DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDSs) submitted on 6/19/25 and 4/23/26 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, but where the documents in the IDS(s) will be considered in the same manner as other documents in Office search files while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search.
Status of the Application
This application claims priority to US application 63/608328, filed 12/11/23.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is considered indefinite for reciting that claim 11 is dependent upon claim 11. Appropriate correction is required, e.g., amend claim 11, line 1, to recited “according to claim 10”.
Claim 11 and 13, line 2, are indefinite for use of the term “preferably”, which makes unclear whether the limitations recited thereafter are included in the claim or not. Appropriate correction is required, e.g., deleting this term.
Claims 7, 11, and 12, line 1, are indefinite for reciting “claim X, comprising”, where it is not clear what element or feature of the claim comprises the recited additional element or feature. Appropriate correction is required, e.g., “claim X, wherein the absorbent core further comprises”.
Claims 14 and 15, line 1, (depending from claim 10) are indefinite for reciting “the absorbent article” “comprising” or “comprises”, making unclear whether the additional elements of claim 10 are included or not. Appropriate correction is required, e.g., “the absorbent article further comprises“.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ehrnsperger ‘595 (US 2016/0235595 A1) (as a printed publication published 8/18/16, before the effective filing date of 12/11/23).
As to claim 1, Ehrnsperger ‘595 teaches an absorbent core 28 (Fig.1; [0024]-[0030]) extending in a longitudinal direction (y) and a transversal direction (x) ([0025],ll.10-14), the absorbent core having a longitudinal axis 80’ (Fig.1, claim 1; [0028]), the absorbent core comprising an absorbent material ([0031]-[0033]) and a core wrap ([0030]), wherein the absorbent material is between a top layer and a bottom layer of the core wrap ([0045],ll.19-21), the absorbent material comprising superabsorbent polymer particles (SAP; [0024],ll.19-20), wherein the absorbent material defines within the core wrap an absorbent material area that comprises: a central area (central portion) comprising a front edge 600, a back edge 202, two longitudinally-extending side edges 604, 606 joining the front edge to the back edge, and a length (L') measured along the longitudinal axis (Fig.1,5; [0032],ll.1-5; [0033],ll.1-3);
wherein the central area comprises a first recess and a second recess (as recesses adjacent to edges 610, 620; [0034],ll.3-4) disposed symmetrically relative to the longitudinal axis 80’ at a position between the front edge and the back edge (Fig.1,5; [0031],ll.5-8, 1-4), these recesses delimiting a crotch portion C’ (around crotch point C’ Fig.1; [0028],ll.7-9) of the central area having a smaller width than the maximum width of the (Wmax) of the central area, in particular a smaller width than at least one of the front edge and the back edge (Fig.1,5); and a first sideline area present in the first recess, and a second sideline area present in the second recess, wherein each sideline area has a length (L") which is from about 25% to about 70% of the length of the central area (L') ([0026]-[0038]; Fig.1,5).
As to claims 2-3, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the first sideline area and the second sideline area each comprises a plurality of islands or two islands 61,62 of absorbent material (side portions 61, 62; Fig.1; [0034],ll.1), each island being separated from adjacent islands by an absorbent material-free gap 261, 262, when the absorbent core is considered in a flat state (folding guide 261, 262 without absorbent material; Fig.1; [0031],ll.5-6).
As to claims 4-5, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the islands of the absorbent material 61, 62 of each sideline area are substantially longitudinally-aligned (Fig.1); wherein the plurality of islands 61, 62 for each sideline are longitudinally-aligned parallel to the longitudinal direction (y) (Fig.1).
As to claim 6, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the central area comprises at least one channel-forming area 261, 262, which is an area free of absorbent material (folding guides 261,262 forming recesses Fig.1; [0031],ll.5-6; [0033],ll.1-3) through which the top layer of the core wrap is bonded to the bottom layer of the core wrap (as unitary [0032],ll.10; [0045],ll.19-21), so that when the absorbent material surrounding the channel-forming area swells, a three-dimensional channel is formed along the channel bond (the folding guides 261,262 forming channels comprising no absorbment material [0040],ll.5-7).
As to claim 7, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the absorbent article further comprises an auxiliary glue between the top layer core wrap and the absorbent material and/or between the absorbent material and the bottom layer core wrap (as one or more layers of auxillary glue to immobilize absorbent material (SAP) [0047],ll.1-2; glue applied on inner surface of top and/or bottom side of core wrap).
As to claim 8, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the superabsorbent polymer particles are at least partially immobilized within the core wrap by a microfibrous glue (where microfibrous glue used ([0049],ll.3,1-4) on one or more layers of glue to immobilize absorbent material (SAP) [0047],ll.1-2; glue applied on inner surface of top and/or bottom side of core wrap).
As to claim 9, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the first recess and the second recess (as recesses adjacent to edges 610, 620; [0034],ll.3-4) have a combined area in the range of from 5 % to 30% of the area of a trapezoid or rectangle defined by the front edge and the back edge of the central area (as central portion forming substantially trapezoid shape defined by front edge 600, back edge 202, two longitudinally-extending side edges 604, 606 joining the front edge to the back edge, and a length (L') measured along the longitudinal axis Fig.1,5; [0032],ll.1-5; [0033],ll.1-3; and 1st, 2nd, recesses as centered around C’ having a combined area in range of 5-30% as shown in Fig.1).
As to claim 10, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the absorbent article further comprises a chassis, the chassis comprising a liquid-permeable topsheet 24 on the article's wearer-facing side (Fig.5; [0069],ll.5,1-5), a liquid-impermeable backsheet 25 on the article's garment-facing side (Fig.5; [0074],ll.3-4), and an absorbent core according to claim 1 (as presented above) between the topsheet 24 and the backsheet 25 ([0073]).
As to claim 11, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the absorbent core further comprises a liquid management layer between the topsheet and the absorbent core ([0009],ll.17-20), preferably wherein the liquid management layer does not extend widthwise beyond the absorbent material area comprising the central area and the sidelines areas ([0058],ll.11-14).
As to claim 12, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the absorbent article further comprises a distribution layer between the topsheet and the liquid management layer (distribution layer as liquid management [0056],ll.6-8; between topsheet and absorbent core [0056],ll.2-3).
As to claim 13, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the distribution layer comprises at least one folding guide 261,262, preferably wherein the folding guide is at least partially superposed with the at least one channel-forming area of the absorbent core (folding guides 261,262 forming recesses Fig.1; [0031],ll.5-6; [0033],ll.1-3).
As to claim 14, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the absorbent article further comprises a longitudinal axis, a front region, a back region and an intermediate crotch region, each region measuring a third of the length of the article as measured along the longitudinal axis of the article ([0009],ll.5-9), and wherein the central area of the absorbent core extends longitudinally across the front region, crotch region and back region of the absorbent article, and the first and second sideline areas of the absorbent core are at least partially within the crotch region of the article ([0009],ll.9-12).
As to claim 15, Ehrnsperger‘595 teaches wherein the absorbent article further comprises: a pair of elasticized inner leg cuffs ([0009],ll.12-14), each inner leg cuff having a proximal edge attached to the chassis, in particular to the topsheet ([0076],ll.8-10), and a free-standing elasticized distal edge ([0076],ll.12-15;
wherein the one or more elasticized inner and/or outer cuffs exert a contraction force on the chassis of the article so that the absorbent core takes a basin shape when the article is placed on a wearer ([0077],ll.1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO Form 892 are considered relevant to Applicants’ disclosure and are cited to show further the general state of the art, including, e.g.: Bianchi (US 2015/0342801 A1) (claims 1-17; Figures 2,3,8; [0020] [0023], [0026], [0030], [0053], [0057], [0059], [0060]); and Ehrnsperger ‘594 (US 2016/0235594 A1) ( [0001), [0002], [0006), [0035] - [0037], [0046], [0048], [0049], [0052], [0057]; figures 1,5).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, REBECCA EISENBERG, can be reached on 571-270-5879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GUY K TOWNSEND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781