the subset of scheduled cells. Such CIF refers, in general, to sets of co-scheduled cells, rather than individual scheduled cells, so can be referred to as “set-level” CIF (compared to “cell-level” CIF for the latter). The UE can be provided separate configuration for a first number of sets/subsets of co-scheduled cells for PDSCH reception, compared to a second number of sets/subsets of co-scheduled cells for PUSCH transmission. Therefore, the UE can be provided a first set of indexes for set-level CIFs for PDSCH receptions that are different from a second set of indexes for set-level CIFs for PUSCH transmissions. For example, the UE can be provided 4 bits for “set-level” CIF for PDSCH receptions, and 3 bits for “set-level” CIF for PUSCH transmissions. The set-level CIF can be also referred to as cell-set indicator function value or carrier-set indicator function value).
Regarding claim 16, Molavian’331 teaches wherein the first DCI carries a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set (Figs. 1 and 10, [0466, 0483], when using a two-stage method for joint scheduling of a set/subset of co-scheduled cells, as described herein, when the 1st stage DCI (i.e. first DCI) is on a first PDCCH on a first cell, and the 2nd stage DCI is on a first PDSCH on a second cell. In a first approach, referred to as concatenated DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, a single DCI format can include information of all scheduling parameters for all the co-scheduled PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions, except possibly for some information that is provided by higher layers or predetermined by the specifications for system operations or implicitly determined by the UE. For example, the MC-DCI format can provide separate values of fields for PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission on each of the multiple co-scheduled cells. A first value corresponds to a first cell, a second value corresponds to a second cell, and so on. Therefore, DCI format fields for the multiple cells are concatenated, thereby referring to such DCI format as a concatenated DCI format for multi-cell scheduling. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have different channel characteristics or configurations, such as for inter-band CA operation, or for co-scheduling a PDSCH reception and a PUSCH transmission. Some DCI fields can be cell-common and provided only once in a concatenated DCI format. In one example, a functionality of a field in a first DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission on a single cell and provides information for multiple cells)
Regarding claim 17, Molavian’331 teaches wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on a number of the at least one cell set (Figs. 1 and 10, [0465], a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling provides an index for a subset of cells that are co-scheduled such as a CIF value that corresponds to a subset of one or more cells from a set of co-scheduled cells. For example, UE-specific RRC signaling can indicate first/second/third/fourth indexes and corresponding first/second/third/fourth subsets that include one or more cells from a set of co-scheduled cells, wherein a subset can also include all cells from the set of co-scheduled cells. Then, a CIF field of 2 bits in a DCI format can provide a value that indicates the subset of scheduled cells. Such CIF refers, in general, to sets of co-scheduled cells, rather than individual scheduled cells, so can be referred to as “set-level” CIF (compared to “cell-level” CIF for the latter). The UE can be provided separate configuration for a first number of sets/subsets of co-scheduled cells for PDSCH reception, compared to a second number of sets/subsets of co-scheduled cells for PUSCH transmission. Therefore, the UE can be provided a first set of indexes for set-level CIFs for PDSCH receptions that are different from a second set of indexes for set-level CIFs for PUSCH transmissions. For example, the UE can be provided 4 bits for “set-level” CIF for PDSCH receptions, and 3 bits for “set-level” CIF for PUSCH transmissions. The set-level CIF can be also referred to as cell-set indicator function value or carrier-set indicator function value).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MolavianJazi et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Molavian’331 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of having first DCI comprises a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set, and wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on a number of the at least one cell set. The motivation is to support an improved method for monitoring for multi-cell scheduling of PDCCH (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0057605 A1) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0354331 A1) (Molavian’331 hereinafter) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2025/0212229 A1).
MolavianJazi et al. and Molavian’331 disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. MolavianJazi et al. and Molavian’331 do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on log2M, M is a number of the at least one cell set; regarding claim 8, wherein the number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M; regarding claim 18, wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on log2M, M is a number of the at least one cell set; regarding claim 19, wherein the number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M.
Regarding claim 7, Choi et al. teach wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on log2M, M is a number of the at least one cell set (Fig. 7, [0155-0165], when the maximum number of HPNs for a specific cell is configured to M and only one corresponding cell is scheduled via multi-cell DCI, an HPN field of K=ceil{log.sub.2(M)} (or 4) bits is configured, and a value of one of the M HPNs is indicated through the corresponding field. In case multiple cells (including the cell) are scheduled via multi-cell DCI, the HPN field (corresponding to the cell) may be configured with only L bits (L<K) (or K bits), and in this case, 2.sup.L (or M) HPN values (one HPN value there among) may be indicated via the corresponding field. When the maximum HPN number M configured for each cell is different, the HPN field for each cell may be configured with the minimum number of bits (e.g. ceil(log.sub.2M)) that matches the M value configured for each cell. For a specific DCI field in the existing single-cell DCI, the size of the corresponding DCI field may be configured to L=ceil {log 2(N)} bits (in a state in which N states/indexes are to be indicated through the corresponding DCI field), and in this case, L may be configured to a different (or the same) value for each cell. When the HPN field (or RV field) in the multi-cell DCI is configured based on the separation method, first, for each of a plurality of (for example, N_co) co-scheduled cell sets configured in the schedulable cell set. (Note: The number of bits per cell is based on log2(M) and (M) represents the total number of unique signal states. As disclosed above, the log2(M) calculates how many bits are needed to represent each unique state).
Regarding claim 8, Choi et al. teach wherein the number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M (Fig. 7, [0155-0162], when the maximum number of HPNs for a specific cell is configured to M and only one corresponding cell is scheduled via multi-cell DCI, an HPN field of K=ceil{log.sub.2(M)} (or 4) bits is configured, and a value of one of the M HPNs is indicated through the corresponding field. In case multiple cells (including the cell) are scheduled via multi-cell DCI, the HPN field (corresponding to the cell) may be configured with only L bits (L<K) (or K bits), and in this case, 2.sup.L (or M) HPN values (one HPN value there among) may be indicated via the corresponding field. When the maximum HPN number M configured for each cell is different, the HPN field for each cell may be configured with the minimum number of bits (e.g. ceil(log.sub.2M)) that matches the M value configured for each cell. For a specific DCI field in the existing single-cell DCI, the size of the corresponding DCI field may be configured to L=ceil {log 2(N)} bits (in a state in which N states/indexes are to be indicated through the corresponding DCI field),
Regarding claim 18, Choi et al. teach wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is determined based on log2M, M is a number of the at least one cell set (Fig. 7, [0155-0165], when the maximum number of HPNs for a specific cell is configured to M and only one corresponding cell is scheduled via multi-cell DCI, an HPN field of K=ceil{log.sub.2(M)} (or 4) bits is configured, and a value of one of the M HPNs is indicated through the corresponding field. In case multiple cells (including the cell) are scheduled via multi-cell DCI, the HPN field (corresponding to the cell) may be configured with only L bits (L<K) (or K bits), and in this case, 2.sup.L (or M) HPN values (one HPN value there among) may be indicated via the corresponding field. When the maximum HPN number M configured for each cell is different, the HPN field for each cell may be configured with the minimum number of bits (e.g. ceil(log.sub.2M)) that matches the M value configured for each cell. For a specific DCI field in the existing single-cell DCI, the size of the corresponding DCI field may be configured to L=ceil {log 2(N)} bits (in a state in which N states/indexes are to be indicated through the corresponding DCI field), and in this case, L may be configured to a different (or the same) value for each cell. When the HPN field (or RV field) in the multi-cell DCI is configured based on the separation method, first, for each of a plurality of (for example, N_co) co-scheduled cell sets configured in the schedulable cell set. (Note: The number of bits per cell is based on log2(M) and (M) represents the total number of unique signal states. As disclosed above, the log2(M) calculates how many bits are needed to represent each unique state).
Regarding claim 19, Choi et al. teach wherein the number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M (Fig. 7, [0155-0162], when the maximum number of HPNs for a specific cell is configured to M and only one corresponding cell is scheduled via multi-cell DCI, an HPN field of K=ceil{log.sub.2(M)} (or 4) bits is configured, and a value of one of the M HPNs is indicated through the corresponding field. In case multiple cells (including the cell) are scheduled via multi-cell DCI, the HPN field (corresponding to the cell) may be configured with only L bits (L<K) (or K bits), and in this case, 2.sup.L (or M) HPN values (one HPN value there among) may be indicated via the corresponding field. When the maximum HPN number M configured for each cell is different, the HPN field for each cell may be configured with the minimum number of bits (e.g. ceil(log.sub.2M)) that matches the M value configured for each cell. For a specific DCI field in the existing single-cell DCI, the size of the corresponding DCI field may be configured to L=ceil {log 2(N)} bits (in a state in which N states/indexes are to be indicated through the corresponding DCI field),
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MolavianJazi et al. with Molavian’331 by incorporating the features as taught by Choi et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining a number of bits of the cell set indicator field based on log2M, M is a number of the at least one cell set. The motivation is to support an improved method for efficiently transmitting and receiving control and data signals in a wireless communication system (see [0004]).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0057605 A1) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2024/0040429 A1) (Jazi’429 hereinafter).
MolavianJazi et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. MolavianJazi et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 9, further comprising: determining the P cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set based on configuration information of a higher layer, wherein P is a positive integer; regarding claim 20, wherein one or more executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, further cause the network device to: indicate the P cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set based on configuration information of a higher layer, wherein P is a positive integer.
Regarding claim 9, Jazi’429 teaches further comprising: determining the P cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set based on configuration information of a higher layer, wherein P is a positive integer (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0225, 0321, 0324], UE can determine a number of entries in each row of the corresponding joint multi-cell tables. For example, an indicator of co-scheduled cells in a DCI format 0_X/1_X indicates a cell combination that is a strict subset of and has fewer cells than the set of cells configured for multi-cell scheduling. The UE can determine a number of or a bit-width of values provided for a cell-specific/Type-2 field. For example, a maximum number of cells across different cell combinations is smaller than the size of the set of cells configured for multi-cell scheduling. For example, the UE can be configured a set of 4 cells for multi-cell scheduling, and cell combinations with 2 or 3 cells are configured for co-scheduling by a DCI format 0_X/1_X (and a cell combination with 4 cells is not configured). In one example, the cell-specific/Type-2 field in DCI format 0_X/1_X can include 3 values. In another example, the cell-specific/Type-2 field in DCI format 0_X/1_X can include 4 values (including some reserved values). A DCI format for multi-cell scheduling provides a number of co-scheduled cells, and the indexes of the co-scheduled cells are provided by additional embodiments, such as by an additional DCI format or by higher layer signaling.
Regarding claim 20, Jazi’429 teaches wherein one or more executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, further cause the network device to (Fig. 2, [0045], controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as processes for supporting determination of DCI sizes for multi-cell scheduling in a wireless communication system as discussed in embodiments of the present disclosure. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process),
Jazi’429 teaches indicate the P cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set based on configuration information of a higher layer, wherein P is a positive integer (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0225, 0321, 0324], UE can determine a number of entries in each row of the corresponding joint multi-cell tables. For example, an indicator of co-scheduled cells in a DCI format 0_X/1_X indicates a cell combination that is a strict subset of and has fewer cells than the set of cells configured for multi-cell scheduling. The UE can determine a number of or a bit-width of values provided for a cell-specific/Type-2 field. For example, a maximum number of cells across different cell combinations is smaller than the size of the set of cells configured for multi-cell scheduling. For example, the UE can be configured a set of 4 cells for multi-cell scheduling, and cell combinations with 2 or 3 cells are configured for co-scheduling by a DCI format 0_X/1_X (and a cell combination with 4 cells is not configured). In one example, the cell-specific/Type-2 field in DCI format 0_X/1_X can include 3 values. In another example, the cell-specific/Type-2 field in DCI format 0_X/1_X can include 4 values (including some reserved values). A DCI format for multi-cell scheduling provides a number of co-scheduled cells, and the indexes of the co-scheduled cells are provided by additional embodiments, such as by an additional DCI format or by higher layer signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MolavianJazi et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jazi’429 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining the P cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set based on configuration information of a higher layer, wherein P is a positive integer. The motivation is to support an improved method for multi-cell scheduling in a wireless communication system (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0057605 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2026/0247397 A1).
Regarding claim 10, MolavianJazi et al. teach a network device, comprising: a processor, a transceiver connected to the processor, and a memory storing one or more executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the network device to (Figs. 1, 3 and 4-5, [0047, 0051], the UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a RF transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, an input device 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361. The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for beam management. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process. In some embodiments, the processor 340 is configured to execute the applications 362 based on the OS 361),
MolavianJazi et al. teach receive first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is used for scheduling N data channels, wherein the N data channels correspond to N cells in a first cell combination, N being a positive integer (Figs. 1 and 3-5, [0274-0275, 0296], the UE can receive DCI format(s) for multi-cell scheduling even before receiving a new MAC CE that activates a second subset of co-scheduled cells, but the UE expects to be provided an indication for a subset of co-scheduled cells by the DCI format(s). The subset of the set of co-scheduled cells can be provided by a DCI format in a PDCCH/PDSCH. The subset of cells can change between PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) for PDSCH/PUSCH scheduling as indicated by a corresponding DCI format. For example, a first DCI format in a first PDCCH MO indicates scheduling on a first subset of cells, while a second DCI format in a second PDCCH MO indicates scheduling on a second subset of cells).
MolavianJazi et al. teach and the first DCI comprises a cell combination indicator field, the cell combination indicator field indicates the first cell combination from P cell combination corresponding to the first cell set, wherein the P is a positive integer (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0094, 0296], when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a set of co-scheduled cells including a first cell, the UE can receive a PDCCH with a DCI format (i.e. field) that schedules a PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission only on the first cell (single-cell scheduling DCI format). The UE can distinguish a single-cell scheduling DCI format from a multi-cell scheduling DCI format via various methods, such as a DCI format size, or an RNTI used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, or by an explicit indication by a field in the DCI format, or by a dedicated CORESET and associated search space sets. (Note: a DCI payload includes a "first cell combination" field, that is, a scheduled cell combination" field). When a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a set of co-scheduled cells including a first cell, the UE can receive a PDCCH with a DCI format that schedules a PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission only on the first cell (single-cell scheduling DCI format). The UE can distinguish a single-cell scheduling DCI format from a multi-cell scheduling DCI format via various methods, such as a DCI format size, or an RNTI used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, or by an explicit indication by a field in the DCI format, or by a dedicated CORESET and associated search space sets).
MolavianJazi et al. teach and a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field is determined based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5, [0305], UE can distinguish multi-cell scheduling based on an explicit field or indication in a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling. For example, a DCI format can include a 1-bit flag, with a value ‘1’ corresponding to multi-cell scheduling, and a value ‘0’ corresponding to single-cell scheduling. In one example, a UE can distinguish multi-cell scheduling based on a validation procedure for a single-cell scheduling DCI format. For example, when values for one or more DCI fields in a single-cell scheduling DCI format is set to default/predetermined values, the UE determines that the DCI format is used for multi-cell scheduling. In example, one or more DCI fields corresponding to cell-specific scheduling parameters, such as HARQ process number (HPN), redundancy version (RV), SRS resource indicator (SRI), TCI state, APs, time domain resource allocation (TDRA), frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), or MCS, can be set to all-zeros or all-ones values, for the case of multi-cell scheduling).
MolavianJazi et al. is teaching scheduling plurality of data channels of the first cell combination based on the first DCI. MolavianJazi et al., however, fail to expressly disclose determining of number of bits of cell combination. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 10, Yang et al. teach a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field is determined based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set ([0324], DCI may support multi-cell scheduling based on a plurality of cells configured in the UE. The DCI may include a first DCI field commonly configured for co-scheduled cells. Based on that the plurality of serving cells include a first cell and a second cell, and that a size related configuration of the first DCI field is M-bit for scheduling of the first cell and is N-bit for scheduling of the second cell, respectively: the size of the first DCI field commonly configured for the co-scheduled cells may be determined as a lager one of the M-bit and the N-bit).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MolavianJazi et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Yang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining a number of bits of the cell combination indicator field based on a number P of cell combinations corresponding to the first cell set. The motivation is to support an improved method for transmitting or receiving a downlink/uplink radio signal in a wireless communication system (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0057605 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2026/0247397 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0354331 A1) (Molavian’331 hereinafter) and Choi et al. (US 2025/0212229 A1).
MolavianJazi et al. and Yang et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 4 above. MolavianJazi et al. and Yang et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the first DCI comprises a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set, wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M, M being a number of the at least one cell set.
Regarding claim 11, Molavian’331 teaches wherein the first DCI comprises a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set (Figs. 1 and 10, [0466, 0483], when using a two-stage method for joint scheduling of a set/subset of co-scheduled cells, as described herein, when the 1st stage DCI (i.e. first DCI) is on a first PDCCH on a first cell, and the 2nd stage DCI is on a first PDSCH on a second cell. In a first approach, referred to as concatenated DCI format for multi-cell scheduling, a single DCI format can include information of all scheduling parameters for all the co-scheduled PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions, except possibly for some information that is provided by higher layers or predetermined by the specifications for system operations or implicitly determined by the UE. For example, the MC-DCI format can provide separate values of fields for PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission on each of the multiple co-scheduled cells. A first value corresponds to a first cell, a second value corresponds to a second cell, and so on. Therefore, DCI format fields for the multiple cells are concatenated, thereby referring to such DCI format as a concatenated DCI format for multi-cell scheduling. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have different channel characteristics or configurations, such as for inter-band CA operation, or for co-scheduling a PDSCH reception and a PUSCH transmission. Some DCI fields can be cell-common and provided only once in a concatenated DCI format. In one example, a functionality of a field in a first DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception or PUSCH transmission on a single cell and provides information for multiple cells).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MolavianJazi et al. with Yang et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Molavian’331 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of having first DCI comprises a cell set indicator field, wherein the cell set indicator field indicates the first cell set from at least one cell set. The motivation is to support an improved method for monitoring for multi-cell scheduling of PDCCH (see [0002]).
MolavianJazi et al., Yang et al. and Molavian’331 disclose the claimed limitation as described above. MolavianJazi et al., Yang et al. and Molavian’331 do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M, M being a number of the at least one cell set.
Regarding claim 11, Choi et al. teach wherein a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M, M being a number of the at least one cell set (Fig. 7, [0155-0162], when the maximum number of HPNs for a specific cell is configured to M and only one corresponding cell is scheduled via multi-cell DCI, an HPN field of K=ceil{log.sub.2(M)} (or 4) bits is configured, and a value of one of the M HPNs is indicated through the corresponding field. In case multiple cells (including the cell) are scheduled via multi-cell DCI, the HPN field (corresponding to the cell) may be configured with only L bits (L<K) (or K bits), and in this case, 2.sup.L (or M) HPN values (one HPN value there among) may be indicated via the corresponding field. When the maximum HPN number M configured for each cell is different, the HPN field for each cell may be configured with the minimum number of bits (e.g. ceil(log.sub.2M)) that matches the M value configured for each cell. For a specific DCI field in the existing single-cell DCI, the size of the corresponding DCI field may be configured to L=ceil {log 2(N)} bits (in a state in which N states/indexes are to be indicated through the corresponding DCI field),
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of MolavianJazi et al. with Yang et al. and Molavian’331 by incorporating the features as taught by Choi et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of having a number of bits of the cell set indicator field is log2M, M being a number of the at least one cell set. The motivation is to support an improved method for efficiently transmitting and receiving control and data signals in a wireless communication system (see [0004]).
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
9/11/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473