DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed October 2, 2025 has been considered.
________________________________________
Specification
The specification is objected to because paragraph 0051 states, "The clamping member 510 in the self-locking state no longer pushes the clamping member 510." The sentence identifies clamping member 510 as both the actor and the object, contrary to the immediately preceding description of the state of the self-locking switch. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In paragraph 0051, replace the first occurrence of "The clamping member 510" in the quoted sentence with "The self-locking switch."
The specification is objected to because paragraph 0054 identifies numeral 250 as the chute cover plate, while the description and Figure 3 identify the chute cover plate as numeral 580. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In paragraph 0054, replace "chute cover plate 250" with "chute cover plate 580."
The specification is objected to because paragraph 0066 identifies the second connecting joint with numeral 330, while paragraph 0065 and the drawings identify the second connecting joint with numeral 340. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested Correction: In paragraph 0066, replace "second connecting joint 330" with "second connecting joint 340."
________________________________________
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because the series "a first position, a second position, a third position, a fourth position sequentially" lacks a conjunction before the final item. The intended sequence is understandable, but the informal wording should be corrected.
Suggested Correction: In claim 5, insert "and" before "a fourth position."
Claim 12 is objected to because "a slider" lacks proper antecedent form after the slider was introduced in claim 4. The intended component is understandable, but the informal wording should be corrected.
Suggested Correction: In claim 12, replace "a slider" with "the slider."
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - CN 208028320 U.
Reference 2 - CN 217788963 U.
Reference 3 - US 4,449,022 A.
Reference 4 - US 3,914,570 A.
Reference 5 - CN 207518002 U.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102
________________________________________
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) A data cable, comprising: (L2) a shell having an accommodating space; (L3) a turntable in the accommodating space; (L4) a connecting wire comprising a wire harness and a connector located at one end of the wire harness, wherein the wire harness is wound on the turntable, and the wire harness is configured to drive the turntable to rotate in a first direction in response to the wire harness being extracted from the accommodating space; (L5) an elastic device located in the accommodating space, wherein two ends of the elastic device are connected to the shell and the turntable respectively, and the elastic device is configured to drive the turntable to rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction in response to release of an extracted wire harness; and (L6) a self-locking switch located in the accommodating space, wherein the self-locking switch is configured to prevent the turntable from rotating in the second direction when the wire harness is extracted from a first position that the wire harness is completely wound on the turntable and then released, and allow the turntable to rotate in the second direction when the wire harness is extracted from a second position that the wire harness is partially wound on the turntable and then released.
Analysis
(L1), (L2), (L3) Reference 1 discloses a retractable charging/data cable assembly in housing 1, with fixed seat 30 defining an internal accommodating region and movable winding reel 31 mounted in that region. (L4) Charging line 4 is wound on reel 31, terminates in charging plug 40, and turns reel 31 in an unwinding direction when pulled from housing 1. (L5) Coil spring 32 is connected between reel 31 and the housing-fixed seat 30 and drives the reel in the opposite, rewinding direction when the line is released. (L6) Self-locking mechanism 33 includes disc 331 and steel ball 332 guided by stop groove 3310 and limit guide groove 3011. A stopped outward pull traps ball 332 and prevents reverse reel rotation; a further outward pull and release frees the disc so spring 32 rotates the reel in the reverse direction and rewinds the partially extended line. See Reference 1, Figures 1-5 and the corresponding description.
________________________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 1, wherein (L2) the elastic device is a coil spring or an elastic band.
Analysis
(L1) The complete claim 1 data cable is disclosed by Reference 1 as mapped above. (L2) The elastic device is expressly coil spring 32, satisfying the recited alternative. See Reference 1, Figures 1-3 and the corresponding description.
________________________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) A data cable, comprising: (L2) a shell; (L3) a turntable; (L4) a wire harness wound on the turntable and configured to drive the turntable to rotate in a first direction; (L5) an elastic device connected to the shell and the turntable, wherein the elastic device is configured to drive the turntable to rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction; and (L6) a switch, wherein the switch is configured to lock the turntable in response to release of the wire harness after being extracted from a first position that the wire harness is completely wound on the turntable, and unlock the turntable to rotate in the second direction in response to release of the wire harness after being extracted from a second position that the wire harness is partially wound on the turntable.
Analysis
(L1), (L2), (L3) Reference 1 discloses a retractable data/charging cable having housing 1 and movable winding reel 31. (L4) Charging line 4 is wound on reel 31 and rotates the reel in an unwinding direction when pulled. (L5) Coil spring 32 connects reel 31 to housing-fixed seat 30 and rotates the reel oppositely to rewind the released line. (L6) Self-locking mechanism 33, including disc 331, steel ball 332, stop groove 3310 and limit guide groove 3011, locks the reel when a first outward pull is released and unlocks it after a further pull so release permits reverse spring rotation. See Reference 1, Figures 1-5 and the corresponding description.
________________________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 18, further comprising: (L2) a connector located at one end of the wire harness.
Analysis
(L1) The complete claim 18 data cable is disclosed by Reference 1 as mapped above. (L2) Charging plug 40 is located at an end of charging line 4. See Reference 1, Figures 1, 4 and 5 and the corresponding description.
________________________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) An electronic device comprising: (L2) a data cable comprising: (L3) a shell; (L4) a turntable; (L5) a wire harness wound on the turntable and configured to drive the turntable to rotate in a first direction; (L6) an elastic device connected to the shell and the turntable, wherein the elastic device is configured to drive the turntable to rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction; and (L7) a switch, wherein the switch is configured to lock the turntable in response to release of the wire harness after being extracted from a first position that the wire harness is completely wound on the turntable, and unlock the turntable to rotate in the second direction in response to release of the wire harness after being extracted from a second position that the wire harness is partially wound on the turntable.
Analysis
(L1)-(L2) Reference 1 discloses a complete power-sharing electronic device that includes control circuit 2 and charging-cable storage device 3. (L3)-(L4) Storage device 3 includes housing 1 and movable winding reel 31. (L5) Charging line 4 is wound on reel 31 and turns the reel in a first direction when extracted. (L6) Coil spring 32 connects the reel to housing-fixed seat 30 and drives opposite rotation for rewind. (L7) Self-locking mechanism 33, including disc 331, ball 332 and cooperating grooves 3310 and 3011, locks on release after an initial pull and unlocks on a further pull so release allows spring-driven reverse rotation. See Reference 1, Figures 1-5 and the corresponding description.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
________________________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 1, wherein: (L2) the turntable comprises an annular wall and a plurality of clamping grooves, wherein the plurality of clamping grooves is provided circumferentially on an inner side of the annular wall, and the data cable further comprises: (L3) a clamp rotatably arranged on the shell, wherein: (L4) the clamp is configured to clamp one of the plurality of clamping grooves when the wire harness is extracted from the first position and released to prevent the turntable from rotating in the second direction, and (L5) to separate from the one of the plurality of clamping grooves when the wire harness is extracted and released again to allow rotation of the turntable in the second direction.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 2 discloses fitting members 1200 distributed circumferentially on the inner annular side of reel 120, each defining a V-shaped self-locking step 12002 that supplies the claimed clamping groove. (L3) Shifting piece 130 pivots on housing 10 and supplies the rotary clamp. (L4) On the first release, limiting portion 1300 seats in a step 12002 and prevents reverse reel rotation. (L5) A further extraction carries portion 1300 out along guide slope 120010, and the release attitude shown in Figure 5 permits reverse rotation without re-entering a step. See Reference 2, paragraphs 0049-0052 and 0056-0060, and Figures 2-5.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Reference 1's alternating reel lock with Reference 2's circumferential fitting members 1200, self-locking steps 12002, and housing-pivoted shifting piece 130. Both references concern spring-rewound cable reels that hold after one pull-and-release cycle and rewind after the next. Reference 2's distributed steps provide multiple positive peripheral engagement locations, while its pivoted piece performs the same hold-and-release function already required by Reference 1's self-locking mechanism 33. Adding those cooperating reel and housing features to Reference 1's reel 31 and housing 1 would retain Reference 1's cable, connector, spring, and two-cycle operation while predictably providing the claimed annular-wall groove and rotary-clamp implementation.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 2, wherein: (L2) the self-locking switch in an unlocked state is configured to control the clamp to clamp the one of the plurality of clamping grooves, and (L3) the self-locking switch in a self-locking state is configured to control the clamp to not clamp the one of the plurality of clamping grooves.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 2 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3 discloses slider 2, hook rod 13 and spring 30: with rod end 13a released from recess 25, spring 30 projects the slider outward in Figure 2a. In the combination, that released output presses Reference 2's shifting piece 130 toward engagement of portion 1300 with step 12002. (L3) In Figure 2b, rod end 13a engages recess 25 and retains slider 2 inward. Coupling that retained output to clear the step-engaging contact permits Reference 1's reel, as modified by Reference 2, to rewind without the clamp entering a step. Thus the unlocked switch output causes clamping, while the self-latched switch output permits unclamping; the switch's own latch state is distinct from the reel's lock state. See Reference 2, paragraphs 0052 and 0056-0064, Figures 2-5 and 7; Reference 3, Figures 1, 2a and 2b, columns 3-4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to couple Reference 3's alternate-action slider to Reference 2's shifting piece in the Reference 1/Reference 2 reel, orienting the outward output toward the step-engaging attitude and the retained output clear of that attitude. Reference 2 identifies loss of the required clamp posture as a cause of unreliable locking in paragraphs 0052 and 0057; Reference 3 supplies a positive retained position and a repeatable spring-return position. Using the reel-driven clamp swing to press the slider provides successive mechanical inputs, while its two output positions positively select hold and rewind. The combination retains Reference 1's cable and spring-rewind base together with Reference 2's reel steps and swing limits, and predictably improves repeatability of the alternating control. Reference 3 is reasonably pertinent because it addresses maintaining and releasing a compact mechanical member under successive inputs.
________________________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 3, wherein (L2) the self-locking switch comprises a chute, a slider, a limit rod, and a second elastic device.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 3 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3 discloses a compact alternate-action switch having switch case 1 as a chute-like enclosure, slider 2, hook rod 13 with guided end 13a as a limit rod, and coil spring 30 as a second elastic device. See Reference 3, Figures 1-3 and columns 2-4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 3's case, slider, hook rod, and spring as the state-changing controller coupled to Reference 2's shifting piece 130 in the Reference 1/Reference 2 reel. Reference 3 provides repeatable retained and released mechanical output positions in a compact assembly. Coupling slider 2 to shifting piece 130 predictably controls whether the piece is biased into or held away from a reel step while retaining Reference 1's cable and spring-rewind operation.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 4, wherein: (L2) the slider is configured to switch between an extension position of extending to outside of the chute and a storage position of being accommodated in the chute, and the slider in the extension position is configured to push the clamp to clamp the one of the plurality of clamping grooves, (L3) the slider comprises a one-way slide, (L4) a first end of the limit rod is connected to the shell, and a second end of the limit rod is located in the one-way slide and is configured to slide along the one-way slide, to switch between a first position, a second position, a third position, a fourth position sequentially.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 4 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3's slider 2 travels between an inward stored position in case 1 and an outward extension position in which operation part 33 projects through opening 1a; in the combination, the outward slider position acts on Reference 2's shifting piece 130 to engage a self-locking step 12002. (L3) Heart cam 24, recess 25, guide wall 26 and guide projection 27 form a one-way cyclic slide path on slider 2. (L4) One end of hook rod 13 is retained at the fixed case by spring member 14, while rod end 13a follows the heart-cam path through a first retained position in recess 25, a second depressed position leaving the recess, a third released position at full extension, and a fourth depressed position on the return branch before capture in recess 25 again. These are successive locations on the disclosed one-way cycle, beginning with the retained position. See Reference 3, Figures 1-3 and columns 2-4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to couple the extension and storage positions of Reference 3's slider to Reference 2's shifting piece and retain the disclosed one-way heart-cam path, because the path sequences the slider predictably between stable mechanical states with successive actuations. The result is a compact controller that first places the clamp in its reel-locking attitude and then releases that attitude during the next cycle.
________________________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 5, wherein: (L2) the second elastic device is configured to abut against the slider to push the slider to move towards the extension position, (L3) when the second end of the limit rod is in the first position, the limit rod is configured to clamp the slider to maintain the slider in the storage position, (L4) when the second end of the limit rod is in the second position and the fourth position, the slider is in the storage position, (L5) when the second end of the limit rod is in the third position, the slider remains in the extension position, and (L6) when the wire harness is extracted from the second position, the clamp presses the slider into the chute, and when the wire harness is released after being extracted from the second position, the second elastic device pushes the slider out of the chute.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 5 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Spring 30 bears on slider 2 and urges it outward. (L3) The first rod-end position is engagement in recess 25, retaining the slider inward as in Figure 2b. (L4) The second position is the depressed departure location after leaving recess 25, and the fourth is the depressed location on the opposite return branch; both occur with the slider inward. (L5) The third position is the released, fully extended condition of Figure 2a between those depressions. These four positions follow the cyclic path shown in Figure 1 and described in columns 3-4 of Reference 3. (L6) Reference 2's reel-driven clamp swing presses the coupled slider inward during extraction. On release, spring 30 drives an outward rebound. After the second pull, that rebound ends with rod end 13a captured in recess 25; it does not require return to the full extension position. Operation part 33 still projects from the case in Figure 2b. This reading of the outward push is consistent with the present specification, paragraph 0062, which describes outward spring movement followed by retention in storage. See Reference 2, paragraphs 0051-0052 and 0057, and Reference 3, Figures 1, 2a and 2b, columns 3-4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 3's complete one-way cycle and outward spring bias in the claim 5 combination. The existing reel-driven clamp supplies each depression, and spring 30 supplies each rebound; the heart cam determines whether the rebound ends at full extension or at the inward latch. This uses the disclosed alternating mechanism to preserve the cable's successive hold and rewind operations.
________________________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 4, wherein: (L2) a side of the chute facing the clamp has an opening, and (L3) the slider is configured to extend to an outside of the chute through the opening.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 4 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3's switch case 1 has opening portion 1a at the side from which the switch output faces the actuated member. (L3) Operation part 33 of slider 2 extends outside case 1 through opening 1a. When the switch is oriented toward Reference 2's shifting piece 130 as proposed for claim 4, that side and projection supply the claimed clamp-facing opening and extending slider. See Reference 3, Figures 1-2 and column 4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to orient Reference 3's existing slider opening toward Reference 2's shifting piece so the projecting slider can transmit force directly to the clamp. Direct facing contact minimizes intervening parts and predictably uses the switch's disclosed mechanical output to control the adjacent reel lock.
________________________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 5, wherein (L2) a width of the slider is greater than a diameter of the second end of the limit rod.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 5 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3's Figures 1 and 2 show the body of slider 2 laterally wider than front rod end 13a that travels on the slider's heart-cam path. The relative size permits the cam path and its surrounding guide walls to be formed on the slider while retaining the smaller guided rod end.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 3's illustrated slider-and-rod proportions in the claim 5 combination, because a slider wider than the rod end provides material around the one-way guide path and keeps the smaller end captured during cyclic travel. The retained geometry predictably supports the same guided operation.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 5, wherein (L2) the second elastic device is configured to push the slider to move towards the extension position.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 5 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3's coil spring 30 directly urges slider 2 outward toward the position in which operation part 33 extends from case opening 1a. See Reference 3, Figures 1-2 and column 4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 3's outward spring bias in the combined switch, because that bias returns the slider to its extension position after hook-rod end 13a leaves recess 25 and supplies a predictable mechanical output for moving Reference 2's clamp.
________________________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 4, wherein (L2) the second elastic device is a spring.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 4 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3 expressly identifies second elastic device 30 as a coil spring. See Reference 3, Figures 1-2 and column 4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 3's disclosed coil spring in the combined switch because it provides the known compact resilient bias that restores slider 2 after release, with the predictable result of repeatable extension and storage travel.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, Reference 3, and Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 4, wherein: (L2) the self-locking switch further comprises a chute cover plate, and (L3) the chute cover plate is connected to a side of the chute by adhesion.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 4 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3 provides cover 34 closing opening 1a of switch case 1, with hole 35 permitting movement of operation part 33. Its cover uses claws 37 and projections 36, rather than an adhesive bond. See Figure 1 and column 3. (L3) Reference 4 expressly joins a switch cover to the side of its housing with adhesive: cover 80 includes planar wall 82 and sidewalls 84, 86 and 88 overlying base sidewalls 10, 12 and 42, and adhesive on those housing sidewalls joins and seals the two parts. The mating surfaces keep adhesive from entering the moving mechanism. See Reference 4, Figures 3-4, column 5, lines 28-67. Applying that cover-to-housing bonding technique to the mating side of cover 34 and case 1 supplies the claimed adhesion.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to bond the mating surfaces of Reference 3's cover and case using Reference 4's adhesive joint, while retaining the mechanical locating engagement. Reference 4 expressly teaches that the joint secures the cover and seals the interface against contaminants. Providing the same bonded interface around the compact slider enclosure predictably retains and protects the moving parts; restricting the adhesive to the mating surfaces preserves slider clearance. Both references concern compact alternate-action switches, so Reference 4 directly addresses the cover-retention problem in the claim 4 combination.
________________________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 4, wherein: (L2) the clamp comprises a first clamping portion, a second clamping portion, and a contact portion arranged circumferentially, (L3) the first clamping portion is configured to clamp each of the plurality of clamping grooves, and (L4) the second clamping portion is configured to clamp the slider, and the contact portion is in contact with a slider, (L5) when the wire harness is extracted from the second position, the annular wall pushes the clamp to rotate in the first direction through the first clamping portion, and (L6) when the wire harness is released from the second position, the contact portion is driven by the slider to push the clamp to rotate in the second direction.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 4 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 2 provides three distinguishable peripheral contact regions on shifting piece 130: the reel-facing tip of limiting portion 1300, protruding locking part 1301 at the opposite end, and the flank contacted by first abutting portion 131010 adjacent to the limiting end. Paragraphs 0056-0059 and 0063-0064 distinguish the reel contact, the stop contact against second abutting portion 131011, and the force contact against first abutting portion 131010. See Figures 2-5 and 7. The flank is a disclosed surface, not a separately numbered third projection. (L3) The tip of portion 1300 engages each step 12002. (L4) In the proposed combination, the output head of Reference 3's slider is formed with a force face and adjacent stop face corresponding to the two controller-contact regions just identified. Part 1301 engages the stop face to arrest further clamp rotation against the extended slider, while the limiting-end flank contacts the force face. This coupling geometry is the proposed modification, rather than an express slider disclosure in Reference 2. (L5) On extraction, the reel's annular fitting members act on tip 1300 to rotate piece 130 and depress the coupled slider. (L6) On release, the spring-driven slider rebound acts on the flank and rotates the piece oppositely. Its extended position supports step engagement; after the next depression its shorter, latched rebound leaves the clamp free for rewind. See Reference 2, paragraphs 0051-0052, 0057 and 0064, and Reference 3, Figures 1-2 and columns 3-4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to preserve Reference 2's distinct force and stop contacts when coupling Reference 3's slider to the rotary clamp. Reference 2 explains that force at one region and support at part 1301 keep the clamp in the required attitude and prevent a failed lock. Forming corresponding faces on the slider's existing output head retains both functions with one controller, while leaving tip 1300 available for the reel input. Reference 3 expressly provides operation part 33 for an attached control button. Adapting that output interface to the adjacent clamp predictably transmits the spring force and limits rotation without adding a second clamp or changing the heart-cam sequence.
________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 1, wherein (L2) the self-locking switch is configured to be in an unlocked state in response to being pressed and released, and in a self-locking state in response to being pressed and released again.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 3's slider 2 is released from recess 25 by a press and release and is retained in recess 25 by the next press and release. Coupling that alternate-action controller to Reference 2's shifting piece 130 in the Reference 1 reel supplies the recited unlocked and self-locking switch states while retaining Reference 1's cable-actuated hold-and-rewind sequence. See Reference 2, paragraphs 0052 and 0056-0064, Figures 2-5 and 7; and Reference 3, Figures 1-2 and columns 3-4.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Reference 2's reel-actuated shifting piece and Reference 3's alternate-action slider to Reference 1's reel, orienting the outward slider output toward the step-engaging attitude and the retained output clear of that attitude. Reference 2 supplies a cable-driven rotary input and identifies reliable clamp posture as necessary for locking; Reference 3 supplies positive released and retained switch positions. Their known mechanical functions would predictably provide the successive press-and-release states while preserving Reference 1's cable, spring, and automatic two-cycle operation.
________________________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 1, wherein: (L2) the connecting wire comprises a first connecting joint and a second connecting joint, (L3) the wire harness comprises a first wire harness and a second wire harness, (L4) two ends of the first wire harness are connected to the first connecting joint and the shell respectively, (L5) two ends of the second wire harness are connected to the second connecting joint and the turntable respectively, (L6) the second wire harness is wound on the turntable and configured to drive the turntable to rotate in the first direction in response to the second wire harness being extracted from the accommodating space, and (L7) the first wire harness is electrically connected to the second wire harness.
Analysis
(L1) The complete claim 1 data cable is disclosed by Reference 1 as mapped above. (L2), (L3), (L4), (L5) Reference 5 divides its connecting wire into a fixed shell-side wire connecting line ending at USB connector 13 and a reel-side charging data line 23 ending at mobile-phone plug 24, with the inner end of line 23 carried by take-up reel 22. (L6) Line 23 is wound on reel 22 and turns it during extraction. (L7) The fixed and rotating lines are electrically joined through annular printed copper circuits 11 and spring thimbles 25. See Reference 5, Figures 1-2 and the corresponding description.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 5's fixed shell-side harness, rotating reel-side harness and intervening rotary electrical connection in Reference 1's retractable cable, because that interface permits the wound harness to rotate while the shell-side harness remains stationary. The predictable result is continuous electrical connection between two joints without twisting the fixed harness at the reel axis.
________________________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 14, wherein: (L2) a plurality of elastic conductive members are provided on one of the shell and the turntable, (L3) a plurality of coaxial annular copper sheets are provided on the other one of the shell and the turntable and are maintained in contact with the plurality of elastic conductive members during rotation of the turntable, and (L4) the first wire harness is electrically connected to the second wire harness by the plurality of elastic conductive members and the plurality of annular copper sheets.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 14 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 5 mounts four conductive spring thimbles 25 on the rotating reel-side assembly. (L3) Four independent coaxial annular printed copper circuits 11 are provided on bottom shell 1, and thimbles 25 slide against the circuits while reel 22 rotates. (L4) The fixed wire connecting line is electrically joined to the inner end of rotating charging data line 23 through those circuits and thimbles. See Reference 5, Figure 2 and the corresponding description.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 5's spring contacts and coaxial annular copper circuits when adding its two-harness rotary interface to Reference 1, because the cooperating contacts maintain separate electrical paths throughout reel rotation. This known arrangement predictably provides the continuous connection required by the claim 14 modification.
________________________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The data cable according to claim 15, wherein (L2) the elastic conductive members are metallic elastic sheets or spring pins.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 15 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 5's spring thimbles 25 are spring-loaded conductive pins and therefore meet the spring-pin alternative. See Reference 5, Figure 2 and the corresponding description.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 5's disclosed spring thimbles as the elastic conductive members in the claim 15 combination because their resilient pin travel maintains contact with annular circuits 11 as the reel rotates, predictably preserving electrical continuity despite ordinary dimensional variation.
________________________________________
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected. Claims 5 and 12 are additionally objected to for the stated informalities.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 4,916,276 A discloses a heart-cam push-latch mechanism, but it does not disclose the complete cable-and-reel arrangement and is less direct for the secondary switch features than Reference 3.
CN 218371069 U discloses reel and slider-positioning structure, but it does not provide a more complete two-pull lock-and-rewind disclosure than Reference 1 or a better circumferential rotary clamp than Reference 2.
CN 105762589 B discloses reel-locking and rotary electrical features, but its disclosure is more fragmented for the claimed combinations than References 1 and 5.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615