DETAILED ACTION
The application of Han et al. for a “entry terminal device, entry management system, and entry management method” filed on December 11, 2024 has been examined.
This application claims foreign priority based on the application KR10-2024-0097889, filed on July 24, 2024 in Republic of Korea. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a) – (d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-13 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mooney et al. (US# 7,724,207) in view of Sahani et al. (US# 11,308,747).
Referring to Claim 1, Mooney et al. disclose an entry terminal device (100) (i.e. a piconet badge) for entry management of a visitor (column 1 lines 48 to 67; see Figures 1 to 4), the entry terminal device (100) comprising:
an e-paper panel (200) (i.e. a badge display) configured to display entry information of the visitor (i.e. retrieved badge display information is passed to a display controller 202 suitable for controlling the selected badge display 200. The retrieved badge display information may also be stored in display storage memory 210, which may be non-volatile to allow presentation of badge information even after a power cycle of the electronic wireless badge 100) (column 3 lines 60 to column 4 line 6; column 5 lines 5260; see Figures 2 and 4);
a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication unit (206) configured to transmit and
receives beacon signals to and from a plurality of BLE access points (BLE Aps) (150) (i.e. access piconet devices or a network security station 150) (i.e. the electronic wireless badge 100 is preferably a thin electronic display badge provided with a wireless piconet interface (e.g. a Bluetooth interface) 206, an information exchange module 204, a display controller 202, and a suitable display 200. The wireless piconet interface 206 may be any suitable piconet front end (e.g., a BLUETOOTH front end). The wireless techniques may be radio frequency (RF) as shown in the disclosed embodiments. However, infrared (IR) communication techniques between electronic wireless badges and the piconet network (e.g., the network security station 150) (column 3 lines 47 to 57; see Figure 2);
at least one processor (202) (column 3 lines 51 to 52; column 5 lines 3 to 13; see Figure 2); and
at least one memory (210) that stores at least one program to be executed by the at
least one processor (202) (i.e. retrieved badge display information is passed to a display controller 202 suitable for controlling the selected badge display 200. The retrieved badge display information may also be stored in display storage memory 210, which may be non-volatile to allow presentation of badge information even after a power cycle of the electronic wireless badge 100) (column 3 lines 60 to column 4 line 6; column 6 lines 21 to 31; see Figure 2),
wherein the at least one processor (202) is configured to process the entry information received from the first BLE AP (150) among the plurality of BLE APs to be displayed on the e-paper panel (200) (i.e. The information exchange module 204 may be any suitable processor, e.g., microprocessor, microcontroller, or digital signal processor (DSP). The information exchange module 204 is responsible for passing a badge ID or user code to the network exchange station 150, and for retrieving badge display information transmitted by the network exchange station 150 in response to the receipt of a properly authorized user code. Retrieved badge display information is passed to a display controller 202 suitable for controlling the selected badge display 200. The retrieved badge display information may also be stored in display storage memory 210, which may be non-volatile to allow presentation of badge information even after a power cycle of the electronic wireless badge 100) (column 3 line 60 to column 4 line 6; column 5 lines 54 to 66; see Figures 2 and 4).
However, Mooney et al. did not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to process the entry information received from a visitor management server through a first BLE AP among the plurality of BLE Aps.
In the same field of endeavor of a visitor access management system, Sahani et al. teach that wherein the at least one processor (146) is configured to process the entry information received from a visitor management server (103) (i.e. the operating system 146 can provide a mechanism whereby a network profile 150, such as a WiFi profile, that includes instructions or credentials for accessing a network, can be installed onto the client device 106 by the user. A network profile 150 can be downloaded using a browser application or another application installed on the client device 106) (column 6 lines 25 to 43; column 10 lines 43 to column 11 line 42; see Figures 1 to 3) in order to display valid visitor on the client device.
At the time of the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the need for having the client device receives associate with expiring link from the computing environment server through the network or the access control readers taught by Sahani et al. in the wireless security badge to that display the received display information receives from the network access piconet devices of Mooney et al. because having the client device receives associate with expiring link from the computing environment server through the network or the access control readers would provide an alternative way to provide the badge visually display information to the badge.
Referring to Claim 2, Mooney et al. in view of Sahani et al. disclose the entry terminal device of claim 1, Mooney et al. disclose wherein the visitor management server is configured to: request the first BLE AP to perform pairing with the BLE communication unit (i.e. the piconet front end 254 is complementary to the piconet front ends 206 in each of the electronic wireless badges 100, and may use, e.g., BLUETOOTH technology. The information exchange module 252 may be any suitable processor (e.g., microprocessor, microcontroller, or digital signal processor (DSP)) with applicable process software. The information exchange module 252 senses the presence of the electronic wireless badge 100, and receives a particular user code from the electronic wireless badge 100. In response, the information exchange module 252 searches through a suitable database (e.g., through user code database 256) to determine if the electronic wireless badge is recognized and authorized. If a match is found, the information exchange module 252 retrieves badge display information corresponding to the matched user code from a suitable badge display information database 258) (column 4 lines 7 to 25; see Figures 1 and 2); and
when the pairing is performed, transmit the entry information to the BLE communication unit through the paired first BLE AP (i.e. the information exchange module 252 then passes the retrieved badge display information to the RF transceiver 254 for transmission to the relevant electronic wireless badge 100 using the established piconet) (column 4 lines 25 to 28; see Figure 2).
Referring to Claim 3, Mooney et al. in view of Sahani et al. disclose the entry terminal device of claim 1, Mooney et al. disclose wherein the processor is configured to: process the entry information received from the visitor management server through the paired first BLE AP to be displayed on the e-paper panel (i.e. as an individual enters an area requiring identification, an electronic wireless badge 100 in accordance with the principles of the present invention exchanges a security code with the network security station 150, and upon proper authorization receives from the network security station 150 appropriate badge display information for display on the badge display 200 of the electronic wireless badge 100) (column 4 lines 50 to 62; see Figure 2); and
cause a background color corresponding to a basic mode to be displayed on the e-paper panel (i.e. a photo of an authorized wearer of the electronic wireless badge 100, together with desired information such as a name, employee number, and/or security level. FIG. 3B depicts a textual display only showing, e.g., a wholesale club member number and member since information. The badge display information may be passed in any format. For instance, the badge display information may be passed as binary information, ASCII information, or other suitable format. Additionally, the badge display information may be passed in a particular file format, e.g., in JPEG, GIF, or other graphics file format. In any event, the information exchange module 204 in the electronic wireless badge 100 is equipped with a suitable application program capable of translating the received badge display information into a suitable format for passage to the display controller 202 and display on the badge display 200. Periodically changing the format or information displayed by the electronic wireless badge 100 (e.g., every week, every day, every minute, etc.) (column 4 lines 63 to column 5 line 13; column 6 lines 37 to 39; see Figure 3A and 3B).
Referring to Claim 9, Mooney et al. in view of Sahani et al. disclose the entry terminal device of claim 1, of Sahani et al. disclose further comprising a Near Field
Communication (NFC) unit configured to perform entry authentication through NFC
Communication (i.e. the access control reader 108 can communicate with badges, proximity cards, or other devices providing credentials over NFC, ultrawide band (UWB) RFID, Bluetooth, Bluetooth low energy, smart-card reader interfaces or other wireless or wired communication protocols. The access control reader 108 can be flashed by the manufacturer with a decryption key with which credentials can be decrypted. The decryption key can be a private key that corresponds to a public key with which a credential is encrypted by or on behalf of the device providing a credential to the access control reader 108) (column 5 lines 33 to 43; see Figure 4).
Referring to Claim 10, Mooney et al. in view of Sahani et al. disclose the entry terminal device of claim 1, Sahani et al. disclose wherein the e-paper panel (630) is configured to further display a facial image (310) of the visitor, wherein the facial image of the visitor is generated by an entry terminal issuing apparatus that issues the entry terminal device (i.e. a mismatch between a wearer's face and a properly authorized user photo (e.g., 310 in FIG. 3A) obtained during a current piconet session from the network security station 150 and displayed at a stolen electronic wireless badge 100) (column 6 lines 46 to 49; see Figure 3A).
Referring to Claims 11 and 21, Mooney et al. in view of Sahani et al. disclose an entry management system, to the extent as claimed with respect to claim 1 above, and Mooney et al. disclose the system further including: an entry terminal issuing apparatus configured to issue the entry terminal device to a visitor when identification information of the visitor is input (i.e. an electronic wireless badge 100 in accordance with the principles of the present invention can increase security by preventing fraudulent creation of counterfeit badges) (column 2 lines 43 to 52; column 6 lines 32 to 52; see Figures 1 and 3A-3B); and
Sahani et al. disclose a visitor management server (103) configured to store entry mapping information in which identification information of the entry terminal device (106) and entry information of the visitor registered in advance are mapped based on the identification information of the visitor (i.e. the visitor management application 120 can generate a notification that is sent to a host identified in the visitor registration data submitted in the visitor registration form. The notification can be sent to a client device of a host, such as in an enterprise application in which enterprise notifications, data, and other information is presented. The notification can also be sent by email or a messaging service. The notification can include information presented in the visitor information form, such as the name, email address, and other identifying information about the user. The notification can also request that the host authorize the visitor. The notification can also request that the host approve or deny the visitor request) (column 10 lines 21 to 62; see Figure 5).
Referring to claims 12-13, 18-19 and 22, Mooney et al. in view of Sahani et al. disclose the entry management system of claims 11 and 21, although different in scope from the claims 2-3, 10 and 9, the claims 12-13, 18-19 and 22 contains similar limitations in that the claims 2-3, 10 and 9 already addressed above therefore claims 12-13, 18-19 and 22 are also rejected for the same obvious reasons given with respect to claims 2-3, 10 and 9.
Referring to Claim 20, Mooney et al. in view of Sahani et al. disclose the entry management system of claim 11, Sahani et al. disclose wherein: the identification information of the entry terminal device includes an identification number of an NFC module included in the entry terminal device (i.e. the physical access control server 123 can also receive a request to authenticate a badge credential on behalf of an access control reader 108. In some examples, request can be received from a physical access controller that is connected to multiple access control readers 108 over a short-range network because an access control reader 108 may not have access to the network 119) (column 3 lines 54 to 67); and the entry information includes i) at least one of a name, a company name, a face photo, or a date and time of visit of the visitor and ii) an authorized area where the visitor is permitted to visit (i.e. visitor user data 133 can further include data regarding a virtual visitor badge generated for the visitor, including one or more identifiers, text, and/or pictures embedded in the visitor badge. Visitor user data 133 can include a PACS credential that can be used by a client device 106 of the visitor to access one or more access control readers 108 in the facility. Visitor user data 133 can also include information about the visitor's visit to the facility) (column 4 lines 60 to column 67; see Figures 2 to 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 14-17 and 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claims 4, 14 and 23, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations that wherein: the visitor management server is configured to, when the entry terminal device is located in an unauthorized area or an emergency signal is received from the BLE communication unit, transmit a control signal for instructing a change in the background color; and the processor is configured to cause the background color of the e-paper panel to be changed to a color preset in the received control signal such that the color is identifiable by another person.
Referring to claims 5, 15 and 24, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations that wherein the visitor management server is configured to, when the pairing is performed, transmit a plurality of pieces of background data to be displayed on the entry terminal device together with the entry information to the entry terminal device, wherein the plurality of pieces of background data include a background color set differently for each control signal transmitted from the visitor management server.
Referring to claims 6 and 16, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations that further comprising a sensor configured to transmit an infrared signal to calculate a distance between an object and a front surface of the e-paper panel on which the entry information is displayed,
wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the front surface is in
a blocking state using the calculated distance, and control the BLE communication unit
to transmit a result of the determination to the visitor management server when the front
surface is in the blocking state, and
wherein the visitor management server is configured to, when the result of the
determination is received, transmit a control signal for outputting a warning sound to the
BLE communication unit.
Referring to claims 7 and 17, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations that wherein: the plurality of BLE APs is configured to transmit beacon signals received from the BLE communication unit to the visitor management server; and the visitor management server is configured to manage a location of the entry terminal device based on a beacon signal received through at least one of the plurality of BLE APs and pre-stored entry mapping information, and
wherein the pre-stored entry mapping information is information in which
identification information of the entry terminal device and the entry information of the
visitor registered in advance are mapped based on identification information of the
visitor input by the visitor when the entry terminal device is received.
Claim 8 depends either directly or indirectly upon independent claim 7; therefore, these claims are also allowed by virtue of their dependencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the enclosed PTO-892 for details.
/NAM V NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685