DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20, lines 7-8, the limitation, “a mounting surface” is confusing. Is this in addition to the mounting surface already claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (CN 210123694 U) in view of He et al. (CN 211628892 U).
Yao et al. disclose in fig. 1-2, a capacitor [0002] comprising:
a capacitor element;
a lead-out terminal (3) connected to the capacitor element (film capacitor – [0002]);
an outer case (1) housing the capacitor element [0002] such that the lead-out terminal (3) protrudes outward therefrom, wherein an outer surface of the outer case (1) includes a mounting surface (bottom – Fig. 2) that faces a mounting object in a first direction when the lead-out terminal (3) is attached to the mounting object [0008];
a mounting foot (5) on the outer surface of the outer case (1) for attaching the outer case to the mounting object at the mounting surface [0008], the mounting foot (5) being electrically isolated from the lead-out terminal (3) and including a metal
material.
Yao et al. do not disclose the capacitor wherein:
-the film capacitor structure comprises a capacitor element including a body and an external electrode on an end surface of the body;
-the lead-out terminal and mounting foot are welded to the mounted object;
-the capacitor comprises a filling resin filling the outer case such that the capacitor element is embedded in the filling resin; and
-the lead-out terminal and mounting foot comprise the same material.
He et al. disclose a capacitor comprising: a film capacitor structure (4 - core), wherein the film capacitor structure comprises a body (4 – core) and an external electrode [0039] on an end surface of the body (4); and the capacitor further comprises a filling resin (5, [0046]) filling an outer case (1) such that the capacitor element (4) is embedded in the filling resin (5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yao et al. so that the capacitor comprises a capacitor element including a body and an external electrode on an end surface of the body and the capacitor comprises a filling resin filling the outer case such that the capacitor element is embedded in the filling resin, since such a modification would form a capacitor having the capacitor element that is secured (an electrically connected) to the lead out terminal, and is protected from an external environment.
It is well known in the capacitor art to weld a capacitor to a mounting surface, wherein connections are formed of the same material.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of Yao et al. so that the mounting foot and lead-out terminal are made of the same material (such as copper). This modification would enable the mounting foot and lead-out terminal to be welded to a mounting surface, thereby producing a strong, durable, and high temperature resistant joint between the capacitor and mounting surface.
Regarding claim 2, Yao et al. disclose the mounting foot (5) protrudes outward relative to the mounting surface of the outer case in the first direction (top-bottom).
Regarding claim 3, Yao et al. disclose the lead-out terminal (3) protrudes outward relative to the mounting surface of the outer case (1) in the first direction (top-bottom).
Regarding claim 4, Yao et al. disclose the lead-out terminal (3) protrudes outward relative to the mounting surface of the outer case in the first direction (top-bottom).
Regarding claim 7, Yao et al. disclose comprising a rib (10) on the outer surface of the outer case (1), wherein the mounting foot (5) is attached to the rib (10).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Yao et al. disclose the capacitor according to claim 1, and the mounting object to which the lead-out terminal (3) and the mounting foot (5) of the capacitor are welded.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (CN 210123694 U).
Regarding claim 16, Yao et al. disclose a capacitor outer case (1) comprising:
a housing body (1) configured to house a capacitor element [0002] such that a lead-out terminal (3) of the capacitor element protrudes outward therefrom, wherein an outer surface of the housing body (1) includes a mounting surface (bottom); and
a mounting foot (5) on the outer surface of the housing body for attaching the housing body to a mounting object at a mounting surface (bottom), the mounting surface being configured to face the mounting object in a first direction (top-bottom).
Yao et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the mounting foot is welded to a mounting object.
It is well known in the capacitor art to weld a capacitor to a mounting surface.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of Yao et al. so that the mounting foot is welded to the mounting surface, since welds produce a strong, durable, and high temperature resistant joint between the capacitor and mounting surface.
Regarding claim 17, Yao et al. disclose wherein the mounting foot (5) protrudes outward relative to the mounting surface of the outer case (1) in the first direction (top-bottom).
Regarding claim 19, Yao et al. disclose a rib (10) on the outer surface of the outer case (1), wherein the mounting foot (5) is attached to the rib.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 8-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest a capacitor:
wherein the mounting foot is dimensioned such that a space is provided between the mounting surface of the outer case and the mounting foot (claim 5);
wherein the mounting foot does not extend past the outer case as viewed in the first direction (claim 6); and
comprising a fixing foot on the outer surface of the outer case for welding the outer case to another outer case, the fixing foot being at a position different from that of the mounting foot, and the fixing foot being electrically isolated from the lead-out terminal (claim 8).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest a capacitor outer case:
wherein the mounting foot does not extend past the outer case as viewed in the first direction (claim 18); and
comprising a fixing foot on the outer surface of the outer case for welding the outer case to another outer case, the fixing foot being at a position different from that of the mounting foot (claim 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0162927 A1 – DC link capacitor comprising multiple capacitor elements
US 2021/0358693 A1 – Film capacitor having a curable resin encapsulating a capacitor element
US 11,978,593 B2 – Film capacitor comprising an outer case and a capacitor element
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847