DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-10 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 12/11/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Examiner’s Note
5. Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all of part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding 103 rejection: Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered. Examiner agrees that Tschiya in view of Shin does not explicitly disclose the amended claims of 1, 8 and 9. However, Examiner brings forth Ikui (US 20230365022) in which paragraph [0069] discloses an operation server that manages a removable battery capable of being replaced based on battery ID information and also discloses [0075] wherein storage 514 stores battery state information and also see Fig. 6 in which shows a sequence diagram of the processing procedure of the battery management system. A new rejection can be found down below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 4-5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (US 20210170902) in view of Shin (WO 2019142550) in further view of Ikui (US 20230365022).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsuchiya discloses A controller that controls power transmission including at least one of charging a battery and discharging the battery, comprising: (Tsuchiya, see at least [0060] wherein the vehicle includes a control unit (ECU) that carries out charging control and discharging control of battery 130)
a communication unit for the controller, that communicates with an external server; (Tsuchiya, see at least [0060] wherein the ECU controls communication with outside the vehicle. Also see [0089-0092] wherein the ECU communicates with server 30.)
wherein the external server stores parameter information for a parameter for the power transmission conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information, (Tsuchiya, see at least [0092] wherein the vehicle includes a monitoring module that monitors a state of the battery 130 and outputs results of the monitored data to the ECU. Also see at least [0089] wherein the server 30 obtains information from each of the vehicles (ON/OFF status, connection of the charging cable, state of the battery, charging schedules, condition for charging, and more) and stores this information. The information is used to indicate whether or not battery 130 is to be charged.)
the processor obtains the parameter information conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information from the external server through the communication unit for the controller, (Tsuchiya, see at least [0092] wherein the ECU receives a demand response from server 30 based on battery information stored.)
Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose and the processor uses the obtained parameter information to control the power transmission for the battery.
However Shin, in which is directed to a secondary battery system for a vehicle discloses and the processor uses the obtained parameter information to control the power transmission for the battery. (Shin, see at least [0026] wherein the vehicle control unit can send commands to control the inverter and the charger using information obtained regarding the battery)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Shin to include the capability of using the obtained information to control the power for the battery. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery.
Modified Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose and a processor that performs a process to obtain identification information of the battery, the identification information comprising a battery pack ID,
However, Tsuchiya discloses and a processor that performs a process to obtain identification information of the battery, the identification information comprising a battery pack ID, (Ikui, see at least [0059] wherein the identification information (hereinafter referred to as battery ID) for identifying the battery. Also see [0074] wherein battery ID assigned to the battery includes for example information such as the number of times of charging, a date of manufacturing, a capacity in an initial state, and a charging state. Also see [0084-0085] wherein the information acquirer acquires battery state information of the removable battery. The information acquirer outputs the acquired battery state information to the processor 144.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Ikui to include the capability of using the obtained information including battery identification information for a battery to allow for power transmission to be performed under appropriate conditions. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery to ensure that parameter information for the battery does not conform to the battery from being used in the power transmission.
Regarding Claim 4, Tsuchiya in view of Shin discloses The controller according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Tsuchiya further discloses wherein the controller is mounted on a vehicle, and the processor performs the process to obtain the identification information when the vehicle has an ignition power supply turned on. (Tsuchiya, see at least [0060] wherein the vehicle includes a control unit (ECU) that carries out charging control and discharging control of battery 130. Also see [0092] wherein the vehicle includes a monitoring module that monitors a state of the battery 130 and outputs results of the monitored data to the ECU. Also see at least [0089] wherein the server 30 obtains information from each of the vehicles (ON/OFF status, connection of the charging cable, state of the battery, charging schedules, condition for charging, and more) and stores this information. The information is used to indicate whether or not battery 130 is to be charged.)
Regarding Claim 5, Tsuchiya in view of Shin discloses The controller according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Tsuchiya further discloses wherein the controller is mounted on a vehicle, and when the processor is connected to a terminal connectable to the vehicle, and receives a signal from the terminal to request the identification information, the processor responsively performs the process to obtain the identification information. (Tsuchiya, see at least [0060] wherein the vehicle includes a control unit (ECU) that carries out charging control and discharging control of battery 130. Also see [0092] wherein the vehicle includes a monitoring module that monitors a state of the battery 130 and outputs results of the monitored data to the ECU. Also see at least [0089] wherein the server 30 obtains information from each of the vehicles (ON/OFF status, connection of the charging cable, state of the battery, charging schedules, condition for charging, and more) and stores this information. The information is used to indicate whether or not battery 130 is to be charged.)
Regarding Claim 7, Tsuchiya in view of Shin discloses A server provided outside the controller according to claim 1, comprising: (see rejection above)
a communication unit for the server, that receives identification information of the battery; (Tsuchiya, see at least [0060] wherein the ECU controls communication with outside the vehicle. Also see [0089-0092] wherein the ECU communicates with server 30.)
and a memory that stores parameter information for a parameter for the power transmission conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information, wherein the communication unit for the server sends to the controller the parameter information conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information received. (Tsuchiya, see at least [0092] wherein the vehicle includes a monitoring module that monitors a state of the battery 130 and outputs results of the monitored data to the ECU. Also see at least [0089] wherein the server 30 obtains information from each of the vehicles (ON/OFF status, connection of the charging cable, state of the battery, charging schedules, condition for charging, and more) and stores this information. The information is used to indicate whether or not battery 130 is to be charged.)
Regarding Claim 8, Tsuchiya discloses A control system comprising: a controller that controls power transmission including at least one of charging a battery and discharging the battery; (Tsuchiya, see at least [0060] wherein the vehicle includes a control unit (ECU) that carries out charging control and discharging control of battery 130)
and a server provided outside the controller, the controller comprising: a communication unit for the controller, that communicates with the server; (Tsuchiya, see at least [0060] wherein the ECU controls communication with outside the vehicle. Also see [0089-0092] wherein the ECU communicates with server 30.)
wherein the server that stores parameter information for a parameter for the power transmission conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information, (Tsuchiya, see at least [0092] wherein the vehicle includes a monitoring module that monitors a state of the battery 130 and outputs results of the monitored data to the ECU. Also see at least [0089] wherein the server 30 obtains information from each of the vehicles (ON/OFF status, connection of the charging cable, state of the battery, charging schedules, condition for charging, and more) and stores this information. The information is used to indicate whether or not battery 130 is to be charged.)
the processor obtains the parameter information conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information from the external server through the communication unit for the controller, (Tsuchiya, see at least [0092] wherein the ECU receives a demand response from server 30 based on battery information stored.)
the server comprising: a communication unit for the server, that receives identification information of the battery; (Tsuchiya, see at least [0089] wherein server 30 obtains information from the vehicle regarding the state of the battery.)
and a memory unit that stores parameter information for a parameter for the power transmission conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information, wherein the communication unit for the server sends to the controller the parameter information conforming to the battery corresponding to the identification information received. (Tsuchiya, see at least [0092] wherein the ECU receives a demand response from server 30 based on battery information stored. Also see Fig. 2 in which shows element server 30, in which contains storage 32.)
Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose and the processor uses the obtained parameter information to control the power transmission for the battery,
and the processor uses the obtained parameter information to control the power transmission for the battery,
However Shin, in which is directed to a secondary battery system for a vehicle discloses and the processor uses the obtained parameter information to control the power transmission for the battery. (Shin, see at least [0026] wherein the vehicle control unit can send commands to control the inverter and the charger using information obtained regarding the battery)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Shin to include the capability of using the obtained information to control the power for the battery. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery.
Modified Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose and a processor that performs a process to obtain identification information of the battery, the identification information comprising a battery pack ID,
However, Tsuchiya discloses and a processor that performs a process to obtain identification information of the battery, the identification information comprising a battery pack ID, (Ikui, see at least [0059] wherein the identification information (hereinafter referred to as battery ID) for identifying the battery. Also see [0074] wherein battery ID assigned to the battery includes for example information such as the number of times of charging, a date of manufacturing, a capacity in an initial state, and a charging state. Also see [0084-0085] wherein the information acquirer acquires battery state information of the removable battery. The information acquirer outputs the acquired battery state information to the processor 144.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Ikui to include the capability of using the obtained information including battery identification information for a battery to allow for power transmission to be performed under appropriate conditions. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery to ensure that parameter information for the battery does not conform to the battery from being used in the power transmission.
As per claim 9, the claim is directed towards a control method of a controller for controlling power transmission including at least one of charging a battery and discharging the battery that recites similar limitations performed by the controller that controls power transmission including at least one of charging a battery or discharging the battery of claim 1. The cited portions of Tsuchiya and Shin and Ikui used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the same system limitations of claim 9. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected under the same rationales used in the rejections of claim 1 as outlined above.
10. Claims 2-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (US 20210170902) in view of Shin (WO 2019142550) in further view of Ikui (US 20230365022) in furthest view of Haardt (US 20210091583).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsuchiya in view of Shin discloses The controller according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery includes a battery using, as an active material, lithium manganese iron phosphate produced by recycling lithium-iron phosphate having been used as an active material, and the parameter information includes information of a parameter used in the power transmission, that is preset based on a ratio between manganese and iron in the active material. (Haardt, see at least [Claim 2-3] wherein material configuration data associated with a material used to produce the battery is provided by a decentral computing node. Also see at least [0235] wherein the condition data associated with a battery includes and affects data related to charging/discharging process of a battery or state variables (battery temperatures).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Haardt to include the technique of utilizing condition data associated with the battery as this would allow for the system in Tsuchiya to utilize material configuration data for a battery to further determine a battery’s charging/discharging conditions. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery.
Regarding Claim 3, Tsuchiya in view of Shin discloses The controller according to claim 2, (see rejection above)
Shin further discloses wherein the parameter information includes information of the preset parameter based on the ratio and an amount of impurities contained in the battery. (Shin, see at least [0029-0033] wherein the temperature detection unit measures or estimates temperature of batteries in the cell group and uses the information to detect the state of the cell, the cell group or the battery pack. The analyzing of various information on the battery cell that includes information on the battery cell so that the charging/discharging is controlled to ensure a desired power is being supplied. ** battery cells are the materials of the battery that consist of several components, including electrodes and electrolyte. The materials used in the battery cells can vary, and facilitate the chemical reactions necessary for energy stored/released.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Shin to include the technique of utilizing condition data associated with the battery as this would allow for the system in Tsuchiya to utilize material configuration data for a battery to further determine a battery’s charging/discharging conditions. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery.
Regarding Claim 10, Tsuchiya in view of Shin discloses The control method according to claim 9, (see rejection above)
Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery includes a battery using, as an active material, lithium manganese iron phosphate produced by recycling lithium-iron phosphate having been used as an active material, and the parameter information includes information of a parameter used in the power transmission, that is preset based on a ratio between manganese and iron in the active material.
However, Haardt discloses wherein the battery includes a battery using, as an active material, lithium manganese iron phosphate produced by recycling lithium-iron phosphate having been used as an active material, and the parameter information includes information of a parameter used in the power transmission, that is preset based on a ratio between manganese and iron in the active material. (Haardt, see at least [Claim 2-3] wherein material configuration data associated with a material used to produce the battery is provided by a decentral computing node. Also see at least [0235] wherein the condition data associated with a battery includes and affects data related to charging/discharging process of a battery or state variables (battery temperatures). ** material configuration data of a battery can be utilized (type of material of the battery is a design choice) to better determine battery parameters as a recycled battery product varies with power transmissions compared to a non-recycled battery product.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Haardt to include the technique of utilizing condition data associated with the battery as this would allow for the system in Tsuchiya to utilize material configuration data for a battery to further determine a battery’s charging/discharging conditions. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery.
9. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (US 20210170902) in view of Shin (WO 2019142550) in further view of Ikui (US 20230365022) in furthest view of Kamijima (US 20210091583).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsuchiya in view of Shin discloses The controller according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose wherein when the identification information obtained is changed identification information, the communication unit for the controller sends the changed identification information to the external server.
However, Kamijima discloses wherein when the identification information obtained is changed identification information, (Kamijima, see at least [0064] wherein information processing device updates the information based on received battery information.)
the communication unit for the controller sends the changed identification information to the external server. (Kamijima, see at least [0045] wherein information processing device collects battery information on the battery and transmits the battery information to the management server. Also see at least Fig. 1-5.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Tsuchiya with the teachings of Kamijima to include the technique of utilizing updating identification data associated with the battery as this would allow for the system in Tsuchiya further determine a battery’s charging/discharging conditions based on updated changes. This would further improve the managing or controlling of a vehicle battery.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160254680 – A power storage system according to the present technology includes: a parameter detector that detects a parameter of a secondary battery; a table storage unit that stores a table indicating a correspondence between a parameter of the secondary battery and a charging condition; and a charging control unit configured to refer to, based on the detected parameter, a corresponding charging condition from the table and make control to charge the secondary battery in this charging condition.
US 20210146785 – A method performed by an information terminal is provided. Profile information of an electrical device connected to a storage battery pack is received from the storage battery pack. The profile information includes device identification information of the electrical device and an item of state information indicating a state of the electrical device. A value of the item of state information of the electrical device is received from the storage battery pack. When a first instruction that causes the item of state information and the value of the item of state information to be displayed is received, a first display screen is displayed on the display of the information terminal. The first display screen depicts the item of state information and the value of the item of state information by using the received profile information and the received value of the item of state information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NADA MAHYOOB ALQADERI/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664