DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiya et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2009/0160882) in view of Kim (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0050670).
Regarding Claim 1, Kiya et al. teaches a digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) comprising:
a gamma reference voltage generator (Figure 15, Element RDC. Paragraph 229) configured to output gamma reference voltages (Figure 15, Element not labeled, but is the signals between RDC and SELC. Paragraph 229) in response to a first-group signal of a digital signal (Figure 15, Element VREG. Paragraph 229);
a voltage selector (Figure 15, Element SELC. Paragraph 230) configured to output, as a gamma selection voltage (Figure 15, Element VSC1. Paragraph 230), one of the gamma reference voltages (Figure 15, Element not labeled, but is the signals between RDC and SELC. Paragraph 229) in response to a second-group signal of the digital signal (Figure 15, Element VREG. Paragraph 229);
a first amplifier (Figure 15, Element AR. Paragraph 231) configured to receive the gamma selection voltage (Figure 15, Element VSC1. Paragraph 230) and to output a first conversion voltage (Figure 15, Element AGND. Paragraph 231).
Kiya et al. is silent with regards to a boosting circuit configured to convert the first conversion voltage into a second conversion voltage in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal; and a second amplifier configured to receive the second conversion voltage and to output an analog signal.
Kim teaches a first amplifier (Figure 2, Element 220. Paragraph 49) configured to receive the gamma selection voltage (Figure 2, Element VB11. Paragraph 49) and to output a first conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50);
a boosting circuit (Figure 2, Element 250. Paragraph 51) configured to convert the first conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50) into a second conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element V3. Paragraph 51) in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal; and
a second amplifier (Figure 2, Element 270. Paragraph 52) configured to receive the second conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element V3. Paragraph 51) and to output an analog signal (Figure 2, Element V4. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the electro optical device of Kiya et al. with the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kiya et al. with the teachings of Kim is to provide a boosting circuit that can stably generate a boosting voltage that can cope with a wide range of input voltage, as taught by Kim (Paragraph 7).
Regarding Claim 14, Kiya et al. teach a data driving circuit comprising:
a digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) configured to convert an image data signal to an analog signal; and
a demultiplexer (Paragraph 134) configured to receive the analog signal and output a data signal, wherein the digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) includes:
a gamma reference voltage generator (Figure 15, Element RDC. Paragraph 229) configured to output gamma reference voltages (Figure 15, Element not labeled, but is the signals between RDC and SELC. Paragraph 229) in response to a first-group signal of the image data signal;
a voltage selector (Figure 15, Element SELC. Paragraph 230) configured to output, as a gamma selection voltage (Figure 15, Element VSC1. Paragraph 230), one of the gamma reference voltages (Figure 15, Element not labeled, but is the signals between RDC and SELC. Paragraph 229) in response to a second-group signal of the image data signal;
a first amplifier (Figure 15, Element AR. Paragraph 231) configured to receive the gamma selection voltage (Figure 15, Element VSC1. Paragraph 230) and output a first conversion voltage (Figure 15, Element AGND. Paragraph 231).
Kiya et al. is silent with regards to a boosting circuit configured to convert the first conversion voltage to a second conversion voltage, in response to the first-group signal of the image data signal; and a second amplifier configured to receive the second conversion voltage and to output an analog signal.
Kim teaches a first amplifier (Figure 2, Element 220. Paragraph 49) configured to receive the gamma selection voltage (Figure 2, Element VB11. Paragraph 49) and to output a first conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50);
a boosting circuit (Figure 2, Element 250. Paragraph 51) configured to convert the first conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50) to a second conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element V3. Paragraph 51), in response to the first-group signal of the image data signal; and
a second amplifier (Figure 2, Element 270. Paragraph 52) configured to receive the second conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element V3. Paragraph 51) and to output an analog signal (Figure 2, Element V4. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the electro optical device of Kiya et al. with the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kiya et al. with the teachings of Kim is to provide a boosting circuit that can stably generate a boosting voltage that can cope with a wide range of input voltage, as taught by Kim (Paragraph 7).
Regarding Claim 17, Kiya et al. teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel (Figure 1, Element 400. Paragraph 115);
a scan driving circuit (Figure 1, Element 70. Paragraph 121) configured to provide a scan signal to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 400. Paragraph 115);
a data driving circuit (Figure 1, Element 50. Paragraph 120) configured to provide a data signal to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 400. Paragraph 115); and
a driving controller (Figure 1, Element 40. Paragraphs 117 – 119) configured to provide an image data signal to the data driving circuit (Figure 1, Element 50. Paragraph 120), wherein the data driving circuit (Figure 1, Element 50. Paragraph 120) includes:
a digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) configured to convert the image data signal to an analog signal; and
a demultiplexer configured to receive the analog signal and output a data signal, and wherein the digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) includes:
a gamma reference voltage generator (Figure 15, Element RDC. Paragraph 229) configured to output gamma reference voltages (Figure 15, Element not labeled, but is the signals between RDC and SELC. Paragraph 229) in response to a first-group signal of the image data signal;
a voltage selector (Figure 15, Element SELC. Paragraph 230) configured to output, as a gamma selection voltage (Figure 15, Element VSC1. Paragraph 230), one of the gamma reference voltages (Figure 15, Element not labeled, but is the signals between RDC and SELC. Paragraph 229), in response to a second-group signal of the image data signal;
a first amplifier (Figure 15, Element AR. Paragraph 231) configured to receive the gamma selection voltage (Figure 15, Element VSC1. Paragraph 230) and output a first conversion voltage (Figure 15, Element AGND. Paragraph 231).
Kiya et al. is silent with regards to a boosting circuit configured to convert the first conversion voltage into a second conversion voltage in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal; and a second amplifier configured to receive the second conversion voltage and to output an analog signal.
Kim teaches a first amplifier (Figure 2, Element 220. Paragraph 49) configured to receive the gamma selection voltage (Figure 2, Element VB11. Paragraph 49) and to output a first conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50);
a boosting circuit (Figure 2, Element 250. Paragraph 51) configured to convert the first conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50) into a second conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element V3. Paragraph 51) in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal; and
a second amplifier (Figure 2, Element 270. Paragraph 52) configured to receive the second conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element V3. Paragraph 51) and to output an analog signal (Figure 2, Element V4. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the electro optical device of Kiya et al. with the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kiya et al. with the teachings of Kim is to provide a boosting circuit that can stably generate a boosting voltage that can cope with a wide range of input voltage, as taught by Kim (Paragraph 7).
Claims 21 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0092119) in view of Kim (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0050670) .
Regarding Claim 21, Kim et al. teaches a data driving circuit of a display device, comprising:
a first voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 413. Paragraph 39) configured to output a first set of gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) based on a first value of a first predetermined number of bits of an image data signal (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39);
a second voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 414. Paragraph 39) configured to generate a second set of gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) based on a second value of the first predetermined number of bits of the image data signal (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39);
a voltage selector (Figure 5, Element 415. Paragraph 40) configured to select one of the gamma reference voltages in the first set of gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) or the second set of gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) based on a value of a second predetermined number of bits of the image data signal (Figure 5, Elements D[2] – D[0]. Paragraph 39); and
the gamma reference voltage (Figure 6, Element ND2. Paragraph 43) being the selected one of the gamma reference voltages, the conversion voltage (Element OUT Panel. Paragraph 33) corresponding to an analog voltage to be output from the data driving circuit (Figure 4, Element 400. Paragraph 32) to a pixel of the display device (Element LCD Panel. Paragraph 36).
Kim et al. is silent with regards to a boosting circuit configured to generate a conversion voltage based on the selected one of the gamma reference voltages, the conversion voltage corresponding to an analog voltage to be output from the data driving circuit to a pixel of the display device.
Kim teaches a boosting circuit (Figure 2, Element 250. Paragraph 51) configured to generate a conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50) based on the gamma reference voltage (Figure 2, Element VB11. Paragraph 49), the conversion voltage (Figure 2, Element not labeled, but is the voltage between Elements 230 and 250. Paragraph 50) corresponding to an analog voltage to be output from the data driving circuit (Figure 6, Element 670. Paragraph 74) to a pixel of the display device (Figure 6, Element 690. Paragraph 74).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the source driver of Kim et al. with the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kim et al. with the teachings of Kim is to provide a boosting circuit that can stably generate a boosting voltage that can cope with a wide range of input voltage, as taught by Kim (Paragraph 7).
Regarding Claim 22, Kim et al. in view of Kim teach the data driving circuit of claim 21 (See Above). Kim et al. teach wherein:
the first set of gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) are generated based on a first highest voltage (Figure 5, Element L1. Paragraph 39), and
the second set of gamma voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) are generated based on a second highest voltage (Figure 5, Element L2. Paragraph 39) different from the first highest voltage (Figure 5, Element L1. Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 23, Kim et al. in view of Kim teach the data driving circuit of claim 21 (See Above). Kim et al. teach wherein the first predetermined number of bits (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39) and the second predetermined number of bits (Figure 5, Elements D[2] – D[0]. Paragraph 39) correspond to a gray level of the image data signal (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[0]. Paragraph 38).
Claims 2 – 3, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiya et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2009/0160882) in view of Kim (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0050670) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0092119).
Regarding Claim 2, Kiya et al. in view of Kim teach the digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) of claim 1 (See Above). Kiya et al. is silent with regards to wherein the gamma reference voltage generator includes: a first voltage generator configured to generate first gamma reference voltages in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal; and a second voltage generator configured to generate second gamma reference voltages in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal, wherein one of the first gamma reference voltages or the second gamma reference voltages is output to the gamma reference voltages.
Kim et al. teach wherein the gamma reference voltage generator includes:
a first voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 413. Paragraph 39) configured to generate first gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39); and
a second voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 414. Paragraph 39) configured to generate second gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39), wherein one of the first gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) or the second gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) is output to the gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements V1 and V2. Paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the electro optical device of Kiya et al. and the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim with the voltage generator of Kim et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kiya et al. and Kim with the teachings of Kim et al. is to enable the generation of stable and uniformly distributed gray level differences, as taught by Kim et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 3, Kiya et al. in view of Kim in view of Kim et al. teach the digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) of claim 2 (See Above). Kiya et al. teach wherein the first voltage generator (Figure 15, Element RDC. Paragraph 229) includes: a first resistor string (Figure 15, Element RDC. Paragraph 229) including a plurality of resistors configured to generate the first gamma reference voltages; and a first switching circuit (Figure 15, Element SELC. Paragraph 230) configured to output the first gamma reference voltages as the gamma reference voltages in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal.
Regarding Claim 15, Kiya et al. in view of Kim teach the data driving circuit of claim 14 (See Above). Kiya et al. is silent with regards to wherein the gamma reference voltage generator includes: a first gamma voltage generator configured to generate first gamma reference voltages in response to the first-group signal of the image data; and a second gamma voltage generator configured to generate second gamma reference voltages in response to the first-group signal of the image data, wherein one of the first gamma reference voltages or the second gamma reference voltages is output as the gamma reference voltages.
Kim et al. teach wherein the gamma reference voltage generator includes:
a first gamma voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 413. Paragraph 39) configured to generate first gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) in response to the first-group signal of the image data (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39); and
a second gamma voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 414. Paragraph 39) configured to generate second gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) in response to the first-group signal of the image data (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39), wherein one of the first gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) or the second gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) is output as the gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements V1 and V2. Paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the electro optical device of Kiya et al. and the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim with the voltage generator of Kim et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kiya et al. and Kim with the teachings of Kim et al. is to enable the generation of stable and uniformly distributed gray level differences, as taught by Kim et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 18, Kiya et al. in view of Kim teach the display device of claim 17 (See Above). Kiya et al. is silent with regards to wherein the gamma reference voltage generator includes: a first voltage generator configured to generate first gamma reference voltages in response to the first-group signal of the image data; and a second voltage generator configured to generate second gamma reference voltages in response to the first-group signal of the image data, wherein one of the first gamma reference voltages or the second gamma reference voltages is output as the gamma reference voltages.
Kim et al. teach wherein the gamma reference voltage generator includes:
a first voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 413. Paragraph 39) configured to generate first gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) in response to the first-group signal of the image data (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39); and
a second voltage generator (Figure 5, Element 414. Paragraph 39) configured to generate second gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) in response to the first-group signal of the image data (Figure 5, Elements D[9] – D[3]. Paragraph 39), wherein one of the first gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L1, L3, L5…L255. Paragraph 39) or the second gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements L2, L4, L6…L256. Paragraph 39) is output as the gamma reference voltages (Figure 5, Elements V1 and V2. Paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the electro optical device of Kiya et al. and the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim with the voltage generator of Kim et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kiya et al. and Kim with the teachings of Kim et al. is to enable the generation of stable and uniformly distributed gray level differences, as taught by Kim et al. (Paragraph 8).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiya et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2009/0160882) in view of Kim (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0050670) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0092119) in view of Pio et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2021/0183293).
Regarding Claim 4, Kiya et al. in view of Kim teach the digital-analog converter (Figure 1, Element DR. Paragraph 133) of claim 3 (See Above). Kiya et al. is silent with regards to wherein the plurality of resistors of the first resistor string have mutually different resistances.
Piao et al. teach wherein the plurality of resistors of the first resistor string have mutually different resistances (Figure 5, Element 310-V. Paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the electro optical device of Kiya et al., the teachings of the boosting circuit of Kim, and the voltage generator of Kim et al. with the gamma reference voltage generator of Piao et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kiya et al., Kim, and Kim et al. with the teachings of Piao et al. is to reduce the area of digital-to-analog converter while maintaining existing processing capacity, as taught by Piao et al. (Paragraph 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach at least “wherein the second voltage generator includes: a second resistor string including a plurality of resistors configured to generate the second gamma reference voltages; a second switching circuit configured to output one or more of the second gamma reference voltages corresponding to the gamma reference voltages; a third switching circuit to output one or more of the second gamma reference voltages corresponding to the gamma reference voltages; and a fourth switching circuit to output one or more of the second gamma reference voltages corresponding to the gamma reference voltages, wherein one of the second, third, or fourth switching circuits are configured to operate in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal” of Claim 5 in combination with all the limitations of Claims 1 and 2, from which Claim 5 depends. Claim 6 inherits this objection.
Claims 7 – 12, 16, and 19 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach at least “wherein the boosting circuit includes: a first capacitor connected between a first node and a second node, the first capacitor configured to receive the first conversion voltage; and a boosting switching circuit configured to transmit one of a plurality of boosting voltages to the second node, in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal” of Claim 7 in combination with all the limitations of Claim 1, from which Claim 7 depends. Claim 16 and 19 are objected to for substantially the same reason. Claims 8 – 12 and 20 inherit this objection.
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach at least “wherein the second amplifier includes: a first input terminal configured to receive the second conversion voltage, a second input terminal, and an output terminal configured to output the analog signal and electrically connected to the second input terminal; wherein the boosting circuit further includes: a first capacitor connected between a first node and a second node; a boosting switching circuit configured to transmit one of a plurality of boosting voltages to the first node in response to the first-group signal of the digital signal; a first switch connected between an output terminal of the first amplifier and the second node; a second switch connected between the first node and a third node; a third switch connected between a voltage terminal and configured to receive a reference voltage and the third node; and a fourth switch connected between the second node and the second input terminal of the second amplifier, and wherein: the first input terminal of the second amplifier is connected to the third node, each of the third switch and the fourth switch is configured to be turned on in response to a reset signal, and each of the first switch and the second switch is configured to be turned on in response to an inverted reset signal” of Claim 13 in combination with all the limitations of Claim 1, from which Claim 13 depends.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sakaguchi (U.S. PG Pub 2003/0201959) teach a display driving device that has a voltage generation circuit similar to the instant invention.
Lee et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2009/0051575) teach a display driving device that is has a voltage generator that uses multiple selection circuits by bit numbers, similar to the instant invention.
Chae (U.S. PG Pub 2023/0306916) teaches a display device with a boosting circuit between two amplifiers, similar to the instant invention.
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625