DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 6, 9-11, 13, and 14 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 17 March 2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 16 June 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koyanagi et al. (US 2016/0312935 hereinafter “Koyanagi”). For portions of the rejection, refer to the annotated fig. 1 of Koyanagi below:
In regards to claim 1, Koyanagi discloses a flange clamp for coupling a fluid connector to a bulkhead plate of a bulkhead assembly, the flange clamp comprising:
a clamp body (16-1) having a curved inner surface (see curved central bore) configured to engage with the fluid connectors the clamp body formed in a plane;
a plurality of openings (14-1, two bolt holes) formed in the clamp body, the plurality of openings including at least a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening formed in the plane (shown in fig. 1);
at least one extended body portion (see annotated fig.) integrally formed at an outer periphery of the clamp body, the at least one extended body portion being coplanar with the clamp body, the first opening, the second opening and the third opening (shown in annotated fig.);
a retaining portion (see annotated fig.) integrally formed with the at least one extended body portion, the retaining portion projecting away from the at least one extended body portion;
wherein the retaining portion is configured to be disposed within an opening formed in the bulkhead plate (fig. 1 shows this capability), where the retaining portion is configured to selectively maintain an orientation of the clamp body on the bulkhead plate (fig. 1 shows this capability).
In regards to claim 2, Koyanagi further discloses the plurality of openings formed in the clamp body are axially aligned with one another (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 3, Koyanagi further discloses the third opening (14-1) is formed in the at least one extended body portion, the third opening defined through the retaining portion (shown in annotated fig.).
In regards to claim 4, Koyanagi further discloses the clamp body comprises a first end (left end in fig. 1) and a second end, the second end spaced from the first end, where the at least one extended body portion extends from the second end of the clamp body (shown in annotated fig.).
In regards to claim 7, Koyanagi further discloses the retaining portion comprises a shaped profile having at least three sides (shown in annotated fig.).
In regards to claim 8, Koyanagi further discloses the retaining portion comprises a rectangular-shaped profile (see annotated fig. which shows rectangular cross-section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 12, Koyanagi discloses the flange clamp of claim 1 but does not disclose at least one of the plurality of openings is a threaded opening.
The examiner is taking Official Notice that threaded openings for bolts/screws are well-known in the art of flange clamps.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide the flange clamp of Koyanagi with threaded openings in order to allow threaded screws to be used in place of bolts and nuts, achieving no unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 07/29/2026