Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/11/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-7, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Du (US 2008/0172485 A1, hereinafter Du), in view of, Zhou et al. (US 2017/0046346 A1, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Du disclose, a method (see e.g., “systems and methods for providing ratings of users of a dating service generated by other members of the service.”, [0006]) comprising:
obtaining first user input related to a person-to-person interaction between a user and an individual (see e.g., “the interactions 401 take the form of emails exchanged on the Web site 6. In some embodiments, a single interaction may include at least one initiated message and one reply message back to the person who initiated the message”, Fig. 3, [0029] and/or “a first person 8(a) has clicked on a "rate me" link 501 associated with a second person 8(b), with whom the first person 8(a) has had at least the predetermined number of interactions Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 5, [0030]);
obtaining data associated with the person-to-person interaction (see e.g., “a number of interactions 401 have taken place between two persons using the service. In this case the interactions 401 take the form of emails exchanged on the Web site 6”, Fig. 3, [0029] and/or “Such electronic interactions could be in the form of emails, text messages, telephone calls, message boards, or any other standard interaction offered to users of the service.”, [0007]);
determining a weighted rating associated with the individual based on, at least, the first user input and the data associated with the person-to-person interaction (see e.g., “step 301, which requires that a pre-determined number of individual rating values 102 as to a particular person be collected before a rating value is provided 103 on the Web site 6 by the service 19. For example, before a modified rating value for the second person 8(b) is provided, the service 19 may require that the second person receive at least 10 individual rating values before it will post the modified rating value associated with the second person 8(b)”, Fig. 2(c), [0033]);
obtaining, from one or more databases, a global rating associated with the individual, wherein the global rating is related to at least one historical person-to-person interaction of the individual with at least one of the user or one or more other users (see e.g., “The server computer 5 may have access to one or more databases of information. As shown in FIG. 1, the server computer 5 may have access to a personal profile database 1 and a rating database 3. The personal profile database 1 may include a person's personal preferences, images, and characteristics (e.g., educational background, physical characteristics, etc.)”, [0023] and/or “the Web site 6 presents an average rating value 601 of the second person 8(b), based on the individual rating values it has received from other persons. The average rating value 601 is an example of a modified rating. For example, the average rating value for the second person 8(b) could be the average rating value of the individual rating values provided by the first person 8(a) and the fourth person 8(d). The average rating value may be viewed on the Web site 6 by the third person 8(c)”, Fig. 6, [0031] and/or “A "modified rating value" is derived from an individual rating value. For example, the modified rating value may be a combination (e.g., an average) of two or more individual rating values from two or more different persons”, [0024]; Examiner note: “database 3” and “an average rating value 601 of the second person 8(b), based on the individua rating value received from other persons” equivalent to “obtaining from database, global rating associated with the individual”);
Du fails to explicitly disclose, updating the global rating associated with the individual based on the weighted rating.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses, updating the global rating associated with the individual based on the weighted rating (see e.g., “As a user generates more data (e.g., writing a review) and engages with others, his/her character badges may need to be updated. The character badge tanager 124 is to help update a user's one or more character badges either periodically or on demand.”, [0042] and/or “A character badge manifests a person's one or more unique qualities in a given context (e.g., a person's buyer personality vs, dating personality) and helps establish the person's reputation in the specific context.”, [0027] and/or “Character badges may be communicated in one or more ways to externalize the badge owner's unique character and reputation to others”, [0033] and/or “associate each person with a set of traits that can uniquely identify the character of the person and reflect the person's reputation online and/or in the real world. This can help peer-to-peer engagement, which refers to any type of interactions, online or in the real-world, between two or more peers for the purpose of establishing and maintaining one or more relationships, including but not limited to professional (e.g., among colleagues), social (e.g., among friends), personal (e.g. among family members or romantic partners), and transactional (e.g., among buyers and sellers) relationship”, [0028])..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Du with Zhou, in order to help peer-to-peer engagement, which refers to any type of interactions, online or in the real-world, between two or more peers for the purpose of establishing and maintaining one or more relationships, including but not limited to professional (e.g., among colleagues), social (e.g., among friends), personal (e.g. among family members or romantic partners), and transactional (e.g., among buyers and sellers) relationship (please see Zhou, [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Du and Zhou combined disclose, wherein the global rating associated with the individual is configured for use for initiating one or more actions during a subsequent person-to-person interaction between the individual and at least one of the user or one or more other users (see Du e.g., “The modified rating value is then made available to other persons who use the service (e.g., a third person who might consider dating the second person) so that the particular person being rated can be evaluated as a potential companion. The unmodified individual rating values could also be made available to third persons through the service”, [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Du and Zhou combined disclose, further comprising determining the individual involved in the person-to-person interaction based on: obtaining second user input indicating identification data of the individual (see Du e.g., “The Web site 6 may also have a number of graphical user interfaces for the user to input information such as his name, grade, preferences, etc.”, [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Du and Zhou combined disclose, wherein the first user input comprises: a numerical score (see Du e.g., “Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 4, [0030] and/or “The rating value may be in alphanumeric form (e.g., 9 on a scale of 1-10)”, [0024]; Examiner’s Note: Numerical ration of “9” shown in Fig.4, rating area 502);
a scaled rating (see Du e.g., “Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 4, [0030]; Examiner’s note: scaled rating of 1-9);
a thumbs up or a thumbs down (see Du e.g., “Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 4, [0030]; Examiner’s note: scaled rating of 1-9 and (Not-Hot) equivalent to thumbs down and thumbs up, which are design preferences).
Regarding claim 6, Du and Zhou combined disclose, the first user input comprises a plurality of user input related to a plurality of categories, and the categories comprise one or more of a professionalism category, an attitude category, an aggressiveness category, or an overall score category (see Du e.g., “the service allows the first person to enter an individual rating value as to one or more qualities of the second person. The qualities to be rated could vary widely, depending on the type of service…may include a relatively small number of characteristics to be rated...by contrast, may include a much more substantive set of characteristics for which a person is to be rated. Such rating values may correspond to an overall rating for a person, the appearance of the person, the manners of the person, the education of the person, honesty of a person, reliability of a person, etc.”, [0017] and/or “the server computer 5 may have access to a personal profile database 1 and a rating database 3. The personal profile database 1 may include a person's personal preferences, images, and characteristics (e.g., educational background, physical characteristics, etc.)”, [0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Du and Zhou combined disclose, wherein: the data associated with the person-to-person interaction comprises sensor data generated by one or more sensors during the person-to-person interaction, and the one or more sensors comprise at least one of a biometric sensor, an audio sensor, or an image sensor (see Du e.g., “These interactions are preferably electronic interactions between the first and second persons. Such electronic interactions could be in the form of emails, text messages, telephone calls, message boards, or any other standard interaction offered to users of the service. In some embodiments, the interactions may also include face-to-face meetings.”, [0007] and/or “the server computer 5 may have access to a personal profile database 1 and a rating database 3. The personal profile database 1 may include a person's personal preferences, images, and characteristics (e.g., educational background, physical characteristics, etc.)”, [0023]).
Regarding claim 12, Du and Zhou combined disclose, wherein the data associated with the person-to-person interaction comprises a length of the person-to-person interaction (see Du e.g., “the service 19 uses the server computer 5 to monitor an interaction between the first person 8(a) and the second person 8(b). As shown in FIG. 2(a), this first step is repeated until a predetermined number of interactions has taken place. The method then proceeds to the next step 102, where the service 19, using the server computer 5, receives an individual rating from the first person 8(a) about the second person 8(b)”, [0028] and/or “In this case the interactions 401 take the form of emails exchanged on the Web site 6. In some embodiments, a single interaction may include at least one initiated message and one reply message back to the person who initiated the message.”, [0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Du disclose, a system (see e.g., “systems and methods for providing ratings of users of a dating service generated by other members of the service.”, [0006]) comprising:
one or more processors included as part of a computing device of a user (see e.g., Fig. 1, first client computers 9a-9d and/or Server computer 5);
and non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see e.g., “The software code may be stored as a series of instructions or commands on a computer readable medium, such as a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a magnetic medium such as a hard-drive or a floppy disk, or an optical medium such as a CD-ROM. The computer readable medium may reside on one, or many computational apparatuses”, [0035]), cause the computing device to:
o obtaining first user input related to a person-to-person interaction between a user and an individual (see e.g., “the interactions 401 take the form of emails exchanged on the Web site 6. In some embodiments, a single interaction may include at least one initiated message and one reply message back to the person who initiated the message”, Fig. 3, [0029] and/or “a first person 8(a) has clicked on a "rate me" link 501 associated with a second person 8(b), with whom the first person 8(a) has had at least the predetermined number of interactions Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 5, [0030]);
obtaining data associated with the person-to-person interaction (see e.g., “a number of interactions 401 have taken place between two persons using the service. In this case the interactions 401 take the form of emails exchanged on the Web site 6”, Fig. 3, [0029] and/or “Such electronic interactions could be in the form of emails, text messages, telephone calls, message boards, or any other standard interaction offered to users of the service.”, [0007]);
determining a weighted rating associated with the individual based on, at least, the first user input and the data associated with the person-to-person interaction (see e.g., “step 301, which requires that a pre-determined number of individual rating values 102 as to a particular person be collected before a rating value is provided 103 on the Web site 6 by the service 19. For example, before a modified rating value for the second person 8(b) is provided, the service 19 may require that the second person receive at least 10 individual rating values before it will post the modified rating value associated with the second person 8(b)”, Fig. 2(c), [0033]);
obtaining, from one or more databases, a global rating associated with the individual, wherein the global rating is related to at least one historical person-to-person interaction of the individual with at least one of the user or one or more other users (see e.g., “The server computer 5 may have access to one or more databases of information. As shown in FIG. 1, the server computer 5 may have access to a personal profile database 1 and a rating database 3. The personal profile database 1 may include a person's personal preferences, images, and characteristics (e.g., educational background, physical characteristics, etc.)”, [0023] and/or “the Web site 6 presents an average rating value 601 of the second person 8(b), based on the individual rating values it has received from other persons. The average rating value 601 is an example of a modified rating. For example, the average rating value for the second person 8(b) could be the average rating value of the individual rating values provided by the first person 8(a) and the fourth person 8(d). The average rating value may be viewed on the Web site 6 by the third person 8(c)”, Fig. 6, [0031] and/or “A "modified rating value" is derived from an individual rating value. For example, the modified rating value may be a combination (e.g., an average) of two or more individual rating values from two or more different persons”, [0024]; Examiner note: “database 3” and “an average rating value 601 of the second person 8(b), based on the individua rating value received from other persons” equivalent to “obtaining from database, global rating associated with the individual”);
Du fails to explicitly disclose, updating the global rating associated with the individual based on the weighted rating.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses, updating the global rating associated with the individual based on the weighted rating (see e.g., “As a user generates more data (e.g., writing a review) and engages with others, his/her character badges may need to be updated. The character badge tanager 124 is to help update a user's one or more character badges either periodically or on demand.”, [0042] and/or “A character badge manifests a person's one or more unique qualities in a given context (e.g., a person's buyer personality vs, dating personality) and helps establish the person's reputation in the specific context.”, [0027] and/or “Character badges may be communicated in one or more ways to externalize the badge owner's unique character and reputation to others”, [0033] and/or “associate each person with a set of traits that can uniquely identify the character of the person and reflect the person's reputation online and/or in the real world. This can help peer-to-peer engagement, which refers to any type of interactions, online or in the real-world, between two or more peers for the purpose of establishing and maintaining one or more relationships, including but not limited to professional (e.g., among colleagues), social (e.g., among friends), personal (e.g. among family members or romantic partners), and transactional (e.g., among buyers and sellers) relationship”, [0028])..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Du with Zhou, in order to help peer-to-peer engagement, which refers to any type of interactions, online or in the real-world, between two or more peers for the purpose of establishing and maintaining one or more relationships, including but not limited to professional (e.g., among colleagues), social (e.g., among friends), personal (e.g. among family members or romantic partners), and transactional (e.g., among buyers and sellers) relationship (please see Zhou, [0028]).
Regarding claim 18, Du and Zhou combined disclose, wherein the global rating associated with the individual is configured for use for initiating one or more actions during a subsequent person-to-person interaction between the individual and at least one of the user or one or more other users (see Du e.g., “The modified rating value is then made available to other persons who use the service (e.g., a third person who might consider dating the second person) so that the particular person being rated can be evaluated as a potential companion. The unmodified individual rating values could also be made available to third persons through the service”, [0008]).
Regarding claim 19, Du and Zhou combined disclose, further comprising determine the individual involved in the person-to-person interaction based on: obtaining second user input indicating identification data of the individual (see Du e.g., “The Web site 6 may also have a number of graphical user interfaces for the user to input information such as his name, grade, preferences, etc.”, [0021]).
Regarding claim 20, Du and Zhou combined disclose, wherein the first user input comprises: a numerical score (see Du e.g., “Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 4, [0030] and/or “The rating value may be in alphanumeric form (e.g., 9 on a scale of 1-10)”, [0024]; Examiner’s Note: Numerical ration of “9” shown in Fig.4, rating area 502);
a scaled rating (see Du e.g., “Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 4, [0030]; Examiner’s note: scaled rating of 1-9);
a thumbs up or a thumbs down (see Du e.g., “Selecting the "rate me" link causes the Web site 6 to open a window showing a rating area 502, wherein the first person 8(a) may provide an individual rating for the second person 8(b).”, Fig. 4, [0030]; Examiner’s note: scaled rating of 1-9 and (Not-Hot) equivalent to thumbs down and thumbs up, which are design preferences).
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Du, in view of, Zhou, and further in view of, Solenthaler et al. (US 2018/0089573 A1, hereinafter Slenthaler).
Regarding claim 2, Du and Zhou combined fail to explicitly disclose, removing the global rating from the one or more databases; and storing, in the one or more databases, the updated global rating associated with the individual.
In the same field of endeavor, Solenthaler discloses, removing the global rating from the one or more databases; and storing, in the one or more databases, the updated global rating associated with the individual (see e.g., “remove global effects for one or more rated items that have been previously rated by the given user to generate explicit ratings (user-assigned ratings) and storing the removed global effects.”, [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Du and Zhou whit Solenthaler, in order to provide explicit ratings and metadata associated with the given transmedia content data item to a plurality of recommender algorithms to generate a plurality of predicted ratings for the given transmedia content data item, and the stored global effects to the ensemble prediction to produce a predicted user rating for the given transmedia content data item (please see Solenthaler, [0022] and [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, Du and Zhou combined fail to explicitly disclose, remove the global rating from the one or more databases; and store, in the one or more databases, the updated global rating associated with the individual.
In the same field of endeavor, Solenthaler discloses, removing the global rating from the one or more databases; and store, in the one or more databases, the updated global rating associated with the individual (see e.g., “remove global effects for one or more rated items that have been previously rated by the given user to generate explicit ratings (user-assigned ratings) and storing the removed global effects.”, [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Du and Zhou whit Solenthaler, in order to provide explicit ratings and metadata associated with the given transmedia content data item to a plurality of recommender algorithms to generate a plurality of predicted ratings for the given transmedia content data item, and the stored global effects to the ensemble prediction to produce a predicted user rating for the given transmedia content data item (please see Solenthaler, [0022] and [0025]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Du, in view of, Zhou, and further in view of, Walkin et al. (US 2016/0202942 A1, hereinafter Walkin).
Regarding claim 15, Du and Zhou combined fail to explicitly disclose, determining one or more factors associated with the person-to-person interaction, the one or more factors comprising at least one of: a geographic location of the person-to-person interaction; a time of year when the person-to-person interaction occurred; weather during the person-to-person interaction; lighting during the person-to-person interaction; or one or more current events occurring during a time of the person-to-person interaction, wherein determining the weighted rating associated with the individual is based on the one or more factors.
In the same field of endeavor, Walkin discloses, determining one or more factors associated with the person-to-person interaction, the one or more factors (see e.g., “A geo-social networking system is a social networking system in which geographic services and capabilities are used to enable additional social interactions”, [0004]) comprising at least one of: a geographic location of the person-to-person interaction (see e.g., “a search engine may rank the second locations identified for a search query by relevance and relative to the user's location so that second locations in closer proximity to the user are ranked higher than those second locations that are a greater distance from the user. In order to determine the relevance and proximity, particular embodiments may access the social network data discussed above as well as location data of the user that was accessed in step 210”, [0041] and/or “Given a search query and a set of second locations identified in response to the search query, the ranking algorithm ranks the second locations in the set according to their relative degrees of relevance with respect to the search query or by proximity to the first user”, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Du and Zhou with Walkin, in order to rank the second locations identified for a search query by relevance and relative to the user's location so that second locations in closer proximity to the user are ranked higher than those second locations that are a greater distance from the user (please see Walkin, [0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-11 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 8, the prior arts fail to teach, wherein: the data associated with the person-to-person interaction comprises audio data generated by the audio sensor; and
the method further comprises:
identifying at least one of one or more terms or phrases, one or more patterns, or one or more tones, one or more volumes, or one or more vocal markers in the audio data, wherein determining the weighted rating associated with the individual is further based on at least one of the one or more terms or phrases, the one or more patterns, the one or more tones, the one or more volumes, or the one or more vocal markers in the audio data.
As to claim 10, the prior arts fail to teach, wherein: the data associated with the person-to-person interaction comprises image data generated by the image sensor; and
the method further comprises:
identifying at least one of one or more images, one or more actions, one or more gestures, or one or more facial expressions in the image data, wherein determining the weighted rating associated with the individual is further based on at least one of the one or more images, the one or more actions, the one or more gestures, or the one or more facial expressions in the image data.
As to claim 13, the prior arts fail to teach, wherein: the data associated with the person-to-person interaction comprises biometric data generated by the biometric sensor, the biometric data indicates, during the person-to-person interaction, at least one of: a high level of stress, a high level of anxiety, a high level of tension, a low level of stress, a low level of anxiety, or a low level of tension;
determining the weighted rating associated with the individual based on, at least, the first user input and the data associated with the person-to-person interaction comprises:
decreasing the weighted rating based on the biometric data indicating at least one of the high level of stress, the high level of anxiety, or the high level of tension during the person-to-person interaction; or increasing the weighted rating based on the biometric data indicating at least one of the high level of stress, the high level of anxiety, or the high level of tension during the person-to-person interaction.
Claims 9, 11 and 14 are objected in virtue of their dependency to objected claims 8, 10 and 13 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Baron et al. (US 2019/0172081 A1) discloses METHODS AND APPARATUS TO COLLECT AND ANALYZE RATING INFORMATION.
/FARID SEYEDVOSOGHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645