DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2024 and 5/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (5657163) hereafter Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses in fig. 1 a head-up display apparatus comprising: an image display apparatus including a light source (34) and a display element (24), an image being displayed on the display element (24) to emit an image projection light (fig. 1); a mirror (28) configured to project the image projection light emitted from the image display apparatus (fig. 1, col. 2, lines 12-65); and a housing (20 and 18 as the claimed housing), wherein the light source (34) and the mirror (28) are disposed in a space formed by the housing (fig. 1), and wherein the display element (24) is disposed so as to be tilted relative to an optical axis of the mirror (see fig. 1, col. 2, lines 12-65).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display element is disposed inside a focal point distance of the optical axis of the mirror (see fig. 1, col. 2, lines 12-65).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses the head-up display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image display apparatus is provided with heat dissipating means of at least the light source attached to the outer periphery of a portion of the housing (fig. 2. Col. 3, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses the head-up display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the heat dissipating means includes a heat sink (fig. 2. Col. 3, lines 9-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitation to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12204104 hereafter Misawa. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Misawa read on or make obvious claim 1 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 1, Misawa discloses a head-up display apparatus comprising: an image display apparatus including a light source and a display element, an image being displayed on the display element to emit an image projection light; a mirror configured to project the image projection light emitted from the image display apparatus; and a housing, wherein the light source and the mirror are disposed in a space formed by the housing, and wherein the display element is disposed so as to be tilted relative to an optical axis of the mirror (see claim 1).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11846776 hereafter Misawa. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Misawa read on or make obvious claim 1 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 1, Misawa discloses a head-up display apparatus comprising: an image display apparatus including a light source and a display element, an image being displayed on the display element to emit an image projection light; a mirror configured to project the image projection light emitted from the image display apparatus; and a housing, wherein the light source and the mirror are disposed in a space formed by the housing, and wherein the display element is disposed so as to be tilted relative to an optical axis of the mirror (see claim 1).
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872