DETIALED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Claims 1-20 are pending and subject to examination on the merits. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. Claims 1-11 are currently under examination.
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 April 2025.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made for the Applicant’s claim for domestic priority based on the US provisional application PRO 63/608,793 filed 11 December 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08 April 2025 and 20 June 2025 have been considered by the examiner. See initialed and signed PTO/SB/08’s.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pearlman et al (Pearlman et al., 2019, US 2019/0124947 A1—cited herein). Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-6, drawn to a non-naturally occurring C1-fixing strain of Cupriavidus necator (claim 2) capable of growing autotrophically to produce single-cell protein (claim 4) from a gaseous substrate comprising H2 and CO2 (claims 5-6), Pearlman et al teaches a Cupriavidus necator H16 growing chemoautolithotrophically continuous in the presence of H2 and CO2 for the production of single-cell protein (p. 12, “Example 9: Single Cell Protein Production from Gas Fermentation,” paragraphs 0096, 0101). Pearlman et al. continues to teach that the single cell protein was produced from the gaseous composition, where 100% of the cells were retained (p. 12, paragraph 0102), and the subsequent percent weight amino acids on a dry weight basis was calculated (p. 13, Table 19). Regarding claim 3, drawn to a non-naturally occurring strain that does not natively produce polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHAs), Pearlman et al. teaches a Cupriavidus necator strain with attenuated or eliminated PHB production by modifying one or more of the phaCAB operon enyzmes which enable the strain to produce PHB; specifically a C. necator H16 strain with a deletion ΔphaCAB or a G320A point mutation in phaC (p. 2, paragraph 0029), where Pearlman et al. teaches that the most common PHA is PHB (p. 1, paragraph 0006). Regarding claim 7, where the SCP is converted to a nutritive compound, Pearlman et al. teaches a method of producing a SCP for use in nutritive compositions (p. 3, paragraph 0040). Regarding claim 8, drawn to the enhancement of nutritive products by genetic engineering, Pearlman et al. teaches that the C. necator H16 ΔphaCAB SCP prepared as feedstock for salmon showed higher growth among the salmon than the reference diet and excellent amino acid digestion (p. 8, paragraph 0079). Regarding claim 9, drawn to a freeze-dried food, Pearlman et al. teach the utilization of pasteurized freeze-dried C. necator H16 ΔphaCAB SCP to feed salmon (p 8, paragraphs 0077-0078).
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pearlman et al (Pearlman et al., 2019, US 2019/0124947 A1—cited herein).
The teachings of Pearlman et al. are discussed above and incorporated into the instant rejection.
Regarding claim 11, drawn to a non-naturally occurring C1-fixing strain with 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, Pearlman et al. teaches the utilization C. necator H16 strain. It appears that the strain of Pearlman et al. is the same strain as the C. necator H16 strain sequenced as SEQ ID NO: 1. While Pearlman et al. are silent as to the sequence of C. necator H16, it inherently possesses the same genome sequence, and thus, Pearlman et al. anticipate the instant claim - See MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d”
On the other hand, it would be obvious that the strain of Pearlman et al. is the same strain as the sequence genome of H16 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1, or that having 95% identity thereto, because strains and their genomes are inseparable. Just because Pearlman et al. did not sequence the genome does not render the currently sequenced genome new.
Double Patenting
10. Claims 1-3 and 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18977534 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘534 claims would necessarily anticipate the instant claims.
The instant claims in the broadest are drawn to a non-naturally occurring C1-fixing strain (claim 1), selected from Cupriavidus necator and Ralstonia eutropha (claim 2), that does not natively produce PHAs (claim 3), where said strain is Cupriavidus necator DSM34774 (claim 10-11) or 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1 or 3 (clam 11).
The ‘534 claims in the broadest are drawn to a recombinant C1-fixing microorganism, Cupriavidus necator or Ralstonia eutropha (claim 4), comprising a mutation at a membrane bound hydrogenase gene locus, wherein said mutation is a deletion (claim 2), wherein the membrane hydrogenase gene is hoxKGZ (claim 3), and the microorganism does not natively produce PHAs (claim 5). Dependent claims 6 and 7 are drawn to a Cupriavidus necator DSM 34774, and dependent claim 8 is drawn to a microorganism with 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1 or 3.
It is notable that SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 3 of the ‘534 claims and the instant claims are identical (See Supplemental Files: 20250818_120638_us-18-977-534-1_copy_1_100000.oligo.rnpm, result 1 and 20250818_120845_us-18-977-534-3_copy_1_100000.oligo.rnpm, result 1 found in 18977534).
The difference between the two sets of claims is that the ‘534 claims comprise a mutation in the membrane bound hydrolase, and the instant claims specifically claim that the C1-fixing non-natural engineered microorganism is capable of growing autotrophically up to 40oC. However, the ‘534 claims would still anticipate the instant claims because the ‘534 specification specifies that the C1-fixing strain is capable of continuous growth autotphically at up to about 40oC (paragraph 0038). Additionally, the mutation in the membrane bound hydrolase could be comprised in the mutant C1-fixing strain of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
11. All claims are rejected.
/CIARA A MCKNIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/SUZANNE M NOAKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656