DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 23 February 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 19, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending. The amended claims and arguments have overcome each and every 112 rejection and objection set forth in the previous office action. Therefore, the previous 112 rejections and objections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-14 and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2019/0184785 to Stauter have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has contended that Stauter does not disclose a shroud hub configured to receive an electric motor. Examiner does not agree. Stauter teaches a shroud hub 60 configured to receive an electric motor 58 (see Fig. 5).
Applicant further contended that Stauter does not disclose the plurality of struts extending between the shroud hub and at least one strut support member formed on the first sidewall. Examiner does not agree. Stauter teaches the plurality of struts 62 extending between the shroud hub 60 and at least one strut support member 76 formed on the first sidewall 70 (see Fig. 8).
Applicant further contended that Stauter does not disclose a recess formed by removing material from at least one surface of the strut body. Examiner agrees that Stauter does not explicitly disclose forming the recess by removing material. However, such a limitation is considered a product-by-process limitation, and as the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, the structure disclosed anticipates/renders obvious the claimed structure as the disclosed structure appears to be the same or similar to that claimed, see MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stauter (US 20190184785).
Claim 1 recites “a cooling fan module.” Stauter teaches such a cooling fan module, as will be shown.
Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9, annotated Fig. 8) a cooling fan module comprising:
a fan assembly including a plurality of fan blades 46 extending from a hub 48 and terminating at a fan ring (outer ring portion of fan shroud 56); and
a shroud 52 having an upstream side and a downstream side (see Fig. 5 and para. 0038), wherein the fan assembly is arranged to move air from the upstream side to the downstream side (see Fig. 5 and para. 0038), wherein the shroud includes,
a first sidewall 70 defining an opening 72 for receiving the fan assembly,
a fan shroud 56 positioned concentrically within the opening (see Fig. 5); and
a shroud hub 60 configured to receive an electric motor 58 (see Fig. 5);
a plurality of struts 62 extending between the shroud hub and at least one strut support member 76 formed on the first sidewall of the shroud;
wherein at least one of the plurality of struts further includes a body having at least one non-continuous portion (annotated A), the non-continuous portion comprising a scalloped-shaped recess (The strut of Stauter has been modified to have a curved profile, thus constituting a “scalloped portion.”) formed by a void formed on at least one of a first surface or a second surface of the body.
The following limitation “formed by a void formed on at least one of a first surface or a second surface of the body” is considered a product-by-process limitation, and as the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, the structure disclosed anticipates/renders obvious the claimed structure as the disclosed structure appears to be the same or similar to that claimed, see MPEP 2113.
Stauter Annotated Fig. 8
Regarding Claim 2, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-continuous portion includes a curved profile (see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 3, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, wherein the body of the at least one of the plurality of struts includes a proximal end (connected to hub 60) and a distal end (64) positioned opposite the proximal end, and the non-continuous portion extends at least partially between the proximal end and the distal end of the body (see Figs. 7, 8).
Regarding Claim 4, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, wherein the body of the at least one of the plurality of struts includes a proximal end and a distal end 64 positioned opposite the proximal end, and the non-continuous portion extends fully between the proximal end and the distal end of the body (see Figs. 7, 8).
Regarding Claim 5, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, wherein the plurality of struts include a proximal end coupled to the shroud hub and a distal end positioned opposite the proximal end and coupled to at least one strut support member 76 formed on the first sidewall of the shroud.
Regarding Claim 6, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of struts includes the body having the at least one non-continuous portion (see Figs. 7, 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, wherein the body includes a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, and the at least one non-continuous portion is formed in at least one of the first surface or the second surface of the body (see Figs. 7, 8).
Regarding Claim 8, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 7, wherein each of the first surface and the second surface include the at least one non-continuous portion (see Figs. 7, 8).
Regarding Claim 9, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, wherein the body of the at least one of the plurality of struts includes a distal end having a plurality of prongs 76 that extend between the body and the opening of the shroud.
Regarding Claim 10, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of prongs further includes a non-continuous prong portion (see Figs. 7, 8, prongs 76 have a curved profile).
Regarding Claim 11, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 9, wherein the plurality of prongs include at least a first prong having a first non-continuous prong portion and a second prong having a second non-continuous prong portion, and the first non-continuous prong portion has a first profile that is equal to a second profile of the second non-continuous prong portion (see Figs. 7, 8, prongs 76 appear to have identical first and second prongs).
Regarding Claim 12, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 9, wherein the plurality of prongs include at least a first prong having a first non-continuous prong portion and a second prong having a second non-continuous prong portion, and the first non-continuous prong portion has a first profile that is different than a second profile of the second non-continuous prong portion (para. 0041, plurality of pylons, or prongs, 76 having varying contours are within the scope of the disclosure).
Regarding Claim 13, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 1, further comprising at least one reinforcement member (76, pylons 76 can be interpreted as reinforcement member) coupled to the body of the at least one of the plurality of struts and extending between the body and the opening of the shroud (see Figs. 7, 8).
Regarding Claim 14, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 13, wherein the reinforcement member includes a non-continuous reinforcement portion (see Figs. 7, 8, reinforcement members 76 have a curved profile).
Regarding Claim 16, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 14, wherein the non-continuous portion has a first profile and the non-continuous reinforcement portion has a second profile that is different than the first profile of the non-continuous portion (see Figs. 7, 8).
Claim 17 recites “a scalloped portion.” Applicant defines a scalloped portion as “a portion of the body 140 of each of the plurality of struts 134 that has been removed and/or modified” in para. 0037 of Applicant’s specification. The strut of Stauter has been modified to have a curved profile, thus constituting a “scalloped portion.”
Regarding Claim 17, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9, annotated Fig. 8) the cooling fan module of claim 1, further comprising a scalloped portion positioned on a first surface (annotated B) of the body that is positioned opposite a second surface (annotated C) of the body on which the non-continuous portion is formed.
Regarding Claim 18, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 17, wherein the non-continuous portion of the body is formed, such that the scalloped portion has a profile equal to the profile of the non-continuous portion (see Fig. 8, annotated Fig. 8).
The following limitation “wherein the non-continuous portion of the body is formed by removing the scalloped portion from the body” is considered a product-by-process limitation, and as the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, the structure disclosed anticipates/renders obvious the claimed structure as the disclosed structure appears to be the same or similar to that claimed, see MPEP 2113.
Claim 19 recites “a cooling fan module.” Stauter teaches such a cooling fan module, as will be shown.
Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) a cooling fan module comprising:
a fan assembly including a plurality of fan blades 46 extending from a hub 48 and terminating at a fan ring (outer ring portion of fan shroud 56); and
a shroud 52 having an upstream side and a downstream side (see Fig. 5 and para. 0038), wherein the fan assembly is arranged to move air from the upstream side to the downstream side (see Fig. 5 and para. 0038), wherein the shroud includes,
a first sidewall 70 defining an opening 72 for receiving the fan assembly,
a fan shroud 56 positioned concentrically within the opening (Fig. 5);
a shroud hub 60 configured to receive an electric motor 58 (Fig. 5); and
a plurality of struts 62 extending between the fan shroud and the opening defined by the first sidewall;
wherein at least one of the plurality of struts further includes a body having a distal end 64 including a plurality of prongs 76 that extend between the body and the opening of the shroud, and each of the plurality of prongs further includes a non-continuous prong portion (see Figs. 7, 8) formed by a scalloped-shaped (The strut of Stauter has been modified to have a curved profile, thus constituting a “scalloped portion.”) void.
The following limitation “formed by a void” is considered a product-by-process limitation, and as the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, the structure disclosed anticipates/renders obvious the claimed structure as the disclosed structure appears to be the same or similar to that claimed, see MPEP 2113.
Claim 20 recites “a cooling fan module.” Stauter teaches such a cooling fan module, as will be shown.
Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) a cooling fan module comprising:
a fan assembly including a plurality of fan blades 46 extending from a hub 48 and terminating at a fan ring (outer ring portion of fan shroud 56); and
a shroud 52 having an upstream side and a downstream side (see Fig. 5 and para. 0038), wherein the fan assembly is arranged to move air from the upstream side to the downstream side (see Fig. 5 and para. 0038), wherein the shroud includes,
a first sidewall 70 defining an opening 72 for receiving the fan assembly,
a fan shroud 56 positioned concentrically within the opening (see Fig. 5);
a shroud hub 60 configured to receive an electric motor 58 (see Fig. 5);
a plurality of struts 62 extending between the shroud hub and at least one strut support member 76 formed on the first sidewall of the shroud; and
at least one reinforcement member 76 coupled to at least one of the plurality of struts and extending between the at least one of the plurality of struts and the opening of the shroud (see Figs. 7, 8);
wherein the at least one of the plurality of struts includes a body having a non-continuous portion (see Figs. 7, 8), the non-continuous portion comprising a recess (curved portion) formed by removing material from at least one of a first surface or a second surface of the body and the reinforcement member includes a non-continuous reinforcement portion.
The following limitation “formed by removing material from at least one of a first surface or a second surface of the body and the reinforcement member includes a non-continuous reinforcement portion” is considered a product-by-process limitation, and as the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, the structure disclosed anticipates/renders obvious the claimed structure as the disclosed structure appears to be the same or similar to that claimed, see MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauter.
Regarding Claim 15, Stauter teaches (Figs. 5-9) the cooling fan module of claim 14.
However, Stauter does not teach the non-continuous portion has a first profile and the non-continuous reinforcement portion has a second profile that is equal to the first profile of the non-continuous portion.
Since Applicant has not disclosed that having the first and second profiles being equal solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the first and second profiles of Stauter would perform equally well with equal profiles as claimed by Applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the first and second profiles to be equal.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW THANH BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745