DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9- 11, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: The abbreviation PFAS is not defined. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The abbreviation PFAS is not defined. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickelsen et al. (US 20220055923 A1) herein known as Nickelsen, in view of Singh et al. (Development of novel fluor mop materials for remediation of perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from groundwater) herein known as Singh.
(Fig.3, Nickelsen)
Regarding Claim 1, Nickelsen is directed to a sustainable system and method for removing and concentrating per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from water [0002].
Nickelsen discloses a method for regenerating resin comprising: (Abstract, [A regenerant solution line is coupled to the anion exchange vessel to introduce an optimized regenerant solution to the anion exchange vessel to remove the PFAS from the anion exchange resin, thereby regenerating the anion exchange resin and generating a spent regenerate solution comprised of the removed PFAS and the optimized regenerant solution])
flowing water contaminated with PFAS through a vessel that includes resin the resin initially having an initial maximum capacity; adsorbing the PFAS by resin within the vessel; (Abstract, [A sustainable system for removing and concentrating per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from water. The system includes an anion exchange vessel having a selected anion exchange resin therein configured to remove PFAS from the water. A line coupled to the vessel introduces a flow of water contaminated with PFAS such that the PFAS bind to the selected anion exchange resin and are thereby removed from the water]; [0027], Depending on the specific properties of both resin bead 16 and the PFAS 10, this dual mechanism of removal may be highly effective at removing PFAS from water and certain anion exchange resins have very high removal capacity for PFAS from water])
pumping resin regeneration solution into the vessel; stripping the PFAS from the resin while the resin remains within the vessel; sending the stripped PFAS into a waste tank (Abstract, [A regenerant solution line is coupled to the anion exchange vessel to introduce an optimized regenerant solution to the anion exchange vessel to remove the PFAS from the anion exchange resin, thereby regenerating the anion exchange resin and generating a spent regenerate solution comprised of the removed PFAS and the optimized regenerant solution. A separation and recovery subsystem recovers the optimized regenerant solution for reuse and separates and concentrates the removed PFAS]).
However, Nickelsen is silent to wherein the stripping of the PFAS from the resin restores the resin's adsorption capacity to at least 80% but less than 99% of its initial maximum capacity.
Singh is directed to development of novel fluor mop materials for remediation of perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from groundwater (Titel).
Singh discloses wherein the stripping of the PFAS from the material restores the material’s adsorption capacity to at least 80% its initial maximum capacity (Highlights, [Regeneration yields at least 80% regained capacity through solvent washes over 5 adsorption and regeneration cycles]) Which overlaps with the claimed range wherein the stripping of the PFAS from the resin restores the resin's adsorption capacity to at least 80% but less than 99% of its initial maximum capacity.
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of stripping of the PFAS from the material restores the material’s adsorption capacity to at least 80% its initial maximum capacity overlaps the claimed range of at least 80% but less than 99% of its initial maximum capacity. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the known technique of Singh to improve Nickelsen ‘s method for regenerating resin, wherein the stripping of the PFAS from the resin restores the resin's adsorption capacity to at least 80% but less than 99% of its initial maximum capacity because the result of the restoration of the resin's adsorption capacity would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2143(I)(C)).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Nickelsen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the resin is not removed from the vessel until the resin is disposed of. (See Nickelsen Fig.3 ; Abstract, [A regenerant solution line is coupled to the anion exchange vessel to introduce an optimized regenerant solution to the anion exchange vessel to remove the PFAS from the anion exchange resin, thereby regenerating the anion exchange resin and generating a spent regenerate solution comprised of the removed PFAS and the optimized regenerant solution]; [0030], [introduce optimized regenerant solution 112 into anion exchange vessel 102 to remove the PFAS from anion exchange resin 104 to regenerate anion exchange resin 104 and generate spent regenerant solution 120 in line 122]), (See Singh, Page 8, Left Col., Section 3.6, 2nd paragraph, Lines 6-8, [The recyclability is a critically important feature in determining the cost of the material]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Nickelsen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the resin regeneration solution includes a caustic solution (See Nickelsen, ([0030] ,[ In one design optimized regenerant solution 112 preferably includes a mixture of a salt or base, e.g., sodium chloride (NaCl) or sodium hydroxide (NaOH), a solvent and water])).
Regarding Claim 14, Nickelsen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the resin regeneration solution is filtered through physical or chemical means (Fig. 3; [0018] , [The separation and recovery process may be configured to maximize recovery of optimized regenerant solution and minimize volume of concentrated desorbed PFAS. The separation and recovery process may include one or more of evaporation, distillation and membrane separation]; [0033], [separation and recovery subsystem 124 may include one or more of a distillation subsystem 142 and/or a membrane separation subsystem 144]).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickelsen et al. (US 20220055923 A1) herein known as Nickelsen, in view of Singh et al. (Development of novel fluor mop materials for remediation of perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from groundwater) herein known as Singh in view of Oberhofer (US 4770790 A) herein Oberhofer.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
Nickelsen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: repeating the pumping, stripping and sending steps until a current maximum capacity of the resin is lower than the initial maximum capacity of the resin, the current maximum capacity being lower than the initial maximum capacity (Fig. 3; [0030]; [introduce optimized regenerant solution 112 into anion exchange vessel 102 to remove the PFAS from anion exchange resin 104 to regenerate anion exchange resin 104 and generate spent regenerant solution 120 in line 122]); [0032], [recovers optimized regenerant solution 120 for reuse as reclaimed regenerant solution 126 by line 128]; [0012], [known methods may incompletely regenerate the anion exchange resin which may lead to a loss of capacity, otherwise known as active sites, during each successive loading and regeneration cycle.])
Singh discloses until a current maximum capacity of the resin is lower than the initial maximum capacity of the resin, the current maximum capacity being lower than the initial maximum capacity (Highlights, [ Regeneration yields at least 80% regained capacity through solvent washes over 5 adsorption and regeneration cycles]).
However modified Nickelsen is silent to until a current maximum capacity of the resin is lower than 50% of the initial maximum capacity.
Oberhofer is directed to processes for improving and maintaining the performance of particulate and other types of water-treatment solids, especially particulate ion exchange resins, filter media, and adsorbents which have become fouled with organic contaminants, micro-organisms, and waste products thereof (Abstract).
Oberhofer discloses until a current maximum capacity of the resin is lower than 50% of the initial maximum capacity. (Col.2, Lines 13-15, [Field reports of reduced operating capacities being down to 25-50% of the original capacities are not unusual]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Nickelsen ‘s method or regenerating resin, as taught by Oberhofer, until a current maximum capacity of the resin is lower than 50% of the initial maximum capacity, because it is an accepted practice to allow the unit to operate until it is contaminated and operating difficulties are too great to continue using the unit and If the resin cleaning does not show the desired results, the resin is replaced (see Oberhofer, [Col. 26, Lines 50-56]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
Nickelsen discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the resin is used for multiple cycles without having to be replaced between cycles. ([0012], [known methods may incompletely regenerate the anion exchange resin which may lead to a loss of capacity, otherwise known as active sites, during each successive loading and regeneration cycle.]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
Oberhofer discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: disposing of the resin when the current maximum capacity of the resin is lower than 50% of the initial maximum capacity of the resin. (Col.2, Lines 13-15, [Field reports of reduced operating capacities being down to 25-50% of the original capacities are not unusual]; Col.26, Linse 50-54, [The current mode of operating an ion exchange unit is to allow the unit to operate until it is contaminated and operating difficulties are too great to continue using the unit. If the resin cleaning does not show the desired results, the resin is replaced]).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickelsen et al. (US 20220055923 A1) herein known as Nickelsen, in view of Singh et al. (Development of novel fluor mop materials for remediation of perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from groundwater) herein known as Singh as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kassar et al. (Removal of PFAS from groundwater using weak-base anion exchange resins) ) herein known as Kassar.
Regarding Claim 5 and 9, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However modified Nickelsen is silent to the method of claim 1, wherein the resin regeneration solution does not include methanol or any other organic solvents (claim 5), the method of claim 1, wherein the resin is a weak base anion resin with a selectivity towards the PFAS (claim 9).
Kassar is directed to removal of PFAS from groundwater using weak-base anion exchange resins (Title).
Kassar discloses wherein the resin regeneration solution does not include methanol or any other organic solvents (claim 5), (Abstract, [Continuous-flow column adsorption and regeneration experiments involving WB, polyacrylic, and WB, polystyrene resins were conducted considering salt-only regeneration solutions]).
Kassar discloses wherein the resin is a weak base anion resin with a selectivity towards the PFAS (claim 9) ( Abstract, [Application of weak-base (WE) anion exchange resins (AERS) for groundwater treatment of six perfluoroalkyl acids (PFAAs) with different properties . Removal was predominantly influenced by polymer composition with free-base WB-AERs exhibiting similar selectivity and higher capacity as SB resin counterparts.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Nickelsen ‘s method or regenerating resin, wherein the resin regeneration solution does not include methanol or any other organic solvents (claim 5), wherein the resin is a weak base anion resin with a selectivity towards the PFAS (claim 9) as taught by Kassar, in order for selective removal of perfluoroalkyl from water using more sustainable regeneration strategies (See Kassar, [Abstract]).
Claim 8, 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickelsen et al. (US 20220055923 A1) herein known as Nickelsen, in view of Singh et al. (Development of novel fluor mop materials for remediation of perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from groundwater) herein known as Singh, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jessen et al. (US-20110077144-A1) herein as Jessen.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However modified Nickelsen is silent to the method of claim 1, wherein the resin regeneration solution includes brine with one or more salts at a concentration of 5-10% w/w.
Jessen is directed to the regeneration of ion exchange resin with a regenerant solution and recovery of the spent regenerant solution [0002].
Jessen discloses wherein the resin regeneration solution includes brine with one or more salts at a concentration of 5-15 % w/w which overlaps the claimed concentration range of 5-10 % w/w ([0223], [The spent resin 60 was contacted with a fresh regenerant solution 186 comprising brine--specifically, a solution of sodium chloride dissolved in water in a concentration of from about 5 to about 15 wt %]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Nickelsen ‘s method or regenerating resin, wherein the resin regeneration solution includes brine with one or more salts at a concentration of 5-10% w/w, as taught by Jessen, in order to allow the regenerant solution to flow through the spent resin for a sufficient time at a sufficiently high flow rate to regenerate the spent resin into fresh resin (See Jessen, [0111]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Jessen discloses the method of claim 1, further including: backflushing the vessel after the PFAS is adsorbed by the resin([0106] The resin fines 166 drawn out of the regeneration vats 140a-c during the backwash process).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Jessen discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the resin regeneration solution is pumped into the vessel to send the stripped PFAS into the waste tank (spent regenerant tank 220) ([0073], [The spent regenerant solution 100 is then pumped from the regenerant waste liquid sump 214 using a spent regenerant pump 219, to a spent regenerant tank 220 which is used to store the spent regenerant solution 100]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Jessen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the waste tank is configured to receive the resin regeneration solution, and the resin regeneration solution is disposed of ([0073], [The spent regenerant solution 100 is then pumped from the regenerant waste liquid sump 214, to a spent regenerant tank 220 which is used to store the spent regenerant solution 100 until the regenerant recovery system 205 is to be operated. Spent regenerant solution 100 is pumped from the spent regenerant tank 220 to the regenerant recovery system 205 for treatment and recovery of the spent regenerant solution 100.]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickelsen et al. (US 20220055923 A1) herein known as Nickelsen, in view of Singh et al. (Development of novel fluor mop materials for remediation of perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from groundwater) herein known as Singh, and further in view of Jessen et al. (US-20110077144-A1) herein as Jessen, as applied to the claim above, in view of Fries et al. (US 20170259256 A1) herein known as Fries.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
However modified Nickelsen is silent to the method of claim 11, wherein the resin is put under osmotic shock to release all held anions, which are replaced by OH⁻ ions.
Fries is directed to generally to regeneration of weak base anion exchange resins and more particularly to regeneration using low concentrations of sodium hydroxide and/or sodium carbonate to remove ionic contaminants from the resins (Abstract).
Fries discloses wherein the resin is put under osmotic shock to release all held anions, which are replaced by OH⁻ ions. ([0004], [This effect is sometimes called “osmotic shock”, Typically, regeneration of a WBA resin takes place by subjecting the resin to treatment with a strongly basic liquid solution such as sodium hydroxide]; [0006], [The resin is contacted with a regenerant solution including a base selected from the group consisting of sodium hydroxide, sodium carbonate and mixtures thereof, whereby at least a portion of said ionic contaminants are unbound from said resin.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Nickelsen ‘s method or regenerating resin, wherein the resin is put under osmotic shock to release all held anions, which are replaced by OH⁻ ions, in order to restore a high proportion of the operating capacity of the resin (See Fries, [0010]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nickelsen et al. (US 20220055923 A1) herein known as Nickelsen, in view of Singh et al. (Development of novel fluor mop materials for remediation of perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) from groundwater) herein known as Singh, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Coppola et al. (US 20070114178 A1) herein known as Coppola.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Nickelsen teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
However modified Nickelsen is silent to wherein after the waste tank receives the resin regeneration solution and the stripped PFAS, the vessel is rinsed with rinse water, the rinse water having a pH of approximately 8- 8.5.
Coppola is directed to water treatment process using selective and regenerable weak base anion exchange resins (Abstract).
Coppola discloses wherein after the waste tank receives the resin regeneration solution and the stripped PFAS, the vessel is rinsed with rinse water, the rinse water having a pH of approximately 8- 14 which overlaps with the claimed range of 8- 8.5 ([0053], [following application of the regenerating solution, a pH adjusted water rinse is applied to the resin. Rinse water may be adjusted to a pH of 8 to 14 to improve rinse efficiency]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Nickelsen ‘s method or regenerating resin, wherein the vessel is rinsed with rinse water having a pH of approximately 8- 8.5, as taught by Coppola, in order to improve rinse efficiency (See Coppola, ([0053]).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773