DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed (01/16/2026) has overcome the 112(b) rejection presented in the previous office action
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 with respect to claims 1-17 regarding 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Narla in view of Lathrop fails to teach or suggest a threshold-triggered sequential shutdown of two switching elements, namely a relay and a contactor, and further argues that Lathrop operates using message-driven smart-grid communication rather than a voltage-threshold condition. These arguments are not persuasive.
Narla teaches an on/off-grid switching apparatus for an inverter-based energy generation system including an automatic transfer switch (ATS) configured to selectively connect an inverter output or the AC grid to a load panel (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0035, 0040-0044). Narla further teaches detecting grid conditions including grid voltage relative to threshold values and controlling switching operations of the transfer switch based on such conditions (see paras. 0034-0036, 0043-0044). Thus, Narla teaches determining a grid disconnection condition when grid voltage falls below a threshold and controlling the switching apparatus accordingly.
However, Narla does not expressly teach separate relay and contactor switching elements controlled sequentially such that the relay is turned off prior to the contactor during a grid disconnection event.
Lathrop teaches an automatic transfer switch system including switching elements such as relays and contactors connected in series with conductors of a power distribution system (see figs. 1-4; paras. 0039-0041, 0051-0056).
Lathrop further teaches controller-controlled transfer operations in which the transfer switch operates under controller command to transfer loads between power sources in response to received control messages (see paras. 0051-0056, 0068-0073). Thus, Lathrop confirms that multiple switching elements of an automatic transfer switch are operated under controller command during transfer operations.
Applicant’s contention that Lathrop relies on communication-based triggers rather than voltage-threshold conditions does not rebut the rejection because the rejection does not rely on Lathrop for the triggering condition of the switching operation. Rather, Narla provides the voltage-threshold-based control for determining when the transfer switch should operate, while Lathrop provides the architecture of an automatic transfer switch including multiple switching elements operated under controller command. The particular trigger used to initiate a transfer operation (e.g., a communication signal or a detected grid condition) does not change the design choice to control multiple switching elements when performing transfer operations.
Furthermore, once multiple switching elements are present in an automatic transfer switch and are controlled by a controller, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the controller may operate those switching elements in a controlled order when performing connection or disconnection operations. Implementing sequential operation of multiple switching elements represents a routine control implementation once a transfer mechanism includes more than one switching element. Applying such controller-based sequencing to the transfer switch of Narla therefore represents the predictable implementation of known control techniques in a similar device, consistent with the principles set forth in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement controller-controlled sequential operation of multiple switching elements in the transfer switch architecture taught by Lathrop in the automatic transfer switch of Narla, so that when Narla’s controller detects a grid disconnection condition based on grid voltage relative to a threshold, the switching elements are operated in a controlled sequence, for example by opening a relay prior to opening a contactor.
Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla in view of Lathrop is maintained. Arguments also apply to claims 8 and 9; hence claims 8 and 9 rejection is also maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla et al (US 2018/0048159 A1) in view of Lathrop et al (US 2012/0104848 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Narla teaches an on/off-grid switching apparatus (see figs. 3-4, paras. 0028-0035, 0040-0044) comprising: two ends, wherein a first end of the two ends is configured to connect to a power converter and a load and a second end of the two ends is configured to connect to a power grid (see 316/404, 330/430, 306/414, figs. 3-4, paras. 0029-0041); grid conductors corresponding to a live wire and a neutral wire carrying alternating current between the grid and the electrical panel (see 316/404, 306/414, figs. 3-4); a contactor connected in series with a conductor of the grid connection (see 328/348, figs. 3-4, paras. 0031-0034, 0043-0044); and a controller (see 340/404, 342/442, figs. 3-4, paras. 0036, 0043); the on/off-grid switching apparatus outputs, to the power grid through the grid conductors, an alternating current generated by the power converter (see 316/404, 306/414, paras. 0028-0031, 0040-0042); controlling switching operations based on grid conditions detected by the controller (see paras. 0034-0036, 0043-0044).
Narla does not expressly teach separate relay and contactor switching elements connected in series with the grid conductors and controlled sequentially such that the relay is turned off prior to the contactor during a grid disconnection condition.
In an analogous art, Lathrop teaches an automatic transfer switch system including switching elements such as relays and contactors connected in series with conductors of a power distribution system (see figs. 1 and 3, paras. 0039-0041, 0051-0053); Lathrop further teaches controller-controlled transfer switching operations in which the transfer mechanism of the automatic transfer switch operates under controller command to transfer loads between power sources in response to received control messages (see figs. 3-4, paras. 0051-0056, 0068-0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement controller-controlled sequential operation of multiple switching elements in the transfer switch architecture of Lathrop when applied to the on/off-grid switching apparatus of Narla, so that when Narla’s controller detects a grid disconnection condition based on grid voltage relative to a threshold, the switching elements are operated in a controlled order, for example by opening a relay prior to opening a contactor, representing a predictable implementation of controller-based switching in an automatic transfer switch system.
Regarding claim 8, Narla teaches a power supply system including an on/off-grid switching apparatus (see figs. 3-4, paras. 0028-0035, 0040-0044) comprising: two ends, wherein a first end is configured to connect to a power converter and a load and a second end is configured to connect to a power grid (see 316/404, 330/430, 306/414, figs. 3-4, paras. 0029-0041); grid conductors corresponding to a live wire and a neutral wire; a contactor connected in series with a conductor of the grid connection (see 328/348, figs. 3-4, paras. 0031-0034, 0043-0044); and a controller (see 340/404, 342/442, figs. 3-4, paras. 0036, 0043); the on/off-grid switching apparatus outputs an alternating current generated by a power converter to the grid (see 316/404, 306/414, paras. 0028-0031, 0040-0042), wherein the alternating current is obtained by inverting a direct current output by a photovoltaic string or an energy storage battery (see 302, 306, 316, figs. 3-4, paras. 0028-0032); switching operations may be controlled by the controller based on detected grid conditions (see paras. 0034-0036, 0043-0044).
Narla does not expressly teach separate relay and contactor switching elements controlled sequentially such that the relay is turned off prior to the contactor during a grid disconnection condition, nor does Narla expressly teach that the contactor includes a main contact and an auxiliary normally closed contact having opposite switching states.
In an analogous art Lathrop teaches switching elements including relays and contactors connected within an automatic transfer switch system for selectively connecting power sources to loads (see figs. 1 and 3, paras. 0039-0041, 0051-0053) and further teaches contactors including auxiliary contacts associated with the main contacts for monitoring and control of switching states (see fig. 4, paras. 0045-0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement controller-controlled sequential operation of multiple switching elements in the automatic transfer switch system of Narla when disconnecting the inverter from the grid in response to Narla’s grid-voltage threshold condition.
Regarding claim 9, Narla teaches an on/off-grid switching apparatus (see figs. 3-4, paras. 0028-0035, 0040-0044) comprising: two ends, wherein a first end of the two ends is configured to connect to a power converter and a load and a second end is configured to connect to a power grid (see 316/404, 330/430, 306/414, figs. 3-4, paras. 0029-0041); grid conductors of the grid connection corresponding to a live wire and neutral wire; a switching element connected in series with a conductor of the grid connection (see para. 0044); and a controller (see 340/404, 342/442, figs. 3-4, paras. 0036, 0043); the apparatus outputs alternating current generated by the power converter to the grid (see 316/404, 306/414, paras. 0028-0031, 0040-0042) and that switching operations are controlled by the controller based on grid conditions (see paras. 0034-0036, 0043-0044).
Narla does not expressly teach separate relay and contactor switching elements controlled sequentially such that the relay is turned on prior to the contactor during reconnection of the grid when grid voltage exceeds a threshold.
an analogous art Lathrop teaches switching elements including relays and contactors connected in series with conductors within an automatic transfer switch system (see figs. 1 and 3, paras. 0039-0041, 0051-0053); Lathrop further teaches controller-controlled transfer switching operations of the automatic transfer switch during load transfer events (see figs. 3-4, paras. 0051-0056, 0068-0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement controller-controlled sequential operation of multiple switching elements in the on/off-grid switching apparatus of Narla such that the relay is turned on prior to the contactor when Narla detects restoration of grid power based on the grid voltage threshold condition.
Re Claim 2; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein the relay is connected in series to the live wire, and a second main contact of the two main contacts is connected in series to the neutral wire; and when the voltage of the power grid is less than or equal to the first voltage threshold, the controller is configured to: control the relay to be turned off, and, after the relay is turned off, control the two main contacts to be simultaneously turned off (see 304/440, figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0036, 0040-0045). Lathrop further teaches the relay is connected in series to the live wire and that the contactor comprises two main contacts, including a first main contact of the two main contacts (see 15, 18, 21, 22, figs. 3-4; paras. 0051-0056, 0068, 0073).
Re Claim 3; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein the relay is connected in series to the neutral wire; and when the voltage of the power grid is less than or equal to the first voltage threshold, the controller is configured to: control the relay to be turned off, and, after the relay is turned off, control the first main contact to be turned off prior to the second main contact (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0036, 0040-0045). Lathrop further teaches the relay is connected in series to the live wire, and that the contactor comprises two main contacts, a first main contact of the two main contacts connected in series to the live wire and a second main contact of the two main contacts (see 18, 21, 22, figs. 3-4; paras. 0051-0056, 0060-0066, 0068, 0073).
Re Claim 4; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein an on/off status of the auxiliary normally open contact is the same as on/off statuses of the two main contacts; and after the controller controls the two main contacts to be turned off, when the auxiliary normally open contact is turned on, the controller is further configured to send a shutdown signal to the power converter, so that the power converter is shut down (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0035-0036, 0043-0045). Lathrop further teaches that the contactor further comprises an auxiliary normally open contact (see 25, 31, 33-38, 14, fig. 4; paras. 0045-0048).
Re Claim 5; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein an on/off status of the auxiliary normally open contact is the same as on/off statuses of the two main contacts; and after the controller controls the two main contacts to be turned off, when the auxiliary normally open contact is turned on, the controller is further configured to send a shutdown signal to the power converter, so that the power converter is shut down (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0035-0036, 0043-0044); Lathrop further teaches that the contactor further comprises an auxiliary normally open contact (see 25, 31, 33-38, 14, fig. 4; paras. 0045-0048).
Re Claim 6; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein an on/off status of the auxiliary normally closed contact is opposite to on/off statuses of the two main contacts; and after the controller controls the two main contacts to be turned off, when the auxiliary normally closed contact is turned off, the controller is further configured to send a shutdown signal to the power converter, so that the power converter is shut down (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0035-0036, 0043-0045). Lathrop further teaches that the contactor further comprises an auxiliary normally closed contact (see 25, 31, 33-38, 14, fig. 4; paras. 0045-0048).
Re Claim 7; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above,Narla further teaches wherein an on/off status of the auxiliary normally closed contact is opposite to on/off statuses of the two main contacts; and after the controller controls the two main contacts to be turned off, when the auxiliary normally closed contact is turned off, the controller is further configured to send a shutdown signal to the power converter, so that the power converter is shut down (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0035-0036, 0043-0045); Lathrop further teaches that the contactor further comprises an auxiliary normally closed contact (see 25, 31, 33-38, 14, fig. 4; paras. 0045-0048).
Re Claim 10; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein a first main contact of the two main contacts is connected in series to the live wire, and a second main contact of the two main contacts is connected in series to the neutral wire; and when the voltage of the power grid is greater than the first voltage threshold, the controller is configured to: control the relay to be turned on, and, after the relay is turned on, control the two main contacts to be simultaneously turned on (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0034-0036, 0040-0045); Lathrop further teaches that the relay is connected in series to the live wire and the contactor comprises two main contacts (see 15, 18, 21, 22, 25, 31, 33-38, 14, figs. 3-4; paras. 0045-0048, 0051-0056, 0068-0073).
Re Claim 11; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein a first main contact of the two main contacts is connected in series to the live wire, and a second main contact of the two main contacts is connected in series to the neutral wire; and when the voltage of the power grid is greater than the first voltage threshold, the controller is configured to: control the relay to be turned on, and, after the relay is turned on, control the first main contact to be turned on prior to the second main contact (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0034-0036, 0040-0045). Lathrop further teaches that the relay is connected in series to the live wire and that the contactor comprises two main contacts (see 18, 21, 22, 33-38, figs. 3-4; paras. 0045-0048, 0051-0056, 0068-0073).
Re Claim 12; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein the alternating current is obtained by inverting, by the power converter, a direct current output by a photovoltaic string (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0033).
Re Claim 13; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches wherein the alternating current is obtained by inverting, by the power converter, a direct current output by an energy storage battery (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0033).
Re Claim 14; The combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches a power converter, wherein the power converter is connected to a power grid via the on/off-grid switching apparatus and configured to convert a direct current output by a photovoltaic string into an alternating current (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0033).
Re Claim 15; the combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches a power converter, wherein the power converter is connected to a power grid via the on/off-grid switching apparatus and configured to convert a direct current output by an energy storage battery into an alternating current (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0033, 0040-0042).
Re Claim 16; the combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches a power converter, wherein, when an inverter circuit in the power converter does not output an alternating current and a voltage of the power grid is less than a second voltage threshold (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0034-0036, 0040-0045); Lathrop further teaches that when the auxiliary normally closed contact is turned on, a controller in the power converter is configured to control the inverter circuit to output an alternating current (see 25, 31, 33-38, 14, fig. 4; paras. 0045-0048).
Re Claim 17; the combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches invention set forth above, Narla further teaches a power converter, wherein, when an inverter circuit in the power converter does not output an alternating current and a voltage of the power grid is less than a second voltage threshold (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0034-0045). Lathrop further teaches that when the auxiliary normally closed contact is turned off, a controller in the power converter is configured to control the inverter circuit not to output an alternating current, and that the second voltage threshold is less than a first voltage threshold (see 25, 31, fig. 4; paras. 0045-0048).
Re Claim 18, the combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches the invention set forth above,Narla teaches an on/off-grid switching apparatus connected between an inverter system and an AC power grid (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0035, 0040-0044); such grid connections may be implemented in single-phase or three-phase AC power distribution systems; Lathrop further teaches automatic transfer switch systems including multiple switching elements connected in series with corresponding conductors of a power distribution system, including multi-pole switching elements corresponding to multiple phase conductors (see 3T1, 3T2, 5T1, 5T2, fig. 1; paras. 0039-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the live wire of the apparatus of claim 1 as comprising three phase-wires and to provide a contactor comprising three main contacts respectively connected in series with the three phase-wires, as automatic transfer switches commonly employ multi-pole contactors for three-phase AC systems, representing a routine and predictable design variation of the Narla/Lathrop switching arrangement.
Re Claim 19, the combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches the invention set forth above. Narla teaches a power supply system including an on/off-grid switching apparatus connected between an inverter system and an AC power grid (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0035, 0040-0044); Lathrop teaches automatic transfer switch systems used in AC power distribution networks including switching elements connected in series with respective conductors of the system, including multi-pole switching elements corresponding to multiple phase conductors (see 3T1, 3T2, 5T1, 5T2, fig. 1; paras. 0039-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement, in the power supply system of claim 8, the live wire as comprising three phase-wires and to provide a contactor including three main contacts respectively connected in series with the three phase-wires, as a routine adaptation of the Narla/Lathrop automatic transfer switch arrangement for use with a three-phase AC power distribution system.
Re Claim 20, the combination of Narla and Lathrop teaches the invention set forth above, Narla teaches an on/off-grid switching apparatus coupled between an inverter system and an AC grid (see figs. 3-4; paras. 0028-0035, 0040-0044); Lathrop teaches automatic transfer switch systems including multi-pole switching elements connected in series with respective conductors of a power distribution system (see 3T1, 3T2, 5T1, 5T2, fig. 1; paras. 0039-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide, in the apparatus of claim 9, a live wire comprising three phase-wires and a contactor comprising three main contacts respectively connected in series with the three phase-wires, as multi-pole contactors are routinely used in automatic transfer switches for three-phase AC systems and represent a predictable implementation of the Narla/Lathrop switching arrangement.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849